How to increase my laptop performance?, mostly for games and heavy multitasking

TSCGLegacy
post Mar 12 2006, 04:18 AM, updated 20y ago

Buka Sos
2,109 posts

hi...
just bought my laptop about a month ago.... the specs are in my sig....
i read that x200 int. graphic is using the core similar to x300 but half the pipeline....
so... does it mean if i increase my ram... lets say... minimum 1gb i can run some games like most wanted medium or high quality??? i am playing it now... but with some lags here and there.... plus total low quality.... izzit because the system ram has been taken (128mb shared memory) and that makes my laptop lag when running games like that???

anyway... i installed splinter cell pandora tommorrow.... high quality but with 640 x 480 resolution.... it runs smoothly.....

so what do u guys think?
lucifah
post Mar 12 2006, 06:11 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

ordinray llaptop is never for game

even if u have x700pro, the quality it run is kinda dissapoiting
iZuDeeN
post Mar 12 2006, 09:44 AM

3,467 posts

dont bother playing nfs mw at high setting even if you have 4ghz cpu but using x300
TSCGLegacy
post Mar 12 2006, 06:48 PM

Buka Sos
2,109 posts

ok... maybe the quality i wont archive... but how about the lags??? can i reduce them by upgrading my system ram?

This post has been edited by CGLegacy: Mar 12 2006, 06:48 PM
TMTANWHACKY
post Mar 12 2006, 06:51 PM

745 posts

im using an X700 moblility, can run smoothly at 800x600 with maxed out settings but without shadows. O ya, 1gb of ram tat is.
lucifah
post Mar 12 2006, 09:51 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

upgrading ram usually improves the lag issues

but don't use med or high spec lar

just use low res when playing game

if u really are mad on mobility gaming, nVidia Go 7800GT is the only way to satify yor lust
TSCGLegacy
post Mar 17 2006, 06:23 PM

Buka Sos
2,109 posts

ok... so 1gb ram is ok for now???
wtm0325
post Mar 17 2006, 07:39 PM

1,796 posts

yes, 384mb is really no for gaming... even 512mb, i play bf2 and lag all the way using x550 on desktop
TSCGLegacy
post Mar 21 2006, 01:36 AM

Buka Sos
2,109 posts

bf2 no need to say lah.... 1gb recommended requirement.... 2gb very very recommended......
lucifah
post Mar 21 2006, 07:10 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(CGLegacy @ Mar 21 2006, 01:36 AM)
bf2 no need to say lah.... 1gb recommended requirement.... 2gb very very recommended......
nope

1gb and 2gb doesn't make difference during playtime

it's the load time only increase significantly faster

and u only need 1.5GB (as per our forummer's exp), not 2gb
ATI.Bob
post Mar 21 2006, 03:56 PM

∞ possibilities™
798 posts

For a more responsive system (e.g. faster program loading, windows boot-up/shut down, etc..), consider getting a 7200rpm drive with minimum 8mb cache.. preferred upgrade for fast-clickers.. biggrin.gif
Wolfgard
post Mar 21 2006, 04:00 PM

Real life Orc in Australia, rawr
892 posts

I have 2gigs on my lappie and gaming performance sure kicks ass right now. I can do these simultaneously:

1) play WoW with full settings in raids (windowed mode 3/4 of my screen)
2) watch Air Force one dvd (1/4 screen)
3) have Trillian and MSN chat ready
4) have firefox open for WoW tips

Hehe....seriously. I'm not kidding.
stanum
post Mar 21 2006, 04:39 PM

SharePoint enthusiast
706 posts

QUOTE(Wolfgard @ Mar 21 2006, 04:00 PM)
I have 2gigs on my lappie and gaming performance sure kicks ass right now. I can do these simultaneously:

maybe ur lappie kinda powerfull..look at ur sig..i know lah..heheh.. 17" inch screen for laptop..ermm... thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
lucifah
post Mar 21 2006, 06:13 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(ATI.Bob @ Mar 21 2006, 03:56 PM)
For a more responsive system (e.g. faster program loading, windows boot-up/shut down, etc..), consider getting a 7200rpm drive with minimum 8mb cache.. preferred upgrade for fast-clickers.. biggrin.gif
a 7200rpm on a notebook is defeating the purpose of having a lappie

1. it sucks batt like hell
2. it's freakingly hot

QUOTE(Wolfgard @ Mar 21 2006, 04:00 PM)

look at your siggie. u use a 6800 GO. that guy only has x200

the difference is like heaven and earth

not to mention yours has 128 / 256mb dedicated while his is system shared

wink.gif
ATI.Bob
post Mar 21 2006, 08:48 PM

∞ possibilities™
798 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Mar 21 2006, 06:13 PM)
a 7200rpm on a notebook is defeating the purpose of having a lappie

1. it sucks batt like hell
2. it's freakingly hot
Yeah.. it sucks batt to a certain extent, and most are freakingly hot.. but hey, the thread starter wanted a gaming machine and do heavy multi tasking.. a 7,2krpm drive will certainly help if the processor, RAM and GPU is up to par.. rolleyes.gif
MakNok
post Mar 21 2006, 09:20 PM

5,714 posts

QUOTE(ATI.Bob @ Mar 21 2006, 08:48 PM)
Yeah.. it sucks batt to a certain extent, and most are freakingly hot.. but hey, the thread starter wanted a gaming machine and do heavy multi tasking.. a 7,2krpm drive will certainly help if the processor, RAM and GPU is up to par..  rolleyes.gif
Having a 7200rpm notebook harddisk really help a lot....
Even at the expense of battery live and a bit hotter,i still say go for it.
rclxm9.gif icon_rolleyes.gif thumbup.gif

lucifah
post Mar 21 2006, 09:50 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(MakNok @ Mar 21 2006, 09:20 PM)
Having a 7200rpm notebook harddisk really help a lot....
Even at the expense of battery live and a bit hotter,i still say go for it.
rclxm9.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif  thumbup.gif
when u say a bit, be ready to have ur batt life cut into half

and the heat hovers around 65C at the hdd

even 4x120mm stuck at the bottom and sides of the lappie won't help

best way to improve your lappie performance?

get a NEW one that has 6800GO (at least) or a 7800GT GO for pure l33tness + core duo

dell insipron 9000 series has this option. so does alienware.
TSCGLegacy
post Mar 23 2006, 04:38 AM

Buka Sos
2,109 posts

haha.... come on lah... just asking something that can improve my current laptop... if buying a new damn expensive laptop with 6800 go or above can solve the problem... i wont be asking here.... but really lah dude.... i really want to know how much is your dell laptop...???
lucifah
post Mar 23 2006, 06:55 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(CGLegacy @ Mar 23 2006, 04:38 AM)
haha.... come on lah... just asking something that can improve my current laptop... if buying a new damn expensive laptop with 6800 go or above can solve the problem... i wont be asking here.... but really lah dude.... i really want to know how much is your dell laptop...???
dun be surprised. it's cheap. less than 6k. around 5k depending on ur configuration.

even 6800go is slow now. 78gt go is the in now
TSCGLegacy
post Mar 23 2006, 03:32 PM

Buka Sos
2,109 posts

what the ??? only 6000+??? its like better than acer ferrari already.... woooow....... i know about the 7800 go... but i dont even have the money to buy 6800 for my current desktop..... this is laptop we're speaking.... i dont care if they just give me the 6800 ones...... hehe....

0.1345sec    0.63    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 11:01 PM