Fund Investment Corner v3, Funds101

gark
post Dec 31 2012, 11:27 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(RO Player @ Dec 31 2012, 11:25 AM)
where u guys buy AMDyanamic?? maybe after drop...then i buy..  whistling.gif
I thought the bond fund already closed for purchase since mid of the year? tongue.gif
gark
post Dec 31 2012, 11:56 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(RO Player @ Dec 31 2012, 11:30 AM)
ok..bond? not UT?? which bank selling those?
Bond fund is a type of UT. It is already closed for subscription as quota is nearly full. Retail banks, (CIMB, RHB, AMB, Citi, HSBC.. etc) also sell them, online fund like FSM & POEMS also sell those funds.
gark
post Dec 31 2012, 12:11 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(RO Player @ Dec 31 2012, 12:01 PM)
thanks  notworthy.gif

now UT equity is shooting up the roof...bought it this nov...gain few hundred after minus sales charge...shall i sell or wait till 1 year.. hmm.gif
bought at 0.4945....now is 0.5130....yoyo depends on stock market performance.. wait 1 year...to get divided?? worth it?  hmm.gif
Depends if you want short term or long term gain. If you are unsure you might as well sell it as you do not have patience to wait.

Few hundred is inconsequential... more like kopi money. tongue.gif
gark
post Jan 11 2013, 10:03 AM

12,534 posts

Today added purchase of Templeton Frontier Markets Fund

To tap the performance of frontier markets which is currently rallying strongly with super cheap valuation...the PE ratio of the fund is only 8.3x rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Jan 11 2013, 10:06 AM
gark
post Jan 11 2013, 10:41 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jan 11 2013, 10:08 AM)
Arrgh... i'm still waiting for another 3 weeks to rebalance a bit via FSM's 0.5% lelong charges  doh.gif
BRICs and Frontier markets - please WAIT for me.....  cry.gif
You are targeting Templeton frontier market fund as well? Last year it got 26% gain... and it's still PE 8x only still got room to go. Vietnam & Africa share market shot through the roof early this year already...drool.gif The fund returned 4% YTD which is only 11 days. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Jan 11 2013, 10:41 AM
gark
post Jan 11 2013, 10:50 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jan 11 2013, 10:44 AM)
Hopefully that flu outbreak thinggy in US scares the markets down a bit hehe.
My bad - one man's meat, another's poison (the above not too good for those already in mah)  sweat.gif
Don't lar... I am invested. tongue.gif

Also looking for a good time to add Aberdeen Pacific Equity Fund.... but asia already rally very high already. hmm.gif
gark
post Jan 12 2013, 11:03 AM

12,534 posts

Don't you guys think REITs is a bit overvalued now to invest in. The yields are hardly exciting, and some of them are below bond fund yields...

Anyway the risk to REIT and bond fund is interest rate. If interest rates goes up (can hardly fall anymore isn't it?), then both of these asset class will kaboom! sweat.gif
gark
post Jan 31 2013, 07:49 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jan 30 2013, 09:00 PM)
2. Higher expenses for nothing
E.g. the Target Fund charges 1.5% Management Fee while the Feeder Fund charges 1.8%. U incur the additional 0.3% for having a Fund Manager who does practically nothing to add value to the unitholders.
Remember, feeder funds also charge double the trustee fee. One for the feeder fund and one for underlying fund. Also other cost such as printing, office expenses, audit fees is also charged double...

Usually feeder fund total management fees will be around 2.5%.

This post has been edited by gark: Jan 31 2013, 07:53 PM
gark
post Feb 22 2013, 04:11 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(darium @ Feb 22 2013, 03:57 PM)
I'm looking for some information about CIMB Wealth Advisor

I'm interested in the Unit Trust which starts with a minimum of RM1,000.00

I understand that you can top up the fund in denominations of RM200.

I would like to know if the RM200 is obligatory, meaning if I start with RM1,000
can I top up RM200 as and when I have the excess funds or do I have to top up RM200 every month?
Why look for CWA, you can do UT yourself online and save cost. Most 'wealth advisors' are glorified salesman.
gark
post Mar 8 2013, 10:23 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Mar 8 2013, 10:09 AM)
I have a very basic question but it keep me wondering. After we have built up our portfolio allocated based on various categories and regions, how do we maintain those percentage given the fluctuating nav? Do we top up as required to maintain percentage or switch from those fund making money to the lesser one to maintain percentage? Thanks for any insight on this.
You re balance once every 6 months or 1 year. You sell fund which exceed the % into fund which is below the %.

Example.

Start
Equity ex. MY - 70%
Bond ex MY - 30%

6 months later - equity outperform
Equity ex. MY - 80%
Bond ex MY - 20%

So you sell 10% of equity ex MY and put the proceeds to Bond ex. MY hence your fund is now balanced back to the start. OR you can top up the bond-ex MY with FRESH money and balanced back your fund to the same percentage.

This post has been edited by gark: Mar 8 2013, 10:25 AM
gark
post Mar 8 2013, 11:12 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Mar 8 2013, 11:08 AM)
So we top up monthly and re-balance half/yearly. Final question .. when top up, do we buy those below % or all the funds in portfolio? Thanks.
When you top up monthly, you follow your target %.

When you re balance, you correct back the unequal amount to the target %, either by moving the funds or add fresh funds.

Monthly top up is separate from re balancing.
gark
post Mar 14 2013, 02:33 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Mar 12 2013, 10:17 AM)
And that day at FSM "Lou Sang" dinner the CEO of AMB talked of something along this line, "...we decided to reward investors with a dividend..." I almost wanna start a debate with her laugh.gif
Ptui! Dividend is not rewarding investor, it more like make investor lose money by paying tax...better no need declare dividend save on tax.

If you want dividend sell some units every year.. some thing only tax free!:P

This post has been edited by gark: Mar 14 2013, 02:33 PM
gark
post May 14 2013, 05:23 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ May 14 2013, 05:17 PM)
As for the "technical" questions like charges, fees etc, why not ask FSM? Don't let their customer service ambik gaji buta mar tongue.gif
U are the FSM 'rep' in lowyat mah... whistling.gif
gark
post Jun 12 2013, 06:36 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(mikey5925 @ Jun 12 2013, 02:07 PM)
The OSK-UOB Capital Protected ONE Advantage Fund has maturity date (4 years duration) and I suppose the one that you invested doesn't have a maturity date.

For that matter, I would recommend Public Mutual. I had invested in Public Mutual Public Equity fund in 2005 and it gave a return of 80% when I redeem it at the beginning of this year.

There could be something not right with the UOB fund managers. Other funds are giving reasonable returns and not UOB. sigh !
It is actually not OSK-OUB fault on the low/negative return. It is the investor's for not understanding how a protected fund works, and why it is often disadvantage to the fund holders. Capital protection does not come free, it comes at the expense of the potential gains.

Simply a protected fund works like that.

5% goes to agent (according to your charges)
90% goes to FD @ 3% p.a. (of that 5% goes to manager as annual fees (1%x5 years))
5% goes to Fund manager to buy high risk instruments like derivatives, warrant, leveraged etc according to the 'theme' (which is meaningless)

IF the bet is successful.. lets say 100% profit within 5 years....
85% of your FD will turn to 100% capital at maturity
The 5% gain profit of another 5% (100% profit)
Total receive 110% of your money put in.

IF the bet is not successful, lets say they lost it all...
85% of your FD will turn to 100% capital at maturity
Total receive 100% of your money put in. (Assuming they return your sales charge)

Smell a scam? whistling.gif

You can do the same without the fund manager, put 85% of your money in FD @3%, take 15% of the money go goreng in stock market or genting. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Jun 12 2013, 06:40 PM
gark
post Jul 5 2013, 12:06 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jul 5 2013, 11:31 AM)
Hi Hafiez,

U mean your clients wanna withdraw their investments? unsure.gif
Looks like it... many ikan bilis will be shaken out during the first downturn last week. Now cat bouncing, next down will shake out more weak investors.

Until no more weak investors can be shaken.. then... rclxms.gif
gark
post Mar 12 2014, 03:22 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(infinityplayaz @ Mar 5 2014, 05:01 PM)
Benefits of investing in unit trust

1. Diversification
2. Minimal Risk
3. Liquidity
4. Affordability
5. Professional management
6. Another good option of saving.

pm me for more info bro.
1. yes
2. Big lie whistling.gif
3. yes
4. not really
5. depends
6. different from savings
gark
post Mar 12 2014, 08:22 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(ShinG3e @ Mar 12 2014, 08:03 PM)
i think no2 should be

diversified risk
Not necessary, buying the wrong fund you are exposed to even more risk.

This is a misconception that unit trust are safe. It is not, some china funds sold since 2008 still have not recover yet.
gark
post Mar 13 2014, 10:21 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(brien1193 @ Mar 13 2014, 12:05 AM)
1. Diversification usually means getting an average return  for less risk, as shares moving up would cancel out losses of shares moving down. Unit trust try to achieve a higher return by adjusting the diversified portfolio for roughly the same amount of systematic risk, so a good measure is to see whether they outperform a diversified benchmark like the klse or emas index.

2. If an equity fund is chosen, usually the risk of the fund is the same as the market, meaning roughly equal systematic risk. The idea is think whether the fund can get you higher returns for the same risk.

3. Liquidity is one of the main attractions of unit trust. No need to pay penalties for withdrawal like fixed deposits, or worry about whether your sell orders on the stock exchange will actually be taken up.

4. Comparing the service charges for any higher risk investment (gold, property, stocks, etc) for an average investment of rm1000 per transaction,  most have transaction charges of between 3-6%, so unit trusts are about equal on affordability to other investment.

5. Unit trust is an alternative to savings. It exposes funds to higher risk in order to get a higher return.

The above is assuming equity based funds.

An appropriate strategy would be to follow some golden rules;

1. If you have no idea what you're doing, do ringgit cost averaging

2. Do not invest so much that it cramps your lifestyle or you can't sleep at night

3. Aim for long term, over a period of more than 5 years, unit trusts are the best performing asset class.

If you have further questions I'd be happy to reply. smile.gif
For No 1 & 2 : There is no guarantee a equity fund will always outperform the index, in fact 80% of UT fails to outperform the index, and in fact does poorer. If you want to match the market's risk or Beta a better exposure will be ETF index fund. Index fund have no sales charges, and have very low management fees (0.05% vs 1.5% for UT).

3. Liquidity for UT is actually very weak, it takes a few days for the company to cash in and pay you back not much different time length than cashing in shares and FD. Of course you no need to pay penalty for partial withdrawal because UT you already pay the penalty upfront (in form of hefty 2%-6% sales charge).

4. This is very misleading. UT charges 2%-6% upfront in terms of sales charges, most stocks/ETF charges charges less than 0.5% total for buy/sell. In fact UT is very expensive once all the fees have been accounted for.

5. Another fallacy, NOT all UT can outperform the benchmark, and not all consistently. >80% of the UT fails to outperform the benchmark.

This post has been edited by gark: Mar 13 2014, 10:21 AM
gark
post Mar 13 2014, 08:02 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Mar 13 2014, 03:15 PM)
Yup and btw, there were a few kaka ones from Southern Bank that was absorbed / incorporated into CWA funds as well tongue.gif
For me any fund which does not outperform the benchmark continuously can be considered as kaka fund... tongue.gif
gark
post Mar 14 2014, 11:22 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(brien1193 @ Mar 14 2014, 12:53 AM)
Some of these bad funds are no longer listed? Where do they go?
Most of the bad funds are closed (money return to investor), merged and some even changed name.. rolleyes.gif

Whatever they need to wipe out the bad name. laugh.gif

0.0631sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 11:30 AM