broadband for online gaming, is broadband suitable 4 online gaming

TSArnaude
post Dec 4 2012, 08:22 PM, updated 14y ago

62 posts

i dunno whether to put this here or broadband topic.

i planned getting the elder scrolls online next year and getting my first broadband. i wonder if broadband suitable 4 online gaming i mean no lag, no delay, low ping etc. i hv streamyx at home with speed around 1mbps and playing dota 2 still delay sometimes. and i saw my friend downloading with his broadband with speed around +5mbps, so i think it quite fast isn't. does faster internet speed mean better gameplay?

secondly, broadband with internet usage quota, does playing online game will affect this quota? if so, what quota you suggest i take.

thirdly, i've read other threads like this, they said broadband is not suitable because of high latency and other thing, but it past few years back right. i'm sure today we hv a lot of alternative, how about if i use better modem, faster usb modem, mifi, etc. am i right, or still no matter what type of modem i use, broadband is still a broadband and the problem cannot be overcome?

btw, im a student, cant use streamyx, and hv budget around RM40-70/month for broadband.

cubaan
post Dec 4 2012, 08:57 PM

20 posts

first of all streamyx is also a broadband. if u mean by getting a broadband is getting a wireless broadband for playing online games i would say that its not a good choice.
wired connection will be much better i.e:- streamyx/unifi/maxis fiber/timenet
higher speed does not mean lower ping. thats why i use maxis wireless for downloading and change to streamyx for gaming.
using maxis wireless the lowest ping i can get is around 70-100ms compare to streamyx who around 30-50ms only. (i heard that unifi can get 5ms).

kEazYc
post Dec 4 2012, 09:26 PM

1,314 posts

Word from the wisemen, never trust wireless for gaming.
TSArnaude
post Dec 4 2012, 09:43 PM

62 posts

yeah sorry i mean wireless broadband. Really? so no wireless broadband for online gaming huh. thank you.

so what cause this not suitable, usb modem itself, the cnnction, or the game server?

what if i still use wireless broadband to play, is it slow, lag, can't connect at all or what?
keretapir
post Dec 4 2012, 10:35 PM

rampant public indecency
1,143 posts

QUOTE(Arnaude @ Dec 4 2012, 09:43 PM)
yeah sorry i mean wireless broadband. Really? so no wireless broadband for online gaming huh. thank you.

so what cause this not suitable, usb modem itself, the cnnction, or the game server?

what if i still use wireless broadband to play, is it slow, lag, can't connect at all or what?
being as such position like yours a few years back, i know what it's like getting a pretty pretty fast wireless connection but ended up with 70-150-220ms ping....

remember, wireless depended on many things. particularly congestion of the signal. and since packets of data travels much slower (and we're only talking milliseconds, where lag is predominant in those milliseconds) between you and the wireless base towers....

my suggestion is, try getting the one wireless broadband that has the nearest base tower to your location...
cubaan
post Dec 4 2012, 11:33 PM

20 posts

routing also affect the latency. my maxis unlimited will have 250ms+ if server out of malaysia. even to singapore server my ping is around 300ms. call maxis and they said that im using guest simcard so my connection use different route... to hongkong.
TSArnaude
post Dec 5 2012, 07:28 AM

62 posts

hmm, make sense, wireless easily distracted by any other device. thanks for answering, so i think i'll pass. no broadband. besides, my place is like rural area, when everyone using broadband at the same time, they will getting slower. they like sharing the connection, like a traffic jam.

This post has been edited by Arnaude: Dec 5 2012, 07:29 AM
youbeli
post Dec 5 2012, 09:19 AM

31 posts

unifi is ur best choice i think~
TSArnaude
post Dec 5 2012, 10:08 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(youbeli @ Dec 5 2012, 09:19 AM)
unifi is ur best choice i think~

i cant aford unifi, sweat.gif ima student, i move around
M1X
post Dec 5 2012, 11:13 AM

2,334 posts

Dota2? doesn't sounds like on the casual level at all. Wireless broadband might not be an ideal option. If you're just playing casual MMO (and not PvP), it's fine. Wireless always have inconsistent ping, which is a problem, sometime I get 60ms (to local), sometime 150ms, sometime if it rain too much the connection might lost.
Edison83
post Dec 5 2012, 11:37 AM

No Games No Life.
1,374 posts

Rules for good internet gaming.

1. No wireless broadband
2. Don't share the line

Depend on where is server is, if local MY/SG server, you can play pretty much laggless using 1MB streamyx.

If the server is located outside SEA area, you may wanna use Unifi, but seems yours budget like that, unifi is already ruled out. MAybe you can add some. Maxis now ada promo, at the same price of Unifi 5mbps u get 10mbps.
gbwedward
post Dec 5 2012, 11:39 AM

259 posts

dear TS,

please do not get confused between broadband and wireless connections.

If you are just a student, you will be living with other students or renting a room? How about sharing cost with other tenants? Surely there are other alternatives other than looking for a better ISP.

regards,
gbwment

QUOTE(Edison83 @ Dec 5 2012, 11:37 AM)
Rules for good internet gaming.

1. No wireless broadband
2. Don't share the line

Depend on where is server is, if local MY/SG server, you can play pretty much laggless using 1MB streamyx.

If the server is located outside SEA area, you may wanna use Unifi, but seems yours budget like that, unifi is already ruled out. MAybe you can add some. Maxis now ada promo, at the same price of Unifi 5mbps u get 10mbps.
i heard that maxis is planning to use ur router as an access point for other maxis mobile users. This may cause some problems if ur router get swarmed. I'm not very sure about the detail but they may be leeching ur bandwidth as well. I just heard this from my company's CIO so i'm not very sure of the detail

no matter what, if it's from maxis.. there's always a catch 22

This post has been edited by gbwedward: Dec 5 2012, 11:43 AM
Edison83
post Dec 5 2012, 11:42 AM

No Games No Life.
1,374 posts

QUOTE(gbwedward @ Dec 5 2012, 11:39 AM)
dear TS,

If you are just a student, you will be living with other students or renting a room? How about sharing cost with other tenants? Surely there are other alternatives other than looking for a better ISP.

regards,
gbwment
I seriously really doubt its gonna help. The reason im saying this is that among that several ppl, I believe some of them sure torrent or go watch PP, which will affect drastically when TS is playing online games. Might as well use back 1Mbps....

Sometime I also complain my wife watching youtube behind me while im playing online gaming. Felt the lag...

This post has been edited by Edison83: Dec 5 2012, 11:44 AM
gbwedward
post Dec 5 2012, 11:45 AM

259 posts

QUOTE(Edison83 @ Dec 5 2012, 11:42 AM)
I seriously really doubt its gonna help. The reason im saying this is that among that several ppl, I believe some of them sure torrent or go watch PP, which will affect drastically when TS is playing online games. Might as well use back 1Mbps....
with a 5mbps or higher broadband and a router with a good QoS, this can be easily resolved. Just set a rule as to what time to what time download and streaming is allowed. I'm using 5mbps and streaming videos doesn't really affect my connection so far unless those banggang fellas go stream 4 or 5 videos one shot
TSArnaude
post Dec 5 2012, 01:46 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(gbwedward @ Dec 5 2012, 11:39 AM)
dear TS,

regards,
gbwment

no, i live in hostel dats the problem, i cant get out of here til 2014. they restricted installation of unifi, streamyx, wifi booster, or any router cos it will interfere the college's wifi they said.

memphiz_zero88
post Dec 5 2012, 01:49 PM

My stars has gone. T_T
2,255 posts

QUOTE(Arnaude @ Dec 5 2012, 01:46 PM)
no, i live in hostel dats the problem, i cant get out of here til 2014. they restricted installation of unifi, streamyx, wifi booster, or any router cos it will interfere the college's wifi they said.
lol like that have to use the mobile broadband la.
TSArnaude
post Dec 5 2012, 01:52 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(memphiz_zero88 @ Dec 5 2012, 01:49 PM)
lol like that have to use the mobile broadband la.
yeah exactly, nod.gif but i still want to try it tho

QUOTE(M1X @ Dec 5 2012, 11:13 AM)
Dota2? doesn't sounds like on the casual level at all. Wireless broadband might not be an ideal option. If you're just playing casual MMO (and not PvP), it's fine. Wireless always have inconsistent ping, which is a problem, sometime I get 60ms (to local), sometime 150ms, sometime if it rain too much the connection might lost.
the elder scrolls online, maybe PvP

This post has been edited by Arnaude: Dec 5 2012, 02:11 PM
gbwedward
post Dec 5 2012, 02:41 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(Arnaude @ Dec 5 2012, 01:46 PM)
hmm, ur hostel got provide hotspot? if got then can use stimix liao, just connection may not be stable and may have massive lag if alot of ppl using. If u have plans to upgrade ur stimix to unifi, then u will get a complimentary hotspot account

oh btw, regarding the bandwidth usage while playing game. Yes, it does use up a lot of bandwidth seeing as data is always uploading and downloading. If games that has web based service embedded in, the consumption will be higher
TSArnaude
post Dec 5 2012, 03:05 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(gbwedward @ Dec 5 2012, 02:41 PM)
hmm, ur hostel got provide hotspot? if got then can use stimix liao, just connection may not be stable and may have massive lag if alot of ppl using. If u have plans to upgrade ur stimix to  unifi, then u will get a complimentary hotspot account

oh btw, regarding the bandwidth usage while playing game. Yes, it does use up a lot of bandwidth seeing as data is always uploading and downloading. If games that has web based service embedded in, the consumption will be higher
yea there's hotspot, but very slow cos all students use it. at night fast as hell but they blocked certain website like entertainment related, video streaming, games, porn icon_idea.gif , etc. what stimix?

This post has been edited by Arnaude: Dec 5 2012, 03:08 PM
gbwedward
post Dec 5 2012, 03:12 PM

259 posts

stimix is a mod lol, but in this context it's streamyx
TSArnaude
post Dec 5 2012, 03:24 PM

62 posts

oh, a mod. well, even if i install unifi or streamyx and share it with my friends, still hv to limit my playtime or i will eat all the bandwith usage
cubaan
post Dec 5 2012, 03:51 PM

20 posts

eh your streamyx got usage quota?
for wireless broadband usage quota is the main prob when playing game. normal online game without any voip will take only like 30-50mb an hour only for me.
but dota2 can take 200mb-300mb per game. if the usage quota only 1gb then you can play only 3-4 games before getting a massive lag.
try find an unlimited usage quota wireless plan. me and my frens use maxis unlimited that cost rm300 a month. but we apply for multisims. so rm300/5 = rm60 a month per person la.
Bront Palabuto
post Dec 5 2012, 03:58 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(cubaan @ Dec 5 2012, 03:51 PM)
IINM, streamyx got quota like 30gb. Thats what I heard from their technician. unsure.gif
TSArnaude
post Dec 5 2012, 04:36 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(cubaan @ Dec 5 2012, 03:51 PM)
for wireless broadband usage quota is the main prob when playing game. normal online game without any voip will take only like 30-50mb an hour only for me.
but dota2 can take 200mb-300mb per game. if the usage quota only 1gb then you can play only 3-4 games before getting a massive lag.
try find an unlimited usage quota wireless plan. me and my frens use maxis unlimited that cost rm300 a month. but we apply for multisims. so rm300/5 = rm60 a month per person la.
no, streamyx at home unlimited. but my friend suggest me to take celcom 1 malaysia then vpn to unlimited, rm26/month. i dunno man, i think i just get broadband 4 homework, play game only at home wink.gif

i dunno playing dota2 will take quota dat big, plus update like 100mb per update n its like twice a month
shaff
post Dec 5 2012, 07:18 PM

127 posts

i used to play online with my mobile broadband , and at the good location, u can get nice average ping for a game based at US .. so, well... yeah
TSArnaude
post Dec 5 2012, 07:28 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(shaff @ Dec 5 2012, 07:18 PM)
i used to play online with my mobile broadband , and at the good location, u can get nice average ping for a game based at US .. so, well... yeah
what game u played?
shaff
post Dec 5 2012, 07:31 PM

127 posts

eve online and WOT na server
Davidtcf
post Dec 6 2012, 01:08 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

unifi is the best. just get it.

myself tried P1 Wimax, Maxis 3G Broadband, Celcom 3G Broadband and Screamyx.

Screamyx not bad, but srsly the others all wireless shit all failed. Attempt if you are dumb to think they can handle online gaming.
TiF
post Dec 7 2012, 09:55 AM

1,192 posts

dun get P1. stuck with them for nearly 30months and i never have a good online gaming experience. then switch to 4mbps stimix, i forgot wat is lag.

Added on December 7, 2012, 10:00 am
QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Dec 6 2012, 01:08 PM)
unifi is the best. just get it.

myself tried P1 Wimax, Maxis 3G Broadband, Celcom 3G Broadband and Screamyx.

Screamyx not bad, but srsly the others all wireless shit all failed. Attempt if you are dumb to think they can handle online gaming.
my area still dont have unifi, which baffles me since the shoplots beside my apartment all unifi ready. but stimix is already very very good for me. my wife can youtube all she wants, and i can play game without any noticeable lag like when i was with pee one.

This post has been edited by TiF: Dec 7 2012, 10:00 AM
dynames07
post Dec 7 2012, 04:47 PM

272 posts

last time i also same like you.. a student with big gaming desire but not much money.

last time, i use 3g broadband by celcom. quite good. play cabalsea, PKO, flyff, dragonica. i must say, your gaming experience will depend on the quality of the wireless broadband signal. if the signal is good, 4-5 bars, then most probably the game will be good.

last 2 years, i actually play using yes4g. damn fast.. but the quota also run out very fast. rm100 like half a month only haha

best advice looking at your budget, i think best if you can be patient a little bit. with your budget, quite hard to get decent speed. furthermore, nowdays broadband all crazy price..

however, if you can somehow test the reception signal at your own place, not at the shop or friend's house, and if the signal is good, you can try gamble on it. sometime our place are in the blind spot.. neighbour got reception, but not us.. scared become like this hehe
TSArnaude
post Dec 8 2012, 12:26 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(dynames07 @ Dec 7 2012, 04:47 PM)
last time i also same like you.. a student with big gaming desire but not much money.

last time, i use 3g broadband by celcom. quite good. play cabalsea, PKO, flyff, dragonica. i must say, your gaming experience will depend on the quality of the wireless broadband signal. if the signal is good, 4-5 bars, then most probably the game will be good.

last 2 years, i actually play using yes4g. damn fast.. but the quota also run out very fast. rm100 like half a month only haha

best advice looking at your budget, i think best if you can be patient a little bit. with your budget, quite hard to get decent speed. furthermore, nowdays broadband all crazy price..

however, if you can somehow test the reception signal at your own place, not at the shop or friend's house, and if the signal is good, you can try gamble on it. sometime our place are in the blind spot.. neighbour got reception, but not us.. scared become like this hehe
yeah, seem like quota would give me trouble too. in any way, i still getting a broadband, just wondering if i can play the elder scrolls online with it, apparently, it's imposible sweat.gif
kadS
post Dec 8 2012, 12:35 AM

344 posts

test the wireless broadband connection at your location first. if get 3g/h then its good enough. im using celcom 3g for wow,dota 2, gw2 all good.
TSArnaude
post Dec 8 2012, 01:11 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(kadS @ Dec 8 2012, 12:35 AM)
test the wireless broadband connection at your location first. if get 3g/h then its good enough. im using celcom 3g for wow,dota 2, gw2 all good.
really? in a month, how often u play for dota2? the quota enuf 4 u?
dynames07
post Dec 8 2012, 09:25 AM

272 posts

yup. the main point is testing it at your place, where you plan to game. maybe borrow your friend broadband and test it. umobile also got people say quite good. if got the funds, go for yes4g. used it nearlt 2 years and totally worth the amount i pay although on the pricier side.
TSArnaude
post Dec 8 2012, 09:43 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(dynames07 @ Dec 8 2012, 09:25 AM)
yup. the main point is testing it at your place, where you plan to game. maybe borrow your friend broadband and test it. umobile also got people say quite good. if got the funds, go for yes4g. used it nearlt 2 years and totally worth the amount i pay although on the pricier side.
umobile is my best shot actually, quite affordable for dat kind of speed. but yes4g has low reception at my place
jakzaizzat
post Dec 8 2012, 01:52 PM

77 posts

Better use Yes 4G+ vpn 1Malaysia smile.gif
Vpn on pay RM10 monthly smile.gif You can bypass the limit.
I play DOTA 2 n flying spaghetti monster so smooth smile.gif

vpn1malaysia.com
TSArnaude
post Dec 8 2012, 01:53 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(jakzaizzat @ Dec 8 2012, 01:52 PM)
Better use Yes 4G+ vpn 1Malaysia smile.gif
Vpn on pay RM10 monthly smile.gif You can bypass the limit.
I play DOTA 2 n flying spaghetti monster so smooth smile.gif
vpn1malaysia.com
total cost per month?
jakzaizzat
post Dec 8 2012, 03:52 PM

77 posts

I use YES 4g(rm48 monthly)+VPN(RM10 monthly)=RM58 smile.gif

Nice Speed :)Can download movie,games and play on9 games..

kadS
post Dec 8 2012, 04:02 PM

344 posts

QUOTE(Arnaude @ Dec 8 2012, 01:11 AM)
really? in a month, how often u play for dota2? the quota enuf 4 u?
my bad. i only use 3g at my hometown. like 4-5 days a month. the quota if without the patch shud be enough, dota sometimes got really big patch so i cant really say =.=

after all u better test first k.
TSArnaude
post Dec 8 2012, 04:15 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(kadS @ Dec 8 2012, 04:02 PM)
my bad. i only use 3g at my hometown. like 4-5 days a month. the quota if without the patch shud be enough, dota sometimes got really big patch so i cant really say =.=

after all u better test first k.
alrite, ill just borrow my friend's 1st, thnks.
BloodLust91
post Mar 22 2015, 09:27 AM

80 posts

Not sure if I should create a new thread or continue here but I shall continue here since I have the same questions as TS.

Having troubles with my internet lately due to unstable coverage with streamyx. No upgrades and fibre internet available in my area. So I am wondering if it's good to get the (new?) MAXIS LTE wireless broadband for gaming purposes. Anybody with experience mind sharing their opinions with the LTE wireless broadband or it will be the same with any other wireless broadbands?

0.0269sec    0.47    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 04:17 AM