The newbie guide to power supply units, Questions and comments are welcomed

TristanX
post Jan 31 2015, 12:51 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(McDBigMaC @ Jan 31 2015, 12:26 PM)
Sorry mix up HP , Dell @@. Yes is accurate. The model number and spec is accurate.
Looks like mATX case to me. Good chance the PSU is ATX. I suggest bringing it to shop and see if you can upgrade the power supply.
TristanX
post Feb 1 2015, 10:20 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(jackiewong @ Feb 1 2015, 10:08 PM)
anyone can advise?
GTX970 is the best you can get.
TristanX
post Feb 14 2015, 09:37 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(Twain Elmund @ Feb 14 2015, 05:51 PM)
Hi just wanted to ask a perfect PSU for my rig from all sifu2 here

CPU      - i7 4790k
Fan        - CM hyper 212X
MOBO    - Asus z97 pro
GPU      - Asus Strix 980
RAM      - Corsair DDR3 Vengence Pro 8GB (2 x 4G)
HDD      - WD 1 TB 3.5 inch 7200RPM
ODD      - Samsung DVD-RW 24x SATA
CASE      - CM HAF X
PSU        - ??
im planning to run a single GPU config atm but maybe planning using a dual GPU config in the near future after the 4k monitors price go down in the market. well which PSU would be best ( and for future upgrades as well )
Coolermaster V850 at RM589 from Viewnet fits the bill.
TristanX
post Feb 26 2015, 01:05 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(kaliku @ Feb 26 2015, 11:47 AM)
CPU: Intel Core I5 4460
MOBO: ASrock H81m-hds
RAM: GSKill AEGIS 4GB DDR3 1600mhz
HDD: WD 1TB Caviar Blue HDD
GPU: Sapphire R9 270X DualX 2GB DDR5
Chassis: Thermaltake versa
WIFI: Tplink TL-WN727N 150mbps

Hi guys, lets say for this setup, which psu would be better in reliability/performance if given either fsp hexa+550 or aerocool kcas 500w?
Corsair VS 550W at the RM10 more than FSP for extra 1 year warranty.
TristanX
post Mar 2 2015, 03:50 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(yusri27 @ Mar 2 2015, 03:37 PM)
Hi, just want to ask will my PSU can handle crossfire? Here's my rig

CPU i7-2600K
CPU Cooler Corsair H100
MOBO Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD7-B3
RAM Vengeance CMZ8GX3M2A1866C10
GPU Sapphire R9 270X
PSU SEASONIC M12II 750W
HDD Corsair Force 3 120GB SSD + WD Black 2TB
Chassis Cooler Master HAF X

I wanted to add another R9 270X for crossfire but afraid that my PSU can't handle it. Thanks in advance!
Easily. It has 744W on +12V rail

http://www.seasonicusa.com/M12II-Bronze-650-750-850.htm

http://www.tweaktown.com/articles/5984/sap...re/index22.html
TristanX
post Mar 4 2015, 10:56 AM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(Edifier @ Mar 4 2015, 10:37 AM)
The SRP is RM239.
Price very close to Seasonic Eco Green 600W. Maybe it is that model inside that PSU.
TristanX
post Mar 4 2015, 03:52 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Mar 4 2015, 03:30 PM)
Seasonic Eco Green?  Haven't heard that model before... hmm.gif
It's Eco 600W. The Green came out of my mind after seeing the box. lol

http://www.lelong.com.my/seasonic-eco-600-...5-12-Sale-P.htm
TristanX
post Mar 9 2015, 09:16 AM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(AlexS @ Mar 8 2015, 06:30 PM)
Current machine specs are

i5 3450
Gigabyte h77m-D3H
Powercolor radeon 4870 (trying to upgrade to 6950)
Kingston DDR3 4GB + 2GB
Four WD HDD 2.5 HDD

current Psu Xigmatek XCP-A500
Yeah, that's not a good PSU. Look for Seasonic M12 II Evo 520W at RM279 or Seasonic S12 II 620W at RM299. You need PSU with more stamina for "high end" (mid range for current gen) cards.
TristanX
post Mar 20 2015, 08:21 AM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(samkian @ Mar 20 2015, 12:25 AM)
Hi, should I replace my PSU?
Current spec:
Asus M5A78L-M LX
AMD Phenom IIx4 960T 3.0GHz
Seagate ST1500DM003 1.5TB x1
WD Black 1TB x1
Plextor M5S 128GB
Asus STRIX GTX970
Case fan x5
PCI-E USB 3.0 card

Current PSU is FSP HEXA 500W.
Don't see any issue there unless you wanna overclock.
TristanX
post Mar 20 2015, 12:29 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(samkian @ Mar 20 2015, 12:11 PM)
But there is an issue which my USB3.0 cannot be used. It says the power....something, I forgot already
USB 3.0 card requires PCI Express 2.0 x1 slot and you need to connect additional power to it.
TristanX
post Mar 21 2015, 12:18 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(samkian @ Mar 20 2015, 11:29 PM)
Ya I already connect additional power for it. It seems that windows can detect it in Device Manager, but whenever I plug in my USB 3.0 devices, it does't light up.
[attachmentid=4380634]

[attachmentid=4380635]
The motherboard spec does not tell you whether if it is PCIE 2.0 or not. Try putting it on 2nd PCIE x16 slot.

This post has been edited by TristanX: Mar 21 2015, 12:58 PM
TristanX
post Mar 21 2015, 11:08 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(samkian @ Mar 21 2015, 08:13 PM)
I don't think have 2nd PCIE x16 slot to put because my Asus STRIX GTX970 has occupied the space
Ok. I guess you can try bringing the USB 3.0 card to your friend's PC and see if it works or not.
TristanX
post Mar 23 2015, 08:26 AM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(amimaumakan @ Mar 23 2015, 01:42 AM)
hi I just bought asus r9 290 dcuii OC
my current rig is:
i3-4150
8gb of ram
MSI b85-g43
one fan and stock fan only
1 hdd
1 dvd drive
my psu is kcas 600w 80+ bronze
I not quite sure whether my psu can sustain the hungry power of r9 290 on normal gaming without overclocking the gpu...
please help
Definitely your low quality PSU will struggle.
TristanX
post Mar 24 2015, 04:36 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ Mar 24 2015, 04:12 PM)
Been using a Corsair AX860i for about a year now. Was recently hit by a spate of BSODs and crashes, which unfortunately covered up my real problem. I've removed the offending TP Link Drivers which was causing my crashes, but on top of the error IDs pointing to the drivers, I noticed Error ID41 pops up a lot. Now I still get hit by Error ID 41, which relates to power and unnatural shutdowns. I don't even see the Blue screens now that the PC resets itself instantly thanks to removal of the corrupted drivers. Is it a PSU issue? Some people said it RAM but I did a full check and nothing was wrong on the hardware side.
This type of issue needs 1 by 1 checking. I suggest you check the disk for errors. It may be corrupted Windows installation as well. After that, borrow a PSU and test it. Then the motherboard.
TristanX
post Mar 24 2015, 05:18 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ Mar 24 2015, 05:16 PM)
I've used Command Prompt to check the entire system and also the drives. All fine. The problematic TP Link drivers are dead and gone. I will proceed to do a memory check as well as Aida64 stress test.

PSU borrowing might be a bit difficult though. See how.

Also, this only happens when playing BF4. Doesn't happen for any other games.
Did you do the command below?

sfc /scannow
TristanX
post Mar 24 2015, 06:44 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ Mar 24 2015, 06:14 PM)
That's the first thing I did lol. Second one was the disk check where I had to restart the pc. Both came back fine.

I don't even see a blue screen man. Just wham bam restart in 2 seconds and my pc acts like nothing just happened. I'll restart it again since it lags abit after the crash. Then all smooth sailing from there.
Check the hardware connection. Reseat the RAM.
TristanX
post Mar 25 2015, 09:22 AM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ Mar 25 2015, 02:53 AM)
I think it's either my mobo or my PSU. Why?

My motherboard hits 50c during gaming. I know my room temps is around 31-33 and my bottom rad is pull mode, so hot air does come up, but 50c is a bit on the high side. Plus I think I need to check the surge protection feature.

My AX860i, I didn't install Corsair Link. So my PSU fan is silent, and until starts when it hits a certain temperature. But even when it does, only at 40% speed. I configured and installed Link so now it's permanently at 60% fan speed. Doesn't breach 35c even when gaming. My total consumption during game was 400W tops anyways, half of my capacity.

Hopefully it'll solve some and doesn't restart again.
50C is fine for the motherboard. AX series should be able to handle 50C as well. I think you better send your PC to check PSU or mobo. Or you can place your rig on better environment. Like next to open door or infront of window.
TristanX
post Jul 27 2015, 09:25 AM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(ming0000 @ Jul 27 2015, 12:10 AM)
wanna upgrade my PSU.
Seasonic X-650 and G-650, which one more stable, not much RMA problem?
how bout Leadex Gold 650W 80+ Full Modular?
G-650 is one tier lower but cheaper. Both Seasonic X-650 and Super Flower Leadex 650W is top notch, comes at a price.
TristanX
post Jul 29 2015, 08:23 AM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(ming0000 @ Jul 27 2015, 02:54 PM)
saw u are using X series, heard that X alot problem, dont know true or not.  sad.gif
Nope. No issue here. Even overclocked and crossfired HD7870 and HD4870 with that.
TristanX
post Jul 29 2015, 08:45 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(ming0000 @ Jul 29 2015, 05:52 PM)
now X-series selling RM5xx.  rclxub.gif
Quality comes at a price. With USD going up plus GST, it is even higher.

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0571sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:07 PM