The newbie guide to power supply units, Questions and comments are welcomed
Current Events guy
Sep 30 2019, 11:47 AM
QUOTE(Catnip @ Sep 30 2019, 02:05 AM) My Cooler Master UCP 1100W psu has now degraded after 9+ years of continuous 24/7 use. Plan to replace it with Cooler Master V1000. Looking for better alternatives and suggestions if any before ordering one. How exactly did you detect this degradation?
Current Events guy
Oct 6 2019, 07:42 AM
QUOTE(mbr @ Oct 3 2019, 08:27 AM) Interesting interview with JonnyGuru himself. https://youtu.be/QJ_VV3UjEBYTl;dr points: 1. Pairing 10 year old psu with recent high end systems (especially with GPU costing over usd250) is not a great idea2. Power efficiency won't save you a ton of money but the added features could be desirable such as modular and/or sleeved cables. 3. It is hard to test the longevity of the PSU, but the warranty is a fair indication of manufacturer confidence. Maybe that's why my game auto quits during cutscenes. I have a 10 year old TX650 paired with an RX5700 XT. Then again, it's probably my fault running those on the i7-880.
Current Events guy
Oct 7 2019, 07:07 AM
Is there a diagnostic tool to assess health of PSUs?
I have a TX650W from 10 years ago as mentioned above and it seems to be running fine still.
I'd like to know of it's time to replace it with a PSU that uses current tech like the RM 650, especially since I'm using an RX 5700XT
This post has been edited by Current Events guy: Oct 7 2019, 07:30 AM
Current Events guy
Oct 7 2019, 08:24 AM
QUOTE(mbr @ Oct 7 2019, 08:10 AM) Could be the reason. Is your i7-880 still capable of running AAA titles at 1080p with high details? I find that my 2700k (stock) was struggling to keep up, so I upgraded last year. My CM Silent Gold 650W has been running for 8-9 years too... Already prepared a TX-650M and waiting for a good time to change. But so far no issues with gaming using GTX1070Ti If I compare benchmarks, nope and I have no reason to believe my CPU is exceptional. I do try to push it as much as I can though. Last night, I tried playing DMC5 at everything at medium settings without any problems. The FPS was fluctuating 80 - 150 fps, CPU and GPU temps were 50 deg C and 70 deg C respectively. CPU utilization was 50% and GPU at 100%.
Current Events guy
Oct 8 2019, 11:21 PM
QUOTE(mbr @ Oct 7 2019, 08:10 AM) Could be the reason. Is your i7-880 still capable of running AAA titles at 1080p with high details? I find that my 2700k (stock) was struggling to keep up, so I upgraded last year. My CM Silent Gold 650W has been running for 8-9 years too... Already prepared a TX-650M and waiting for a good time to change. But so far no issues with gaming using GTX1070Ti So I went out and got a new RM 650, installed it and now I can play at ultra settings on DMC5 with a 5700 XT and a first gen i7 without any issues. I'm very surprised on the results though. Who wouldve thought swapping out an old but still working PSU with a current one would allow you to play *some* AAA games on the highest settings. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Before and After Pics » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Before:  After:  Benchmarks » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Lowest:  Highest:  This post has been edited by Current Events guy: Oct 10 2019, 06:53 AM
Current Events guy
Oct 13 2019, 07:40 PM
QUOTE(Alert_RaZO @ Oct 13 2019, 04:26 PM) I want to build an itx Amd ryzen 3400g 8g ram M2 nvme 512gb Requires how much watt? In future maybe add dedicated graphic card. Not high end What's your case? That's going to limit your GPU choices and in turn, your PSU. Without much info, you'll be fine with a 400W.
Current Events guy
Oct 14 2019, 05:50 AM
QUOTE(Alert_RaZO @ Oct 13 2019, 11:21 PM) Jonsbo t8 Dunno what gpu.. maybe lower than 1k As others mentioned, the SF450 (RM450) from corsair would fit your needs. It is however, not an easy PSU to find in stock. You can go for an SF model that has offers higher watts like the SF600 (RM600) or SF750 (RM750). An alternative would be the SX650-G (RM450) from Silverstone.
Current Events guy
Oct 15 2019, 05:49 AM
QUOTE(Alert_RaZO @ Oct 15 2019, 03:17 AM) Can gip me the link both brand rm450? I searched hardly got sfx with lower watt I sent you a PM. Also, if you go for a higher watt PSU than you need I wouldnt worry too much about that if it's still within budget. It's not going to ruin your parts because the PSU only supplies the amount that is being drawn by each part up to it's rating. It doesnt overload parts with excessive watts. Besides, PSU max effectiveness is when it is operating within 50 - 70% of it's rating.
Current Events guy
May 5 2020, 01:25 PM
PSU these days come with two GPU PCIE cables that terminate into two 6+2 pins.
When would you use a single cable with two pins or two cables simultaneously?
Current Events guy
May 6 2020, 06:14 PM
QUOTE(Date Masamune @ May 6 2020, 02:31 PM) Hello sifus , i need psu recommendation for this 2 set Ryzen 7 3700X MSI B450 Tomahawk max Kingston HyperX Fury D4 16GB 3200 Sapphire Rx5700xt Adata SU800 512gb and Ryzen 5 3600 MSI B450 Tomhawak Max Kingston HyperX Fury D4 16GB 3200 Sapphire Rx 5600 xt pulse Adata SU800 512gb or if i go ryzen 3700x + rx5600xt / ryzen 3600 + rx5700xt , i may add more hdd/ssd/rams in future psu budjet is around rm 350 or more if needed How much more can you add to the budget? I'd recommend a 650W but those are in the RM450 range. Specific models are corsair RM650, Supeeflower Leadex III 650 or EVGA G+ 650.
Current Events guy
May 6 2020, 06:24 PM
QUOTE(Date Masamune @ May 6 2020, 06:20 PM) atm my budjet is actually Rm 320 to rm370 , but i tried not to exceed rm 400 This is a great option for your budget Super Flower Leadex II 650W Check out # Super Flower Leadex Gold II 80+ GOLD Full Modular PSU # [650W / 750W] for RM398.00. Get it on Shopee now! https://shopee.com.my/product/59277182/1461...8a1.&smtt=0.0.3
Current Events guy
May 8 2020, 12:13 AM
QUOTE(shinichi31 @ May 7 2020, 09:37 PM) anyone? Im currently looking at CM MWE 550W 80+ White at around rm180 There isnt a PSU that stands above the rest at that budget, you could get any name brand PSU like CM, corsair, EVGA, silverstone, seasonic.
Current Events guy
May 10 2020, 03:54 PM
QUOTE(robin98 @ May 10 2020, 09:36 AM) Does it means that higher watts in PSU means more noise and more heat? Also to add, quality PSUs with higher watts have a 0 RPM/Silent Fan mode where the fan doesnt spin during low power draw usage (browsing/streaming media content) which helps with noise.
Current Events guy
Aug 20 2020, 11:34 PM
Any chance we'll see the phanteks revolt X from seasonic? http://www.phanteks.com/Revolt-X.htmlI saw the phanteks enthoo pro 2 and feel inspired to transfer my builds there but the PSU supply is whats holding me back.
Current Events guy
Sep 3 2020, 10:57 AM
Guys, your thoughts on the CM V SFX PSUs?
This post has been edited by Current Events guy: Sep 3 2020, 01:25 PM
Current Events guy
Sep 3 2020, 01:27 PM
QUOTE(i7xQTi @ Sep 3 2020, 01:04 PM) holy shit that price unless you need 850w just get the corsair Whoops my bad. CM has an SFX line with the V suffix that they announced at Computex in Jan 2020 and an ATX line that's been around for a while. The links that I gave were for the ATX line so please disregard. It seems like CM hasnt updated their site to list details about the SFX line yet even though some said that they already got their units from Taobao.
Current Events guy
Sep 3 2020, 05:41 PM
QUOTE(AssToast @ Sep 3 2020, 04:27 PM) CM AU got link for it, https://www.coolermaster.com/au/en-au/catal.../v850-sfx-gold/. Why do people buy from TaoBao when alternatives are available with warranty? It's not available locally yet. The alternatives, like SF from Corsair are pricey and hard to come by. The other options are SX from Silverstone and FSP Dagger which are known to be loud. QUOTE(mois @ Sep 3 2020, 05:18 PM) Seem Corsair RM750 is great value Rm525 on shopee with 10 years warranty. SUper Flower LEADEX III 750W gold RM515 but 5 years warranty. Seasosonic GX 750 around RM565 10 years warranty. Cant go wrong with all of these haha. I've got an RM650 bought last year, pretty good so far.
Current Events guy
Sep 3 2020, 07:37 PM
QUOTE(i7xQTi @ Sep 3 2020, 06:13 PM) this wasnt true until the recent psu shortage though. i bought a sf750 prior to covid for what mustve been 650ringgit. considering corsair's sfx psus are 80+platinum, id say the old pricing fits its niche position I'm aware. I bought two sf750 in feb and March. both had to be recalled. Returned one as it was in the window and got a new unit for the other one.