Lenovo IdeaPad Y Series Thread v2, When Y480/580 meet Y400/500

syuksyuk
post Jan 28 2013, 03:42 PM

56 posts

Hi all sifu,

Actually I'm in delima to choose between Y500 and Y580.

I'm gonna use the laptop primary for work assignments ie. 3Ds Max, heavy photoshop, sketchup, autocad n 3d rendering.

So, i want to ask which one is worth to buy. I know both of the model is awesome n both of the models are within my budget.

Thanks in advance.
syuksyuk
post Jan 28 2013, 10:56 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(ytlay @ Jan 28 2013, 08:35 PM)
Y500 with SLI only results performance boost in gaming and not with your above work assignment.  laugh.gif

Get the cheaper Y580@2999 with longer battery life and better single gpu will help to speed up your work assignment. Use the remaining money for SSD to speed up system response, get a u3 cooler and upgrade to 3 yrs on-site warranty.  biggrin.gif
Really? Hmmm. But I'm so attracted with Y500 SLI. Hahaha
I heard Y580 is already EOL? Is it true?
syuksyuk
post Jan 31 2013, 07:13 PM

56 posts

hi guys,
just got my Y500 sli today. upgrade to 8gb ram and 3 years on-site warranty.

please add me to user list. thanks!
syuksyuk
post Feb 1 2013, 02:32 PM

56 posts

i have a problem with my Y500.
i put the battery on and plugged in the adapter for charging while playing with my laptop. but i noticed that it is not charging. it says "plugged in, not charging"

yesterday looks find to me, but when i turn it on this morning, this problem occurs.

can anyone here please help me.
Thanks you
syuksyuk
post Feb 1 2013, 02:38 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(tennytyy @ Feb 1 2013, 02:35 PM)
Go to Energy Management and uncheck something like maximum battery performance.
alright, problem solved!!

thanks sifu!! rclxms.gif
syuksyuk
post Feb 3 2013, 01:36 AM

56 posts

i have a problem,

everything just fine before, i can play sleeping dogs for 3 hours. but then
after i played the game, i try to watch youtube then the screen flashing n there is notification "display driver stop responding and recover". i'm using version 306.00, should i upgrade to the latest version and where can i find?

please help me

0.0485sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 10:32 AM