iPhone 5 Launching in Malaysia! V2, Updates for Telco (Digi, Maxis Celcom)

tommyyap87
post Dec 10 2012, 04:13 PM

52 posts

Dear forumers,

I am planning to go queue and buy iPhone 5 on launch date this friday. I have several doubts.

I planning to get one for myself and my friend under contract. My friend wont be able to be there. Can i help sigh up a plan for my friend? Or she have to be there in person?

another thing is that i am from penang and where can i queue to get iPhone 5?

Lastly, i planning to get it from Digi. mainly due to the cheaper price and the security of not getting shock bills. Can someone tell me if i am making a wrong choice?
tommyyap87
post Dec 10 2012, 05:43 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Dec 10 2012, 04:15 PM)
what kind of shocked bills? i been with maxis iphone since the 3gs era, and nvr receive shocked bill oso
and btw maxis i think now dun charge 30cents/mb for those who exceed usage, what they do is throttle ur speed only  hmm.gif
QUOTE(XOXOGenN @ Dec 10 2012, 04:18 PM)
now maxis already wont charge for exceed quota bill. started December. and they offers 1000 minutes free calls to maxis and 333 minutes call to all network + 2GB data. this might be more worth compare to digi.
if you want to sign the phone under her name,the person must be there. under your name then you can sign for her but under whose name wont be a problem because it doesn't matter at all
Well thanks guys for the opinions. No one thinks Digi plan is better here? LOL...

And Icehart, my friend always got shockbills for no reason. Up to rm300-400 per month...

XOXOGenN, i can sign both iPhones under my name? and she just pay me every month right? is that right?
tommyyap87
post Dec 11 2012, 04:19 PM

52 posts

I need help here. I am planning to get 2 iphone5 this friday. One for me and one for my gf. Plan to queue early in the morning.

My concern is which will be cheaper? Both iPhone 5 under principle lines or get one under principle line and another under supplementary line?

Any suggestions? Or which other ways will be cheaper?
tommyyap87
post Dec 11 2012, 04:33 PM

52 posts

[quote=rmvalues,Dec 11 2012, 04:26 PM]
wish you be the first to own iPhone 5. rclxms.gif

your gf set will be buy outright or she also got invitation ?

if use under supp line, you have to pay full amount of iPhone 5, no subside.

if buy with subside, must be principle line too.

Well we both dont have invitation....but can i queue up and buy 2 iphones and sign 2 contracts? Digi or Maxis also ok with me. Depends on the queue. I am going early in the morning. I am from penang so the queue should not be that bad.. LOL

Well which is cheaper? both principle line or one principle on supp? In your opinion?

tommyyap87
post Dec 11 2012, 06:28 PM

52 posts

Check this out. Celcom iPhone plan is out!!!!

http://littlegeeko.wordpress.com/2012/12/1...from-rm98month/

This makes me understand the plan better! 3GB is from Mobile internet.

I think Celcom plan can easily beat Maxis n Digi!

tommyyap87
post Dec 11 2012, 06:31 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(bizness @ Dec 11 2012, 06:06 PM)
Updated comparison plan between all telcos :

iValue 1 vs iDiGi 88 vs Celcom Prime

iValue 2 vs iDiGi 138 vs Celcom Premier

iValue 3 vs iDiGi 238 vs Celcom Elite

Thanks smile.gif
I think the Talktime/SMS/MMS is not individually calculated....as in its not 267 mins, 267 sms and 267 MMS.....its more like shared....

for example, if you use 67 SMS, u have 200SMS left OR 200Mins OR 200MMS...am i right?
tommyyap87
post Dec 11 2012, 09:46 PM

52 posts

People, If you pre-order from celcom, when wil you get your device?
tommyyap87
post Dec 11 2012, 10:04 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(jonwei @ Dec 11 2012, 09:52 PM)
U can still walk-in Preorder.....I just received calls from Celcom staff that all the Celcom/BlueCube store listed in their website for walk-in Pre-order will b allocated with quite a number of units. Can get on 14 Dec....depending on the store opening hours.....
THanks....i will go preorder tmr then....how about maxis? can only queue on launch day? if i queue from 6am, can i get one?
tommyyap87
post Dec 11 2012, 10:35 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(azizul9736 @ Dec 11 2012, 10:29 PM)
i just call Maxiz confirmed dont no how many time d they said cannot enter if no pass
the pass if for that one venue only....what about other stores? and if i am hotlink user...how long will it take for me to change to maxis? need few days?
tommyyap87
post Dec 11 2012, 11:16 PM

52 posts

yes and they will only give u ur iphone when the port is successful

Added on December 11, 2012, 11:27 pmCan i know how long it will take for Hotlink user to change to Maxis postpaid? it will be done very fast right?

This post has been edited by tommyyap87: Dec 11 2012, 11:27 PM
tommyyap87
post Dec 11 2012, 11:54 PM

52 posts

what is the change of me getting an iphone if i go maxis centre on office hour on 14th Dec?
tommyyap87
post Dec 12 2012, 12:22 AM

52 posts

I asked....celcom says after quota, will block usage....no more internet...not throttled!

tommyyap87
post Dec 12 2012, 12:31 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(julianjb @ Dec 12 2012, 12:24 AM)
Like that Jiak sai lohhhhhh
but u can always top up data i think....4GB is alot compared to other plans....LOL

but i still think Maxis's plan is the best among the 3!
tommyyap87
post Dec 12 2012, 09:52 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(Boykidz93 @ Dec 12 2012, 02:16 AM)
But every single sms u send to other telco u will be charged =)
Yes but still it is cheaper compared to the shared 267mins/sms from Celcom. Because bear in mind that total cost of ownership for both Maxis n Celcom is about the same.

QUOTE(gouken @ Dec 12 2012, 08:28 AM)
your chance correlates directly to how early you are there, earlier better chance and if you go there at office hour i can guarantee you 100% patah balik go home coz each centres allocation usually very low as all stocks went to capsquare, even for KLCC centre.
Damn, if I go queue 6am in the morning until the centre opens at 10am....will I get a chance?haha...anyway, If i go alone i cant sign up for 2 plans under my name? Need to sign up for my friend who cant be there.
tommyyap87
post Dec 12 2012, 10:11 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(XOXOGenN @ Dec 12 2012, 09:57 AM)
If you din have invitation, the Capsquare event you won't able to get in. Only invited customer only
Well i mean if i go to maxis centre....not Capsquare.... I am from Penang Btw...so will i get it?
tommyyap87
post Dec 12 2012, 11:02 AM

52 posts

LOL! Hope I can queue and get an iphone 5....btw i have a question, for Maxis iValue plans, why not they just put "Local SMS 1000" instead of stating 200 and 800 when both is the same "maxis to maxis"
tommyyap87
post Dec 12 2012, 11:06 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(alantoi @ Dec 12 2012, 11:03 AM)
Marketing strategy maybe... flex.gif
mayb....or its a mistake? its actually 200SMS to all network and 800 Maxis to Maxis...hahaha
tommyyap87
post Dec 12 2012, 11:32 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(hawnauk @ Dec 12 2012, 11:25 AM)
if there are few frens who q overnight together still ok, if q alone could be very difficult.

wonder if still have to q on the 15th (Sat)?
15th wont have any stock left....LOL
tommyyap87
post Dec 12 2012, 11:38 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(julianjb @ Dec 12 2012, 11:34 AM)
For celcom's First Plan + Mobile Internet Prime, the 267 mins/sms/mms ... assuming it's phone call, it will be celcom to celcom or celcom to any operators ?
Yes. Its to all operators.

QUOTE(fluotone @ Dec 12 2012, 11:36 AM)
actually 2 of my friends did that for the IP4 in midvalley last time. I asked them if they're doing it for IP5 they said no way! haha

Good luck to you on that day, remember to bring survival supplies hehe tongue.gif
7am wait til 10am shop open still not that bad la....btw did yout friend manage to get it last year for ip4s?
tommyyap87
post Dec 12 2012, 11:52 AM

52 posts

Added on December 12, 2012, 11:42 am

IP4 yes they did manage to get, but they didn't buy the IP4s because new features from IP4 to IP4s were not justifiable to que like zombies tongue.gif

[/quote]

LOL...yeah...but how was the iP4 line that time? is it bad?hahaha....i m going maxis centre....but dont know what time to go so i can secure it. Anyway, If i queue and want to buy 2 iPhone 5 under 2 principle lines under my name, is that possible?

0.0622sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 10:47 AM