130 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Bottom

Lenovo IdeaPad Y Series Thread v2, When Y480/580 meet Y400/500

maggot05
post Jan 15 2013, 01:39 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(mrl @ Jan 14 2013, 04:32 AM)
1. you can ask the shop first if they can do the upgrade to Win7 Home Premium or anything that you want... other than that, you can also by it seperately from other shop (pretty much most of computer shop sells OS as well) or else, you can check the Garage Sales.

2. Upon receiving your laptop, create an image using disk imaging software and you can restore it into your SSD later... totally doable on your own... though I'm not sure if it's possible to do it with supplied recovery software...

3. I'm using it, with 8GB RAM... I'm moving from a desktop with i7-2600K and GTX560... for me, this is a good replacement... not exactly an upgrade but a very good replacement.... having the same capability with very good pricetag... though, don't be surprise with the heat... it's a laptop, not a desktop... I can't ask anything more from this laptop with that price...
Open task manager and check your resource utilization... I assumed all are running on desktop, not metro...
man now im so confused. y580 vs y500 vs y400

I guess the first main question would be GTX660M vs GT650M and I really dont understand all the jargon on the comparison sites. I guess in the real world, while actually playing games, does it make a somewhat significant difference?

thenext would definately be that I dont understand what this whole ultrabay thing does. from my understanding basically its a slot where you can replace the the DVD drive with a harddisk and case or another graphic card and case. I guess that would be useful if playing super high demanding games. but otherwise its useless. the reason this is confusing for me is that I dont play too many games. im not a gamer. but when I do play accidentally start of playing something, the whole world shuts down for like a week. last time I did that was 2 years ago. ive been on rehab ever since.

3rdly now a lot of sellers dont have the y580. and y500 is quite expensive i believe. does the price drop if I dont buy a nother graphics card and go for a simple DVD drive instead? the y480 is around the same price as the y580 non blu-ray. but some sellers say its 14 inch and some say its 15.6. im confused. also is it 1080p full HD? cuz im not sure.

other than these which is a better machine in terms of looks, build quality and structure and cooling etc ? I really have no idea about all this.

hoping to get some real world answers that a semi-nerd-semi-noob can understand

Cobby
post Jan 15 2013, 02:39 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(maggot05 @ Jan 15 2013, 01:39 PM)

I guess the first main question would be GTX660M vs GT650M and I really dont understand all the jargon on the comparison sites. I guess in the real world, while actually playing games, does it make a somewhat significant difference?

thenext would definately be that I dont understand what this whole ultrabay thing does. from my understanding basically its a slot where you can replace the the DVD drive with a harddisk and case or another graphic card and case. I guess that would be useful if playing super high demanding games. but otherwise its useless. the reason this is confusing for me is that I dont play too many games. im not a gamer. but when I do play accidentally start of playing something, the whole world shuts down for like a week. last time I did that was 2 years ago. ive been on rehab ever since.

3rdly now a lot of sellers dont have the y580. and y500 is quite expensive i believe. does the price drop if I dont buy a nother graphics card and go for a simple DVD drive instead? the y480 is around the same price as the y580 non blu-ray. but some sellers say its 14 inch and some say its 15.6. im confused. also is it 1080p full HD? cuz im not sure.

other than these which is a better machine in terms of looks, build quality and structure and cooling etc ? I really have no idea about all this.

I would recommend Y500 if u game alot. and Y400 for casual gaming and portability.

icon_rolleyes.gif
cloud999
post Jan 15 2013, 02:49 PM

147 posts

Went to lowyat yesterday hunting for y580.

Found out an interesting offer for y500:

15.6" FHD + 8GB RAM + 1TB HDD = rm2900

this one must be grey import set is it?

I'm a bit confused actually.
lee_what2004
post Jan 15 2013, 02:52 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

^Does it include the 2nd Ultrabay GPU and 170W power brick?
tidus88
post Jan 15 2013, 03:01 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Jan 15 2013, 02:52 PM)
Walao... If including these 2 and only cost RM2900. I think it's quite suspicious lo = =
cloud999
post Jan 15 2013, 03:10 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Jan 15 2013, 02:52 PM)
Both not included.
mrl
post Jan 15 2013, 03:12 PM

977 posts

QUOTE(maggot05 @ Jan 15 2013, 01:39 PM)

Y580 and Y500 is 15.6" screen laptop while Y480 and Y400 is 14" screen laptop. 14" screnn won't have 1080p full HD, but 15.6" screen can have that.

If you just play occasionally, I would recommend Y580 if you can find one... reason is simple, cheaper, more powerful single GPU... I believe you dont want to give yourself a headache with SLI config and stuff...

GT650M acting alone is not that powerful but good enough for occasional gaming... GTX660M will give some extra boost + TXAA... however, dual GT650M in Y500 is much much powerful if you really care about performance and quality but if you ask me, if you last play games heavily 2 years ago I am pretty much doubt that you're willing to spend time and money for SLI config... but if I'm wrong, I will greatly recommend you Y500 with dual GT650M.

now, Lenovo Malaysia doesn't really have a Y500 set that doesn't come with extra GT650M I believe... if you can find one, high likely it's imported set... and it's cheaper than dual GT650M config.

in terms of cooling, Y500 has better cooling design... Y580 is not that bad after you apply the workarounds...
tennytyy
post Jan 15 2013, 03:27 PM

1,915 posts

Anyone here playing Black Ops 2 on your Y580?
Mine has no TXAA under anti-aliasing, any solution?
Nividia Driver is the latest 310.90.....
cloud999
post Jan 15 2013, 03:46 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(mrl @ Jan 15 2013, 03:12 PM)
now, Lenovo Malaysia doesn't really have a Y500 set that doesn't come with extra GT650M I believe... if you can find one, high likely it's imported set... and it's cheaper than dual GT650M config.

in terms of cooling, Y500 has better cooling design... Y580 is not that bad after you apply the workarounds...
Grey import..is it bad?

From my understanding, users are not entitled for 1-to-1 exchange. Plus, if it doesn't come with extra gt650m, better go for a single powerful gpu which is y580.

Any other disadvantages?
wittywalrus
post Jan 15 2013, 03:52 PM

31 posts

I've been hearing of people having problems with the keypad and the touchpad on the Y500 though. Is this a common enough problem with people who bought it? I'll be going overseas for 6 month stretches, so this is the only concern I have which makes me want to get the y580 over the y500
TSkuroneko0509
post Jan 15 2013, 03:53 PM

~~sleeping anywhere, anytime, anyplace~~
969 posts

QUOTE(cloud999 @ Jan 15 2013, 03:46 PM)
Grey import..is it bad?

From my understanding, users are not entitled for 1-to-1 exchange. Plus, if it doesn't come with extra gt650m, better go for a single powerful gpu which is y580.

Any other disadvantages?
the problem with imported ones lies in when claiming warranty. there's a user before unsuccessfully claim the warranty as service center requested the original receipt where as that user bought imported ones from a seller here & no such receipt...
cloud999
post Jan 15 2013, 04:23 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(kuroneko0509 @ Jan 15 2013, 03:53 PM)
the problem with imported ones lies in when claiming warranty. there's a user before unsuccessfully claim the warranty as service center requested the original receipt where as that user bought imported ones from a seller here & no such receipt...
..ended up spending more money to get the laptop repaired. Cheaper in price, not worth a peace of mind.

For y580, lets say in the future i want to upgrade from 500gb to 1tb and adding up ssd, does it void the warranty?

maggot05
post Jan 15 2013, 04:25 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(mrl @ Jan 15 2013, 03:12 PM)
Y580 and Y500 is 15.6" screen laptop while Y480 and Y400 is 14" screen laptop. 14" screnn won't have 1080p full HD, but 15.6" screen can have that.

If you just play occasionally, I would recommend Y580 if you can find one... reason is simple, cheaper, more powerful single GPU... I believe you dont want to give yourself a headache with SLI config and stuff...

GT650M acting alone is not that powerful but good enough for occasional gaming... GTX660M will give some extra boost + TXAA... however, dual GT650M in Y500 is much much powerful if you really care about performance and quality but if you ask me, if you last play games heavily 2 years ago I am pretty much doubt that you're willing to spend time and money for SLI config... but if I'm wrong, I will greatly recommend you Y500 with dual GT650M.

yeah.. not a super gamer here.. but I want to mostly use it for animation like autodesk maya. planning to upgrade to SSD and 16gb ram. just confused about what to go for. I guess at this point im gonna stick with the y580. though I could opt for the y400 also and buy my self a 24 inch FHD screen. since I wouldnt really watch high quality movies on a small 15 inch screen anyway. im assuming I wont need a FHD screen on the laptop if I have an external one. or do I need an FHD screen on the laptop to be able to get that quality on an external screen aswell?

also http://shopap.lenovo.com/SEUILibrary/contr...8CC966BC85BD69C

says here under y400 that its FHD. im assuming thats full HD

thanks for the help though.

This post has been edited by maggot05: Jan 15 2013, 04:36 PM
bboycc
post Jan 15 2013, 04:46 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(bboycc @ Jan 15 2013, 10:40 AM)
Hi anyone know how to use Paragon Migrate OS to SSD ? i have a crucial m4 ssd on hand. if i plug out hdd from its original place and place into optical drive place(ODD is useless to me). then insert ssd to hdd place. can windows boot from hdd plugged into optical drive place ?

If can, then i will format the ssd into ntfs format through OS from hdd. and use paragon migrate os to ssd to transfer the os. After that, off windows. and change bios boot sequence to ssd. after entering ssd os, reformat the hdd to be used as storage only.

Are these steps correct ?
anyone can help ? sweat.gif
TSkuroneko0509
post Jan 15 2013, 04:56 PM

969 posts

QUOTE(cloud999 @ Jan 15 2013, 04:23 PM)
..ended up spending more money to get the laptop repaired. Cheaper in price, not worth a peace of mind.

For y580, lets say in the future i want to upgrade from 500gb to 1tb and adding up ssd, does it void the warranty?
nope... warranty still intact... incase of scared when claiming warranty, just move the stuff into its original place

QUOTE(maggot05 @ Jan 15 2013, 04:25 PM)
yeah.. not a super gamer here..  but I want to mostly use it for animation like autodesk maya. planning to upgrade to SSD and 16gb ram. just confused about what to go for. I guess at this point im gonna stick with the y580. though I could opt for the y400 also and buy my self a 24 inch FHD screen. since I wouldnt really watch high quality movies on a small 15 inch screen anyway. im assuming I wont need a FHD screen on the laptop if I have an external one. or do I need an FHD screen on the laptop to be able to get that quality on an external screen aswell?

also http://shopap.lenovo.com/SEUILibrary/contr...8CC966BC85BD69C

says here under y400 that its FHD. im assuming thats full HD

thanks for the help though.
probably typo... afaik, y400 dun have FHD screen...

QUOTE(bboycc @ Jan 15 2013, 04:46 PM)
anyone can help ? sweat.gif
never used it, so can't help... and never tested if it will boot windows when the hdd is on odd slot....
bboycc
post Jan 15 2013, 04:59 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(kuroneko0509 @ Jan 15 2013, 04:56 PM)
nope... warranty still intact... incase of scared when claiming warranty, just move the stuff into its original place
probably typo... afaik, y400 dun have FHD screen...
never used it, so can't help... and never tested if it will boot windows when the hdd is on odd slot....
okok.. Thanks for the info anyway.
TSkuroneko0509
post Jan 15 2013, 05:04 PM

969 posts

QUOTE(bboycc @ Jan 15 2013, 04:59 PM)
okok.. Thanks for the info anyway.
or rather, just setup your ssd on odd slot first, & remain your hdd on the hdd spot... do the migration process..
then replace your hdd with ssd & check if OS can boot or not
bboycc
post Jan 15 2013, 05:14 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(kuroneko0509 @ Jan 15 2013, 05:04 PM)
or rather, just setup your ssd on odd slot first, & remain your hdd on the hdd spot... do the migration process..
then replace your hdd with ssd & check if OS can boot or not
oh ya. will give it a try ! smile.gif
guilt79
post Jan 15 2013, 06:35 PM

149 posts

Huh???

Still got ppl looking for Y580? Why?

Y500 is an ultimate machine. Why choose Y580?
mengfart
post Jan 15 2013, 06:45 PM

༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ Giff Me Mana Kotol
1,701 posts

QUOTE(guilt79 @ Jan 15 2013, 06:35 PM)
Huh???

Still got ppl looking for Y580? Why?

Y500 is an ultimate machine. Why choose Y580?
Because y500 price is too much for some people.
like me. =)

130 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Top

0.0185sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:08 PM