SPM 2013 Thread

cuzuamazing
post Sep 6 2013, 03:01 PM

441 posts

QUOTE(Genso @ Sep 6 2013, 10:15 AM)
SPM Candidate here.
So far been doing fine with all my subjects except for Additional Mathematics and Sejarah.
My highest grade for Sejarah is only C and for Add Maths is B-.

Any good tips? Or maybe I'm just studying wrongly.......
add maths is incredibly easy. when i was about to enter form 4 (form 5 this year), my sis told me that i will cry and beg her to teach me add maths. and now, 2 years of form 4 and form 5, i haven't ask her a single question. because they are SO EASY. the formula is actually seemed' dead' to me, that means you don't need to think more, just apply the formula to the question. and also, do more exercise especially past year paper. u will fing out that those add maths questions are just reapeating and repeating.....

for sejarah, just study hard, although i doubt that can i even get B+ in this trial rclxub.gif

plus, do you take biology? if you do, please teach me some study tips, becuz i think bio is the hardest subject ever to me rclxub.gif

cuzuamazing
post Sep 9 2013, 05:13 PM

441 posts

for those who already sat for add maths, i have a question to ask. will the school provide normal distribution table? or we have to prepare ourselves?
cuzuamazing
post Sep 19 2013, 02:03 PM

441 posts

well, got some of my results already, but i wasnt satisfied sad.gif
BM 78 A-
BI 87 A
MATHS 95 A+
SASTERA CINA 93 A+
PHYSICS 65 B
BIOLOGY 38 FAILLLLL!!!
MORAL 82 A
SEJARAH 56 C
cuzuamazing
post Sep 19 2013, 02:21 PM

441 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Sep 19 2013, 02:05 PM)
BC is really good  rclxms.gif

I failed my BC badly, never expect to get an A even in PMR  laugh.gif
erm...thats not BC, thats 中国文学,do u know that subject exists?
BTW, i dont think i can even get an A- for BC this time cuz my paper 2 only got 62/100, and i kinda screwed up my 应用文
cuzuamazing
post Sep 19 2013, 02:23 PM

441 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Sep 19 2013, 02:06 PM)
Wat BC 93? Well done rclxms.gif
erm...thats not BC, thats CHINESE LITERATURE. well, for actual BC, i dont think i can get even A- this time
cuzuamazing
post Sep 19 2013, 02:24 PM

441 posts

QUOTE(Heartnsoul @ Sep 19 2013, 02:09 PM)
Wow, 93 on sastera cina, is it as hard as the normal BC paper?

Btw, sastera cina is a different paper from normal BC right?
yup its different. sastera cina requires more 'hafal' and i think the stories arent very hard
cuzuamazing
post Sep 19 2013, 02:32 PM

441 posts

QUOTE(x3cream @ Sep 19 2013, 02:28 PM)
wow your results way better than mine dude! I only got 1 A so far sad sad.gif
dont worry. normally you will get better results in spm than trials
actually the thing that i noticed is your 3ds friend code tongue.gif i may be getting a 3ds xl soon, so what are the games u play? maybe i can add u as friend
cuzuamazing
post Sep 19 2013, 02:59 PM

441 posts

QUOTE(Heartnsoul @ Sep 19 2013, 02:45 PM)
Heck, I got 57/100 for my subjective. Lucky my essay pushed me up to a 70. smile.gif
Ah ok, I have a few friends taking this and they seem to have a hard time with it blink.gif
heck, during my form 4 both both my major chinese exams got A-, but during mid term this year, I got 71, which is B+.although i am the highest in class, i am still a bit dissapointed. this time, I aimed an A, but reality is cruel sad.gif

Let me tell u the truth, i never studied sastera cina until the day b4 exam, and i was still shocked that i managed to get an A+.i call that luck, i guess smile.gif
cuzuamazing
post Sep 19 2013, 03:23 PM

441 posts

QUOTE(Screen @ Sep 19 2013, 03:02 PM)
You are strong in Chinese, which is damn rare to see someone like that.

I got A for PMR Chinese and thought to take Chinese for SPM as well, but scored only 43 in F4 year end, so I dropped it tongue.gif
actually, many of my friends doesn't believe that i got a B in PMR chinese. yes, during my form 1, 2 and 3, i got mostly A in my chinese, including PMR trials. but PMR, i got a B. that kinda let me down and nearly made me give up my faith. but form 4 mid term exam? BAM!! 78 for chinese. end of year exam, i got 75.
actually u shouldnt drop chinese as there may be surprise. let me tell u, i got a B in UPSR english, but now? i got the highest in class. My BM results were not good since i was small, and i got a B in PMR. but now? i got A in BM in both mid term and end of year exam
cuzuamazing
post Sep 19 2013, 03:24 PM

441 posts

QUOTE(maximR @ Sep 19 2013, 03:15 PM)
Physics Paper 2 result left . smile.gif
On a second thought , not sure if I should post my results here .
post la nvm de. tongue.gif i failed my biology and i still dare to post blush.gif
cuzuamazing
post Sep 19 2013, 03:28 PM

441 posts

QUOTE(x3cream @ Sep 19 2013, 03:04 PM)
Haha tongue.gif erm waiting for pokemon X to release smile.gif I just finished resident evil but Im gonna study since Im getting bad results and hopefully I get better in SPM XD
Pokemon X is the main reason i buy a 3ds xl tongue.gif i also like to play mario games. i really envy one of my friends, he got the second place in the SPELL IT RIGHT competition in the state challenge. reward? RM2500. What will he do with the money? 3ds xl, and both pokemon X and Y. blink.gif buying games using own money he earned, like a boss

cuzuamazing
post Sep 19 2013, 03:56 PM

441 posts

QUOTE(1insane @ Sep 19 2013, 03:46 PM)
So far, my Chm and Phy are the only A's I've got. Quite dissapointed. But on the bright side, the rest A+. Surprisingly, my Bio managed to get 90 this term.  biggrin.gif
OMG. just OMG.
cuzuamazing
post Sep 19 2013, 10:49 PM

441 posts

QUOTE(maximR @ Sep 19 2013, 09:38 PM)
Disclaimer : I did this in PMR , where I wrote about my trial results and discussed about plans to further improve them before the actual examination . This time I'll do it again . This is not intended for self-indulgence , but as a reflection .

So here it is . After months of exhausting , stressful and sometimes heart-wrenching episodes and experiences , I've finally reached this point . ' Bahasa Inggeris ' may look out of place because my teacher hasn't added it in yet .  tongue.gif

First things first ...

I started my trials preparation pretty early , around June if I'm not mistaken . I figured if I'd want to go through the trials without any stress at all , I could just finish everything and relax . Boy , was I wrong .

My preparation became intense during the two-week break that we had for Hari Raya . It was incredibly stressful . Although I thought I had everything under control , but I realised that I had neglected Sejarah for far too long .

I told myself I would be happy with just straight A's , I had the feeling that I couldn't achieve that . The stress can get to you sometimes so it's best to not lose motivation when things don't go as planned .

I had zero recollection of Sejarah facts before the break . I felt I was doomed , I had only two weeks to cram everything in ! Luckily , I had my parents to complain to , and the opportunity to take long walks every day to help with the stress .

Breakdown of results

BAHASA MELAYU ( P1 - 120/130 P2 - 99/110 )

- I prepared only a few days before the paper . I think luck was on my side . Preparation mostly went into Karangan and KOMSAS . I had read and practised Novel questions months before , so I took a few glances on tema , watak , latar , nilai , pengajaran , teknik plot . I think I did many Prosa Klasik questions to get used to those KBKK questions . It paid off I think , one question ( Hikayat Langlang Buana ) read : " Mengapakah Tuan Puteri membawa pulang burung bayan itu ? " I had a lot of simple ideas to write about , SPM level requires simple and logical answers only .

For P1 , I did " faktor - faktor murid-murid ponteng sekolah " . I was lucky because I'd read that , and all the other options were too difficult for me ! I avoided Q1 , pengalaman hari sukan as I preferred factual essays in BM .

Things to improve on are my knowledge on karangan points , so I'll be able to choose from a wider range of questions , not just limit myself to Dimensi Diri and Dimensi Masyarakat questions . I took quite a bit of time answering Rumusan , so that must improve as well . Overall I'm quite happy with my BM result , first A+ this year .

ENGLISH
P1 - 85/85 , P2 - 65/70

Nothing much to say here , really . English is the subject which I paid the least attention to . But a thing to note here is I only learned how to answer the Novel question a day before the paper . I'd finished Step by Wicked Step in May , but never cared to learn the answering technique .

Also , for the first time , I chose a one-word essay . I was never a person who'd choose to write a story , but this time I took the risk as I felt I'd exhausted my take on real-life stories about ' Mother ' , or ' Father ' . This time I chose the question with the prompt ' SILENCE ' . A very intriguing , but broad topic --- I came up with the plot there and then , taking quite some time to sort things out in my head before writing . It was sort of a self-exploration / spiritual work about how a fictional person  found silence in his life . Very happy with my P1 , had a few first-draft slips in my continuous writing though , will try to minimise them in SPM .

MATHEMATICS P1 - 38/40 , P2 - 97/100

Again , nothing much to say . I did have trouble with Earth as a Sphere though , and I drew plans for the first time in my trials ! A bit under-prepared for P2 , but I think I managed to do just fine .

ADDITIONAL MATHEMATICS
P1 - 64/80 , P2 - 81/100

A huge disappointment . I had always been consistent with my Add Maths , but this year I did very few questions , and the lack of practice showed in my result . I think trial , past years and model papers before SPM would fix this . However , this paper was devious --- especially P1 . Kudos to the teacher for those questions that really tested our grasp on A.M concepts .

SEJARAH P1 - 31/40 , P2 - 97/100 P3 - 100/100

Boy oh boy , how did I pull through Sejarah ? Aside from not having enough time to finish all the chapters ( especially the form five ones ) , and racing against time to cram as much as I could . Not happy with my P1 marks , questions that tested specific facts brought me down . I'll pay more attention to Sejarah this time .

EKONOMI ASAS P1 - 36/40 , P2 - 49.5/60

I'm really happy with how things turned out for E.A . It was my first time sitting an E.A paper . It felt a bit awkward --- never drew supply and demand graphs , never computed cukai , so I had some trouble in P2 . I also did not finish most of the form five chapters ! Thank goodness some common knowledge helped me with those objective questions . Will definitely pull my E.A grade to an A+ in SPM .

PHYSICS P1 - 46/50 , P2 - 95/100 , P3 - 40/40

I finished the entire Physics syllabus around early June myself as the teacher was too slow , so I did not prepare so much for it before the trials . This proved to be a risk as I had to recall some concepts in P1 , and referred to the formula sheet for those kinematic questions . Overall I'm satisfied with Physics ( my favourite subject ) , although I will at least practice once a week now .

CHEMISTRY
P1 - 49/50 , P2 - 100/100 , P3 - 46/50

The highlight of my trials . I finished Carbon Compounds and Chemical for Consumers a week before the break all by myself as my teacher skipped the topic and was taking his own sweet time giving out handouts for those chapters . At first I felt I couldn't do it ( people told me Carbon Compounds will be very difficult ) , but I told myself to focus . With help from the internet , I finished that long chapter just in time , and I quite liked it .

I'd like to note that I was exhausted on the day which I had to sit for Chemistry ( 2nd last paper ) . Some of the P2 questions were unconventional , and I didn't have the energy to finish all the essay questions . But what a pleasant surprise it was when I received my Chemistry results today . smile.gif

BIOLOGY P1 - 49/50 , P2 - 93/100 , P3 - 50/50

I was barely able to finish Reproduction in time . The plants reproduction part was very long for me . I paid more attention on the menstrual cycle part . I think reading Biology on the first week of the holidays proved to be costly , I'd forgotten part of what I'd studied in the actual exam . Only after the first 30 minutes of P2 did I manage to recall the facts needed to answer the essay questions . I kinda gave up studying Biology after finishing Chemistry , all that was in my mind was sleep . I needed to rest badly after all those harrowing papers . I only read the experiments to prepare for P3 . Biology is another one of the how-did-I-pull-through subjects , never thought I would have achieved an A+ .

MORAL

Finished with all those nilai's minutes before the exam .  sweat.gif Trial papers should prove helpful now .

___________________________________________________________________________________________

There you go . Sorry if I seemed to ramble , I'm quite tired right now , was involved some last-minute school activity and didn't get to sleep in the afternoon .

So , what's next ?

Remain composed , don't let the results affect me . I've a feeling that my principal would pile more pressure on me this time leading to the actual SPM , but I have to remain calm . I have to .

We'll be having Gerak Gempur too , but I won't let it bother me too much . I'll treat it as an exercise .

Maxis
omg. i bet u are in the top class of your school isn't it? youre results are truly awesome! unlike me, i think i can only achieve 2 A+ this time(excluding sivik)

speaking of sejarah, paper 1 really made me frustrated mad.gif i practise paper 1 by doing past year questions. while doing past years, i never made more than 7 mistakes. but until exam, i can tell you that, i have never saw some of the questions before!!! even some sejarah teachers admit that it is hard sad.gif i only had 23/40

how do u get 85/85 in english paper 1????? i am quite confident this time, but i only got 73/85 (section A 30, section B 43)

This post has been edited by cuzuamazing: Sep 19 2013, 10:53 PM
cuzuamazing
post Sep 19 2013, 11:23 PM

441 posts

oh ya, since i'm here already, might as well add me on the 1st page tongue.gif

i take pure science subjects, BC and chinese literature

This post has been edited by cuzuamazing: Sep 19 2013, 11:24 PM
cuzuamazing
post Sep 20 2013, 01:00 AM

441 posts

QUOTE(laptopgirl @ Sep 20 2013, 12:43 AM)
Lol, oops.

Anyway, are you people still going to school after trials? Lots of my classmates just ponteng and study at home. Today, only 13 people from my class came.

Atmosphere felt like after final exams/ after PMR like that. No one studied and everyone played Truth or Dare.
damn relaxing lor your class. but i wasnt better, i joke around with my friends everyday and sometimes i wonder that is SPM finished? tongue.gif
my class still got 30+ attend school..and my point is, long time didnt play truth or dare edi tongue.gif

cuzuamazing
post Sep 20 2013, 09:38 PM

441 posts

QUOTE(maximR @ Sep 20 2013, 08:59 PM)
This thread has gotten busy . Where to start ?

For Pendidikan Moral , opinions differ . But the general consensus between examiners is that you can definitely add one and only one extra answer , no more .

For esei , I give one extra nilai . Usually it's rasional because I know it'll be accepted . I write all three esei's , just to be safe , and because I have some spare time .

I answer this way [ recommended by JP Negeri Sembilan ]

Watak + Nilai
Watak + KK1 + Situasi
Contoh
Watak + KK2 + Situasi
Contoh

4 word technique can be used as well , but I've gotten used to the old one .

Example :

Ali mengamalkan nilai rasional . Dia boleh berfikir dengan tidak menghisap rokok . Contohnya , dia tahu bahawa merokok membahayakan kesihatan dan boleh menyebabkan kanser paru-paru . Dia bertindak wajar dengan tidak menghisap rokok . Contohnya , dia menolak pelawaan rakannya untuk merokok walaupun diajak beberapa kali .

My only concern is the 'CONTOH' part . An examiner with 20 years of experience told me that the contoh must be KBKK , we cannot take from the 'stem soalan' . What do you think , and what do your teachers say ?

cucuamazing Heartnsoul laptopgirl kangaroo96 stpxdf88l

As you guys are kinda new here , would you be interested in our Facebook discussion page ? There are 20+ members in there . But a word of caution , that group is inactive , which is kind of disappointing . When I first talked about it many provided their FB names , they wanted to be in the group , but when I added them nobody provided inputs , some asked questions but when we further enquired , they abandoned them . Just thought maybe you guys would be different , based on your posts in this thread . biggrin.gif

By the way , cucuamazing and laptopgirl , I've updated your username on the list . Pretty impressive , both taking a literature subject . I've always wanted to take L.I.E , but meh , no teachers around and I heard that an A+ would prove to be a feat achievable by only the best users of English . Didn't want to take the risk . Have you chosen a theme to concentrate on , like conflicts ?
u spelled my name wrong sweat.gif but nvm
i can join the fb group, but i must tell u, i seldom on fb
so wat is the group's name?
and well, dont really understand your last question...do u mean that what are the questions i concentrate on chinese literature? if it is then i must tell u, they dont ask questions on chinese literature in that way

This post has been edited by cuzuamazing: Sep 20 2013, 09:41 PM
cuzuamazing
post Sep 20 2013, 10:00 PM

441 posts

QUOTE(maximR @ Sep 20 2013, 09:42 PM)
Sorry , I directed my question to laptopgirl .

Anyway do you have a set of texts to read for Chinese Literature ? Do you read works by Confucius , Lao Tze ?
3 books total, 1 drama, 1 short stories, and 1 history-related stories
there are 18 questions total, 10 from history-related stories, 4 from drama and 4 from short stories. i have to choose 6 from history-related stories, 2 from drama and 2 from short stories. the total mark is 100
cuzuamazing
post Sep 20 2013, 10:02 PM

441 posts

QUOTE(maximR @ Sep 20 2013, 09:55 PM)
Wait , what ?  shakehead.gif

The word 'nilai' is unnecessary .
my moral teacher said that we must write the word 'nilai' before the moral value wor....
cuzuamazing
post Sep 20 2013, 10:04 PM

441 posts

QUOTE(maximR @ Sep 20 2013, 10:01 PM)
Are you interested in Chinese literary works ?
not that interested actually sweat.gif i only took it because my friend ask me to take it, plus i am not bad at chinese. so, i took the subject. luckily i managed to get good result
cuzuamazing
post Sep 20 2013, 10:05 PM

441 posts

QUOTE(maximR @ Sep 20 2013, 10:04 PM)
If they ask for 'terangkan' , 'jelaskan' nilai , then yes , it's required .
If they say ' berikan nilai ' , then no . At least that was what the examiner told me .
what my moral teacher said was whatever the situation is, the word 'nilai' is a must.
but every moral examiner have thier own way

0.0628sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 03:04 PM