English Clubs Liverpool FC- The Kop Talk 2012, Liverpool 1-3 Aston Villa- Gerrard

markblurberry
post Dec 13 2012, 10:37 PM

110 posts

As far as i can recalled the only player to emerge with any credibility from an England team is actually the goalkeeper...Shilton, Seaman, Chris woods...these are consistent keepers, even David James did reasonably well with the national team..altho he can be calamitous during club games....Contrarary to public perception, i tot Ben Foster is not bad,,,and left SUCM with integrity, for 1st team football...Having said this, there are a fair bit of crappy keepers as well who happend to be English - Green - i cringe everytime i remember how the shot squirm into the net during the Euro....kirkland live up to his billing - sick note.....Carson is soso, i tot he wasnt given proper opportunity, but he didnt go anywhere after he left the REds...AS for butland - i cant comment much cos i hardly see him play, but from the very little that i saw, he is steady - in the mould of Hart...but i beg the question - as no.1 for liverpool..seriously..its a pressure cooker of a position, as expectation is really high -would rather vote for Stekelenburg
markblurberry
post Dec 15 2012, 10:22 PM

110 posts

Personally, if Reina decides to leave, so be it...havent been happy with his performance for the passed 2 years...probably complacency breeds contempt..Muslera is a fine goalkeeper, but just feels that he is a bit lightweigh...but no doubt he is good..others i my radar - Stekelenburg, Diego lopez, Rene Adler, and probably butland....we dont desperately need to hang on to Reina...i think probably due to ego as well, as BR played B Jones when Reina was certified fit earlier...it probably BR wanted to cash in..i dunno. One thing for sure, we need striker and winger
markblurberry
post Dec 17 2012, 12:52 AM

110 posts

Kinda justify my point, Reina is on decendency,,,dint catch the whole match last night, as i am on my way out my door heading towards the gate for my yumcha session, knowing that we are 2 nil down...i already conclude we cant win - but hoping for at least a draw..not to be...

Reina was out of position badly for a shot that is almost 25 yards out...yes, its bouncing, but he cant cover the near post..not the standard of a top 10 keeper in the world....2nd goal, yes its point blank, but i have seen those being save before, if the keeper makes himself large, he stand a chance to save it....but with Reina, we dont have a fighting chance..alright i am being harsh...but fact if you are a top keeper for a top club and you wana win trophies,,, you ve got to step up and produce miraculouse saves...alright i am typing with frustration...basically for those who cried out loud for Lucas...the 2nd goal clearly illustrate our achilles heel...players not following thru to defend...these kinda situation, i would really be grateful to turn back time for a younger Carra...he will follow any threats into the box...none of our defenders are doing this...rated or not, agger and skrtle was absense for the goals conceded...at the very least, lucas should cover for the CD....especially Weimann's goal, but he stopped outside the penalty box..i mean WTH...its like giving up the chase....and i dunno if anyone notice this - all our crosses left or right - sucks big time...i never seen any team crosses as bad as Liverpool....and why the hell we crossing high when our striker is barely 5 foot 6..dumbfounded...

As for Sterling, i think my point of swapping with Walcott is begining to make economic and tactical sense...he's got no pace nor acceleration...would take walcott in a blink...based on his potential, i would say he is worth not more than 25K a week wage, perhaps lower..we need wingers who can take on fullbacks but unfortunately Liverpool is cursed without any pacey players for the last 2 decades....assaidi is more promising than Sterling - imo....

And where the hell is our captn last night?? sleeping ka....but I tot Allen did ok....open up their defense with a delightful chip..but unfortunately squandered the chance....at least i can see him trying to up the tempo of the match...something which i dont see SG doing with consistency...or with diminishing return....overall - SSDD...same shit different day...
markblurberry
post Dec 18 2012, 11:04 PM

110 posts

No question gerard need to be ease out...am not condemning just for sake of it...but when repeatedly i cant see much contribution, it really pains me to question someone who had contributed so much...yet so little lately...whats worse, when SG plays, we sacrifice a lot of positioning, not to mentioned more instructions from BR to play certain players in certain way to adjust to how SG being set-up to play...if anyone understand what i am trying to say...

Still i am all for SG to play attacking midfield, receive the ball and prepare to shoot type - not opening up channel nor finding the killer pass type...nuff said

0.0648sec    1.45    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 06:17 AM