broadband for online gaming, is broadband suitable 4 online gaming
TSArnaude
Dec 4 2012, 08:22 PM, updated 14y ago

i dunno whether to put this here or broadband topic.
i planned getting the elder scrolls online next year and getting my first broadband. i wonder if broadband suitable 4 online gaming i mean no lag, no delay, low ping etc. i hv streamyx at home with speed around 1mbps and playing dota 2 still delay sometimes. and i saw my friend downloading with his broadband with speed around +5mbps, so i think it quite fast isn't. does faster internet speed mean better gameplay?
secondly, broadband with internet usage quota, does playing online game will affect this quota? if so, what quota you suggest i take.
thirdly, i've read other threads like this, they said broadband is not suitable because of high latency and other thing, but it past few years back right. i'm sure today we hv a lot of alternative, how about if i use better modem, faster usb modem, mifi, etc. am i right, or still no matter what type of modem i use, broadband is still a broadband and the problem cannot be overcome?
btw, im a student, cant use streamyx, and hv budget around RM40-70/month for broadband.
cubaan
Dec 4 2012, 08:57 PM
first of all streamyx is also a broadband. if u mean by getting a broadband is getting a wireless broadband for playing online games i would say that its not a good choice. wired connection will be much better i.e:- streamyx/unifi/maxis fiber/timenet higher speed does not mean lower ping. thats why i use maxis wireless for downloading and change to streamyx for gaming. using maxis wireless the lowest ping i can get is around 70-100ms compare to streamyx who around 30-50ms only. (i heard that unifi can get 5ms).
kEazYc
Dec 4 2012, 09:26 PM
Word from the wisemen, never trust wireless for gaming.
TSArnaude
Dec 4 2012, 09:43 PM

yeah sorry i mean wireless broadband. Really? so no wireless broadband for online gaming huh. thank you.
so what cause this not suitable, usb modem itself, the cnnction, or the game server?
what if i still use wireless broadband to play, is it slow, lag, can't connect at all or what?
keretapir
Dec 4 2012, 10:35 PM
QUOTE(Arnaude @ Dec 4 2012, 09:43 PM) yeah sorry i mean wireless broadband. Really? so no wireless broadband for online gaming huh. thank you. so what cause this not suitable, usb modem itself, the cnnction, or the game server? what if i still use wireless broadband to play, is it slow, lag, can't connect at all or what? being as such position like yours a few years back, i know what it's like getting a pretty pretty fast wireless connection but ended up with 70-150-220ms ping.... remember, wireless depended on many things. particularly congestion of the signal. and since packets of data travels much slower (and we're only talking milliseconds, where lag is predominant in those milliseconds) between you and the wireless base towers.... my suggestion is, try getting the one wireless broadband that has the nearest base tower to your location...
cubaan
Dec 4 2012, 11:33 PM
routing also affect the latency. my maxis unlimited will have 250ms+ if server out of malaysia. even to singapore server my ping is around 300ms. call maxis and they said that im using guest simcard so my connection use different route... to hongkong.
TSArnaude
Dec 5 2012, 07:28 AM

hmm, make sense, wireless easily distracted by any other device. thanks for answering, so i think i'll pass. no broadband. besides, my place is like rural area, when everyone using broadband at the same time, they will getting slower. they like sharing the connection, like a traffic jam.
This post has been edited by Arnaude: Dec 5 2012, 07:29 AM
youbeli
Dec 5 2012, 09:19 AM
unifi is ur best choice i think~
TSArnaude
Dec 5 2012, 10:08 AM

QUOTE(youbeli @ Dec 5 2012, 09:19 AM) unifi is ur best choice i think~  i cant aford unifi,  ima student, i move around
M1X
Dec 5 2012, 11:13 AM
Dota2? doesn't sounds like on the casual level at all. Wireless broadband might not be an ideal option. If you're just playing casual MMO (and not PvP), it's fine. Wireless always have inconsistent ping, which is a problem, sometime I get 60ms (to local), sometime 150ms, sometime if it rain too much the connection might lost.
Edison83
Dec 5 2012, 11:37 AM
Rules for good internet gaming.
1. No wireless broadband 2. Don't share the line
Depend on where is server is, if local MY/SG server, you can play pretty much laggless using 1MB streamyx.
If the server is located outside SEA area, you may wanna use Unifi, but seems yours budget like that, unifi is already ruled out. MAybe you can add some. Maxis now ada promo, at the same price of Unifi 5mbps u get 10mbps.
gbwedward
Dec 5 2012, 11:39 AM

dear TS, please do not get confused between broadband and wireless connections. If you are just a student, you will be living with other students or renting a room? How about sharing cost with other tenants? Surely there are other alternatives other than looking for a better ISP. regards, gbwment QUOTE(Edison83 @ Dec 5 2012, 11:37 AM) Rules for good internet gaming. 1. No wireless broadband 2. Don't share the lineDepend on where is server is, if local MY/SG server, you can play pretty much laggless using 1MB streamyx. If the server is located outside SEA area, you may wanna use Unifi, but seems yours budget like that, unifi is already ruled out. MAybe you can add some. Maxis now ada promo, at the same price of Unifi 5mbps u get 10mbps. i heard that maxis is planning to use ur router as an access point for other maxis mobile users. This may cause some problems if ur router get swarmed. I'm not very sure about the detail but they may be leeching ur bandwidth as well. I just heard this from my company's CIO so i'm not very sure of the detail no matter what, if it's from maxis.. there's always a catch 22 This post has been edited by gbwedward: Dec 5 2012, 11:43 AM
Edison83
Dec 5 2012, 11:42 AM
QUOTE(gbwedward @ Dec 5 2012, 11:39 AM) dear TS, please do not get confused between broadband and wireless connections. If you are just a student, you will be living with other students or renting a room? How about sharing cost with other tenants? Surely there are other alternatives other than looking for a better ISP. regards, gbwment I seriously really doubt its gonna help. The reason im saying this is that among that several ppl, I believe some of them sure torrent or go watch PP, which will affect drastically when TS is playing online games. Might as well use back 1Mbps.... Sometime I also complain my wife watching youtube behind me while im playing online gaming. Felt the lag... This post has been edited by Edison83: Dec 5 2012, 11:44 AM
gbwedward
Dec 5 2012, 11:45 AM

QUOTE(Edison83 @ Dec 5 2012, 11:42 AM) I seriously really doubt its gonna help. The reason im saying this is that among that several ppl, I believe some of them sure torrent or go watch PP, which will affect drastically when TS is playing online games. Might as well use back 1Mbps.... with a 5mbps or higher broadband and a router with a good QoS, this can be easily resolved. Just set a rule as to what time to what time download and streaming is allowed. I'm using 5mbps and streaming videos doesn't really affect my connection so far unless those banggang fellas go stream 4 or 5 videos one shot
TSArnaude
Dec 5 2012, 01:46 PM

QUOTE(gbwedward @ Dec 5 2012, 11:39 AM) dear TS,
please do not get confused between broadband and wireless connections.
If you are just a student, you will be living with other students or renting a room? How about sharing cost with other tenants? Surely there are other alternatives other than looking for a better ISP.
regards, gbwment no, i live in hostel dats the problem, i cant get out of here til 2014. they restricted installation of unifi, streamyx, wifi booster, or any router cos it will interfere the college's wifi they said.
memphiz_zero88
Dec 5 2012, 01:49 PM
My stars has gone. T_T
QUOTE(Arnaude @ Dec 5 2012, 01:46 PM) no, i live in hostel dats the problem, i cant get out of here til 2014. they restricted installation of unifi, streamyx, wifi booster, or any router cos it will interfere the college's wifi they said. lol like that have to use the mobile broadband la.
TSArnaude
Dec 5 2012, 01:52 PM

QUOTE(memphiz_zero88 @ Dec 5 2012, 01:49 PM) lol like that have to use the mobile broadband la. yeah exactly,  but i still want to try it tho QUOTE(M1X @ Dec 5 2012, 11:13 AM) Dota2? doesn't sounds like on the casual level at all. Wireless broadband might not be an ideal option. If you're just playing casual MMO (and not PvP), it's fine. Wireless always have inconsistent ping, which is a problem, sometime I get 60ms (to local), sometime 150ms, sometime if it rain too much the connection might lost. the elder scrolls online, maybe PvP This post has been edited by Arnaude: Dec 5 2012, 02:11 PM
gbwedward
Dec 5 2012, 02:41 PM

QUOTE(Arnaude @ Dec 5 2012, 01:46 PM) no, i live in hostel dats the problem, i cant get out of here til 2014. they restricted installation of unifi, streamyx, wifi booster, or any router cos it will interfere the college's wifi they said. hmm, ur hostel got provide hotspot? if got then can use stimix liao, just connection may not be stable and may have massive lag if alot of ppl using. If u have plans to upgrade ur stimix to unifi, then u will get a complimentary hotspot account oh btw, regarding the bandwidth usage while playing game. Yes, it does use up a lot of bandwidth seeing as data is always uploading and downloading. If games that has web based service embedded in, the consumption will be higher
TSArnaude
Dec 5 2012, 03:05 PM

QUOTE(gbwedward @ Dec 5 2012, 02:41 PM) hmm, ur hostel got provide hotspot? if got then can use stimix liao, just connection may not be stable and may have massive lag if alot of ppl using. If u have plans to upgrade ur stimix to unifi, then u will get a complimentary hotspot account oh btw, regarding the bandwidth usage while playing game. Yes, it does use up a lot of bandwidth seeing as data is always uploading and downloading. If games that has web based service embedded in, the consumption will be higher yea there's hotspot, but very slow cos all students use it. at night fast as hell but they blocked certain website like entertainment related, video streaming, games, porn  , etc. what stimix? This post has been edited by Arnaude: Dec 5 2012, 03:08 PM
gbwedward
Dec 5 2012, 03:12 PM