12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Ninetology Black Pearl 2, Anyone tried this hp?

ericmaxman
post Jan 10 2013, 04:14 PM

-
7,951 posts

QUOTE(maxsteel @ Jan 10 2013, 04:12 PM)
On second look this phone really looks like my ideos x5.. smile.gif
ZTE V889M <- cousin? hmm.gif
ericmaxman
post Jan 10 2013, 04:21 PM

-
7,951 posts

QUOTE(FarCry3r @ Jan 10 2013, 04:19 PM)
Why la I never found those. *whipping hand for not being able to construct meaningful Google search query*
Hmmmm... no luck then. U8150 is smaller, and less power with that sucky spec but how come it have all the attentions? hmm.gif
Depends on how hackable is it lo. My sis's Ideos X3 also got 2-3 ROMs out there tongue.gif

The X5 also quite decent.

But if you say low spec, see the Spice Mi300. Even more ROMs that your U8150.. laugh.gif
ericmaxman
post Jan 10 2013, 04:22 PM

-
7,951 posts

QUOTE(MaGNiFiCo @ Jan 10 2013, 04:20 PM)
as usual the back camera is different. i already tried msg official zte malaysia on facebook to clear this doubt. still no reply  flex.gif
I've gone through a few hundred (if not thousand) chinese android phones. nothing comes close.

4" IPS
MT6577 chipset
512MB RAM

^ They all share that same spec, but buttons, camera and sensor positions are awfully unique to the BP2.
ericmaxman
post Jan 10 2013, 04:35 PM

-
7,951 posts

QUOTE(FarCry3r @ Jan 10 2013, 04:34 PM)
Dayyum. Need to buy more cheap small phones then  tongue.gif
Try the BP2 first la tongue.gif
ericmaxman
post Jan 10 2013, 04:36 PM

-
7,951 posts

QUOTE(FarCry3r @ Jan 10 2013, 04:36 PM)
I will. So far no custom ROM for this one right? Wanna try JB on it tongue.gif
Nothing new I've heard so far tongue.gif

But I think I'll try to root first.

if successful, who knows what it can bring later on? icon_idea.gif
ericmaxman
post Jan 10 2013, 04:39 PM

-
7,951 posts

QUOTE(FarCry3r @ Jan 10 2013, 04:38 PM)
I did post a link to root the device few pages back, although not sure if it will work or not. Argggghhhhh, why the clock is slowing down???? Come on 5PM!!! vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif
FFFUUU.. 5pm? Mine's 5:15pm wei vmad.gif

I'll try another rooting method from xda.
ericmaxman
post Jan 10 2013, 04:41 PM

-
7,951 posts

QUOTE(FarCry3r @ Jan 10 2013, 04:40 PM)
I still need to drive down like 30-40 minutes to the shop wei, I think you'll beat me there tongue.gif
Let's see.

LDP should be relatively smooth.

Hitting SKVE is okay. Turn off to Mines might be a bit slow.

Cari parking lagi leh rclxub.gif
ericmaxman
post Jan 10 2013, 04:56 PM

-
7,951 posts

QUOTE(CcL @ Jan 10 2013, 04:55 PM)
FYI the rooting procedure few pages back WORKS. But you must install the drivers http://www.androidgadgematic.com/2012/09/e...db-drivers.html

Don't need to download the 300+MB SDK kit for the driver. Rooted it in 2 minutes yesterday. When it tells you to click restore on your phone, turn the screen on and you'll see "Restore settings" or something, click that. Then only will the program continue running.
thumbup.gif
ericmaxman
post Jan 10 2013, 06:36 PM

-
7,951 posts

GOT MINE!!!!
ericmaxman
post Jan 10 2013, 06:44 PM

-
7,951 posts

picta

This post has been edited by ericmaxman: Jan 10 2013, 06:46 PM
ericmaxman
post Jan 10 2013, 06:56 PM

-
7,951 posts

QUOTE(FarCry3r @ Jan 10 2013, 06:56 PM)
Damn it. I jelly.
Patience bro biggrin.gif
ericmaxman
post Jan 10 2013, 10:05 PM

-
7,951 posts

Rooted liao biggrin.gif

Removed all the Go-Launcher stuff, QQ Browser and antivirus
ericmaxman
post Jan 10 2013, 10:18 PM

-
7,951 posts

QUOTE(fitzhex @ Jan 10 2013, 10:10 PM)
try undervolt it..  icon_idea.gif  icon_idea.gif
CPU Master PRO icon_idea.gif
ericmaxman
post Jan 11 2013, 05:35 AM

-
7,951 posts

Wait for me to post the guide. biggrin.gif
ericmaxman
post Jan 11 2013, 07:49 AM

-
7,951 posts

QUOTE(MaGNiFiCo @ Jan 10 2013, 11:18 PM)
so how was it so far ericmaxman ?

maybe you can put the steps on how to root. we'll try to contact TS to update it at first page smile.gif
Okay, initial impressions of this phone is not bad at all biggrin.gif

The weight of the phone is on the light side, but coupled with the smooth back, it can be a bit slippery at times, as well as attracting lots of finger prints. rclxub.gif The camera is an oddity by placing it at the far left corner of the phone. And also the charger/USB port being at the top, not the usual sides or bottom that we're used to see. Power button and volume keys dont feel cheap at all, which is a good thing, considering the price.

Now on to the screen. Compared to my Ideos X5, this one has a less pixel density (246 vs 233 ppi), but makes up by having a much better display technology (IPS). Viewing angles and colors are indeed top notch. The screen has a screen protector preapplied, so you dont have to find one. Also, the screen protector does attract fingerprints again rclxub.gif

On to the software part. As you all know, the BP2 comes with Android 4.0, more specifically, 4.0.4. Ninetology has added some subtle changes that I really appreciate. One of them would be the top toggle buttons. Not all stock ROMs has those toggle buttons, and seeing those here is a good welcome. Then there's the audio profiles. Those who has used non-smartphones in the past would sure know the pain when moving to Android. "Where's the silent mode, where's the outdoor mode...?" Yup, those are the questions we all asked (well I know I did) when moving to Android. But this feature makes a return on the BP2. Then after that, there's the Schedule Power On and Shutdown. This is a good feature, as a lot of folks leaves their phone charging/left on the whole night. And with this feature, you can have the phone shut down at a preset time, and power up at another preset time. Cool feature, I must say.

General usage of the phone has been pleasing. Initially, I wasn't expecting too much from the MediaTek MT6577 chipset, but it does manage to provide smooth user interaction so far. I replaced the stock Go-Launcher with my favourite Nova Launcher, which is far more smoother and looks more stock-ish.

I rooted my phone with this pack. Just download, unzip and run the Runme.bat file. Do make sure that USB Debugging has been enabled (Settings -> Developer Options -> USB Debugging). After that, just connect your phone via the USB cable to your comp, and run the file. Follow the on screen instructions (Select Normal), then when asked to restore your phone, just select to Restore. Then your phone will reboot. Once it has rebooted, you'll find SuperSU in app drawer. You can install Root Explorer to start digging into your phone (I wont be held responsible for any misfortune that happens to you).

Here's some tips once you've gotten your phone. If you have rooted yours, you can proceed by deleting the Go-Launcher related widgets and apps, QQ browser, QQ Doctor (antivirus). Also, I've checked from CPU Master, the scaling is "hybrid", and from what I saw, it switches speeds from 1001mhz to 245mhz only. No scaling in between. Battery life has been decent so far too.

Hope my short review helps you to get familiar with your new BP2. Also, ask away if you have any queries at all biggrin.gif
ericmaxman
post Jan 11 2013, 07:53 AM

-
7,951 posts

QUOTE(yweising @ Jan 10 2013, 11:43 PM)
guys,know how to print screen without 3rd party app?
Power button + Volume down.

it's a built in ICS feature

QUOTE(FarCry3r @ Jan 11 2013, 12:55 AM)
So far, I love my BP2. The simcard work and Digi gave 300MB of free data for me to burn. biggrin.gif Anyone know where I can find casing for this? The back casing is so glossy all my fingerprints stick to it cry.gif
Mine didn't come with the simcard biggrin.gif

Also, quite a few photos taken rclxub.gif

But it's the last unit, so gotta bear with it lol laugh.gif
ericmaxman
post Jan 11 2013, 08:05 AM

-
7,951 posts

And onto some niggles I found while using the BP2.

Firstly, no volume wake! If you're used to custom ROMs or some earlier phones, volume wake is a very useful feature. I'll probably need to do some digging around to try to enable this.

Then there's the Youtube app which allows up t HQ playback only. Not exactly a big issue, really.

After that, you'll also realise that there's no light sensor, and the brightness setting is fixed. I have mine set at 20-30%, and it's still very much visible (thanks IPS!)

I'll continue to update my findings with this phone as time goes by. biggrin.gif
ericmaxman
post Jan 11 2013, 08:50 AM

-
7,951 posts

QUOTE(FarCry3r @ Jan 11 2013, 08:48 AM)
Why? I thought the Digi simcard is part of the package and is required for the warranty? hmm.gif Anyway, I just found the first annoying thing with this phone: Whenever I turn off and on the phone, it'll ask me for the default launcher which I already set before. vmad.gif  vmad.gif
Apparently new batch no more digi liao biggrin.gif

Also, have you registered your warranty using the M-Warranty app? So far, I dont seem to be having the launcher issue. What launcher are you using btw?
ericmaxman
post Jan 11 2013, 09:06 AM

-
7,951 posts

QUOTE(FarCry3r @ Jan 11 2013, 08:52 AM)
Dog gummit! Does that means I'm on old batches?
I asked the shop to do the registration so I can blame them if anything goes wrong. brows.gif I'm just using the stock launcher. Doesn't really like Go Launcher on an ICS devices. BTW, there's 5 home screen by default in stock launcher. How do I reduce them into one?
Appears to be old batch icon_idea.gif

Try Nova Launcher and see, a bit more flexible biggrin.gif

I uninstalled Go-Launcher liao, so I didnt tinker with it much
ericmaxman
post Jan 11 2013, 09:21 AM

-
7,951 posts

QUOTE(FarCry3r @ Jan 11 2013, 09:11 AM)
I love Go Launcher on pre-ICS devices, but on ICS or greater, it ruins the experience blush.gif
Try Nova Launcher and see biggrin.gif

12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0324sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 11:51 AM