The newbie guide to power supply units, Questions and comments are welcomed

SUSYottabyte
post Jun 23 2015, 04:40 AM

483 posts

QUOTE(choonyink @ Jun 19 2015, 01:44 AM)
Hi guys, i have some questions on power supply.

My current spec:

I3-2100
Asrock h61 mobo
Kvr 4gb ram x2 = 8gb
Dvd drive
2x sata hdd 320gb each
Fsp hexa 500w
4fans running

What card is the max i can go for? Was searching for r9 280x used unit, but somehow i notice that r9 280x required pretty heavy power, can my fsp hexa 500w support it?

Which card should be the max (reasonably safe lah haha) that my psu can support? R9 280? How about nvidia card?

Edit: Did a quick search in this topic and i found out that fsp hexa 500w is not recommended to run r9 280x. Even if it runs it will stress the psu. So 280x is out now. What other choices do i have? Im seeking for used unit. So can be some mid high end cards. Using it for 1080p gaming.

P.s. no budget to change psu yet, so aiming cards that my psu can support.
system with any single gpu so far should have no problem if it use good 500W PSU.

http://psudatabase.com/calculator/

This post has been edited by Yottabyte: Jun 23 2015, 04:42 AM

0.0169sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:19 PM