u can fit good tyre on it because most of them good tyre start from size 17"
bigger rims-advantageous or just merely for looks?
Dec 12 2012, 01:34 PM
97 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
u can fit good tyre on it because most of them good tyre start from size 17"
Dec 12 2012, 05:32 PM
QUOTE(adlirazali @ Dec 12 2012, 04:20 PM) i heard the same too. wondering if its just another urban legend from the people who get jealous of other people who can afford bigger rims. but i think it does make sense. bigger wider rims = more mass = heavier = more petrol consumption. some say with smaller sidewall on tyre can also cause louder noise..... or is it?? the urban legends continue......until someone with experience come here and comment on this lah. manada FC suffer, if your new bigger rims use low profile tyres and end up having smaller diameter than previous one, your car FC can even be better than before due to inaccurate speedo reading |
Jan 12 2013, 07:53 AM
QUOTE(tanjinjack @ Jan 10 2013, 12:45 AM) Is it just me or larger wheels (which is usually the case if you go for larger wheels) should actually improve FC since for a given rev on your engine, you could cover more distance. Of course, it's harder to accelerate because it's larger but while it results in longer brake distance it also allows better cruising ability. I am under the impression that larger wheels will improve FC - else everyone will opt for smaller wheels. For my case, i changed to smaller diameter tyres, as a results, my speedo reading show around 10-15km/h faster than actual speed, althou in city traffic i gain better fc but on hiway my fc is quite bad because i have to rev more..previously for 110km/h(actual speed on gps) need to rev around 3k now almost 4k rpm so i would imagine it will be another way around if i change to bigger diameter tyres than stock size |
| Change to: | 0.0144sec
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 05:58 PM |