Lenovo IdeaPad Y Series Thread v2, When Y480/580 meet Y400/500

mrl
post Feb 19 2013, 01:17 PM

977 posts

QUOTE(efariz @ Feb 19 2013, 12:21 PM)
hi, any Y400 user here.?? i want to ask few things before buying it..

1. can i install SSD (or mSata) without replacing current HDD (SSD for booting & system)?
2. how about heat issue? i read some review saying this Y400 may encounter heat problem?
3. any Y400 user already used Y400 Removable Fan S2601?? i need a review cos i'm thinking to get one too..
4. what brand & model is the default wifi card? how many antenna it used?

sorry i asked many question..hehe.. sweat.gif
1. sure... you have 2 options... one is using UltraBay caddy so that you can put you one of your drive inside it... another option is using mSata...
2. I didn't recall anybody saying Y400 has heat problem... if anything it's much much better compare to Y480/Y580...

question 3 & 4 has to wait somebody else to answer...

QUOTE(onizukaeikichi @ Feb 19 2013, 01:05 PM)
Hi ppl regarding warranty, according to the shopkeeper, if I move to Australia, I will have to contact IBM for any warranty related issues. Is this true? Is there any risk since its not Lenovo themselves?
there are service centers in Aussie as well... though I'm not 100% sure how the warranty going to work out... you'll get better answer by calling Lenovo Customer Support, i think... as I'm pretty sure you won't have to go through IBM... they are different company providing different service already... probably he confused Lenovo vs IBM as most of Lenovo's line up are acquired from IBM...
mrl
post Feb 20 2013, 11:21 AM

977 posts

QUOTE(eatsleepnDIE @ Feb 20 2013, 10:36 AM)
just a quick question to all sifus here..if i mix my ram brand (means 4gb from kingston and another 4gb from hyundai), will it effect my performance? will my laptop running at max potential?

thanks!
brand shouldn't affect the performance as long as the timing and frequency is the same...
mrl
post Feb 21 2013, 01:53 AM

977 posts

QUOTE(kamikraze @ Feb 20 2013, 06:13 PM)
I just purchase CM Notepal U2 for RM70. Unbelievable the fan so quite, I was wondering if the fan spin or not but there are air flows. When I put my Y400 it kinda slipping and not much grip. is that normal to those who use other Y series with U2 or U3?
I just bought U3 and it works fine with me... no slip...
mrl
post Feb 21 2013, 02:23 AM

977 posts

QUOTE(kamikraze @ Feb 21 2013, 02:15 AM)
U3 and U2 is same size right? only extra 1 fan right?
now it's not slip anymore. maybe the rubber meet rubber take time to stick.

I'm facing frequent BSOD with dpc_watchdog_violation error. And it make me sick.
No restart or anything after 100% reading error. sigh. still no fix from Microsoft right?
I think U2 is smaller coz from the description, U3 is targeted at 17" to 19" laptops...

and last time I check, U2 has less fan because of the size can't accommodate 3 fans as well...

can you describe what you're doing when it happen? any similarities? or it just happens randomly?
mrl
post Feb 21 2013, 07:42 AM

977 posts

QUOTE(kamikraze @ Feb 21 2013, 07:39 AM)
well..that time i was try to test if the laptop can really stick to the pad or not.
by put and leave it. somehow my laptop slide down. then i check how come this happened.
seem both the pad part and laptop rubber part cannot stick to each other. later i leave it for awhile.
now ok already. no slip. i guess thats normal.
silly me... I should've mention it in my previous post laugh.gif

I meant the BSOD... describe what you're doing when BSOD occured... laugh.gif
mrl
post Feb 21 2013, 02:41 PM

977 posts

QUOTE(mengfart @ Feb 21 2013, 11:29 AM)
Guys quick question.

Is it advisable to upgrade my HDD ?

Im using 500gb now and it don't seemed to be enough for me.

what is the price range of a decent 1tb - 2tb hard disk ?

If i'm to change it how do i copy my system files to the new disk ?

acronis ?

this is pretty much down to how you use your system and nobody can say it's good or bad... if 500GB is not enough just go and upgrade... plenty of options for disk imaging... acronis is one, i think Lenovo's One Key Recovery do provide the facility as well...

truthfully, 500GB is actually very small nowadays... if your only means of storing data is your laptop HDD, it will never be enough...

QUOTE(kamikraze @ Feb 21 2013, 11:43 AM)
oh. well I was browsing and torrenting. thats's all. I've been doing this since day 1, how could this happen now.  doh.gif
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...5&hl=notepal+u3
any recent driver updates? it seems to be pretty hard to nail down that BSOD message... looks like can be caused by various things... looks like I got to study again how to solve BSoD in Win8...
mrl
post Feb 22 2013, 01:56 AM

977 posts

QUOTE(kamikraze @ Feb 21 2013, 07:16 PM)
all driver, windows update is up to date. McAfee AV also gone already. Currently use Norton IS.
hmm..1 time I got BSOD after i end task some Steam service that run at background. others when I left my laptop for torrenting, end up BSOD. most likely BSOD the whole night. no restart at all.
nothing in specific thing I did lead to BSOD. while browsing, everything will be hang like 10secs and BSOD come out.
mostly I just saw BSOD already there when I woke up.
it does seems to be memory or storage issue to me... I would suggest do S.M.A.R.T test and chkdsk to check the disk condition... maybe use MemTest86 to test the RAM... if these comes out clean, must've been drivers...

QUOTE(money_rule @ Feb 21 2013, 08:58 PM)
hey
i just gt my y500 today~
where to download the latest driver?
i go nvidia
how come cnt download one
can you describe the step you take?

QUOTE(kamikraze @ Feb 21 2013, 09:15 PM)
oh..I didnt know that I need to download all those manually.
Well I did go to Lenovo website see those drivers. While I looking for BIOS unlocker driver thingy.
I won't depend on Windows Update for drivers... I did once (in Vista I think) and it goes haywire afterwards... I'd rather download them manually, update them manually... I only trust Windows Update for it's only purpose, updating windows...
mrl
post Feb 23 2013, 03:06 AM

977 posts

QUOTE(kamikraze @ Feb 22 2013, 11:08 AM)
Please guide/link to those tests.
You can easily google those tests... for memtest86, you can grab it from www.memtest.org... but for S.M.A.R.T test, i dont have any to give you... you can google any smart reader... I rarely use it (really rare, last I used is like 2 or 3 years ago?)

QUOTE(fezrul @ Feb 23 2013, 02:45 AM)
has anyone try play crysis 3 on y580?
I dont even want to try... on full beauty, I heard even GTX680 is struggling... laugh.gif

but I think, can run on 720p with medium settings... tongue.gif

I heard there's a lot of problem on the new nVidia driver? Is it related to SLi? coz I haven't faced any problems yet but I haven't run any games on latest driver yet...
mrl
post Feb 23 2013, 06:47 PM

977 posts

QUOTE(efariz @ Feb 23 2013, 06:30 PM)
but we can enable it right? because intel hd 4000 more battery saving right?
Y400 is not optimus enabled. I dont know if you can enabled it somehow but I would say it won't be easy, at least on the BIOS level.

So, you can consider Y400 only has nVIdia card, no integrated graphics at all...
mrl
post Feb 23 2013, 08:14 PM

977 posts

QUOTE(xyz_cityhunter @ Feb 23 2013, 07:59 PM)
Hm, anyone here got the free 3 years McAfee Internet Security ecard? Previously they said this McAfee slow/disturb the Wifi is the free version or already the registered version of the McAfee?
I dont know about the one that's packaged with the laptop, but I have bad experiences with McAfee on my work laptop (and IT don't give us the permission to terminate them for security issues). McAfee does mess with network config multiple times with me and it's common problem faced by everyone all around the world (imagine you cannot ping to localhost/127.0.0.1)

so, even if they give McAfee to me lifetime service with McAfee for free, I won't care much about it... I'll live without antivirus...
mrl
post Feb 23 2013, 08:48 PM

977 posts

QUOTE(sss2sssss @ Feb 23 2013, 08:20 PM)
Now I live with Windows Defender in Win 8 only... tongue.gif
same with me tongue.gif

QUOTE(xyz_cityhunter @ Feb 23 2013, 08:32 PM)
What was the problem actually when using this McAfee? Capped Wifi speed or reduced Wifi reception or something else?
if people do comments for the reduced wifi speed, I think it's either the McAfee trying to scan the data that comes in for malicious codes or the CPU resource is being used so much that it starts to cap everything. I know for certain that McAfee is resource hogger... I dont think wifi signal reception is affected.
mrl
post Feb 23 2013, 08:59 PM

977 posts

QUOTE(jotaro12 @ Feb 23 2013, 08:53 PM)
If it's Internet Security, they'll monitor the network data which is why when you disable their firewall, especially during torrent, you'll get back your usual speed... it's up to you if you want to be safe or a bit slow during downloading and stuff.  smile.gif
yup, that's what I suspected too... but I didn't notice any slowdown on my working laptop so I can't say for certain...

to be safe or a bit slow? "I like to live dangerously" laugh.gif tongue.gif
mrl
post Feb 24 2013, 01:44 PM

977 posts

QUOTE(money_rule @ Feb 24 2013, 12:16 PM)
Hi
i own a y500
when i play dotaa 2 and dmc
there are some annoying jeck and make the game lag
is there anywhere to reduce this?
I can say try to disable SLI... and update your nVidia driver...
mrl
post Feb 25 2013, 01:14 AM

977 posts

QUOTE(money_rule @ Feb 24 2013, 02:24 PM)
i update liao =(
its the latest version dy
but den
ytd when i play
it jerk so badly
=(
314.07 dy wow
=(
then, try to disable SLi... I heard that it's usually the main culprit.. another thing, maybe you want to try driver one version older... I heard the latest driver got random issue on Y500 as well...

QUOTE(aiklone1314 @ Feb 24 2013, 05:00 PM)
hi, i wanted to reinstall my y480 windows 8 with that are previously upgraded to geinuine windows 8 pro, may i know will any issue occur such as windows recognise my windows 8 as pirated? because my friend has encountered this problem before.
should not be a problem if you have your serial number... even if windows reject the activation in case you change hardware, you can call microsoft support to activate it via phone.

otherwise, should not have any problem...
mrl
post Feb 25 2013, 12:03 PM

977 posts

QUOTE(aeronyc @ Feb 25 2013, 10:54 AM)
Guys, I bought my Y400 less than a month ago, just realized that my backlit keyboard doesn't work... from what I know, just click Ctrl + space and it should be lighten up right? else, means its not working?

Also, not sure if its me, but I think the performance of Y400 is only slightly faster than my almost 5 years-old Dell XPS. I only use it to surf net, play dota 2, BT and watch movie. Sometimes even when I right -click on a file, (for example, a jpg file with less than 1MB) it takes more than 10 sec for the windows to pop up.

Is it normal or is it me?

does BT means BitTorrent? that might be the culprit if you're using HDD... you might want to limit the download speed.

try to check your task manager and check which process is hogging memory/HDD bandwidth.
mrl
post Feb 26 2013, 12:55 PM

977 posts

QUOTE(snowyteddy @ Feb 26 2013, 12:09 PM)
I have few questions to ask.
1) My laptop gets hot when play games and on it for too long. Is there any way to make it cooler? change to ODD there and use external ODD izit? i have a cooler near de fan exhaustion there.
2)Which program to use to measure the temperature of the laptop?
3) Windows 7 or windows 8 better?in terms of what?

I'm a Y580 users. plz add me too. thanks!
1. Relocating HDD to ODD does not solve overall heat problem, just to prevent the HDD getting overheated... If you think it's too hot and you're uncomfortable, I tend to say "get an external keyboard"... otherwise, get a proper cooler... though I dont know how much a cooler will help coz I use external keypad...
2. HWMonitor is what's commonly used...
3. Both has advantage and disadvantage... I won't say one is better... Win8 does boot up and shutdown quicker but it takes quite a learning curve on the interface... Win7 is easier and more familiar to use... that's all...
mrl
post Feb 27 2013, 02:17 AM

977 posts

QUOTE(snowyteddy @ Feb 26 2013, 01:03 PM)
I got a cooler ady. but i just place beside de fan exhaustion and not under the laptop. and im using an external keyboard too. though i know cooler does not help much but how about a cooling pad? does it helped? you using which OS? does HWMonitor can minimize to tray the temperature?
may I know what kind of cooler are you talking about? if it's beside the exhaust, it's supposed to pull the air out of the exhaust. if you blow it in, you'll only get problems... that's why most use cooling pad where it blows cool air from below (though having more cool air doesn't always mean it'll cool better, but most of the time it'll works by ~5'C if it the cooler design is good and the laptop's airflow design is good). other than that, the cooler pad is also to help cool down heated parts that is in contact with the cover surface, though not much help in most cases due to material used for both cover and cooling pad but some does reports improvements.

most of us used Notepal U3/U2. I used U3 as well and so far I can see improvements but as expected there's so much thing a cooler can do...

Since you're using an external keyboard, I dont think you have issue with the heat on your palm then...

QUOTE(phantom_zero @ Feb 26 2013, 01:06 PM)
its is common for gtx gpu tend to get hot, even sager/asus get hot too, dont expect to get cool 50c all time if u use powerful gpu,if not take ultrabook
I dont know about latest rendition of ultrabook, but earlier versions does have heat issue as well... it's not like the heat is too much for the components, but some user feels uncomfortable with the heat.

QUOTE(totallagness @ Feb 26 2013, 01:10 PM)
For those having heating problems, the left side of the keyboard is the most used area for gaming(normally).

Nostromo best choice for gaming while going out, so light and it looks awesome with the lights. But the part where you have to setup the interface to work with every single game you have is tiring.
Yeah, the need to setup the interface for every game is tiring... I have a bunch of profile right now... I wish it has Synapse 2.0 support. Not too say Synapse 2.0 is a good software, in fact it's crappy software but the cloud storage is really useful for me...

QUOTE(snowyteddy @ Feb 26 2013, 01:21 PM)
Does getting a Thermapak helps?
I dont know how this will work, but you can try... at least it helps if you put your laptop on lap often... though I wonder, will it block the air intake of the laptop then?
mrl
post Feb 27 2013, 11:32 AM

977 posts

QUOTE(onizukaeikichi @ Feb 27 2013, 06:14 AM)
Just wondering, to other y580 users, how high is your comp's cpu and gpu temp during idle and gaming? Do you find it normal? I am considering throttling my cpu or something sometimes.

Is it safe to open the back cover and let the air in or static/dust might be worse for the comp?
QUOTE(totallagness @ Feb 27 2013, 10:42 AM)
My processor idle at 52-60C.
Dead Space 3 and Battlefield 3 around 80C
Dota 2 around 86C

EDITS: This was before I got my CM U3, haven't test cooler with gaming yet.
Before U3
CPU: idling = 53'C max = 104'C
GPU: idling = 42'C max = 83'C
HDD: idling ~40'C max ~50'C

After U3
CPU: Min = 40'C Max = 95'C Idling = 50'C
GPU: Min = 36'C Max = 79'C Idling = 40'C
HDD: Min = 37'C Max = 51'C Idling = 42'C

That's my figure. before U3, some numbers are just rough estimation from my memory... I can't really recall and lazy to test again...

Min means minimum recorded (it's basically the real idle, only startup processes and apps), Max means maximum recorded (gaming), Idling means current temperature recorded basically idling with Chrome with multiple tabs, video paused on MPC.

My number looks pretty high from others, I think I have problem with the thermal conductivity...

This post has been edited by mrl: Feb 27 2013, 11:34 AM
mrl
post Feb 27 2013, 03:43 PM

977 posts

QUOTE(onizukaeikichi @ Feb 27 2013, 12:23 PM)
Your HDD is swapped into ODD bay already right. Mine idle is around 50 d lol.

Your cpu max is certainly rather high.
nope... my HDD is still at original position... my HDD temp is either because I placed one of the U3 fans directly into the opening vent for HDD (or is it just me thought that the opening is located around the HDD?) or my room temperature is just rather low here...

nevertheless, I'm pretty sure going to get the CPU temp fix once I'm back in msia...
mrl
post Mar 7 2013, 01:07 AM

977 posts

QUOTE(blurp2010 @ Mar 6 2013, 07:42 PM)
Hey guys need ask some question,
Why my y580 get low fps after claim warranty for the gpu ....
I play diablo in FHD get only 20-36 fps  doh.gif
Do i need to do a clean format ?

I try this with plug in + dynamic graphic mode
QUOTE(sss2sssss @ Mar 6 2013, 08:57 PM)
Update ur graphic card driver+unplug ur battery
Also, make sure it runs on nVidia... force it if you need to...

8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0497sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:50 PM