130 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Lenovo IdeaPad Y Series Thread v2, When Y480/580 meet Y400/500

tennytyy
post Dec 10 2012, 08:38 PM

1,915 posts

QUOTE(sss2sssss @ Dec 10 2012, 08:30 PM)
Here's the proof... laugh.gif
Now I confused ady rclxub.gif
sharp903sh finder
post Dec 10 2012, 08:51 PM

139 posts

OK any1 can tell me how to check my s/n of my laptop? i register it wit the s/n on the box yesterday and i dint recieve any email.Just 15min ago ,a window pop out ask me to register so i register agn and i receive an email dis time

but now i cannot check my warranty status on lenovo website using de s/n on the box, it say

Error : Machine Type and Serial Not Found in IBase.

Help please

This post has been edited by sharp903sh finder: Dec 10 2012, 08:52 PM
chopin
post Dec 10 2012, 09:11 PM

234 posts

hi folks, have a question about our Y480 power adapter:

I have an old HP lappy with a power adapter of 75W, i have tried it on my y480 and it works, only thing is that it is a bit lower than the original one. Since i normally use my lappy in 2 places: home, and my lab, so i plan to leave the orig adapter in one place and use the HP 75watter in another.

I'd like to know: is using an adapter with lower power harm the battery and the lappy? FYI, i'm not gaming and usually my lappy is not run at half the capacity.

Really wish to hear from u guys soon.
sss2sssss
post Dec 10 2012, 09:18 PM

I'm Abra
1,329 posts

QUOTE(chopin @ Dec 10 2012, 09:11 PM)
hi folks, have a question about our Y480 power adapter:

I have an old HP lappy with a power adapter of 75W, i have tried it on my y480 and it works, only thing is that it is a bit lower than the original one. Since i normally use my lappy in 2 places: home, and my lab, so i plan to leave the orig adapter in one place and use the HP 75watter in another.

I'd like to know: is using an adapter with lower power harm the battery and the lappy? FYI, i'm not gaming and usually my lappy is not run at half the capacity.

Really wish to hear from u guys soon.
Ur 75W power adapter power rate?(V X A)
chopin
post Dec 10 2012, 09:24 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(sss2sssss @ Dec 10 2012, 09:18 PM)
Ur 75W power adapter power rate?(V X A)
ok it states:

input:
100-240V 2.25A(2.25A)
50 - 60Hz

output:
19V -- 3.95A(3.95A)

Added on December 10, 2012, 9:30 pm
QUOTE(sharp903sh finder @ Dec 10 2012, 08:51 PM)
OK any1 can tell me how to check my s/n of my laptop? i register it wit the s/n on the box yesterday and i dint recieve any email.Just 15min ago ,a window pop out ask me to register so i register agn and i receive an email dis time

but now i cannot check my warranty status on lenovo website using de s/n on the box, it say

Error : Machine Type and Serial Not Found in IBase.

Help please
the s/n should also be printed at the bottom of your lappy, just turn it over and see. also, when you buy the lappy, in the box there should have 2 pieces of paper, one is the invoice and the other one is the list of the components, in one of them should have printed your s/n too. pls keep both papers, they might be needed in future.

This post has been edited by chopin: Dec 10 2012, 09:44 PM
sss2sssss
post Dec 10 2012, 09:40 PM

I'm Abra
1,329 posts

QUOTE(chopin @ Dec 10 2012, 09:24 PM)
ok it states:

input:
100-240V  2.25A(2.25A)
50 - 60Hz

output:
19V -- 3.95A(3.95A)

Added on December 10, 2012, 9:30 pm
the s/n should also be printed at the bottom of your lappy, just turn it over and see.
I think it may take risk as this requirement:
1) Output Voltage is within +/- 5% of your old charger's output.
This requirement is pass coz 19V vs 19.5V
2) Output Current is the same or higher than that of your old charger.
This is not reach requirement

And the result of using ur 75W power cord:
-Melted power supply or cord, as the laptop starts drawing too much current
-Working laptop, with little to no charging of the battery (or charging the battery, but no working laptop) as 3.95 A is enough for one, but not the other
-Perfectly working laptop, as even though the brick is rated at 6.15 A, your laptop only draws 3.95 A (or the 3.95 A is perfectly capable of pumping 6.15 A)

chopin
post Dec 10 2012, 09:51 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(sss2sssss @ Dec 10 2012, 09:40 PM)
And the result of using ur 75W power cord:
-Melted power supply or cord, as the laptop starts drawing too much current
-Working laptop, with little to no charging of the battery (or charging the battery, but no working laptop) as 3.95 A is enough for one, but not the other
-Perfectly working laptop, as even though the brick is rated at 6.15 A, your laptop only draws 3.95 A (or the 3.95 A is perfectly capable of pumping 6.15 A)
what you mean is there could be 3 possible outcomes right? and, 3.95A is just enuf to either

a) charge the battery (but not operating it), or
b) operate the lappy (but not charging it)

please correct me if i'm wrong.

actually i have been using the 75watter for quite abt 2 weeks, and sometimes charging it sometimes not (i set the charging to stop at 60%), didn't know that it has such a risk. sweat.gif
sss2sssss
post Dec 10 2012, 09:53 PM

I'm Abra
1,329 posts

QUOTE(chopin @ Dec 10 2012, 09:51 PM)
what you mean is there could be 3 possible outcomes right? and, 3.95A is just enuf to either

a) charge the battery (but not operating it), or
b) operate the lappy (but not charging it)

please correct me if i'm wrong.

actually i have been using the 75watter for quite abt 2 weeks, and sometimes charging it sometimes not (i set the charging to stop at 60%), didn't know that it has such a risk.  sweat.gif
yeap...
And I think u r drop to 2nd possible....
chopin
post Dec 10 2012, 09:57 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(sss2sssss @ Dec 10 2012, 09:53 PM)
yeap...
And I think u r drop to 2nd possible....
ok, would you advice me to not use this old adapter?
sss2sssss
post Dec 10 2012, 10:00 PM

I'm Abra
1,329 posts

QUOTE(chopin @ Dec 10 2012, 09:57 PM)
ok, would you advice me to not use this old adapter?
I think u might be not attach ur battery when u r using this adapter, or just use back ur stock power adapter
BTW u got set ur battery plan to Optimized battery health mode(set at Lenovo Energy Management)? coz that mode will only allow charge to 60%... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by sss2sssss: Dec 10 2012, 10:03 PM
chopin
post Dec 10 2012, 10:03 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(sss2sssss @ Dec 10 2012, 10:00 PM)
I think u might be not attach ur battery when u r using this adapter, or just use back ur stock power adapter
BTW u got set ur battery plan to Optimized battery health mode(set at Lenovo Energy Management), coz that mode will only allow charge to 60%... laugh.gif
yes i have set the Optimized battery health mode.

ok thanks so much for your advice... thumbup.gif
Penoreh_Getah
post Dec 11 2012, 12:00 AM

91 posts

cool thread rclxms.gif

anyone know how much the price for this ?

CPU: 3rd generation Intel® Core™ i7-3610QM processor (2.30GHz up to 3.30GHz with Intel Turbo Boost Technology 2.0, 6MB L3 Cache)
15.6" WLED FHD
1TB SATA HDD (5400rpm)
NIVIDIA GeForce GTX660M 2GB DDR5
8GB DDR3 SDRAM
2.8kg
DVD-SM: BluRay Combo

im quite confuse because some said it is below rm3k and this one i saw on the lenovo malaysia website for
(RM) : 3,599 rclxub.gif
TSkuroneko0509
post Dec 11 2012, 12:09 AM

~~sleeping anywhere, anytime, anyplace~~
969 posts

QUOTE(Penoreh_Getah @ Dec 11 2012, 12:00 AM)
cool thread  rclxms.gif 

anyone know how much the price for this ?

CPU: 3rd generation Intel® Core™ i7-3610QM processor (2.30GHz up to 3.30GHz with Intel Turbo Boost Technology 2.0, 6MB L3 Cache)
15.6" WLED FHD
1TB SATA HDD (5400rpm)
NIVIDIA GeForce GTX660M 2GB DDR5
8GB DDR3 SDRAM
2.8kg
DVD-SM: BluRay Combo

im quite confuse because some said it is below rm3k and this one i saw on the lenovo malaysia website for
(RM) : 3,599  rclxub.gif
the one below 3k is w/o bluray and only 500gb hdd....
but the price listed on lenovo website is just official pricing... you can get a bit cheaper from LYN seller here... if they still carry this model
pbc06
post Dec 11 2012, 12:23 AM

58 posts

Hi all,
New y580 user reporting in. Got my base FHD Y580 from devour.
Upgrade it of course… Now running with 8GB RAM, SSD with secondary HD on the DVD Bay and running Win8. Loving it!

Any Win8 users manage to get the onetouch theatre button to work?
sss2sssss
post Dec 11 2012, 12:35 AM

I'm Abra
1,329 posts

QUOTE(pbc06 @ Dec 11 2012, 12:23 AM)
Hi all,
New y580 user reporting in. Got my base FHD Y580 from devour.
Upgrade it of course… Now running with 8GB RAM, SSD with secondary HD on the DVD Bay and running Win8. Loving it!

Any Win8 users manage to get the onetouch theatre button to work?
Yeah me work, but without On Screen Display
blackbird964
post Dec 11 2012, 02:51 AM

44 posts

hi! my Y580 WEI score in windows 8 for graphics 4.9 only is it because i didnt turn off hd4000? the score should be around 7.2 in windows 7 right? thanks!

Added on December 11, 2012, 3:05 amcan add me in the owner list as well?

This post has been edited by blackbird964: Dec 11 2012, 03:05 AM
sss2sssss
post Dec 11 2012, 03:30 AM

I'm Abra
1,329 posts

QUOTE(blackbird964 @ Dec 11 2012, 02:51 AM)
hi! my Y580 WEI score in windows 8 for graphics 4.9 only is it because i didnt turn off hd4000? the score should be around 7.2 in windows 7 right? thanks!

Update both graphic card driver By using the official one(not lenovo one)and upgrade ur ram to 8gb and above
the hd 4000 won't turn off one, It's the nvidia gpu deactive when no use Only due to nvidia optimus technology
mrl
post Dec 11 2012, 04:44 AM

977 posts

QUOTE(blackbird964 @ Dec 11 2012, 02:51 AM)

You can set in nvidia ctrl pnl to prefer nvidia and do retest...
milky
post Dec 11 2012, 10:48 AM

- King -
4,743 posts

guys anybody bought the y500 ? how's the cooling on the palm rest & the keyboard compare to asus g55 & y580?
XionCity
post Dec 11 2012, 12:56 PM

171 posts

Y500 is better....but if u compare G55 with Y580, 1 is pure gaming rig quality, another is budget gaming quality...so far, Y580 never let me down even once, after i plugged in my SSD in it

130 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0313sec    0.07    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:44 AM