> LYN Christian Fellowship V6 (Group), God Loves you.

KOHTT
post Apr 6 2014, 12:02 AM

1,388 posts

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Apr 5 2014, 10:26 PM)
My view is that people act the way they do and without boundaries because they don't believe that there is a God who care about them.
So they engage in survival of the fittest warfare but that is where the problem lies. It makes the term rule of the jungle comes very much alive causing much unnecessary evil.

For Christians who found comfort in knowing that God will provide all their needs, they don't have to feel insecure to engage this rule and step on other people's toe to get what they want. And it's also true that not every Christians have this kind of faith. But those who do, they live life with lesser stress.
So what's your view on Karma?

- For those people who do bad things to others? Play politic in office, back stepping others, doing thing beyond moral?

- For those people who do good thing such as charity work etc. Will it offset against the bad thing that one did in the past?

dadudeneverabides
post Apr 6 2014, 12:50 AM

Mechanical Kuda Ping Keyboard
1,105 posts

QUOTE(KOHTT @ Apr 6 2014, 12:02 AM)

- For those people who do bad things to others? Play politic in office, back stepping others, doing thing beyond moral?

- For those people who do good thing such as charity work etc. Will it offset against the bad thing that one did in the past?
Some things you must understand.

1. Every has sin.
2. God sent Jesus to absolve out sin.
3. We are now forgiven of our sins.

The above three means that our salvation is by grace, and not by works.

Having said that, one of the foundations of Christianity is repentance from dead works (Heb 6:1) and it means that the work we done before we are saved are considered dead works, but we need to look forward to what we can do as Christians to bring the Kingdom to here on earth.

The next point would be that we reap what we sow (Galatians 6:7-9) so if we do evil we will reap evil.

Put all of this together and you'd get something that some people might confuse as Karma.

The important thing to remember is:
1. Salvation is by grace. It's freely given.
2. We need to do our good works.
3. We will reap what we sow.
TSunknown warrior
post Apr 6 2014, 01:43 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(KOHTT @ Apr 6 2014, 12:02 AM)

Actually We believe in a living God who created the Heaven and the earth, one who gave the Law of God as what you call "karma".

Violate any part the law, you're subjected to the curse of the law but if obey the law, you are blessed.

You can use the example you said above to apply in this example.

Personally I don't believe in karma working on it's own because to me it doesn't make much sense. What I mean is this, who is there to to say and see who gets what karma? If Karma is just a force, how does it react in a just manner?

Because if truly this world works based on karma, we should have a balance world where things can be controlled.
All you have to do is do more good to balance up evil, but as it is you see this world is rather not balance when people say Life is not fair, I can fairly agree. Things is just not balanced. Evil is too rampant, The good that you do, you don't see it being paid back in the same measure.

And we believe the core problem of all this mess in the world, 2 things. Sin and Satan.

This post has been edited by unknown warrior: Apr 6 2014, 01:51 AM
shinnsohai
post Apr 6 2014, 01:56 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(dadudeneverabides @ Apr 6 2014, 12:50 AM)
Some things you must understand.

1. Every has sin.
2. God sent Jesus to absolve out sin.
3. We are now forgiven of our sins.

The above three means that our salvation is by grace, and not by works.

Having said that, one of the foundations of Christianity is repentance from dead works (Heb 6:1) and it means that the work we done before we are saved are considered dead works, but we need to look forward to what we can do as Christians to bring the Kingdom to here on earth.

The next point would be that we reap what we sow (Galatians 6:7-9) so if we do evil we will reap evil.

Put all of this together and you'd get something that some people might confuse as Karma.

The important thing to remember is:
1. Salvation is by grace. It's freely given.
2. We need to do our good works.
3. We will reap what we sow.
Well Im not a Christian either
regarding the view on karma, based Im a buddhism.
I do thinks that as if there is no karma, how you gonna says about those babies that not even given chances to born or having disorder.

Do you think that this world is fair enough?

TankerGadget Store
post Apr 6 2014, 01:59 AM

222 posts

Off topic, I am in the hospital now accompany my Aunty who had cancer ... 4th stage and I was wondering what heaven looks like based on what bible said?? Anyone can answer my question?? Perhaps UW can
11c
post Apr 6 2014, 02:03 AM

141 posts

I heard Noah movie totally different from bible
Sophiera
post Apr 6 2014, 02:47 AM

Sophtopus
706 posts

About the forgiveness thing, I remembered my pastor saying that it's entering the Kingdom 'now' in the present. The peace and authority on Earth itself, not losing salvation
TSunknown warrior
post Apr 6 2014, 01:42 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(TankerGadget Store @ Apr 6 2014, 01:59 AM)
Off topic, I am in the hospital now accompany my Aunty who had cancer ... 4th stage and I was wondering what heaven looks like based on what bible said?? Anyone can answer my question?? Perhaps UW can
1. We will have an imperishable Heavenly body that will not decay but live eternally

Philippians 3:21-22: But our citizenship is in heaven. And we eagerly await a Saviour from there, the Lord Jesus Christ, who, by the power that enables him to bring everything under his control, will transform our lowly bodies so that they will be like his glorious body.

2. There's No Darkness in Heaven, in the metaphysical realm as well as spiritual. There is only Light.

Revelation 21:23
The city does not need the sun or the moon to shine on it, for the glory of God gives it light, and the Lamb is its lamp.

Revelation 22:5
There will be no more night. They will not need the light of a lamp or the light of the sun, for the Lord God will give them light. And they will reign for ever and ever.

3. No more death, No Pain nor sorrow
Revelation 21:4 - He will wipe every tear from their eyes. There will be no more death' or mourning or crying or pain, for the old order of things has passed away."

4. It's a very Beautiful place.

Revelation 21:18 - The wall was made of jasper, and the city of pure gold, as pure as glass.

Revelation 21:21 - The twelve gates were twelve pearls, each gate made of a single pearl. The great street of the city was of gold, as pure as transparent glass.

5. You practically have No "needs"
Revelation 7:16 - Never again will they hunger; never again will they thirst. The sun will not beat down on them,' nor any scorching heat.

There's more of course but there are the few I remember off hand.

This post has been edited by unknown warrior: Apr 6 2014, 01:49 PM
TSunknown warrior
post Apr 6 2014, 01:44 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(Sophiera @ Apr 6 2014, 02:47 AM)
About the forgiveness thing, I remembered my pastor saying that it's entering the Kingdom 'now' in the present. The peace and authority on Earth itself, not losing salvation
Yes correct we bring part of Heaven here on earth until the full manifestation of Heaven appears with the 2nd coming of Christ Jesus.

That is why there is manifestation of miracles here on Earth through us. Bear in mind, we have no such power but God's power working through us.

This post has been edited by unknown warrior: Apr 6 2014, 02:38 PM
dadudeneverabides
post Apr 6 2014, 10:05 PM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(shinnsohai @ Apr 6 2014, 01:56 AM)
Well Im not a Christian either
regarding the view on karma, based Im a buddhism.
I do thinks that as if there is no karma, how you gonna says about those babies that not even given chances to born or having disorder.

Do you think that this world is fair enough?
The world is flawed. This is because we as human beings introduced sin into the world through disobedience.

As for the babies... I believe that there is such thing as a time where people are judged according to their sins, and those that did not have a chance accept Jesus (not those who reject Him outright) will be given the chance, so they will end up in Heaven too.
shinnsohai
post Apr 7 2014, 12:32 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(dadudeneverabides @ Apr 6 2014, 10:05 PM)
The world is flawed. This is because we as human beings introduced sin into the world through disobedience.

As for the babies... I believe that there is such thing as a time where people are judged according to their sins, and those that did not have a chance accept Jesus (not those who reject Him outright) will be given the chance, so they will end up in Heaven too.
There is much more conflicts regarding this
Whats the purpose if that particular baby ends up in heaven as he/she doesn't having the capabilities to think?

Anyhow I agreed with you, "The world is flawed"

Because "Faith" we're capable to do more, Although we couldn't prove it to be. nod.gif
dadudeneverabides
post Apr 7 2014, 12:56 AM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(shinnsohai @ Apr 7 2014, 12:32 AM)
There is much more conflicts regarding this
Whats the purpose if that particular baby ends up in heaven as he/she doesn't having the capabilities to think?

Anyhow I agreed with you, "The world is flawed"

Because "Faith" we're capable to do more, Although we couldn't prove it to be. nod.gif
Well, what's the purpose of us being created in the first place?

I believe it is because God wanted us to be His companion, so he created us. The same for babies and the same for everyone.
Sophiera
post Apr 7 2014, 01:41 AM

Sophtopus
706 posts

The leather cover on my bible is flaking apart! It was my birthday present, so looking at it deteriorate made me sad sad.gif Is there a way to replace/save the cover?
TSunknown warrior
post Apr 7 2014, 02:29 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(Sophiera @ Apr 7 2014, 01:41 AM)
The leather cover on my bible is flaking apart! It was my birthday present, so looking at it deteriorate made me sad sad.gif Is there a way to replace/save the cover?
Time to buy a new one maybe.
Sophiera
post Apr 7 2014, 02:38 AM

Sophtopus
706 posts

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Apr 7 2014, 02:29 AM)
Time to buy a new one maybe.
This one ada sentimental value sad.gif My house have quite a bit of bibles, but they're not birthday present
TSunknown warrior
post Apr 7 2014, 02:43 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(Sophiera @ Apr 7 2014, 02:38 AM)
This one ada sentimental value sad.gif My house have quite a bit of bibles, but they're not birthday present
Not too sure if they sell covers for Bible.

Will PM you if I found any.

Sophiera
post Apr 7 2014, 02:57 AM

Sophtopus
706 posts

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Apr 7 2014, 02:43 AM)
Not too sure if they sell covers for Bible.

Will PM you if I found any.
Thanks UW!
TSunknown warrior
post Apr 7 2014, 02:58 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(shinnsohai @ Apr 7 2014, 12:32 AM)
There will be no more flaws in Heaven.
How things are in life here on Earth does not enter into God's Kingdom.

We may think that when an infant die He enters into Heaven as an infant as well, may not be so.

1 Corinthians 2:9 says that no eye has seen, no ear has heard, and no human mind has conceived about the things of God.

pehkay
post Apr 7 2014, 08:29 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(dadudeneverabides @ Apr 7 2014, 12:56 AM)
Well, what's the purpose of us being created in the first place?

I believe it is because God wanted us to be His companion, so he created us. The same for babies and the same for everyone.
sweat.gif It is really higher bro. And I am not even talking about the divine romance.

God created us in His image and according to His likeness (Gen. 1:26a).

What is God's image? God's image is what God is in His divine attributes. God is love (1 John 4:8); God is light (1:5); God is holy (Lev. 19:2) and is even holiness (Heb. 12:10); and God is righteous (Psa. 7:9b) and is even righteousness (Jer. 23:6). God is also patient and is even patience itself.

God's image is the totality, the aggregate, of all that He is. He is love, He is light, He is patience, He is kindness, He is mercy, and He is forbearance. All the items of God's attributes added together equal the image of God. When Christ came to express God in humanity, He expressed God in all His attributes. This is God's image.

God created man in this image. Therefore, we all have a small amount of love, light, and other virtues. We are not animals; we are human beings created in the image of God. Hence, we do have some virtues, although they are temporal and do not last. sweat.gif

The goal is that we will be eventually contain Christ. We are made in the Christ's image with a goal to contain Christ as the reality of all that God is.. Just like a glove is in the image of the hand, with the goal that it will "contain" the hand, thus, fulfilling its purpose.

God made us as men in His image to express what He is. In this expression God's attributes become our virtues. God's likeness is just the expression of what God is. God's image is what God is. When this image is expressed, that is God's likeness. As human beings we were made in God's image to express what He is.

..... (there is still dominion (1.26b) e.g. man given authority to represent God and to have dominion over the earth)

This post has been edited by pehkay: Apr 7 2014, 08:30 AM
TSunknown warrior
post Apr 8 2014, 11:53 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

Everyday Bible verses with UW

Yea, though I walk......

Psalm 23:4 (KJV)
for his name’s sake.
Even though I walk
through the darkest valley,
I will fear no evil,
for you are with me;*
your rod and your staff,
they comfort me.

Notice that in the first 3 verse, It is God who is leading the believer.
In verse 4, it says in the King James ver,

Yea Though I WALK, (no longer being lead)
Signifying there's a distance from God.
No longer relying on God's strength.
You can say this are the moments of Believer's despair or backsliding.

And it depicts a time of difficulty (Darkest Valley)
Yet the Believer can find solace that he need not fear because he (must) know,
God's Rod and Staff protects Him.

A Shepherd's Rod, has a hook at the end to pull out or pull back sheep that are astray, While
the Shepherd's Rod is to whack the living daylights out of predators like wolves, wild predators,etc, not
to whack the believer for falling from grace.

This is what a Believer can do to find hope.
To proclaim that God is with the Believer*
EVEN WHEN the believer feels there's a distance himself from God.

Praise God for his word of solace and comfort!

This post has been edited by unknown warrior: Apr 8 2014, 11:55 AM

149 Pages « < 145 146 147 148 149 >
Bump Topic Topic ClosedOptions New Topic

0.0321sec    0.08    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:50 AM