Clone Laptop vs Branded Laptop ?, Any Difference? Which one better ?

TSukiya
post Mar 9 2006, 11:13 PM, updated 20y ago

* Hardcore Adventurer *
1,079 posts

Before i buy my first laptop, people always ask me goes branded one like acer, toshiba, sony and others... So, I was lookin for a best laptop, once and for all... so do less further upgrade in the next few years.

Some people also keep on asking me, buy clone den what kind of brand is clone? is clone better and cheaper? Hyundai? Is branded provide me a better functions and quality? All this are maze in my mind!

My frens bought an Acer TravelMate 8200 model-one of the latest model , after few days, the hardware something like SMART chip burn sad.gif , den send to warranty in Singapore. They said is hardware problems and faulty something like that. Toshiba is gud brand, i always like it, juz the prices is higher than a normal laptop with same spec. So...

What shud i buy?
clone or branded? wink.gif

ahsiah
post Mar 9 2006, 11:18 PM

Asus ROG Fan
875 posts

Try IBM, hardly spoilt.
karising
post Mar 9 2006, 11:44 PM

If heaven is better why we still stay on Earth?
558 posts

Take my word, dont buy clone laptop, I experience on clone laptop (assembly in Malaysia) the quality is so bad, they broken down easily (I have seen many customer come to service).

Branded laptop, categories to 2 classes. First class = IBM, fujitsu, Sony and Toshiba. Second class = Compaq, Acer, Dell, Twinhead, HP and etc.

Third class = clone laptop, new and unpopular brand (You guess)

Buying laptop is not like buying PC, you will need support internationally, so buy something which having the better support.

I am not a fanboy but I can share some of the experience I have.
ACER = Cheap, Higher Specs, Moderate quality
TOSHIBA = Higher Price (Not very expensive), Medium Specs, Good quality

You did mention about HDD Smart Failure, that doesnt mean that the laptop is bad, remember ACER doesnt manufacture HDD, they assembly component. If you get something like battery failure, dead pixel, casing crack, mainboard spoil and etc then you can said that brand is bad.
goliath
post Mar 9 2006, 11:51 PM

5,533 posts

agreed with what karising said thumbup.gif . Brands like Toshiba, Acer, Fujitsu and etc doesn't manufacture their own HDD, CD-ROMs and etc...

To me, the things that i go for is; price, specs, after sales services and international warranty (coz i used to bring my laptop to overseas for studies)...

ever thought of getting a Apple MacBook Pro? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by goliath: Mar 10 2006, 12:00 AM
techno_fanatics
post Mar 10 2006, 12:30 AM

-Retired OCers-
1,006 posts

yearps...go for branded notebook! build quality,after sales, peace of mind

IBM rox
alexchew_2020
post Mar 10 2006, 12:37 AM

MOD
3,363 posts

i'm using acer laptop now...but still din face any hardware problems yet.....
alexchew_2020
post Mar 10 2006, 12:39 AM

MOD
3,363 posts

i'll give a thumb for acer...
Tainted
post Mar 10 2006, 04:06 PM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

QUOTE(alexchew_2020 @ Mar 10 2006, 01:37 AM)
i'm using acer laptop now...but still din face any hardware problems yet.....
QUOTE(alexchew_2020 @ Mar 10 2006, 01:39 AM)
i'll give a thumb for acer...
How long have u been using?
goliath
post Mar 10 2006, 05:59 PM

5,533 posts

Acer user ere too. Have been using it for 15 months and still it is good in performing tasks. Been using it to play games like Warcraft 3 (RoC & TFT), NFS : U2, FM2006 and more as well as programming such as C/C++ and Matlab.. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by goliath: Mar 10 2006, 06:00 PM
Tainted
post Mar 10 2006, 06:02 PM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

good.what model is it?
overclocker11
post Mar 10 2006, 06:06 PM

~meow~meow~
912 posts

ibm design is quite boring...for me..toshiba is the best..compare with its perfomance price ratio....fujitsu...good quality..but price..expensive
...acer..nice also...esp ferrari smile.gif
goliath
post Mar 10 2006, 06:08 PM

5,533 posts

QUOTE(Tainted @ Mar 10 2006, 06:02 PM)
good.what model is it?
Acer TravelMate 8005LMi. Can consider an antique now laugh.gif, since the introduction of Intel Core Duo and DDR2 and PCIE thingy
Tainted
post Mar 10 2006, 08:03 PM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

aslong its working,its worth it.
after all,technology are going reall fast,theres no way we could catch up.
project-o
post Mar 11 2006, 10:54 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

For me... I'm a Toshiba user and have used 2 Satellite notebooks. The older ones have a more solid build quality compared to the newer ones. Newer ones have a nice CSV screen and are lighter.

Clone laptops you have to choose properly, there are some that are more durable and some that feel like they may fall to pieces at any time.
tester1979
post Mar 12 2006, 01:09 AM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

get branded ones so that you have good after sales service especialy for RMA
jamezco
post Mar 12 2006, 01:48 AM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

It all comes to how much u wanna pay ... the more u pay the better u get biggrin.gif ... juz my 2 cents.... hehehe

Acer not bad one la .... my sis use acer (lupa wat model) 6 years ... pentium 2 ... till now still watching vcd and online wit it ... (rosak HD once) only ...

6 years people !!!!

actually it also depends on ur luck ... sometime u buy tat time got some problems and stuff...

This post has been edited by jamezco: Mar 12 2006, 01:49 AM
Tainted
post Mar 12 2006, 02:07 AM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

wow.. 6 years is a long time..
Ultima
post Mar 12 2006, 01:38 PM

KiRiSuTe GoMeN
5,197 posts

as long as u take good care of your laptop, sure it can last long... except u run out of luck buying laptop with so many problems...
Tainted
post Mar 12 2006, 01:41 PM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

that's true.
bad luck,get a laptop which has faulty or defect.

modjojojo
post Mar 12 2006, 01:48 PM

235 posts

Bought an acer ferrari 4002WLMi... Nvr looked back since thumbup.gif Only the dual cores make me sad abit la but nvm haha!

Only thing thats inevitable is that u gotta watch the heat... Especially with laptops with graphic cards like my ATi Radeon x700 mobile. Generally the more heat, the shorter the lifespan of my parts cry.gif

So, i must control myself... A good cooler pad goes a long way.

0.0178sec    0.48    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 10:45 AM