> Pubic hair has a job to do, stop shaving and leave it alone

TSkrizalid88
post Nov 25 2012, 08:40 PM, updated 14y ago

981 posts

I must have missed the declaration of war on pubic hair.

It must have happened sometime in the last decade because the amount of time, energy, money and emotion both genders spend on abolishing every hair from their genitals is astronomical. The genital hair removal industry, including medical professionals who advertise their speciality services to those seeking the "clean and bare" look, is booming.

But why pick on the lowly pubic hair? A few sociological theories suggest it has to do with cultural trends spawned by bikinis and thongs, certain hairless actors and actresses or a desire to return to childhood or even a misguided attempt at hygiene.

It is a sadly misconceived war. Long ago, surgeons figured out that shaving a body part prior to surgery actually increased, rather than decreased, surgical site infections. No matter what expensive and complex weapons are used – razor blades, electric shavers, tweezers, waxing, depilatories, electrolysis – hair, like crab grass, always grows back and eventually wins. In the meantime, the skin suffers the effects of the scorched battlefield.

Pubic hair removal naturally irritates and inflames the hair follicles left behind, leaving microscopic open wounds. Rather than suffering a comparison to a bristle brush, frequent hair removal is necessary to stay smooth, causing regular irritation of the shaved or waxed area. When that irritation is combined with the warm moist environment of the genitals, it becomes a happy culture medium for some of the nastiest of bacterial pathogens, namely Group A Streptococcus, Staphylococcus aureus and its recently mutated cousin methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA). There is an increase in staph boils and abscesses, necessitating incisions to drain the infection, resulting in scarring that can be significant. It is not at all unusual to find pustules and other hair-follicle inflammation papules on shaved genitals.

Additionally, I've seen cellulitis (soft-tissue bacterial infection without abscess) of the scrotum, labia and penis as a result of spread of bacteria from shaving or from sexual contact with strep or staph bacteria from a partner's skin. Some clinicians are finding that freshly shaved pubic areas and genitals are also more vulnerable to herpes infections due to the microscopic wounds being exposed to viruses carried by mouth or genitals. It follows that there may be vulnerability to spread of other STIs as well.

Pubic hair does have a purpose, providing a cushion against friction that can cause skin abrasion and injury, protection from bacteria and other unwanted pathogens, and is the visible result of long-awaited adolescent hormones, certainly nothing to be ashamed of or embarrassed about.

It is time to declare an end to the war on pubic hair, and allow it to stay right where it belongs. We owe it to our patients to encourage them to let it be.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/20...ob-stop-shaving

inb4 most japanese dun like shave their public hair
kendrickkeng
post Nov 25 2012, 08:42 PM

Tambi.. tldr
SUSstrikeuk
post Nov 25 2012, 08:45 PM

439 posts

dun shave lor...just trim it nicely
SUSadvocado
post Nov 25 2012, 08:46 PM

2,948 posts

i heard it can get real itchy especially for females when they shave them.

But abit of trimming is always good.
SUSwilsonjay
post Nov 25 2012, 08:47 PM

6 Stars Social Justice Warrior
1,605 posts

it works as a silencer, it absorbs the impact, so u can piap piap without getting other peoples attention
EarendurFefalas
post Nov 25 2012, 08:48 PM

155 posts

summary
- shave cause irritation
- also can because home for bacteria to growth

anyway, ayam shave tak ada problem pon
hizperion
post Nov 25 2012, 08:50 PM

Average Bitch
913 posts

on related note

http://www.democraticunderground.com/discu...ess=105x7453820
stinger82
post Nov 25 2012, 08:53 PM

288 posts

a desire to return to childhood

wtf.....
omara86
post Nov 25 2012, 08:54 PM

0mg nicotine juice
707 posts

Mine shaved weekly.. Ok je..
IluvProton
post Nov 25 2012, 08:55 PM

143 posts

must pluck it baru syok
edifier78
post Nov 25 2012, 08:56 PM

56 posts

Who shave?

Just use machine & trim... NO irritation.
Fusion|007
post Nov 25 2012, 09:04 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(IluvProton @ Nov 25 2012, 08:55 PM)
must pluck it baru syok
so hardcore.jpg
thexs
post Nov 25 2012, 09:13 PM

202 posts

Used to removing edi so cannot stop.
toda_III
post Nov 25 2012, 09:17 PM

212 posts

QUOTE(thexs @ Nov 25 2012, 09:13 PM)
china_dude 02
post Nov 25 2012, 09:21 PM

633 posts

QUOTE(thexs @ Nov 25 2012, 09:13 PM)
brows.gif brows.gif
how u remove ? hmm.gif
DValentine
post Nov 25 2012, 09:22 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(IluvProton @ Nov 25 2012, 08:55 PM)
must pluck it baru syok
so how much u hair u pluck per hour
thexs
post Nov 25 2012, 09:22 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(china_dude 02 @ Nov 25 2012, 09:21 PM)
brows.gif  brows.gif
how u remove ?  hmm.gif
Waxing, sometimes electric trimmer.

Want to get epilator soon.
china_dude 02
post Nov 25 2012, 09:24 PM

633 posts

QUOTE(thexs @ Nov 25 2012, 09:22 PM)
Waxing, sometimes electric trimmer.

Want to get epilator soon.
fffuuuu
now i no
i usually use the stick thing
u lekat then couple minute u try to remove it
marfccy
post Nov 25 2012, 09:26 PM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

QUOTE(china_dude 02 @ Nov 25 2012, 09:24 PM)
fffuuuu
now i no
i usually use the stick thing
u lekat then couple minute u try to remove it
Dafuq use la shaver

Those stick an pull vavi sakit

thexs
post Nov 25 2012, 09:27 PM

202 posts

Eh pharmacy got sell those waxing pads.

You heat it up then place on the hair and rip it off after a while.

First few times pain but then later ok one.

2 Pages  1 2 >

0.0158sec    0.31    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 04:29 AM