Lenovo IdeaPad Y Series Thread v2, When Y480/580 meet Y400/500
bboycc
Jan 1 2013, 09:46 PM
Hello everyone, just bought a y580 recently with window 8 pro installed. now i would like to change my hdd to odd place and buy one crucial m4 128g ssd to place into hdd place. how to install the win 8 system into the ssd ? i only know i need to buy 1 ssd + caddy but no clue how to start the work.
bboycc
Jan 5 2013, 10:35 AM
I bought from lowyatmate for rm2500 for a 2months old y580 which had already upgraded to win 8 pro and with ram 12g. think i get the cheapest 2nd hand. LOL
Anyone can teach me to install current window 8(upgrade from win 7 hp by lowyatmate then only pass to me) to a new buy ssd ??
bboycc
Jan 5 2013, 12:00 PM
QUOTE(SELRYC @ Jan 5 2013, 11:55 AM) Thx!!  BTW Y580 is so much better than my old Acer 5750G that I traded in for (Acer build quality was even worse) and I don't feel the power socket is not really problem to me. The recent Ideapad series has nice build quality too.....  Yesterday i just tried to use. and the experience is unbelievable. sound visual all very nice.
bboycc
Jan 5 2013, 12:08 PM
QUOTE(SELRYC @ Jan 5 2013, 12:05 PM) Expected from JBL speakers  The sound is so dynamic and so clear even in full volume I won't need to use my PC speakers anymore~ Even the Altec Lansing speakers from my mom's Asus A52J couldn't match sound quality...... yesterday i was like :"what ?! laptop sound can perform that well?!" too many bad and normal laptop speaker, so this y580 speaker just stunt me.hehe
bboycc
Jan 5 2013, 08:20 PM
QUOTE(thesoothsayer @ Jan 5 2013, 01:53 PM) Thanks for the reply. I'll need at least an Nvidia GT640 or better for CUDA development. The Y-series look very attractive. the cons is the weight. quite heavy actually. other than that it is powerful.
bboycc
Jan 10 2013, 10:00 AM
Can I bring my laptop together with newly bought ssd and caddy to the lenovo service centre and ask them help transfer my current windows 8 from the hdd to sdd ? then my hdd will replace odd place, ssd insert into hdd place. hdd will act like storage drive after that. I really dont have idea on how to do it on my own.
This post has been edited by bboycc: Jan 10 2013, 10:04 AM
bboycc
Jan 10 2013, 12:14 PM
QUOTE(kuroneko0509 @ Jan 10 2013, 10:59 AM) probably can.... oh, finally clean install from win7 to win8..... probably take times to reconfigure everything  think have to phone to ask them. Thanks for answering. u upgrade from windows 7 to windows 8 ? my laptop is upgraded from window 7 hp to window 8. when i receive it it is already in window 8 pro( bought 2nd hand) and how i know it is still "fresh" and clean or how to perform a clean install again for this upgraded windows 8 from windows 7 hp?
bboycc
Jan 10 2013, 12:24 PM
QUOTE(kuroneko0509 @ Jan 10 2013, 10:59 AM) probably can.... oh, finally clean install from win7 to win8..... probably take times to reconfigure everything  From what i had googled. Follow this will be considered as clean install ? http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/IdeaPad-Y-U-V-...ers/td-p/902751
bboycc
Jan 10 2013, 12:27 PM
QUOTE(kuroneko0509 @ Jan 10 2013, 12:23 PM) hard question i believe you can go to pc settings -> general -> remove everythhing & reinstall windows... but haven't tested it yet i never heard before windows xp windows 7 windows vista need to "clean install" Only windows 8 start to become "dirty" and need "clean install".
bboycc
Jan 10 2013, 12:35 PM
QUOTE(sss2sssss @ Jan 10 2013, 12:32 PM) BTW suggestion to u all, install ur Win 8 pro in EFI mode, ur Windows partition will be format into GPT partition It is way too technical term to me. Anyway thanks for the info. will google to learn.
bboycc
Jan 15 2013, 10:40 AM
Hi anyone know how to use Paragon Migrate OS to SSD ? i have a crucial m4 ssd on hand. if i plug out hdd from its original place and place into optical drive place(ODD is useless to me). then insert ssd to hdd place. can windows boot from hdd plugged into optical drive place ?
If can, then i will format the ssd into ntfs format through OS from hdd. and use paragon migrate os to ssd to transfer the os. After that, off windows. and change bios boot sequence to ssd. after entering ssd os, reformat the hdd to be used as storage only.
Are these steps correct ?
bboycc
Jan 15 2013, 04:46 PM
QUOTE(bboycc @ Jan 15 2013, 10:40 AM) Hi anyone know how to use Paragon Migrate OS to SSD ? i have a crucial m4 ssd on hand. if i plug out hdd from its original place and place into optical drive place(ODD is useless to me). then insert ssd to hdd place. can windows boot from hdd plugged into optical drive place ? If can, then i will format the ssd into ntfs format through OS from hdd. and use paragon migrate os to ssd to transfer the os. After that, off windows. and change bios boot sequence to ssd. after entering ssd os, reformat the hdd to be used as storage only. Are these steps correct ? anyone can help ?
bboycc
Jan 15 2013, 04:59 PM
QUOTE(kuroneko0509 @ Jan 15 2013, 04:56 PM) nope... warranty still intact... incase of scared when claiming warranty, just move the stuff into its original place probably typo... afaik, y400 dun have FHD screen... never used it, so can't help... and never tested if it will boot windows when the hdd is on odd slot.... okok.. Thanks for the info anyway.
bboycc
Jan 15 2013, 05:14 PM
QUOTE(kuroneko0509 @ Jan 15 2013, 05:04 PM) or rather, just setup your ssd on odd slot first, & remain your hdd on the hdd spot... do the migration process.. then replace your hdd with ssd & check if OS can boot or not oh ya. will give it a try !
bboycc
Jan 16 2013, 09:23 AM
QUOTE(hissyu @ Jan 15 2013, 11:04 PM) Owner of Y580 Window8 version. Nice laptop, but seem like wifi reception is not really good. Anyone? It seem true. guess buying external adapter is the only way to solve this problem. Why such a good laptop and they decide to ruin it using a lousy wifi card.
bboycc
Jan 16 2013, 09:48 AM
QUOTE(sharp903sh finder @ Jan 16 2013, 09:45 AM) i thought win8 boottime sud be faster?? wonder why my y580 have dis kind of problem  strange. never face this problem. was once boot slow after update. but never like your case.
bboycc
Jan 23 2013, 02:39 PM
Yesterday i tested my y580 with street fighter 4 arcade edition with all high settings. really awesome!! i know this game is not a benchmark game. but i like fighting game very much. it is happy to see it can run so smooth ! awesome!
bboycc
Jan 24 2013, 11:22 AM
QUOTE(money_rule @ Jan 23 2013, 07:29 PM) wow from where did u see the y580? From where ? From my own y580