Fund Investment Corner v3, Funds101

superb999
post Jun 17 2015, 09:43 AM

375 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jun 17 2015, 08:36 AM)
Bro... but what I understand for EPF. It cannot be transfer. When you sell, monies go back to EPF. Then have to take out again to invest with you or some other FP.

Correct me if I am wrong...
I believe that is what he meant.
superb999
post Jul 1 2015, 09:04 AM

375 posts

QUOTE(Zaryl @ Jun 30 2015, 11:28 PM)
I'm interested in unit trust investment.
But i want Islamic Unit trust one.

So far Bank Islam UT had on my mind. But perhaps sifus here can recommend me other banks that offer Syariah compliant UT? The ones that give higher returns in the long run?

Then again I'm quite new in UT.
So example if I invest in RM1k, the longer I invest, say 5years, the more return I shall get right?
Or maybe not?

Pls enlighten me thanks!
Currently the most consistent performance for syariah compliant UT would be Kenanga Syariah Growth Fund (KSGF).

If u are looking for the long-term, then u should look at the consistency of a particular fund which in this case KSGF has it. This is because UT is a high volatility investment. This means today fund A could perform well while tomorrow fund B could perform better and fund A perform the worst.

Can PM me if u interested to know more
superb999
post Jul 7 2015, 10:06 AM

375 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Jul 6 2015, 04:23 PM)
i am actually as same as Zaryl, kinda new in unit trust
first, i go to thread Fundsupermart in here but unfortunately the discussion there isn't much helpful
they keep mentioned about % and then showing graph up and down, make beginner like me so confuse  rclxub.gif
but then i found out this thread, which is much more beneficial especially as what T231H and superb999 posted.

other than that, would u mind to explain what is RHB-OSK Management Fund in Fundsupermart?
is this like an imaginary bank which we can temporarily keep our money without any additional charges?

my target is to keep my saving for about 7-10 years minimum with target profit around 10%-12% per annum.
any recommendation which fund should i go?  notworthy.gif
I would say Fundsupermart is more to experienced investors due to one would have to manage their own portfolio n stay up-to-date on the market. However the biggest benefit here is the low service charge that investors have to incur on their investments compare to engaging with an agent. So for beginners i suggest u find an agent that could advise u accordingly.
superb999
post Aug 12 2015, 04:12 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(jcdrock @ Aug 12 2015, 12:36 PM)
Hi gurus,

I need an honest opinion. With the current situation that's besetting the country, would it be wise for me to sell back my unit trust and load them into EPF?
Definitely not wise to sell back now. Just wait for it to bounce back. U are definitely making loss right now if u sell it in this economic situation
superb999
post Aug 25 2015, 12:28 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(cybercrew @ Aug 25 2015, 09:33 AM)
Is its safe to keep existing investment or best to withdraw all ?
I would say keep the existing but dont withdraw anymore from your epf because if u were to sell now u might be selling at loss. Just wait for it to bounce back and recover the 3% service fee then only sell it off.
superb999
post Oct 5 2015, 09:20 AM

375 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Oct 2 2015, 10:34 PM)
this is my opinion. if u think its wrong, maybe u can consider other member's opinion smile.gif

1) unit trust is for long term investment. it take at least 1 - 2 years for payback.
2) i invest in unit trust because i dont want too much headache and i dont want to keep continuously monitor it. if people keep on chasing for daily basis, they should try Forex.
3) invest, invest and invest. that is why u have agent. they dont charge fee for nothing. u dont have crack your head. economy down or up, it always have pro and cont. the management will decide their master plan to compensate losses.
4) public mutual is strong and stable with consistent record. why still worry?
5) regardless of economy down or up, u still cannot touch your epf account 1. so, why bother? better to dump it into more convincing investment channel. for me to choose between EPF dividend & public mutual, i would go for public mutual.

all in all, u have agent to arrange it for u. let them crack their head.
unless u are doing it by yourself via FSM, its worth to worry about your portfolio.
I assume u invested with public mutual? How much profit u making average per annum?
superb999
post Nov 17 2015, 05:17 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(Pinnacle1295 @ Nov 17 2015, 03:06 PM)
Thank you for the reference link.

After reading thro' most of the postings, I still think it is more advisable to leave my $$$ in EPF even though I am eligible for 100% withdrawal. I was actually looking for alternative investment that can out-perform EPF dividend on short-term yearly basis, just like 12-months FD placement.

UT may be applicable to those who are currently STILL under employment where their investment could stretch long term 10 yrs to 20 yrs. But that is not my case as I am a pensioner already.

Thanks to all for your comments/suggestions!
U dont need to dump all 500k into UT funds sweat.gif
Perhaps 50k or maybe 100k first since u arent going to use it. There are a lot of funds that easily outperform epf's return. It doesnt take such a long term like 10 years. A top UT fund like KGF already give me return of 10% in only 8 months.
superb999
post Nov 18 2015, 10:01 AM

375 posts

QUOTE(Pinnacle1295 @ Nov 17 2015, 06:43 PM)
Really? 10% return in only 8 months is awesome! Care to provide me more details/web link?
BTW, what is KGF?

LOL guys dont scare people la tongue.gif

Im not sure whether u can see this link. Eastspring SmallCap also quite awesome.

http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/fundi...erateTable.svdo
FSM provides discounted service charge as compared to investing thru banks or UTCs (im not in any way related to FSM).

They are correct to say many people would hide their failure/loss. That is why u got to have ur financial planning n exit strategy. Nowadays its so easy to do ur own due diligence using sites like FSM etc.
So to go in with only rm10k first or any small amount should be fine. Afterwards it depends if u want to do DCA or just wait till the fund shows significant gain.
superb999
post Nov 18 2015, 01:09 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(Pinnacle1295 @ Nov 18 2015, 09:56 AM)
After reading most of the comments, I think I would prefer to leave my EFP fund as-it-is and rather stick with my forex trading journey. No doubt the risk may be higher but to generate a 1% return on weekly basis is achievable.
Wow forex notworthy.gif thumbup.gif
superb999
post Oct 7 2016, 10:10 AM

375 posts

QUOTE(terence8 @ Oct 4 2016, 11:46 PM)
what about kenanga growth fund? i have been approached by a friend and the  profit seems very good for this moment of time. Anyone have experience for this?
kenanga growth fund is the star fund from kenanga. however this table shows their other funds are doing better
superb999
post Oct 7 2016, 09:56 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Oct 7 2016, 02:10 PM)
but here is different story when the data was started approximate  1 year later from your post (Oct 2006~Oct 2016)
Ya when i first saw the table was quite surprised bcoz as i mentioned their flagship fund has always been Kenanga Growth Fund
superb999
post Mar 1 2017, 04:59 PM

375 posts

Different product caters for different needs. Just invest with knowledge. Cheers

0.0432sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:38 AM