Moving Up The Corporate Ladder In IT Field, How To Move Up The Corporate Ladder

TSdanielchew
post Mar 9 2006, 10:57 PM, updated 20y ago

14 posts

I understand that having a high salary is important but I would also really like to know, if an individual were to continue working in the IT field (starting as a programmer), what does he/she needs to do to move up? What is the normal direction for an IT graduate pursuing in this direction?
yschan83
post Mar 9 2006, 11:08 PM

89 posts

programmer ar??? which language u using?? if good in java then go to get JAVA cert lo... laugh.gif laugh.gif
TSdanielchew
post Mar 9 2006, 11:14 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(yschan83 @ Mar 9 2006, 11:08 PM)
programmer ar??? which language u using?? if good in java then go to get JAVA cert lo...  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
I have the Sun Java Programmer Cert. But what I am asking is as a programmer, what is the career path we can look into? eg. Solution Architect/Software Architect/Project Manager. What are the roles/responsibilities and of course the benefits? tongue.gif
mner
post Mar 10 2006, 06:13 AM

242 posts

QUOTE(danielchew @ Mar 9 2006, 11:14 PM)
I have the Sun Java Programmer Cert. But what I am asking is as a programmer, what is the career path we can look into? eg. Solution Architect/Software Architect/Project Manager. What are the roles/responsibilities and of course the benefits?  tongue.gif
I believe it's not what career path you can look at, it is about what you interested in and your ability in. You should consider, are you looking for better benefits or better job? Sometimes you can get both or either one.
unkn0wn
post Mar 10 2006, 08:10 AM

71 posts

depends on what you really want. you wan to manage ppl? go for project management and get certification like PMP.
you want to design and be good in technical? go for technical architect.
you want to deal with people and business domain knowledge? go for business analyst or consultant.

benefits --- subjective to the company you are working in.
jsm
post Mar 10 2006, 08:54 AM

IT slave
4,113 posts

The surest way to move up is to understand the business and not just the technology. The more you know about the business and how technology can be used to improve the business the higher you will go.

dells
post Mar 10 2006, 11:10 AM

14 posts

If u can presenting software u develop to client, surely u will be promoted quickly...
option1
post Mar 10 2006, 01:03 PM

Hie Daniel,

Greetings from Penang tongue.gif

Believe in yourself!

You have the ability to attain whatever you seek;

within you is every potential you can imagine.

Always aim higher than you believe you can reach.

So often, you'll discover that when your talents

are set free by your imagination,

you can achieve any goal.

SUSrainy~days
post Mar 10 2006, 03:39 PM

296 posts

polish the guys above u and treat the guys under u nice, if your boss see you got the communication skill to control the staff u will get promoted
thefryingfox
post Mar 10 2006, 03:41 PM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

u need to know business process throughly, understand what brings in the money

support does not bring in money, it prevents loosing money( downtime )
or outsourcing brings in money.

but if you are internal support, in a company u are one of the despised teams.......thats why u need to learn managment or business process better.

a course that comes to my mind is ITIL smile.gif
Mavik
post Mar 10 2006, 04:25 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Bring in business for the company and you will definitely climb up the corporate ladder. Having a good network and willing to work hard will also contribute to that.
one.good.guy
post Mar 10 2006, 05:28 PM

Observer
856 posts

it's just like climbing a ladder. where the top is, what can view, very much depends on where u put the ladder in da first place.

there is no necessity nor guarantee that u'll be IT manager down the road. u can change line, it's all up to u.

would u believe me if i say an ex-engineer of 15 years who worked in different co. -small or big; ended up wanting (and became) a driver? it's all up to u dude!
tunasandwich
post Mar 10 2006, 05:44 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(thefryingfox @ Mar 10 2006, 03:41 PM)
u need to know business process throughly, understand what brings in the money

support does not bring in money, it prevents loosing money( downtime )
or outsourcing brings in money.

but if you are internal support, in a company u are one of the despised teams.......thats why u need to learn managment or business process better.

a course that comes to my mind is ITIL smile.gif
QUOTE(Mavik @ Mar 10 2006, 04:25 PM)
Bring in business for the company and you will definitely climb up the corporate ladder. Having a good network and willing to work hard will also contribute to that.
agreed. the more money you bring in to the company, the louder you're allowed to speak in the company...

tatz y for IT ppl... if you dun switch to the business side, u'll alwaz be the back room boy aka code monkey...
dreamer101
post Mar 10 2006, 06:21 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(danielchew @ Mar 9 2006, 10:57 PM)

I understand that having a high salary is important but I would also really like to know, if an individual were to continue working in the IT field (starting as a programmer), what does he/she needs to do to move up? What is the normal direction for an IT graduate pursuing in this direction?
Why do you want to move up?? What is your goal?? What you want when you have successfully climbed up the ladder?? Will you enjoy the scenery when you get there???

Please remember some times and for certain situations, it is not worth while to climb the ladder. If making more money is the goal, there are many many ways to do that. Corporate ladder may not be the answer. And, some times, just to make a little bit more money, you have to take on a lot of responsibilities and it is not worth your effort.

What do you want out of life??

Dreamer

This post has been edited by dreamer101: Mar 10 2006, 06:38 PM
INFeRNO
post Mar 11 2006, 12:16 PM

Lord and Master
1,754 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Mar 10 2006, 06:21 PM)
Why do you want to move up?? What is your goal?? What you want when you have successfully climbed up the ladder??  Will you enjoy the scenery when you get there???

Please remember some times and for certain situations, it is not worth while to climb the ladder.  If making more money is the goal, there are many many ways to do that.  Corporate ladder may not be the answer.  And, some times, just to make a little bit more money, you have to take on a lot of responsibilities and it is not worth your effort.

Dreamer
What are you trying to say??? blink.gif

Anyways, I have good news and bad news.

The bad news, as you already know, is that plenty of entry level IT jobs (i.e programmers) are going to India and China.

But the good news is that if you do really well in your degree, large organizations such as IBM will absorb you and retrain you if necessary to fit new roles within their organization.

So the key here is to do well. The reason there are so many unemployed grads is that they are the shit that are left behind. No amount of certs will ever help them land a job unfortunately... sucks to be them.
dreamer101
post Mar 11 2006, 01:02 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(INFeRNO @ Mar 11 2006, 12:16 PM)
What are you trying to say???  blink.gif

Anyways, I have good news and bad news.

The bad news, as you already know, is that plenty of entry level IT jobs (i.e programmers) are going to India and China.

But the good news is that if you do really well in your degree, large organizations such as IBM will absorb you and retrain you if necessary to fit new roles within their organization.

So the key here is to do well. The reason there are so many unemployed grads is that they are the shit that are left behind. No amount of certs will ever help them land a job unfortunately... sucks to be them.
My question is do not focus on climbing the ladder. Know what you want and what is your goal in the first place.

For example, let's say you earn 2K+ now and if you know your goal is to earn 5K and above per month in 5 years. You could

A) Check out what are the jobs that pay 5K and above. Find the gap between your current skill set and the requirement for the 5K+ job. Work on acquiring those skill sets.

B) You do not think corporate life is for you, start looking around for side business that will earn you 5K per month in 5 years

C) Save as much money as you could and learn how to invest wisely. Your investment income will supplement your salary.

You could do A, B or C or all three.

Now, the next step is harder. Let's say you are earning 5k+ now as a senior engineer. Is it worth your effort to become an Engineering manager to earn 2K more per month and take on more responsibility and people management stuff and less technical works?? Or, you could stay at your current level and do more (B) and ©?? Or, just spend more time for your family and social life.

Up to a certain point, it may not be worthwhile for a person to climb the corporate ladder.

Dreamer

This post has been edited by dreamer101: Mar 11 2006, 01:03 PM
unkn0wn
post Mar 11 2006, 06:42 PM

71 posts

find satisfaction in ur job roles...the things u do. money is important, but there's no point if you're paid 10k per month but you are not doing the things you like. you'll end up wasting your time.
tunasandwich
post Mar 11 2006, 11:22 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(unkn0wn @ Mar 11 2006, 06:42 PM)
find satisfaction in ur job roles...the things u do. money is important, but there's no point if you're paid 10k per month but you are not doing the things you like. you'll end up wasting your time.
yea and mayb u're paid 10K but u're working 20K worth of job and responsibility...

it's not always good being high up the cooperate ladder, a lot of ppl wan u down, better watch ur back... tongue.gif

like wad dreamer and unknown say, do wad u like most... i guess thatz the best... but it's definitely easier said than done.... haha
TYK
post Mar 12 2006, 01:03 AM

995 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Mar 10 2006, 06:21 PM)
Why do you want to move up?? What is your goal?? What you want when you have successfully climbed up the ladder??  Will you enjoy the scenery when you get there???

Please remember some times and for certain situations, it is not worth while to climb the ladder.  If making more money is the goal, there are many many ways to do that.  Corporate ladder may not be the answer.  And, some times, just to make a little bit more money, you have to take on a lot of responsibilities and it is not worth your effort.

Dreamer
QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Mar 11 2006, 01:02 PM)
My question is do not focus on climbing the ladder.  Know what you want and what is your goal in the first place.

For example, let's say you earn 2K+ now and if you know your goal is to earn 5K and above per month in 5 years.  You could

A) Check out what are the jobs that pay 5K and above.  Find the gap between your current skill set and the requirement for the 5K+ job.  Work on acquiring those skill sets.

B) You do not think corporate life is for you, start looking around for side business that will earn you 5K per month in 5 years

C) Save as much money as you could and learn how to invest wisely.  Your investment income will supplement your salary.

You could do A, B or C or all three.

Now, the next step is harder.  Let's say you are earning 5k+ now as a senior engineer.  Is it worth your effort to become an Engineering manager to earn 2K more per month and take on more responsibility and  people management stuff and less technical works??  Or, you could stay at your current level and do more (B) and ©?? Or, just spend more time for your family and social life.

Up to a certain point, it may not be worthwhile for a person to climb the corporate ladder.

Dreamer
True. Sometimes in life when you pursue something which you think when you have it you will be happy and satisfied, but only to find out it is not something you want, and you keep on looking for something else.

Just like climbing corporate ladder, we may think the rewards of assuming high post might satisfied us, but once we are there, the scenery may not look beautiful, and life might be a suffer due to too much political and competitive struggle, just exactly as dreamer pointed out.

I guess life has some important questions to be answered. What do you want in life? What kind of person do you want to become in future? What is the direction you want in your career?

I think if you have following traits then high managerial position maybe for you.
1. Like to and can deal with people in a smart way
2. Can afford not to be a nice person
3. Know how to protect and lead your own people
4. Etc.

This post has been edited by TYK: Mar 12 2006, 01:04 AM
dreamer101
post Mar 12 2006, 08:09 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(tunasandwich @ Mar 11 2006, 11:22 PM)
yea and mayb u're paid 10K but u're working 20K worth of job and responsibility...

A good and normal business will pay you 10K per month if and only if they can make much more than 30K per month out of you. Or else, this is not a good and profitable business.

Dreamer

0.0191sec    0.37    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 10:18 PM