Lenovo IdeaPad Y Series Thread v2, When Y480/580 meet Y400/500

tidus88
post Jan 5 2013, 09:51 PM

23 posts

Y500 lenovo user here. First day experience. 1 word. Excellence =)
tidus88
post Jan 8 2013, 08:42 AM

23 posts

Wa I thought Im the only person got problem with the Vsync. LOL... Downloading driver now
tidus88
post Jan 8 2013, 10:05 AM

23 posts

I updated to the latest Nvidia driver.

Dota 2:
The V-sync flicking bug had been solved.
Still got some bug when typing in game. Anyone has same problem like me?
tidus88
post Jan 8 2013, 04:39 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(mrl @ Jan 8 2013, 11:21 AM)
what kind of bug?

is it exclusive to DOTA 2?
It's like when you type in the chat, some weird graphic glitch appears. beside that, it's perfect.

i will check with other games see whether it's dota 2 only or graphic problem.
tidus88
post Jan 8 2013, 05:45 PM

23 posts

Guys. i think we all missed 1 very good function here. Actually Y500 and Y400 supports WiDI. But I cannot install the drivers... =(...
tidus88
post Jan 9 2013, 08:01 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(xD4rever @ Jan 8 2013, 06:46 PM)
if our y500  need to upgrade to win pro ,have to pay 80 USD?
becoz want to use picture lock feature biggrin.gif
Picture lock feature as in the 3-4 fingers scroll down from the touchpad issit?
tidus88
post Jan 9 2013, 08:03 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Jan 8 2013, 05:47 PM)
WiDi would need Intel Wireless Card, is yours Intel?
Qualcomm. But in the website as advertise, the WiDi feature should be available. that is what people complain about it.
tidus88
post Jan 9 2013, 02:43 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(xD4rever @ Jan 9 2013, 10:30 AM)
Wow... very interesting... Im using it now.. xD!!
tidus88
post Jan 9 2013, 04:47 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(hahahuhu @ Jan 9 2013, 04:39 PM)
the only thing i hate about y500 is the fingerprint left on the laptop surface.
other than that its perfect!!
The only thing I hate about Y500 is that my palm unable to reach "y" key easily. It's beyond the bending area between elbow and palm.

I noticed there are two model of y500 

1. 5936 - 4676
2. 5934 - 9366

what is the difference? 
I suggest you to get the SLI version. some come with GT 655, or single GT650. But Sli GT 650 is not very stable yet. Need more update from Nvidia.
tidus88
post Jan 10 2013, 08:47 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(hirota @ Jan 9 2013, 08:51 PM)
finally ibm reply my email and confirmed that my laptop warranty valid.
now im thinking to upgrade ram and extend warranty,  will send them email ask 8gb ram quotation first.
You can purchase RAM by yourself. make sure it is 1600 then you will be fine. I added the RAM by myself. However, Lenovo Y500's back cover come in 1 set. Which means that you have to dissemble the whole back cover in order to install the RAM. You probably can find the tutorials online and it's not hard. xD

This post has been edited by tidus88: Jan 10 2013, 08:55 AM
tidus88
post Jan 10 2013, 08:54 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(JohnnyBoy92 @ Jan 9 2013, 04:50 PM)
Any difference in the touchpad? Some y500 come with Elan and some with Synaptics, right hmm.gif ?
My one comes with Synaptics. So far no problem yet. Many Y500 and Y580 users complain about their touchpad malfunctioning but so far I dont have any problem with it.

QUOTE(tidus88 @ Jan 9 2013, 02:43 PM)
Wow... very interesting... Im using it now.. xD!!

u upgraded from window 8 slv?
No the Original window 8 64-bits come with the picture lock function

hi there ppl , do you guys think i should buy a US set ? whatre the disadvantages regarding warranty and software/hardware

Thanks all for your comments
For Y500, standard one comes with 2 years Carry-in warranty. You need to register your product's warranty at lenovo's website. You need to attach your invoice with date and company's chop in order to register for warranty. So one thing you HAVE to be careful is that you need to make sure that there's a CHOP in your invoice.

Regardless to the hardware problem, as what i see in the community forum, most users have touchpad problems (but I dont have), so if you are the lucky one, you will get the good one. Then, Lenovo Y500 comes with different specs now. Some comes with Blu-Ray optical drive, some come with DVD drive (which means they are not GT650 SLI). depending on what you want.

The GT650 SLI is not that stable yet. Need to wait for Nvidia to release the latest drivers to solve the slacking and glitch problem in certain games, most identical one would be Dota 2. The vertical sync problem still remain unsolved yet.

This post has been edited by tidus88: Jan 10 2013, 09:09 AM
tidus88
post Jan 11 2013, 06:55 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(JohnnyBoy92 @ Jan 10 2013, 06:27 PM)
Bro, which model u r having?  hmm.gif

1. 5936 - 4676
2. 5934 - 9366
tidus88
post Jan 11 2013, 01:57 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(arielpp @ Jan 11 2013, 01:47 PM)
Lenovo y580
i7,8gb ram
Nvidia GTX660

juz bought the machine 3 days ago,experiencing this kindda probs really irritating.
install far cry 3 only for now, sometime the game freeze...have to end task all the time...
and the graphic also like there are flashing pixel randomly?artifacts problem?
how to solve this?
already update my nvidia
Did you overclock?
tidus88
post Jan 11 2013, 09:36 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(Stefan How @ Jan 11 2013, 08:42 PM)
Just wanted to ask u guys,when you are playing game the laptop would get heat up right? Is it ok for to remove the back cover while you were playing game? Will it induce dust or any particle to enter into the internal component and damaging it?
Which model are you talking about. So far for Lenovo Y500 the highest temperature i got is around 65C. Which is totally fine.
tidus88
post Jan 14 2013, 11:06 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(hasnul @ Jan 14 2013, 12:39 AM)
Bench on my Y500 GT650M SLI : Black Ops 2 at Ultra settings 1080p, AF & 4xMSAA,  guideline by notebookcheck. Other GPU results by Notebookcheck.

GT650M SLI : 53 fps

GTX 660M : 37 fps

GTX 670M : 41 fps

GTX 675M : 51 fps

GTX 675MX : 57 fps
thumbup.gif

sherlockms Posted Yesterday, 09:58 PM
  Any y500 (local unit) user experiencing random typing keyboard issue? o.o

Nope. So far so good
tidus88
post Jan 15 2013, 12:23 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(wittywalrus @ Jan 15 2013, 12:00 PM)
Hi does anybody know where I can find the y580? Went to a few shops around digital mall and lowyat but haven't been able to find shop with stock. Any suggestions or advice please
http://www.ipmart.com.my/main/find_laptop....and=0&cat=16651
tidus88
post Jan 15 2013, 03:01 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Jan 15 2013, 02:52 PM)
^Does it include the 2nd Ultrabay GPU and 170W power brick?
Walao... If including these 2 and only cost RM2900. I think it's quite suspicious lo = =
tidus88
post Jan 17 2013, 05:50 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(Unomi @ Jan 17 2013, 10:58 AM)
What about y500? the specs looks even better, but is a SLI type of model. Will it be overheated? Because is running on 2 graphic card.
Since the price gap between both is not far apart.
So far la... Y500 no problem for me. Highest temperature i got is around 65C, Idle at 35C. Which is even better than Asus ROG Laptop.

About quality, Y500 is more beautiful than Y580. The curve at the back of the cover of Y500 is absolutely awesome, and the BackLit (Red color) at the keyboard is just nice.

The only problem is that, games which not supported by SLI might be the only weakness to Y500. And I think Nvidia will fix it.

Price wise : Y580
Gaming : Y500
Appearancee : Y500

tidus88
post Jan 20 2013, 08:56 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(soundworks @ Jan 20 2013, 05:18 AM)
bro play dota 2 without sli on. smooth as butter !
Smooth for me too. average 70-100 fps. I have some glitch problem. You got?

0.0398sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:28 AM