The newbie guide to power supply units, Questions and comments are welcomed
OvenBaked
Jun 15 2015, 02:50 PM
QUOTE(kliang87 @ Jun 2 2015, 11:49 AM) Hi, should I replace my PSU? Current spec: Asus P8Z77-M Intel Core i5-3570K Processor Corsair Vengeance 4GB PC1600CL9 x2 OCZ Vertex 4 SSD 128Gb x1 WD harddisk 500Gb x1 Palit GTX970 Jetstream x1 CM CPU Cooler Seidon 120V Plus x1 120mm Case Fans x4 Current PSU is CM GX Lite 600w. Thanks! I would try to avoid CM psu, especially GX series
OvenBaked
Jun 18 2015, 08:14 PM
QUOTE(kliang87 @ Jun 18 2015, 06:53 PM) Ya, i read alot forum and people say bout this series are the bad 1. I brought this power supply many years ago, so i think time to change, FSP Hexa+550W should b ok? Yup FSP Hexa+ will do fine, or up budget a bit get Seasonic S12II 620W pun ok This post has been edited by OvenBaked: Jun 18 2015, 08:18 PM
OvenBaked
Jun 19 2015, 05:09 AM
QUOTE(choonyink @ Jun 19 2015, 01:44 AM) Hi guys, i have some questions on power supply. My current spec: I3-2100 Asrock h61 mobo Kvr 4gb ram x2 = 8gb Dvd drive 2x sata hdd 320gb each Fsp hexa 500w 4fans running What card is the max i can go for? Was searching for r9 280x used unit, but somehow i notice that r9 280x required pretty heavy power, can my fsp hexa 500w support it? Which card should be the max (reasonably safe lah haha) that my psu can support? R9 280? How about nvidia card? Edit: Did a quick search in this topic and i found out that fsp hexa 500w is not recommended to run r9 280x. Even if it runs it will stress the psu. So 280x is out now. What other choices do i have? Im seeking for used unit. So can be some mid high end cards. Using it for 1080p gaming. P.s. no budget to change psu yet, so aiming cards that my psu can support. Aside from power comsumption, i doubt 2nd gen i3 can handle the r9 280x i would say go for gtx960