Iphone5 IOS 6.0.1 Battery drain issue- SOLVED, Sharing..MUST READ! Real life experience
TSsugen
Dec 3 2012, 09:36 AM, updated 14y ago
Guys, I believe many of you have moved or plan to move from your previous iphone to iphone 5 (for me iphone 4 to iphone 5), all of us will do this to backup & restore it to new iphone5 via Itunes. This is the simplest and easiest way to bring up our iphone5 without losing any data etc. HOWEVER, there is a bug that will drain you battery. It is widely discuss in apple forum & i am one of the victim.
1.) A fully charged iphone 5 was unplug from charger at 8.30am and i suffer battery drain issue where around 5 pm onward. The battery only left around 20%, each time reach home the 1st thing i do was to quickly charge the phone. At first i though it was normal due to a larger screen and a faster dual core processor clocked at 1.3Ghz, no phone can have better battery life, also my usage is WIFI never turn off with 3G data plan + 3 PUSH email acct receiving email daily. I even got myself a second lightning cable for backup purposes if i need to charge my iphone5 before i manage to get home on time.
2.) until, i read a post in apple forum 2 weeks later after owning the phone. There is a bug from restoring previous back up to iphone 5 on IOS 6.0.1 that causes this issue. A simple solution is to Navigate to SETTING- GENERAL- RESET- RESET ALL SETTINGS. That is all !! After few days monitoring, the battery life improvement was dramatic ! Now until 6pm, my battery life is still left 62% compare to before less then 20% ! I am very happy to discover this and wish to share with all forumers here! Thanks and i am a happy iphone 5 owner now !
This post has been edited by sugen: Dec 3 2012, 10:17 AM
paeGMX
Dec 3 2012, 09:39 AM

Really that simple? =.=
chewlf
Dec 3 2012, 09:40 AM
QUOTE(sugen @ Dec 3 2012, 09:36 AM) Guys, I believe many of you have moved or plan to move from your previous iphone to iphone 5, all of us will do this to backup & restore it to new iphone5 via Itunes. This is the simplest and easiest way to bring up our iphone5. HOWEVER, there is a bug that will drain you battery. It is widely discuss in apple forum & i am one of the victim. 1.) A fully charged iphone 5 is unplug from charge at 8.30am and i suffer battery drain issue where around 5 pm onward. The battery only left around 20%, each time reach home the 1st thing i do is to charge the phone. At first i though it was normal due to a larger screen and a faster dual core processor clocked at 1.3Ghz, no phone can have better battery life, also my usage is WIFI never turn off with 3G data plan + 3 PUSH email acct receiving email daily. I even got myself a new lightning cable for backup purposes if i need to charge my iphone5 before i manage to get home on time. 2.) until, i read a post in apple forum 2 weeks later after i own the phone. There is a bug from restoring previous back up to iphone 5 on IOS 6.0.1. A simple solution is to Navigate to SETTING- GENERAL- RESET- RESET ALL SETTINGS. That is all !! After few days monitoring, the battery improve was dramatically ! Now until 6pm, my battery life is still left 62% compare to before 20% ! I am very happy to discover this and wish to share with all forumers here! Thanks and i am a happy iphone 5 owner now ! Great sharing. Although I am not facing any battery issue on my iphone 5 maybe due to I didn't restore from backup.
TSsugen
Dec 3 2012, 09:42 AM
Yes bro.. that simple. Before doing this i am half believe and half unbelieved. And it is just a simple steps to do it, some more no harm giving a try. And it really works ! QUOTE(paeGMX @ Dec 3 2012, 09:39 AM) This post has been edited by sugen: Dec 3 2012, 09:43 AM
unagikabayaki
Dec 3 2012, 10:31 AM
QUOTE(sugen @ Dec 3 2012, 09:42 AM) Yes bro.. that simple. Before doing this i am half believe and half unbelieved. And it is just a simple steps to do it, some more no harm giving a try. And it really works ! After reset all setting, the response faster as well. Battery life comes back to normal. Before this, the battery indicator was here and there, never accurate. Sometimes it would be 100% for 2 hours, sometimes shut off by itself at 13%. It was driving me crazy.
hunkofaman
Dec 3 2012, 11:01 AM

Thank you for sharing Will keep this in mind
Zseusz
Dec 3 2012, 11:10 AM

Hmm, might try this. Thanks for the info, man.
Searingmage
Dec 3 2012, 11:19 AM
I'll try and see if it works for me..  Btw, perhaps the battery life would be better due to turning off of location service?
art6969
Dec 3 2012, 11:44 AM
iphone 5?
already sell ka in malaysia?
BrokenOne
Dec 3 2012, 11:48 AM

not launched in malaysia but sold in other country for months already.
dino89
Dec 3 2012, 12:04 PM
Sad that means all apps and contacts will be lost when done?
panasonic88
Dec 3 2012, 12:14 PM
Thank you for the tips. Just did & will monitor for a few days. The battery issue after upgraded to IOS 6 is really pissed me off! p/s: It is faster after resetting. QUOTE(dino89 @ Dec 3 2012, 12:04 PM) Sad that means all apps and contacts will be lost when done? Contacts, apps, media all still there.
suatyenyeo
Dec 3 2012, 12:27 PM
So, after resetting all contacts and data still there?
Scotland007
Dec 3 2012, 12:38 PM
QUOTE(suatyenyeo @ Dec 3 2012, 12:27 PM) So, after resetting all contacts and data still there? As long as once you restore as new, you sign into icloud and enable sync with your contacts.
ChillyPepper
Dec 3 2012, 12:38 PM
QUOTE(suatyenyeo @ Dec 3 2012, 12:27 PM) So, after resetting all contacts and data still there? Yes, because resetting all settings only reset the settings, not the app data or the phone. For that, you have to choose Erase All Content and Settings.
TSsugen
Dec 3 2012, 01:02 PM
all data and app will be there. Just the setting only.. such as WIFI, phone setting.. Data will not lost.. p/s: see now already 1pm since my unplug out from charger at 8.30am. MY battery still left 80%... very good ! QUOTE(dino89 @ Dec 3 2012, 12:04 PM) Sad that means all apps and contacts will be lost when done? This post has been edited by sugen: Dec 3 2012, 01:06 PM
x132755
Dec 3 2012, 01:06 PM
Ohs..so just settings problem only ya..
ChillyPepper
Dec 3 2012, 01:07 PM
I think the best way to avoid this issue is NOT to restore from a backup, but setting up as a new phone.
TSsugen
Dec 3 2012, 01:10 PM
like that cannot leh.. you will lost your SMS, photos, call history, call favorite.. No doubt email can be configured back, contacts can be recover back if you syn it via icloud, phone setting has to manually configure back.. what else? QUOTE(ChillyPepper @ Dec 3 2012, 01:07 PM) I think the best way to avoid this issue is NOT to restore from a backup, but setting up as a new phone. This post has been edited by sugen: Dec 3 2012, 01:11 PM
panasonic88
Dec 3 2012, 01:58 PM
Any successful tester? On my side, I don't feel much difference.