QUOTE(hafiez @ Jun 4 2013, 09:09 AM)
Gila lah international korang ni.

Saya main dana dalam rumah je. heheh...
Kitorang suka "makan" kat luar brows.gif laugh.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Jun 12 2013, 04:39 PM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

mikey, u have no grounds for complaints, really.

Capital protected fund =/= capital GUARANTEED fund

It could even lose your capital, protection=/=guarantee

Wise up, stay away from capital protected/guaranteed funds in the future. Lazy investor="lazy"/zero returns wink.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Jun 12 2013, 05:06 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(mikey5925 @ Jun 12 2013, 05:01 PM)
From the sales talk, the understanding is that in  an adverse situation, I will still get back my capital. What is difference bewteen proctected & guaranteed?

Sure, I will be much wiser from this experience. The thing is that the bank recruited sales persons to mislead the customers, telling them that this fund's returns will be better than normal FD rates etc, etc. As usual, they are just sales talk and sounds very convincing, what more for the auntie & uncle not to fall into the trap.
When it's capital GUARANTEED, they guarantee that u won't lose your capital.
When it's capital PROTECTED, they manage the fund in such way that they will STRIVE to protect your capital, but you could still lose.

There is a difference.

Normally what they do is like this, they take e.g. 90% of your money and buy bonds, so that at maturity, the 90% will become 100%. Then they take the other 10% and trade/buy options/warrants. The thing about options/warrants is that, u either win (and usually win big), or u lose everything.
SUSPink Spider
post Jun 12 2013, 05:20 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(mikey5925 @ Jun 12 2013, 05:19 PM)
I am sure most layman does not know the difference. It is all up to the sales persons to explain and normally they don't bother to highlight the weakness for fear of not closing the deal.
caveat emptor

buyer should also do his/her own homework, failing which they only got themselves to (partially) blame smile.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Jun 13 2013, 09:21 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Jun 13 2013, 07:29 AM)
Yes, every time require me to check up, as my advice to her to take the WithDraw the insurance becoz soon or later this system will absolute.

I work with Insurance company as IT, coincident the same company. So i know ppl inside still hv knowldge of the legacy system.

Sometime insurance didnt spend money to migrate old policy at old system to a new system platform becoz COST,Lack knowldge, and Turnaround employee madeup the reason no one know exist or supporting the old policy.

You cant compare Bank System vs Insurance System which more complex storing , process ,exuction of financial and accountability of each policy liability.

How insurance made money is different way bank making money by taking customer deposit and giving loan.
WTF this scares me sweat.gif

SUSPink Spider
post Jul 1 2013, 04:52 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Jul 1 2013, 04:25 PM)
Hi everyone,

Can I ask a quick question about this AmCommodities Equity fund?
I'm looking at this link: http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/fundi...number=MYAMCEQT and if I want to see the most recent performance, I'll need to look at the 1 week % column, is that correct? In this case, is it -5.2%?

Thanks ahead.
Correct.
SUSPink Spider
post Jul 1 2013, 05:05 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Jul 1 2013, 05:02 PM)
Thank you! Seems like 1 week performance is really bad =( Is it considered normal to drop so much, or should I not be bothered too much with a 1-week difference and instead wait till it gets to 1-month and beyond? Sorry for the newbie questions.
Investing in AmCommodities is not like buying commodities.

It is investing in companies involved in the commodities industries.

Just as, gold price go up does not necessarily mean that gold companies' valuation will go up and/or they will be more profitable. This happened in the past few years, cos price of production of gold go up also. Gold companies' profit margins got under pressure.

Hope that this more or less enlightened u wink.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Jul 5 2013, 11:31 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(hafiez @ Jul 5 2013, 11:24 AM)
Hancur Asset Under Management aku. laugh.gif

Sell sell sell

But what tha heck, client first. wink.gif
Hi Hafiez,

U mean your clients wanna withdraw their investments? unsure.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Jul 5 2013, 01:16 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Jul 5 2013, 12:06 PM)
Looks like it... many ikan bilis will be shaken out during the first downturn last week. Now cat bouncing, next down will shake out more weak investors.

Until no more weak investors can be shaken.. then...  rclxms.gif
Now tengah "toing toing toing" icon_idea.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Jul 21 2013, 12:48 AM

16,872 posts

pink,

bonds DO go bust

Behaviour of bonds are typically like this...
+1, +2, 0, +1, +2

But when they DO go down, they hit hard, like,
SUSPink Spider
post Jul 21 2013, 01:02 AM

16,872 posts

Bonds have its place in financial planning/investing, but if u invest in bonds expecting near-zero risk of loss, u better look elsewhere.
SUSPink Spider
post Jul 29 2013, 05:53 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(ngaisteve1 @ Jul 29 2013, 05:32 PM)
we know invest into unit trust fund is for long term (years), but when do you cash out or u all continue to hold until 10-20 years as retirement fund?
I plan to only cashing out upon retirement.

SUSPink Spider
post Jul 30 2013, 09:40 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Jul 30 2013, 04:37 AM)
Oh, not 100%. I'm still exploring other options. Currently, most of my funds are in FD and some in funds. What's the reason for you to still want to have bonds eventhough you think the return is low? Is it for a good mix of portfolios?
It's to hedge your portfolio risk, usually when equities fall, bonds will rise. Of course, the correlation is not 100%...

QUOTE(ngaisteve1 @ Jul 30 2013, 09:35 AM)
How long only u switch? because now switching also quite costly and quite difficult to predict the market also
Don't predict, switch to rebalance based on your risk appetite/asset allocation.
SUSPink Spider
post Aug 5 2013, 10:40 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(XtraLeoGecko @ Aug 5 2013, 10:00 PM)
How about those dynamic mixed asset funds whereby the funds managers will have the allocate the investment according to the most optimal ratios according to their analysis / predictions? Would these funds resolve unit trust holders like us -- not to headache on when / where / how much to switch?
Fund managers may not always act in the best interest of long-term investors.

To protect their "reputation" and control risk, they sometimes switch out too soon/much, therefore missing out on a strong/extended rally. Sometimes, keeping station i.e. doing nothing is the best action in a downturn. nod.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Aug 5 2013, 10:41 PM
SUSPink Spider
post Aug 6 2013, 11:54 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(stanny @ Aug 6 2013, 11:18 AM)
Anybody know what is something like this? Retail bonds. http://www.cimbbank.com.my/index.php?ch=cb...6&tpt=cimb_bank
Coupon of 6.7%...looks attractive hmm.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Aug 6 2013, 01:27 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Aug 6 2013, 12:01 PM)
yes, but can see the T&C of the return.
i think i read one (maybe GE smart gain...i forgot) the T&C got mention, if and when they cannot provide the returns... they will give you as FD rate.
Where got mention T&C:
http://www.cimbbank.com.my/index.php?ch=cb...6&tpt=cimb_bank
SUSPink Spider
post Sep 8 2013, 12:43 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(birdman13200 @ Sep 8 2013, 12:37 PM)
Yes, FSM is a good platform with lower sales charge, 2% compare 5.5% to 6%. But the downside is, it is totally DIY, u need to know what u r doing. Since u r still young, u can start with small amount and learn along the way, experience is not something can be teach.

Regarding the asia and global, u can choose among the recommended fund in FSM, just make sure u read thru each prospectus and understand what ur fund going to invest.
Bro, not totally DIY lar, FSM's Customer Service is very helpful (available online, u get almost immediate response during office hours) and their Client Investment Specialists (contactable by phone and e-mail) are as good as, if not better than any mutual fund agents out there. wink.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Sep 9 2013, 12:34 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(starz92 @ Sep 8 2013, 09:38 PM)
I am new here. Just starting to learn about unit trust.
I've read the basic from the first page of this thread.
What I don't understand is the charges for the trust.
1) Sales charges. What is this charges about?
2) Redemption fees. Will this be stated in advance in the prospectus?
3) Management fees. This will be incorporated in the fund price? Basically the lower the management fee means a more efficient in the management of expenses right?
No. 1 and 2, felix already explained to u.

As for No. 3, try Item No. 4 in Post #1 in this thread:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2910659

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Sep 9 2013, 12:35 AM
SUSPink Spider
post Sep 13 2013, 07:26 AM

16,872 posts

Dividend AGAIN doh.gif vmad.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Oct 30 2013, 03:27 PM

16,872 posts