Fund Investment Corner v3, Funds101

ohcipala
post Jul 8 2015, 10:29 PM

1,338 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Jul 1 2015, 09:11 AM)
hmm.gif
the price of UT is in NAV per unit (Net asset value)
this NAV price changes almost daily (lower risk funds changes less than higher risk funds)

Example :
•NAV price : RM0.50
•Sales charge : 2%
•Investment Amount : RM10,000

Buy at 2% sales charge
If you invest RM10,000 into the fund at a sales charge of 2%, you will receive 19,607.842 units.

Investment amount = RM 10,000/1.02
= RM 9803.921

Units = Net Investment Amount /NAV price
= RM 9803.921 / RM0.50
= 19,607.842 units

YOu did not sell you did not make money,...
if the economy is good during the first 1 and 2 years, the NAV increased to RM 0.80
if you sell you will get back abt 19,607.842 X RM 0.80 = RM 15 686.27
therefore if in year 3 economy is not so good, the NAV dropped to RM 0.40 NAV
if you sell you will get back abt 19,607.842 x RM 0.40 = RM 7843.13

hope this is clear to you....
How do you put income distribution into the picture?
T231H
post Jul 8 2015, 10:34 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(ohcipala @ Jul 8 2015, 10:29 PM)
How do you put income distribution into the picture?
hmm.gif in what picture?
distribution you get more units but the price will drop after that.
so basically there is no change in the amount of value one had before and after distribution.

This post has been edited by T231H: Jul 8 2015, 10:35 PM
T231H
post Jul 9 2015, 07:13 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Kerry1136 @ Jul 7 2015, 09:50 AM)
To all expert investors...if i beginner like myself which type of funds should i be looking at?
One man's meat maybe another man's poison....
Unknown to your financial situation, risk appetite, age and may more ....I would just suggest you read and understand more about yourself first....
most of these basic info can be found in the web thru google...example.
https://www.kenangainvestors.com.my/KIB/KIB...vestingFAQ.aspx
http://www.fundsupermart.com.hk/hk/main/school/school.svdo
https://www.fimm.com.my/investor/investors-...ends-and-goals/

and also this....(more in google too)
General Risks of Investing in Unit Trust Funds
https://www.cimb-principal.com.my/Investor_...rust_Funds.aspx
http://www.ambmutual.com.my/risk.htm

This post has been edited by T231H: Jul 9 2015, 07:16 AM
SUSPink Spider
post Jul 9 2015, 11:44 AM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Jul 9 2015, 07:13 AM)
Unknown to your financial situation, risk appetite, age and may more ....I would just suggest you read and understand more about yourself first....

Why u talk like Unker Looi...dupe? shakehead.gif
Kerry1136
post Jul 9 2015, 03:36 PM

One Decade Old
1,925 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Jul 9 2015, 07:13 AM)

Thanks buddy.
nexona88
post Jul 9 2015, 06:37 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,446 posts

Manulife launches syariah-compliant Flexi Fund
http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Busines...Fund/?style=biz
suadrif
post Jul 11 2015, 11:18 AM

<Safe Online Trader>
2,650 posts

guys
in fundsupermart, anyone can explain this?
im not sure my understanding is correct or not

"Unlike the forward pricing basis applied to most unit trusts, the Cash Management Fund will be priced on the historical pricing basis. This means that the investors who buy into the Cash Management Fund will be able to view the fund’s actual unit price for the preceding trading day, and buy into the fund at that price. Forward pricing, on the other hand, only allows investors to view the price at which they have bought in their units on a particular trading day, one or two trading days after the date of transaction."

anyone can give example for this?
T231H
post Jul 11 2015, 11:26 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Jul 11 2015, 11:18 AM)
guys
in fundsupermart, anyone can explain this?
im not sure my understanding is correct or not

"Unlike the forward pricing basis applied to most unit trusts, the Cash Management Fund will be priced on the historical pricing basis. This means that the investors who buy into the Cash Management Fund will be able to view the fund’s actual unit price for the preceding trading day, and buy into the fund at that price. Forward pricing, on the other hand, only allows investors to view the price at which they have bought in their units on a particular trading day, one or two trading days after the date of transaction."

anyone can give example for this?
try this?
What is "Forward Pricing"?
https://www.fundsupermart.co.in/main/resear...19?articleNo=89

Q: What kind of pricing method does the Cash Management Fund use?
A: The fund will be priced using Historic Pricing method, instead of Forward Pricing method used by most of the unit trusts.
Investors who transact a buy or sell transaction on the Cash Management Fund on a Monday or the first business day after the public holiday(s), will have the price of their units determined on the calendar day* immediately before the date of transaction.
* A calendar day includes Saturdays, Sundays and designated public holidays.

Q: Why is Historic Pricing method used for the Cash Management Fund?
A: By using the Historical Pricing method, there will be NO lag time when you place a unit trust buy order using Cash Management Fund or switch your Cash Management Fund into another unit trust. This would mean that the unit trust you wish to buy or switch-buy will be transacted on the same day if the buy or switch order is placed before 3pm on any business day.

oneeleven
post Jul 13 2015, 12:08 AM

1,515 posts

[1] Cash Mgmt Fund - historical pricing valuation

Are there any other funds ANYwhere that use this? Does it go against some regulation, because it seems all other funds even international, don't operate this way.

[2] What is your opinion of the "young investors funds" that accept a small monthly amount over many years to buy into a balanced fund?
T231H
post Jul 13 2015, 12:35 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(oneeleven @ Jul 13 2015, 12:08 AM)

Are there any other funds ANYwhere that use this? Does it go against some regulation, because it seems all other funds even international, don't operate this way.
found this Phillips Money market funds (Singapore) prospectus
"If the redemption form is received and accepted by the Manager by 3.30p.m. Singapore time on a Dealing Day, your realization price is based on historical pricing basis valued at the close of business on the calendar day immediately preceding the date of the redemption of the Units"

http://internetfileserver.phillip.com.sg/P...4010_150331.pdf

[2] What is your opinion of the "young investors funds" that accept a small monthly amount over many years to buy into a balanced fund?
from where did you get the info?
This post has been edited by T231H: Jul 13 2015, 12:36 AM
SUSPink Spider
post Jul 15 2015, 09:47 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(oneeleven @ Jul 13 2015, 12:08 AM)

Prospectus already mentioned that it works this way

When u invest in a fund u are expected to read the prospectus

if u are not agreeable, don't invest

u get what u signed up for wink.gif

Some money market funds are fixed at NAV 1.0000, while it distributes income every month/quarterly

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Jul 15 2015, 09:48 AM
oneeleven
post Jul 15 2015, 07:11 PM

1,515 posts

Mmm, buy and sell at yesterday's prices. Interesting implications for market timers.
SUSPink Spider
post Jul 16 2015, 04:22 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(oneeleven @ Jul 15 2015, 07:11 PM)
Mmm, buy and sell at yesterday's prices. Interesting implications for market timers.
Money market fund...u time apa??? doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
wongmunkeong
post Jul 16 2015, 04:28 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jul 16 2015, 04:22 PM)
Money market fund...u time apa??? doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
dont lar, there are ppl also "timing" / hunting for even 0.1%pa variance for FD leh
to each his own (especially "mutual fund traders" as opposed to investors/asset allocators tongue.gif )
notworthy.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Jul 16 2015, 04:32 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jul 16 2015, 04:28 PM)
dont lar, there are ppl also "timing" / hunting for even 0.1%pa variance for FD leh
to each his own (especially "mutual fund traders" as opposed to investors/asset allocators tongue.gif )
notworthy.gif
Oh ya hor blush.gif

I NEVER sell my money market fund on a Thursday or Friday...becos I'll lose interest income over the weekend, yet only receive my $$$ next week.

I always sell on Monday to Wednesday tongue.gif
oneeleven
post Jul 16 2015, 04:45 PM

1,515 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jul 16 2015, 04:32 PM)
Oh ya hor blush.gif
I always sell on Monday to Wednesday tongue.gif
Do you buy on ThFr dips?
SUSPink Spider
post Jul 16 2015, 04:53 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(oneeleven @ Jul 16 2015, 04:45 PM)
Do you buy on ThFr dips?
doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

money market fund...mana ada dip?

Know what is MMF...

typical MMF can only "invest" in bank deposits, FDs, money market placements, REPOs

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Jul 16 2015, 04:54 PM
oneeleven
post Jul 16 2015, 06:38 PM

1,515 posts

Sincerest deep apologies, din no disz MMF thread.
wil-i-am
post Jul 16 2015, 09:37 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(oneeleven @ Jul 16 2015, 06:38 PM)
Sincerest deep apologies, din no disz MMF thread.
Price of MMF either unchanged or up 0.0001 (min) on daily basis
wil-i-am
post Jul 22 2015, 12:13 PM

10,001 posts

Public Mutual's latest fund to capitalise on Bursa mid, small-cap stocks
http://www.theedgemarkets.com/my/article/p...mall-cap-stocks

Any more leg to go?

169 Pages « < 96 97 98 99 100 > » Top

0.0311sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled