Fund Investment Corner v3, Funds101

yenforyen
post Feb 1 2013, 03:36 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 1 2013, 01:08 AM)

.......Even in the most pessimistic of situation, u should have at least a bit of equity exposure. Let's say 80% bonds 20% equities - in a boom, bonds deliver the incomes, equities provide some capital gains; in a crash, u may lose up to 10% (assuming equities crash up to 50%, your 20% will go down 50%, thus the portfolio as a whole drops 10%), but your bonds will rise due to yield compression.

When you say the bonds will rise due to yield compression, I'm assuming you're referring to its yield? Since in a recession, short-term yields are usually higher than the long-term yields (inverted yield curve), which also translate to lower bond prices in the market.

And so it is safe to deduce that in a recession typically, short term bond prices are low but have high yields. Am I right?
yenforyen
post Feb 2 2013, 04:03 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 1 2013, 06:14 PM)
Yield more invertly to bond prices.

Bond price go up = yield go down
Bond price go down - yield go up

Sorry I've never really studied about the theory behind yield curve tongue.gif

Simply said, e.g. RM1mil 3% bond. If today price fall to RM900,000, the yield would be 3.33%. That's yield compression for you.

IF u buy today, u pay RM900,000 and u get RM30,000 income per year, thus 3.33% yield.
BUT if u bought it at RM1mil, u will get a fair value loss (i.e. paper loss) of RM100,000.

Typically, in a recession, investors flee to bonds.

supply < demand
Price go up = yield go down

In a boom, investors sell bonds and move to equities.

supply > demand
Price go down = yield go up
Thanks!
yenforyen
post Feb 8 2013, 12:29 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(yeapwei @ Feb 5 2013, 03:35 PM)
Chill bro I'm not trying to prove that I am correct.
Just wanna get some opinions from sifus around.
Thank you for the feedback.
Impressive modelling skill you have there.
The sentences in bold is really enlightening.

Edited,

Further question is out of topic.
I'll leave it here for now.
Here is an article on Holding Period Yield, Money-Weighted Rate of Return and Time-Weighted Rate of Return which contrast its usage, pros and cons for each and when to use them if you're still interested!

HPY, TWR and MWR calculations by Orion

This post has been edited by yenforyen: Feb 8 2013, 12:31 PM
yenforyen
post Mar 12 2013, 09:42 AM

84 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Mar 11 2013, 10:58 PM)
Dividend mari pulak vmad.gif

Watch the space in FSM thread, I'm typing it now
Do leave us the link so we can check back often! Thanks
yenforyen
post Apr 24 2013, 12:41 PM

84 posts

What else can investors look into to minimize the very painful upfront sales charge load for funds not listed in FSM? I'm assuming that we need to go back to the respective agents to get a dib of these funds sad.gif

E.g. Public Mutual Funds must be purchased from Public Mutual, CIMB Dali from CWA since they are not listed on FSM.

This post has been edited by yenforyen: Apr 24 2013, 12:42 PM

0.0604sec    1.07    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 01:33 AM