Lenovo IdeaPad Y Series Thread v2, When Y480/580 meet Y400/500

ndragon
post Dec 12 2012, 08:12 PM

noob~
2,000 posts

guys.. the msata slot in y580 is sata III right?.. not really sure abt these..
ndragon
post Dec 23 2012, 11:10 PM

noob~
2,000 posts

i think u need to turn on the numlock also gua?
is there any numlock button under the fn key?..
ndragon
post Dec 25 2012, 11:31 AM

noob~
2,000 posts

third,

add msata?.. haha
ndragon
post Dec 25 2012, 11:09 PM

noob~
2,000 posts

hmm guys.. I am going to install msata to my y580..
den i install win8 pro using the upgrade on the msata.. how should i do it?..
the win8 pro update can just buy the key n dl the installer first?..

or i should install win7 on the msata 1st then only upgrade from there?..
ndragon
post Dec 26 2012, 08:33 PM

noob~
2,000 posts

QUOTE(Cobby @ Dec 26 2012, 02:24 AM)

where did u buy the mSATA? im looking for one but low yat dont have... kinda hard to find now...  sad.gif
Mind to share the Price/Size/Seller?  rclxms.gif
my friend help me buy from oversea.. but i think newegg is selling for good price.. i notice it after my fren bought for me..

QUOTE(sss2sssss @ Dec 26 2012, 10:06 AM)
U must install ur Win 7 to ur mSATA SSD and active it first only can install Win 8 in the mSATA SSD
oh.. ok.. luckily never continue the win8 upgrade step ytd.. hehe.. thx..
ndragon
post Dec 27 2012, 10:47 PM

noob~
2,000 posts

hey guys.. where do i dl win7 home basic ISO?..

i wan to reinstall the win7 on my msata.. den only upgrade win8 pro from there..
ndragon
post Dec 28 2012, 12:03 AM

noob~
2,000 posts

QUOTE(Cobby @ Dec 27 2012, 11:28 PM)
hmm.gif  I think the port runs on SATA3...

btw, is ur windows installed on it? or is it just a separate drive u can access?

hmm.gif

Added on December 27, 2012, 11:29 pm

Download from Microsoft site.
I wouldnt recommend upgrade from 7... a clean installation for Win8 would be better.
Look for Win8 ISO.  smile.gif
but how does the win7 upgrade works?.. can I just upgrade to a win8 key n use it?.. thats what I need to know..

ps: because it looks like i need to download an upgrade assistant.. n den only proceed from there.. rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by ndragon: Dec 28 2012, 12:06 AM
ndragon
post Dec 28 2012, 01:29 AM

noob~
2,000 posts

QUOTE(sss2sssss @ Dec 28 2012, 12:50 AM)
Ya u must dl that software first, don't forget to backup the win 8 iso file ya.....
And the default create installer from that software is non-EFI one
okay I will try and c how tmr..
just installed win7 on my msata ssd..
the index rating is up!

edit: I tested ATTO on my msata.. heres the result.. I get full speed wo I think.. not sure if I read correctly..
meaning my msata support sata III?..

heres a screen shot from Intel rapid storage.. it shows 6gb/s.. not sure if it means anything..

so anyone can help me interpret?.. new to me.. cant digest.. lol

This post has been edited by ndragon: Dec 28 2012, 01:41 AM
ndragon
post Dec 28 2012, 10:02 AM

noob~
2,000 posts

mushkin atlas.. the dx series..
inside the rapid storage screen shot should have the product code if I m not mistaken..
ndragon
post Dec 28 2012, 09:18 PM

noob~
2,000 posts

QUOTE(spadeheart @ Dec 28 2012, 09:11 PM)
QUESTION!
Y400 VS Y580??
for me i choose y580... u will never go back once u have used FHD.. lol..

dling win8 pro~ rclxm9.gif
ndragon
post Dec 29 2012, 01:58 AM

noob~
2,000 posts

installed win8 pro... dun really know how to use yet lol...

but my bluetooth is not working properly.. my mouse get disconnected after a while..
ndragon
post Dec 29 2012, 12:19 PM

noob~
2,000 posts

hmm.. win 8 y580 user.. wats ur window performance index for your graphic card?.... mine is 6.8 ni.. lower than when i was on win7..
ndragon
post Dec 29 2012, 01:16 PM

noob~
2,000 posts

QUOTE(mrl @ Dec 29 2012, 12:40 PM)
actually, retail is the one that not comes with the laptop... you buy it seperately, standalone Win8 not together with any system... that's retail licensed version...

previously, the one that comes with the system is OEM licensed... if you buy a laptop and get Windows, that Windows is under OEM license...

Added on December 29, 2012, 12:42 pm

Win7 uses 7.9 scale while Win8 is 9.9 scale (is it? or it's 8.9?) that's why the rating is different... or so I believed... unsure.gif
my graphic performance was 7.2 on win7.. n ssd was 7.9...

in win 8.. my graphic is now 6.8.. n ssd is 8.1.. so i also dunno where is the equivalence between win7 n 8...

n win 8 is 9.9 scale.. hehe

QUOTE(tennytyy @ Dec 29 2012, 01:02 PM)
Win8 y580 user here, the score for both the graphics is 6.8 for mine, same as yours
so no problem in my win8 installation.. just want to confirm that.. thanks..
ndragon
post Dec 29 2012, 08:48 PM

noob~
2,000 posts

QUOTE(xyz_cityhunter @ Dec 29 2012, 08:26 PM)
Can anyone help to figure out what is the unknown device? I gave up on Win8 and using Win7 now but i still donno what that thing is, i believe i had everything covered but still got one missing driver...  rclxub.gif
[attachmentid=3232445]
that is in win7 or win8... my win8 i got every driver installed.. just that my bluetooth not working properly.. but i think my y580 bluetooth also has similar problem in win7..

i got all my win8 driver here:
http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/IdeaPad-Y-U-V-...ers/td-p/902751
ndragon
post Dec 30 2012, 02:56 PM

noob~
2,000 posts

QUOTE(~Seventeen~ @ Dec 30 2012, 02:21 PM)
how much you bought?
if u r looking for 1.. i think this 1 is pretty good price..
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1899264
ndragon
post Dec 30 2012, 05:52 PM

noob~
2,000 posts

QUOTE(soundworks @ Dec 30 2012, 04:21 PM)
Hi silly question here , if I were to buy from the Lenovo US ONLINE website for y500 it doesn't include the extra ultra bay graphic card right ? And there is a new year promo going on now so should I buy from there or buy from Malaysia ? What about the warranty and stuff if I buy from us ? Pls help tq !
if after conversion its cheaper in US then u should buy from US.. cuz lenovo's warranty is international ma..

QUOTE(izaydi @ Dec 30 2012, 04:43 PM)
y400 user reporting in!:D
1st y400 user!... gratz~ rclxms.gif
ndragon
post Dec 30 2012, 10:26 PM

noob~
2,000 posts

QUOTE(xyz_cityhunter @ Dec 30 2012, 08:40 PM)
Tweaking and benchmarking my Intel SSD now...
Results icon_rolleyes.gif

Boot time into Windows under 20s i think, anyone else with better bootup time? rclxms.gif
mine boot in 10 from off to window.. restart takes abt 3 sec more.. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ndragon: Dec 30 2012, 10:26 PM
ndragon
post Dec 30 2012, 11:37 PM

noob~
2,000 posts

QUOTE(xyz_cityhunter @ Dec 30 2012, 11:23 PM)
Win7 or 8? And ur SSD model?

Upgrade from Win7 to 8 Pro?
win 8 pro.. mushkin atlas msata.. tongue.gif
ndragon
post Dec 30 2012, 11:59 PM

noob~
2,000 posts

QUOTE(xyz_cityhunter @ Dec 30 2012, 11:40 PM)
Oh, Win8... mine was only Win7... still donno how to migrate the Win8 from my HDD to my SSD... rclxub.gif
i had win7 before i install win8.. it was on within 15.. hehe..
ndragon
post Dec 31 2012, 09:54 AM

noob~
2,000 posts

QUOTE(xyz_cityhunter @ Dec 31 2012, 08:02 AM)
Got any software to time the bootup?
Oh... now still searching for way to do it... or else gonna bug my friend to give me his Win8Pro license, he's so pissed that he cannot play most of his "P" game after he upgrade, now he's searching for a way to get back to Win7... icon_idea.gif
hmm.. so cannot straight away install back win 7 using the old key ar?...

btw.. I have problem with the usb 3.0 port.. all 3 of them..

when I connect usb 3.0 device.. it cannot detect.. when I connect 2.0 device.. it has no problem... n when I connect 3.0 device to the only 2.0 port.. no problem also... just that the 3.0 device dun work with the 3.0 port.. abit wtf lol... anyone has any clue?

0.0472sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 10:42 AM