[WTA] Hyundai Coupe (M) 1997, First car.

TSLucassss
post Nov 27 2012, 10:57 PM, updated 14y ago

fanboy.
2,878 posts

Hi guys, I'm 17 this year and if all goes well I'll be getting my license on the 4th of December. Being 17 and all, I'm looking for a 2 door coupe and am currently looking at the Hyundai Coupe (M) 1997 as my first car. What are your thoughts on this car regarding spare parts availability and maintenance cost?

azbro
post Nov 28 2012, 05:48 AM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(Lucassss @ Nov 27 2012, 10:57 PM)
Hi guys, I'm 17 this year and if all goes well I'll be getting my license on the 4th of December. Being 17 and all, I'm looking for a 2 door coupe and am currently looking at the Hyundai Coupe (M) 1997 as my first car. What are your thoughts on this car regarding spare parts availability and maintenance cost?

Thing is, how are you going to pay for the car? Cash or 5year loan?

End of the day...MyVi biggrin.gif
TSLucassss
post Nov 28 2012, 12:04 PM

fanboy.
2,878 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Nov 28 2012, 05:48 AM)
Thing is, how are you going to pay for the car? Cash or 5year loan?

End of the day...MyVi  biggrin.gif
By cash. My dad's going to buy the car for me. I'm just making sure that I'm not buying the wrong car and end up hating it for the next 2-3 years.
zenix
post Nov 28 2012, 12:26 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

so old cannot get loan.

that car? alot of similar parts with proton.
can be said a better looking 2 door version of iswara/saga tongue.gif
TSLucassss
post Nov 28 2012, 12:30 PM

fanboy.
2,878 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Nov 28 2012, 12:26 PM)
so old cannot get loan.

that car? alot of similar parts with proton.
can be said a better looking 2 door version of iswara/saga tongue.gif
Not planning to anyway.

Does that mean it's cheap and easy to maintain? drool.gif
SUSbe7a
post Nov 28 2012, 12:31 PM

161 posts

go for the 2L if you really want the car

but i'd suggest going for the honda EG or EK 2-doors instead.

but both the coupe and EG/EK are old cars and you'll have to expect to learn a lot about the car along the way and spend time and money upgrading and fixing parts.

for a newer car, you can consider satria neo if you don't mind the badge it's a great car.

but anyway, congrats and enjoy your ride, no matter what you get
TSLucassss
post Nov 28 2012, 12:35 PM

fanboy.
2,878 posts

QUOTE(be7a @ Nov 28 2012, 12:31 PM)
go for the 2L if you really want the car

but i'd suggest going for the honda EG or EK 2-doors instead.

but both the coupe and EG/EK are old cars and you'll have to expect to learn a lot about the car along the way and spend time and money upgrading and fixing parts.

for a newer car, you can consider satria neo if you don't mind the badge it's a great car.

but anyway, congrats and enjoy your ride, no matter what you get
Thanks for your suggestions bro. But the problem with those cars are the price.

It's my first car and I'm definitely going to hit it here and there, no point buying an expensive car.

I really like the Honda EK 2 doors, but I feel like it's a car you spend years upgrading but I'm only going to use my car for 3 years max. biggrin.gif

BTW, any reason why I should get the 2L? Road tax kinda hefty.

This post has been edited by Lucassss: Nov 28 2012, 12:38 PM
SUSbe7a
post Nov 28 2012, 12:52 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(Lucassss @ Nov 28 2012, 12:35 PM)
Thanks for your suggestions bro. But the problem with those cars are the price.

It's my first car and I'm definitely going to hit it here and there, no point buying an expensive car.

I really like the Honda EK 2 doors, but I feel like it's a car you spend years upgrading but I'm only going to use my car for 3 years max.  biggrin.gif

BTW, any reason why I should get the 2L? Road tax kinda hefty.
it's your first car and you should be EXTRA careful with it. not expect to hit it here and there. that's the wrong mindset. don't cause trouble for others on the road.

any reason you're only going to use it for 3 years?

2L cause more sedap. 1.6 is going to be underpowered. you'll have myvis overtaking you left and right. and if you're going to pay for 1.8 roadtax might as well go 2.0
TSLucassss
post Nov 28 2012, 01:04 PM

fanboy.
2,878 posts

QUOTE(be7a @ Nov 28 2012, 12:52 PM)
it's your first car and you should be EXTRA careful with it. not expect to hit it here and there. that's the wrong mindset. don't cause trouble for others on the road.

any reason you're only going to use it for 3 years?

2L cause more sedap. 1.6 is going to be underpowered. you'll have myvis overtaking you left and right. and if you're going to pay for 1.8 roadtax might as well go 2.0
I'll be careful with it, but there will be some avoidable hits while parking or something.

I'm going overseas.

What about FC? I'm planning to go for the 1.8L. Is the 2L going to kill my dad's credit card?
V12Kompressor
post Nov 28 2012, 01:38 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

any korean car before 2006, FC is like coca cola to you.
TSLucassss
post Nov 28 2012, 02:02 PM

fanboy.
2,878 posts

QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Nov 28 2012, 01:38 PM)
any korean car before 2006, FC is like coca cola to you.
Do you happen to know how bad is it for the Hyundai Coupe?
zenix
post Nov 28 2012, 02:32 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(Lucassss @ Nov 28 2012, 12:30 PM)
Not planning to anyway.

Does that mean it's cheap and easy to maintain?  drool.gif
hyundai coupe or Scoupe?
TSLucassss
post Nov 28 2012, 02:36 PM

fanboy.
2,878 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Nov 28 2012, 02:32 PM)
hyundai coupe or Scoupe?
Coupe.

mytaffeta
post Nov 28 2012, 02:43 PM

1,327 posts

QUOTE(Lucassss @ Nov 28 2012, 02:36 PM)
Coupe.

known for a fuel guzzler ride.. i oso read this version got GB issue, can someone confirm this?
WaCKy-Angel
post Nov 28 2012, 02:46 PM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

Coupe.

I wonder why would u choose this car in the 1st place??
TSLucassss
post Nov 28 2012, 02:47 PM

fanboy.
2,878 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Nov 28 2012, 02:46 PM)
I wonder why would u choose this car in the 1st place??
Looks pretty cute. rclxms.gif
secondrate
post Nov 28 2012, 02:54 PM

Wolf
1,483 posts

Looks like a nice car. Manual too? Nice!
TSLucassss
post Nov 28 2012, 03:04 PM

fanboy.
2,878 posts

QUOTE(secondrate @ Nov 28 2012, 02:54 PM)
Looks like a nice car. Manual too? Nice!
That's what I thought too. And best part is it's only about 15k.
amad108
post Nov 28 2012, 03:17 PM

too much of something is bad enough
1,008 posts

i think wira is easier to maintain.. engine part maybe easy for hyundai coupe, but for exterior part where to get? chop shop is the only option i think..
for rm15k there's a lot other car that easier to maintain, good fc, good pick-up and reliable.. such as wira/satria 1.6 manual... a lot performance parts too until now..

This post has been edited by amad108: Nov 28 2012, 03:17 PM
TSLucassss
post Nov 28 2012, 03:24 PM

fanboy.
2,878 posts

QUOTE(amad108 @ Nov 28 2012, 03:17 PM)
i think wira is easier to maintain.. engine part maybe easy for hyundai coupe, but for exterior part where to get? chop shop is the only option i think..
for rm15k there's a lot other car that easier to maintain, good fc, good pick-up and reliable.. such as wira/satria 1.6 manual... a lot performance parts too until now..
That is what I need to show my dad before he pulls the trigger. rclxms.gif Can you please elaborate more on this point?
Regarding the exterior part, I don't think I'll ever need them as I'll most probably be recycling the car when I'm done.

I have a few different cars in my house, from SUV to sedans. My dad doesn't want to have 2 cars of the same category in the house.
I've checked out Proton Satria before, I completely agree that it's a better car than Hyundai Coupe in terms of performance but I cannot accept the QC of it. sad.gif

zenix
post Nov 28 2012, 03:25 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

Coupe.

oh this one got no common parts with proton.
scoupe does.
good luck fixing up this baby notworthy.gif
stormlcc
post Nov 28 2012, 03:59 PM

I can't control my G-FORCE addiction!!!
1,954 posts

15k better get a fully tuned up, drift ready KE70 than this one. this one all looks nothing to go for. u can learn nothing with this car except how to pump petrol very fast with minimum effort.

once u go FR, u will never look back
secondrate
post Nov 28 2012, 04:25 PM

Wolf
1,483 posts

QUOTE(Lucassss @ Nov 28 2012, 03:24 PM)
That is what I need to show my dad before he pulls the trigger.  rclxms.gif Can you please elaborate more on this point?
Regarding the exterior part, I don't think I'll ever need them as I'll most probably be recycling the car when I'm done.

I have a few different cars in my house, from SUV to sedans. My dad doesn't want to have 2 cars of the same category in the house.
I've checked out Proton Satria before, I completely agree that it's a better car than Hyundai Coupe in terms of performance but I cannot accept the QC of it.  sad.gif

I have a 7 year old Wira SE manual. I will say nice car to drive and parts can be cheap and common. Things that went wrong - door locks, power windows, speedometer. Not very fuel saving either. But in 7 years it hasn't broken down once!
WaCKy-Angel
post Nov 28 2012, 10:19 PM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(Lucassss @ Nov 28 2012, 02:47 PM)
Looks pretty cute.  rclxms.gif
QUOTE(Lucassss @ Nov 28 2012, 03:04 PM)
That's what I thought too. And best part is it's only about 15k.
I'd rather get Mazda 323 or Nissan Sentra (Genting highland taxi)
http://www.carlist.my/used-cars/make/Mazda/model/323/
http://www.gila-kereta.com/9Nissan-Sentra.html

This post has been edited by WaCKy-Angel: Nov 28 2012, 10:51 PM
Canopies
post Nov 29 2012, 12:41 AM

2,733 posts

fuel killing u. lol
zenix
post Nov 29 2012, 10:06 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

Good oldies would be (in no special order):

1. Suzuki Swift GTI
2. Proton Satria GTI
3. Proton Putra
4. Hyundai Scoupe
5. Honda Civic EF/EG
5. Honda Prelude
munky
post Nov 29 2012, 10:23 AM

1,971 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Nov 29 2012, 10:06 AM)

1. Suzuki Swift GTI
2. Proton Satria GTI
3. Proton Putra
4. Hyundai Scoupe
5. Honda Civic EF/EG
5. Honda Prelude
^

if i were u, id get the putra or satria gti with turbo engine. Can play2 with golf gti icon_idea.gif
SUSMamapapamsia
post Nov 29 2012, 11:14 AM

304 posts

QUOTE(Lucassss @ Nov 27 2012, 10:57 PM)

Avoid any korean cars pls. U will end up regretting alot and selling it off at a loss of 70% within a year.
scoupe
post Nov 29 2012, 11:40 AM

93 posts

i've owned my hyundai scoupe for the past 8yrs.. Hyundai parts are generally expensive. Most mechanics will tell you oh, this car hard to find parts.. We have a hyundai coupe club malaysia. Do check us out on fb then you can ask the guys bout this model and etc.. We also have a member who runs a hyundai service center so parts sourcing wont be too difficult only be expected to pay a higher then jap cars..
Jakk
post Nov 29 2012, 01:14 PM

in my opinion, for cars older than 10 years+ and u need it for daily drive + maintenance is ur main concern,
better stick with JDM. Unless u got second car and lot of cash and time.

This post has been edited by Jakk: Nov 29 2012, 01:15 PM
Naka7a
post Nov 29 2012, 02:56 PM

St. Neo
5,417 posts

go for JDM 2 doors if you must...

koreans from that eras, spare parts a problem.... drinks fuel like no body's business.... etc etc.
TSLucassss
post Nov 29 2012, 08:25 PM

fanboy.
2,878 posts

Hi guys, thanks for all the constructive replies. So conclusion, the Hyundai Coupe is sh*t.
Can you guys recommend me a car that has 2 doors and <RM15k? Preferably without the 'P' badge.

Personally, I have a thing for Ford and Mazda. My dad has been urging me to get a Ford Laser TX3. But am still reviewing my options.

amad108
post Nov 30 2012, 08:08 AM

1,008 posts

below rm15k w/o "P" badge with low maintenance and FC for sure non i think..
zenix
post Nov 30 2012, 09:46 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(amad108 @ Nov 30 2012, 08:08 AM)
below rm15k w/o "P" badge with low maintenance and FC for sure non i think..
got lah civic ef
amad108
post Nov 30 2012, 12:02 PM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Nov 30 2012, 09:46 AM)
got lah civic ef
there TS, u got ur answer.. thumbup.gif
zenix
post Nov 30 2012, 02:11 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(amad108 @ Nov 30 2012, 12:02 PM)
there TS, u got ur answer..  thumbup.gif
CRX rclxms.gif
amad108
post Nov 30 2012, 02:46 PM

1,008 posts

CRX even better bro !!
e30
post Nov 30 2012, 03:36 PM

JFT 96
1,189 posts

Dude, your dad is offering a 1.8 tx3 already, why even bother on the coupe? The ford is cheaper to buy. Maintenance not sure. If still want alternative then a putra manual is pretty good but risk of theft spoils it.
TSLucassss
post Nov 30 2012, 04:23 PM

fanboy.
2,878 posts

Thanks for the suggestion bro zenix and amad108. I'll look into the CRX.

e30, the reason is I'm considering all options. My mom used to drive a 1993 Ford Laser and that car is still around in the house as a spare, I've been looking at that car since 1995 almost everyday and the TX3 is just a 2 door version of it. After 17 years, that car just doesn't appeal to me anymore.

I might consider a Putra, do you know how much one of those go for? Preferably stock everything.
danielcmugen
post Nov 30 2012, 04:43 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Nov 29 2012, 10:06 AM)

1. Suzuki Swift GTI
2. Proton Satria GTI
3. Proton Putra
4. Hyundai Scoupe
5. Honda Civic EF/EG
5. Honda Prelude
But satria GTI got high risk of theft.
stormlcc
post Nov 30 2012, 06:46 PM

1,954 posts

QUOTE(e30 @ Nov 30 2012, 03:36 PM)
Dude, your dad is offering a 1.8 tx3 already, why even bother on the coupe? The ford is cheaper to buy. Maintenance not sure. If still want alternative then a putra manual is pretty good but risk of theft spoils it.
maintenance isn't a big problem, spare parts is. especially body parts, finding a signal light is harder than finding Atlantis.

seriously, there aren't much choices if u don't want P badge for 15k. old civics are an option, but u'll need to save up a few k more just to be safe
TSLucassss
post Nov 30 2012, 06:51 PM

fanboy.
2,878 posts

QUOTE(stormlcc @ Nov 30 2012, 06:46 PM)
maintenance isn't a big problem, spare parts is.  especially body parts, finding a signal light is harder than finding Atlantis.

seriously, there aren't much choices if u don't want P badge for 15k.  old civics are an option, but u'll need to save up a few k more just to be safe
Let's say I don't mind the P badge. Is it possible to get a Putra for <RM15k?
stormlcc
post Nov 30 2012, 10:43 PM

1,954 posts

QUOTE(Lucassss @ Nov 30 2012, 06:51 PM)
Let's say I don't mind the P badge. Is it possible to get a Putra for <RM15k?
yes u can. don't be lazy and go search mudah
TSLucassss
post Dec 1 2012, 12:28 PM

fanboy.
2,878 posts

QUOTE(stormlcc @ Nov 30 2012, 10:43 PM)
yes u can.  don't be lazy and go search mudah
Searching everyday bro. Some of them selling for >20k. cry.gif
So anyone has anything to say about the P. Putra?
scoupe
post Dec 1 2012, 02:24 PM

93 posts

hard find a decent crx for less then 15k.. You however can find other efs for that price smile.gif if you only want 2 door then it gets kinda hard.. There are lots of 4 doors that are fun cars like the starlets, ke70, ae90, civics, 4efte charades wink.gif
stormlcc
post Dec 1 2012, 05:58 PM

1,954 posts

QUOTE(Lucassss @ Dec 1 2012, 12:28 PM)
Searching everyday bro. Some of them selling for >20k.  cry.gif
So anyone has anything to say about the P. Putra?
my friend just bought one for around 17k, port n polish with some mods on the engine, high rev and very responsive. u can always nego the price u know, they just simply put more than 20k but not many ppl have that much cash on hand to buy a proton
TSLucassss
post Dec 1 2012, 09:12 PM

fanboy.
2,878 posts

QUOTE(stormlcc @ Dec 1 2012, 05:58 PM)
my friend just bought one for around 17k, port n polish with some mods on the engine, high rev and very responsive.  u can always nego the price u know, they just simply put more than 20k but not many ppl have that much cash on hand to buy a proton
Alright, thanks everyone for all the constructive replies. I think I know which is the car for me now.

Thanks again. rclxms.gif

0.0314sec    0.90    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 11:21 PM