Need advice on tires, 4x4 truck

TSdino89
post Nov 23 2012, 08:53 PM, updated 14y ago

Dino89 Trading
4,966 posts

Hi sifus!

Im currently looking to change my tires (a few times my truck skid when quick braking on wet roads). Currently looking for AT tires for my 4x4, but as i have no clue on brands or performances i wanna ask,

1. What brand should i go for?
2. How much would the tires cost?
3. Any recommended good areas around subang/pj area to get it done?

Im driving a toyota hilux btw.

Thx sifus!

This post has been edited by dino89: Nov 23 2012, 09:03 PM
TSdino89
post Nov 24 2012, 05:48 PM

Dino89 Trading
4,966 posts

I asked my colleague about this issue, he told me its not the tires, but its the ABS issue. Could this be true?
TSdino89
post Nov 25 2012, 09:56 AM

Dino89 Trading
4,966 posts

QUOTE(yngwie @ Nov 25 2012, 07:12 AM)
well, being fr with lighter rear end, dc trucks are tail happy in wet and corners. coupled with wrong tires choice, here you go skidding in wet or running out of line in corners.
abs will not fully lock under sudden braking. hence, you tires should still spinning and not slipping prior to complete stop. if you experience skidding or slipping, tires may contribute to it. this translate to ; brake are locked but tires slipping(a sign of bad grip and traction).
then again, from my experience, although dl cabs are heavy, those fat tires are prone to aquaplaning on downpour.

btw, those skidding feel + torque steer on my chipped d-max are fun on dry corners. understand you car better and learn to utilize 'em.
drive safely.
Thx for the advice bro 😊

0.0163sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 07:42 AM