Is it a right time to buy ultrabook?

TSEguy1314
post Dec 8 2012, 07:28 PM, updated 14y ago

anixekai.com
2,910 posts

Well, I dunno is currently the right time to buy ultrabook or not.

Not really urgent but will use it for University . Already got a multimedia laptop however lack of mobility and battery life >.< So I kinda 1 an ultrabook for my University(bring to U) ..

So the budget is the most RM 3.5 k

SO do you think now is the right time to buy? will the new processor gonna release soon? or new model or anything >.<
raymondtong94
post Dec 8 2012, 07:31 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

IMO, its not the right time because i heard that haswell architecture will be releasing soon. maybe next year on march (according to wikipedia). so if you urgently need it by next year march or something, you can get it now.

EDIT : Dell Inspiron 14z not bad

This post has been edited by raymondtong94: Dec 8 2012, 07:33 PM
TSEguy1314
post Dec 8 2012, 07:59 PM

anixekai.com
2,910 posts

haiz, seem like not the right time >.<
tennytyy
post Dec 8 2012, 08:05 PM

1,916 posts

Buying laptop doesn't have to follow the trends, just pick one that suits you needs and requirements.
Technology evolves from time to time, you can't catch up with it.
nexus2238
post Dec 8 2012, 08:19 PM

4,195 posts

Haswell most likely is only going to be 2Q13. And then maybe a few more months for all the brands to release their models line-up.
If you can wait, then Haswell could really be something to look forward too. For a start, the CPU should operate at 10W (ivy bridge is 17W). And Intel is working more closely with all the brands to ensure all components in the platform strife for power-saving.
If you can't wait, ivy bridge is not bad. Models with ULV CPU + 128G SSD are selling at RM3.3k+, and could last you 5-6 hours normal usage. And the built quality are usually top notch at this price range.
TSEguy1314
post Dec 8 2012, 08:33 PM

anixekai.com
2,910 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Dec 8 2012, 08:19 PM)
Haswell most likely is only going to be 2Q13. And then maybe a few more months for all the brands to release their models line-up.
If you can wait, then Haswell could really be something to look forward too. For a start, the CPU should operate at 10W (ivy bridge is 17W). And Intel is working more closely with all the brands to ensure all components in the platform strife for power-saving.
If you can't wait, ivy bridge is not bad. Models with ULV CPU + 128G SSD are selling at RM3.3k+, and could last you 5-6 hours normal usage. And the built quality are usually top notch at this price range.
So which models will you recommend?

What you think about
Macbook Air
Asus Zenbook(PF TJ told me that Asus warranty service is pretty bad)
Dell XPS 13

Which 1 is more worth the buck? or any other model in mind? smile.gif

raymondtong94
post Dec 8 2012, 08:39 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Eguy1314 @ Dec 8 2012, 08:33 PM)
Which 1 is more worth the buck? or any other model in mind? smile.gif
IMO, if you just wanted the ultrabook for doing works, macbook air and dell xps 13 is the right choice. if you want light gaming, dell inspiron 14z is for you.
TSEguy1314
post Dec 8 2012, 08:45 PM

anixekai.com
2,910 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Dec 8 2012, 08:39 PM)
IMO, if you just wanted the ultrabook for doing works, macbook air and dell xps 13 is the right choice. if you want light gaming, dell inspiron 14z is for you.
However, if i extend the warranty, it will be out of my budget sweat.gif I think is crucial to extend the warranty for ultrabook or laptop. >.< If something goes wrong mean buy new 1 >.<
nexus2238
post Dec 8 2012, 08:58 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(Eguy1314 @ Dec 8 2012, 08:45 PM)
However, if i extend the warranty, it will be out of my budget  sweat.gif  I think is crucial to extend the warranty for ultrabook or laptop. >.< If something goes wrong mean buy new 1 >.<
Ok, if you are talking about this:
XPS13, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 128GB SSD@RM3299[1.36kg], 4GB, W8, backlit
Extend to 2 years will hit RM3.8k, extend to 3 years ~ RM4.2k. The warranty is so expensive is because the standard warranty for XPS is accidental coverage (even if you throw it out of window, Dell will fix it for you no question ask laugh.gif )
But remember, price is negotiable. Negotiate "kuat kuat" when you chat with the online sale agent, you could easily knock the spec with 2 year warranty down to within your budget of RM3.5k, and if you are a real ace negotiator, even 3 year warranty may be is only a couple of hunderd out of your budget tongue.gif
TSEguy1314
post Dec 8 2012, 09:00 PM

anixekai.com
2,910 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Dec 8 2012, 08:58 PM)
Ok, if you are talking about this:
XPS13, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 128GB SSD@RM3299[1.36kg], 4GB, W8, backlit
Extend to 2 years will hit RM3.8k, extend to 3 years ~ RM4.2k. The warranty is so expensive is because the standard warranty for XPS is accidental coverage (even if you throw it out of window, Dell will fix it for you no question ask  laugh.gif )
But remember, price is negotiable. Negotiate "kuat kuat" when you chat with the online sale agent, you could easily knock the spec with 2 year warranty down to within your budget of RM3.5k, and if you are a real ace negotiator, even 3 year warranty may be is only a couple of hunderd out of your budget  tongue.gif
Only Dell can negotiate, other brand cant? hmm.gif

Got tips for Negotiate kuat kuat? smile.gif Can PM me also brows.gif
nexus2238
post Dec 8 2012, 09:21 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(Eguy1314 @ Dec 8 2012, 09:00 PM)
Only Dell can negotiate, other brand cant?  hmm.gif

Got tips for Negotiate kuat kuat? smile.gif Can PM me also  brows.gif
All brands can negotiate, but only Dell sell online and you can negotiate directly online with "multiple" sale agents (that's the trick smile.gif ).
The other brands, you have to do some leg work, going from store to store laugh.gif
TSEguy1314
post Dec 8 2012, 09:46 PM

anixekai.com
2,910 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Dec 8 2012, 09:21 PM)
All brands can negotiate, but only Dell sell online and you can negotiate directly online with "multiple" sale agents (that's the trick  smile.gif  ).
The other brands, you have to do some leg work, going from store to store  laugh.gif
Tips for negotiating ? tongue.gif
raymondtong94
post Dec 8 2012, 09:57 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Eguy1314 @ Dec 8 2012, 09:46 PM)
lots of results for you. wink.gif
nexus2238
post Dec 8 2012, 09:59 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(Eguy1314 @ Dec 8 2012, 09:46 PM)
1. Chat with as many sale agent as you can. Each could offer you different deal.
2. Know where is the bottom line. 10% discount is easy, 15% is tough but doable, 20% you are pushing your luck smile.gif (for ultrabook. Lower price notebook has lower profit margin)
3. Some agents could start throwing free gift at you (eg. bag, mouse, ...), if you don't want them, counter and try to get lower price instead.

And by the way, normally a girl will teach a guy how to negotiate laugh.gif Good luck laugh.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Dec 8 2012, 10:01 PM
raymondtong94
post Dec 8 2012, 10:05 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Dec 8 2012, 09:59 PM)
1. Chat with as many sale agent as you can. Each could offer you different deal.
2. Know where is the bottom line. 10% discount is easy, 15% is tough but doable, 20% you are pushing your luck smile.gif (for ultrabook. Lower price notebook has lower profit margin)
3. Some agents could start throwing free gift at you (eg. bag, mouse, ...), if you don't want them, counter and try to get lower price instead.

And by the way, normally a girl will teach a guy how to negotiate  laugh.gif Good luck  laugh.gif
if bring sexy girls to negotiate, will the boss will kena sot till one try success? brows.gif
nexus2238
post Dec 8 2012, 10:09 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Dec 8 2012, 10:05 PM)
if bring sexy girls to negotiate, will the boss will kena sot till one try success? brows.gif
Bro, we are doing online chat smile.gif No webcam I think laugh.gif
TSEguy1314
post Dec 8 2012, 10:38 PM

anixekai.com
2,910 posts

Thank you so much for the tips notworthy.gif

0.0194sec    0.64    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 11:16 PM