8,259 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ May 10 2014, 10:27 AM)
u can borrow $$ from bank to invest
Borrow bank need sonetime to be approved
Kaka23
post Jun 9 2014, 10:47 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jun 9 2014, 01:42 PM)
Woohooo! Let the slaughter.. erm.. i mean competition begin!
Hajime! Fight!
---
http://www.reuters.com/article/2014/06/09/...N0OQ0KD20140609

UPDATE 1-Malaysia's PM eases rules on foreign fund managers, corporate bonds
12:24am EDT
* Foreign fund managers get broad access to retail investors
* Requirement for corporate-bond ratings to end in 2017
* Foreign rating agencies to be allowed to operate
* Najib says liberalization steps in line with development goals (Recasts, adds details, fund manager quote)
By Yantoultra Ngui and Stuart Grudgings

KUALA LUMPUR, June 9 (Reuters) - Malaysia's Prime Minister Najib Razak announced steps to liberalize the country's financial sector on Monday, removing barriers faced by foreign-owned fund managers and easing ratings requirements for the corporate bond market.
Najib, speaking at an investment conference in Kuala Lumpur, said the moves were aimed at boosting investment and encouraging a "stable and inclusive" financial system as the country aims to reach developed nation status by 2020.
He said foreign firms will be allowed, effective immediately, to fully own unit-trust management companies in Malaysia - a move market players said would give foreign fund managers much broader access to the country's retail investors.
"There will be no barrier to entry for new foreign unit-trust management companies coming into Malaysia," Najib said....
..blah blah <see link for more info>

'A MASSIVE STEP'
The removal of restrictions on foreign-owned fund managers means they will now be able to market funds to retail investors in the Southeast Asian nation of 29 million people, said Gerald Ambrose, a fund manager at Aberdeen Asset Management in Kuala Lumpur.
Until now, they have only been able to sell wholesale funds to Malaysians with a net worth of more than 3 million ringgit ($935,000)
"Foreign fund managers can manage conventional unit trusts now, which is a massive step. We've been pushing for that for a long time," Ambrose said.
Najib said the new steps were integral to Malaysia's goal of developing its economy to achieve developed-world status by 2020, with a projected income per head of $15,000.
"I want to see Malaysia emerge not just with a high-income economy, but a high-quality economy," he said.
"That means building a stable and inclusive financial system, encouraging innovation, and tackling corruption. To that end, we have introduced policies and reforms to ensure our growth is not just strong, but sustainable." (Editing by Richard Borsuk)
I want to invest in Aberdeen specific country fund.. Come come
Kaka23
post Jun 24 2014, 12:57 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(RO Player @ Jun 23 2014, 11:52 PM)
Indonesia...drop almost -0.250...

India..not too sure..

My focus equity...climbing up..
Best month so far (not yet 1 month)..RM1.1k/month.  flex.gif

Next month or so...aiming at earning RM 2k/month.
Bro.. How u come up with the 2k/month figure?
Kaka23
post Jun 24 2014, 01:49 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(RO Player @ Jun 24 2014, 11:53 AM)
with just investment @ RM70 to 80k...RM2k..quite achievable...hopefully can last 1 year... notworthy.gif
With that amount.. you are talking about 30% return pa. If you diversified too much, it will be hard to acheive. Unless you focus on 1 - 2 equity fund(s).
Kaka23
post Jun 24 2014, 08:06 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Jun 24 2014, 07:05 PM)
For call them?
Kaka23
post Jul 10 2014, 11:21 AM

8,259 posts

Buy info funds!!! tongue.gif
Kaka23
post Jul 10 2014, 03:00 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Jul 10 2014, 01:26 PM)
What do you mean by "info funds" ? smile.gif
opps... Indo = Indonesia
Kaka23
post Jul 19 2014, 01:31 PM

8,259 posts

I believe KLCI will earn 2000 by end year!!!
Kaka23
post Jul 19 2014, 05:58 PM

8,259 posts

That is why rebalancing is crucial
Kaka23
post Aug 2 2014, 04:05 PM

8,259 posts

Overall portfolio till yesterday still up by RM30.00, expect will drop badly next week when Nav is reflected.
Kaka23
post Aug 6 2014, 09:33 AM

8,259 posts

If if if... I also become millionaire la
Kaka23
post Aug 6 2014, 10:55 AM

8,259 posts

So please dont say IF when you are using it as past tense that we already know the outcome of it, Mr Distributions
Kaka23
post Oct 14 2014, 08:30 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(mrg220t @ Oct 13 2014, 02:45 PM)
Cooling period is the 15 days period to cancel right?
This? Does this means that the admin charge and management charge will be refunded too?
Faster reconsider
Kaka23
post Oct 16 2014, 12:55 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(bambookenzo @ Oct 16 2014, 01:04 AM)
the hwang dbs strong famous  fund aiman/select opp fund/ income balance seems dropping...will it bounced back?

Not only HwangIM, all other funds also dropping..
Kaka23
post Oct 16 2014, 02:15 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Oct 16 2014, 01:26 PM)
looks like the drop is not over yet  sweat.gif
Already drop more. Just drop some more lah. Then can top up

Kaka23
post Oct 18 2014, 08:40 AM

8,259 posts

Can trust Friday's rebound?

Hmm.. Ebola, Isis, Europe not doing good, Japan as well.. Maybe cannot trust.
Kaka23
post Oct 29 2014, 01:50 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Oct 29 2014, 02:30 PM)
Thought it'd be of interest here too + this thread/topic is pinned, easier for newbies to find.
Mods - my apologies if replicating too many times. Feel free to delete/nuke.  sweat.gif

--posted on Personal Financial Management V3, It's all about managing your $$$--

Just created this on Google Sheets for my team member to "see" and play-with, for visualizing & planning her future cash flow.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/13lk...dit?usp=sharing

Thus - thought it'd be useful to others too.
Please note:
1. Please make a copy to your own Google sheets in order to edit at your own private pleasure.
U won't be able to edit the version i shared.
To make a copy: File >> Make a copy

2. EPF variables - specifically tailored to Malaysia
If U do not have any such items (it's like 401K, CPF, etc), just zero-rise the variable in yellow

3. Goals 2 to 7:
If U do not have them, zero-rise them.

4. Does NOT calculate taxes on investment or trading returns.
Please factor taxes in to get the net returns pa % expected.

5. Focus on Column D, Row 14 onwards - this is the cash-related investments that will be funding your retirement and goals.
If the row's cell is NOT red, U should be ok.
Red = no more investments to fund anything from that year/row onwards

6. Anything else?
drop me a line here and i'll see if i can incorporate the idea OR clarify usage of existing.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/13lk...dit?usp=sharing
Can I convert this google sheet to xlsx? Dont really use google sheet and wants to play around offline..
Kaka23
post Dec 17 2014, 07:18 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Dec 17 2014, 12:50 AM)
MY postfolio further drop to -11.70% .... scary man....

Not sure if it is the right time to switch to bond or balanced fund now
Yesterday my portfolio drop most in terms of value...
Kaka23
post Jan 7 2015, 07:01 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Jan 5 2015, 08:13 PM)
I already PMed him for more info....hopefully can get "valid" response
Well.. Did he reply you?

14 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0287sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 09:18 AM