Hardware Your Mac Desktop / Apple Hardware

wizardboy
post Mar 14 2007, 09:17 PM

436 posts

what is mac doing running windows??
ianho,
if u need to dispose any of those lcd, i am more then happy to recycle it for u.. u know abt enviromental friendly? respect u man

btw, i agree with wei, u need a mac now!

p/s: how i u manage to powerup the 30" ? which graphic card were u using?
youngkies
post Mar 14 2007, 10:09 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(wizardboy @ Mar 14 2007, 09:17 PM)
ianho,
if u need to dispose any of those lcd, i am more then happy to recycle it for u.. u know abt enviromental friendly? respect u man

He is just using the Apple Display, not mac actually.

You can see the details of that system in Case Modding section>Worklog: Project King Kong iianm
MacDaNife
post Mar 15 2007, 09:34 AM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

PC graphic cards work with the Apple Cinema Display. With the 30" however, you'll need a dual-link DVI. If you are unsure of whether your card supports DL-DVI check the pins here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DVI

I agree with Wei. Ian should get a MacPro. It certainly cured ME of my PC modding ways.... :-) There just ain't no better case and ain't no better computer either.

wei
post Mar 15 2007, 09:43 AM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

Actually we have a fella with 30" ACD & 3.0GHz Mac Pro... but he's extremely low profile... hehehehe
hotdog
post Mar 15 2007, 11:48 AM

444 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Mar 15 2007, 09:43 AM)
Actually we have a fella with 30" ACD & 3.0GHz Mac Pro... but he's extremely low profile... hehehehe
Who ah? MacDaNife? Or YOU?! =P
wei
post Mar 15 2007, 11:50 AM

6,496 posts

Neither me or MacDaNife...
MacDaNife
post Mar 15 2007, 10:27 PM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Mar 15 2007, 09:43 AM)
Hey, I'm extremely "low profile" too..... cool2.gif
wei
post Mar 15 2007, 10:36 PM

6,496 posts

ok ok... i got it...
ianho
post Mar 16 2007, 12:16 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

ianho,

Very easy oni. I'm using a 8800GTX. I was thinking of going SLi in fact, just for the 30" ACD. After trying it with just a single 8800GTX it's actually powerful enuf to play all my games at max gfx options at 2560x1600 resolution. Only Oblivion n COD2 cant be played at max gfx options with single 8800GTX.

QUOTE(MacDaNife @ Mar 15 2007, 09:34 AM)
PC graphic cards work with the Apple Cinema Display. With the 30" however, you'll need a dual-link DVI. If you are unsure of whether your card supports DL-DVI check the pins here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DVI

I agree with Wei. Ian should get a MacPro. It certainly cured ME of my PC modding ways.... :-)  There just ain't no better case and ain't no better computer either.
Well, I'd love to get a Mac but my main reason for spending so much on the rig is games. The Mac just cant do it for games. So, the best I can do to satisfy my desire for Apple products is to buy the biggest baddest ACD. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

MacDaNife
post Mar 16 2007, 08:01 AM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

Quite right Ian. The Mac absolutely sucks when it comes to games.

Unfortunately there's been a drought of good games for the PC in recent months. BF2142, Company of Heroes, Oblivion etc. while good have not been able to sustain my interest. I've not bothered to even reinstall em in the Rig now that I'm running Vista.

Most of my computing is now done on the MacPro. I hardly boot up the WorkRig anymore...
Kelvw
post Mar 16 2007, 04:14 PM

1,591 posts

Finally given a macbook by my company yesterday smile.gif compliments my new console too hehe.

wizardboy
post Mar 16 2007, 04:24 PM

436 posts

QUOTE(youngkies @ Mar 14 2007, 10:09 PM)
He is just using the Apple Display, not mac actually.

You can see the details of that system in Case Modding section>Worklog: Project King Kong iianm
dude, i know he's using windows..
tat is y i asked y is he using mac hardware running windows.. it's some statement mac fans would ask to others who mix their hardware.
it's like .. u change windows interface to a mac --> ppl say.. apple wannbe ..
but if u change mac interface to windows --> ppl would say, hmm.gif

Kelvw,

bro, showoff apple hardware not ur ps3.. u such a showoff ! icon_rolleyes.gif rclxm9.gif
Kelvw
post Mar 16 2007, 04:35 PM

1,591 posts

lol..sorry lo bro. Just cant resist icon_rolleyes.gif
youngkies
post Mar 18 2007, 06:04 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(wizardboy @ Mar 16 2007, 04:24 PM)
dude, i know he's using windows..
tat is y i asked y is he using mac hardware running windows.. it's some statement mac fans would ask to others who mix their hardware.
it's like .. u change windows interface to a mac --> ppl say.. apple wannbe ..
but if u change mac interface to windows --> ppl would say,  hmm.gif

in fact you are wrong in 'what is mac doing running windows' and that is what i am correcting. it is not a mac, just an ACD (Apple Cinema Display) hook up to PC. biggrin.gif peace!

civic98
post Mar 18 2007, 06:12 PM

1,255 posts

A little update of my "gadgets"...

Macbook - Wired Mighty Mouse - Altec Lansing ATP3 - O2 XDAIIi - Stowaway Bluetooth Keyboard - iTech Blueband R - Surefire G2 Nitrolon

One question, whoever can answer, why did Apple make the Wired Mighty Mouse's cable soooooo short?????

My guess is so that the user will go back and buy the Wireless version too! nod.gif

This post has been edited by civic98: Mar 18 2007, 06:17 PM

MacDaNife
post Mar 18 2007, 06:42 PM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

QUOTE(civic98 @ Mar 18 2007, 06:12 PM)

One question, whoever can answer, why did Apple make the Wired Mighty Mouse's cable soooooo short?????

My guess is so that the user will go back and buy the Wireless version too!  nod.gif
Answer is: no matter which desktop mac you use (other than the Mini), there is a USB port nearby. On the Apple Cinema Display: it is at the back of the display as it is with the iMac. In addition to this there are USB ports on either side of the wired keyboard. So a long cable is quite unnecessary and would only get in the way.

Unless you use it with a notebook.... and as you correctly have noted, with bluetooth built into all the Apple notebooks, the wireless mighty mouse makes more sense.
civic98
post Mar 18 2007, 06:54 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(MacDaNife @ Mar 18 2007, 06:42 PM)
Answer is: no matter which desktop mac you use (other than the Mini), there is a USB port nearby. On the Apple Cinema Display: it is at the back of the display as it is with the iMac. In addition to this there are USB ports on either side of the wired keyboard. So a long cable is quite unnecessary and would only get in the way.

Unless you use it with a notebook.... and as you correctly have noted, with bluetooth built into all the Apple notebooks, the wireless mighty mouse makes more sense.
Well that is IF it is for a left hander. I'm not sure about MBPs and iMacs, but Macbooks come with USB on the left, which makes the cord a little short for comfort..
SUSMike3300
post Mar 18 2007, 10:06 PM

6,866 posts

civi98, how much is the Stoaway Bluetooth Keyboard?
civic98
post Mar 18 2007, 10:24 PM

1,255 posts

That keyboard ar.. Cost me RM400+ cant remember the exact price..
SUSMike3300
post Mar 18 2007, 10:27 PM

6,866 posts

That's expensive, for the XDA right... cool.

This post has been edited by Mike3300: Mar 18 2007, 10:29 PM

124 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0271sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 10:06 AM