Oct 3 2006, 07:38 PM
1,737 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(Mike3300 @ Oct 3 2006, 07:31 PM) Not true: See here: http://macprojournal.com/xp.htmlNot that I can vouch for it myself. The HomeRig does XP very well so there just is no need to run Windows on my MacPro... |
Oct 3 2006, 09:33 PM
Oct 6 2006, 06:28 AM
Update: Added a pair of Altec Lansing FX6021 2.1 speakers.
Very good sound with a thumping bass from the subwoofer. ![]() |
Oct 6 2006, 12:01 PM
QUOTE(Mike3300 @ Oct 6 2006, 10:46 AM) The 23" Apple Cinema Display is now "only" RM3999. I bought it nearly two years ago for quite a little bit more. Apple displays have been coming down in price. Which is a good thing BUT not as good as it should be. The brushed aluminum bezel, The ability to use the magnetic mount for my iSight camera the soft-touch buttons, the single cable coming off the back of the display; these are plus points that make the pain of purchase more bearable.Beside the ACD is the Dell 24' which goes for around RM2.5k (when I bought it went for RM2399) and the price fluctuates like the mood swings of a manic-depressive. The ACD is aesthetically the better display. Although the multiple input options and better price-point of the Dell makes it better value-for-money. |
Oct 11 2006, 07:08 AM
Oct 23 2006, 08:26 PM
I like your chair. Excuse the rude inquisitiveness but...
Where? and... How much? |
Oct 25 2006, 10:35 AM
QUOTE(hakim_radzuan @ Oct 24 2006, 07:24 PM) After Lokgotz spent all that effort tracking down ARj's post for us the least you could do is click the link...(thanks Lokgotz, owe you a teh-tarik AND a roti canai too!) ... in any case for those who are click-deficient; ARj got his at the furniture shop along the KL-Seremban highway. Now since that is a VERY long highway and there are MANY furniture shops along said highway; I guess inquiring minds will indeed have to repeat the question: Where? And How Much? |
Oct 25 2006, 12:03 PM
QUOTE(mohamadfazli @ Oct 25 2006, 10:58 AM) Thanks, but something more PRACTICAL was what I had in mind.You know, something that doesn't involve being in the United States... Or having Ananda Krishnan's bank balance... |
Oct 25 2006, 08:31 PM
Nov 6 2006, 03:54 PM
I was browsing around Flickr when I came across this page:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/mischievouson...57594328763412/ Looks like Mike's "Katie" goes by the name "mischievousone" on Flickr.... Hmmmmmm.... |
Nov 25 2006, 08:08 PM
Mounted the AltecLansing satellites on the ACD with some nice double sided velcro from Ace Hardware. It blocks the controls on the right side of the display but there's no need to utilize those controls anyways and using velcro, I can remove/reattach the speakers at will.
Certainly makes for a neater desk IMHO... ![]() ![]() This post has been edited by MacDaNife: Nov 25 2006, 08:12 PM |
Jan 15 2007, 10:02 PM
Quite unlikely to be his "girlfriend's" setup lah... The giveaway is always the American power-plug. This is another lame wannabe. The hilarious thing is the fact that the finger pointing is done by Mike...
Alanis' "Isn't It Ironic" does come to mind... I disagree that Rules and Regulations are necessary. Rules and Regs never were a substitute for honesty, and never will be. Integrity however is apparently hard to come by and the LACK OF integrity apparently is not something to be ashamed of. If I was caught faking on this forum I'd at least have the decency to fade quietly away (or take the trouble to hide behind another nick...). Here however, the fakers just keep on posting away without a care in the world... Sad, but true. |
Jan 16 2007, 10:41 AM
QUOTE(76radius @ Jan 15 2007, 11:48 PM) Who stole who's pic? D'ya know my gf in the 1st first place, if you didnt then F*** ur mouth up? Did I tell you that pic taken in Malaysia, nope wasn't? Based on what you guys presumed the pic was stolen. I didn't claim thats mine. I said thats my gf. Just b'coz one narrow-minded pointed out that pic was from Flickers everybody start stereotyping, so pathetic but true thats Malaysian style. Who's faking? I didn't. Hello guys pls next time check before flame ppl . For your info, she is American. I knew her from the net years ago. For those morons and small brain beings, gf means "kawan perempuan" doesn't necessarily mean special gf. What a stupid!!!. One thing - next time pls spelled out clearly that the tread is for Malaysian only. I'm really sorry if you regard this as "flaming" BUT the only thing MORE pathetic than claiming ownership (or ownership-by-proxy as the case may be) is referring to someone that you've only met on the internet as a "girlfriend". You might want to back away from that keyboard and try meeting some REAL people. It will certainly help with your attitude to develop some people skills. |
Mar 15 2007, 09:34 AM
PC graphic cards work with the Apple Cinema Display. With the 30" however, you'll need a dual-link DVI. If you are unsure of whether your card supports DL-DVI check the pins here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DVI
I agree with Wei. Ian should get a MacPro. It certainly cured ME of my PC modding ways.... :-) There just ain't no better case and ain't no better computer either. |
Mar 15 2007, 10:27 PM
Mar 16 2007, 08:01 AM
Quite right Ian. The Mac absolutely sucks when it comes to games.
Unfortunately there's been a drought of good games for the PC in recent months. BF2142, Company of Heroes, Oblivion etc. while good have not been able to sustain my interest. I've not bothered to even reinstall em in the Rig now that I'm running Vista. Most of my computing is now done on the MacPro. I hardly boot up the WorkRig anymore... |
Mar 18 2007, 06:42 PM
QUOTE(civic98 @ Mar 18 2007, 06:12 PM) One question, whoever can answer, why did Apple make the Wired Mighty Mouse's cable soooooo short????? My guess is so that the user will go back and buy the Wireless version too! Unless you use it with a notebook.... and as you correctly have noted, with bluetooth built into all the Apple notebooks, the wireless mighty mouse makes more sense. |
Jul 17 2007, 01:50 PM
QUOTE(wei @ Jul 17 2007, 01:00 PM) Thanks for the link. All this time I've been thinking it's because of the second optical drive I added.I feel so much better now that I realize that it's intentional. Wish I could get rid of the delay though... |
| Change to: | 0.4813sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:44 AM |