G-Shock Collectors V2, Discussion, info/news updates of GShock

lokgotz
post Feb 4 2013, 03:10 PM

hehehe
2,657 posts

Here it is! All my watches are here. smile.gif

Will upload more pictures later. Kinda busy now.

This post has been edited by lokgotz: Feb 4 2013, 03:12 PM
lokgotz
post Feb 5 2013, 01:38 AM

hehehe
2,657 posts

Alright. Pictures! I'll go with the more interesting one first, since the others are quite normal.

This is the very rare Casio G-Shock Seaman (DW-9952GWC-8JR). Yes, Seaman (stop laughing now smile.gif). Basically, it's exactly the same as the G-Shock Frogman DW-9900 but for some reason, Casio rename the Frogman to the Seaman in some markets. This one I have is one of the many W.C.C.S. edition (there were plenty of W.C.C.S. edition for the DW-9900 Frogman).

Besides the name change, the other change is the product number. While the usual DW-9900 Frogmans have the product number of DW-9900 (usual ones are 9900 while special editions, like the W.C.C.S. are 9901,9902 and so forth), Seamans have the product number of DW-9950 (same concept applies here. Special editions are 9951, 9952 an so on).

I do not know how many Seaman models are out there but I've seen at least 4. Most of them are W.C.C.S. editions, like most DW-9900 Frogmans you see in the market these days. These don't usually pop up for sale that often. smile.gif

Pictured here with the Seaman is my only DW-9900 Frogman, the Men In White Grey Frogman (DW-9900LG-8JR).
lokgotz
post Feb 5 2013, 04:20 PM

hehehe
2,657 posts

QUOTE(nles @ Feb 5 2013, 03:40 PM)
Like that riseman
That's the United States Parachute Association (USPA) edition (DW-9100PJ-7). It was BNIB. Not worn before. Haven't seen anyone in this pristine condition. smile.gif Comes with its original resealable blister pack packaging too. smile.gif

QUOTE(WUUsII @ Feb 5 2013, 03:53 PM)
its pretty old seaman.. but its value is precious... thumbs up vintage!
Thanks!
lokgotz
post Feb 5 2013, 05:02 PM

hehehe
2,657 posts

QUOTE(nles @ Feb 5 2013, 04:54 PM)
So you import g-shock, does it get taxed? I wanna get a watch from seiyajapan
So far I never kena before, bought at least 15 watches, mostly from Japan. My friend said watches are tax free, he called the immigration department and asked before.
lokgotz
post Feb 6 2013, 12:59 AM

hehehe
2,657 posts

Alright, more pictures!

Ol' skool Riseman (DW-9100PJ-7), pictured here with my Men in Rusty Black Riseman (G-9200MS-8).

United States Parachute Association (USPA) Edition.

Another one, the 2001 Frogman I.C.E.R.C. (GW-200K-2JR).

Triplets? smile.gif
lokgotz
post Feb 23 2013, 01:09 AM

hehehe
2,657 posts

Looks like I'm going broke soon...

Stussy x Bape x Casio G-Shock Frogman.

Source: http://www.highsnobiety.com/2013/02/22/stu...-shock-frogman/
lokgotz
post Mar 4 2013, 01:12 AM

hehehe
2,657 posts

QUOTE(xenoc @ Mar 3 2013, 03:26 PM)
Just want to share my happiness here.
[attachmentid=3329405]
Congratulations on the Thirty Stars. smile.gif
lokgotz
post Mar 7 2013, 01:58 AM

hehehe
2,657 posts

Holy shit! The G-Shock Sky Cockpit GW-A1100-1A3JF looks AWESOME!

lokgotz
post Mar 7 2013, 02:57 PM

hehehe
2,657 posts

Third wave of the G-Shock 30th Anniversary models are called the Resist Black. This third wave is going ol' skool!
lokgotz
post Mar 7 2013, 02:58 PM

hehehe
2,657 posts

There is a new Dessert Beige series also.
lokgotz
post Mar 7 2013, 02:59 PM

hehehe
2,657 posts

More colours for the GW-A1100 series I posted earlier.

lokgotz
post Mar 7 2013, 03:00 PM

hehehe
2,657 posts

New Garish Gold series. I'm feeling this.
lokgotz
post Mar 8 2013, 03:22 PM

hehehe
2,657 posts

QUOTE(xenoc @ Mar 7 2013, 03:38 PM)
Which one is on your list so far? brows.gif
A few. The BD-350BR-1JF should be my first BD-350 model. smile.gif

QUOTE(nles @ Mar 7 2013, 06:21 PM)
Just got 2 A1000 and now new A1100  sweat.gif  smaller but thicker, the green one hurhur

Wanna get the Love the sea and earth mudman, any idea where to get?
There are two versions of the A-1000. One is the GWA-1000 while the other one is the GA-1000. Besides the obvious Atomic function, one has thermometer while the other has compass.

The new A-1100 looks like it's build to withstand a tank driving over it. Super solid!

QUOTE(liquidvamp @ Mar 7 2013, 07:11 PM)
ok im in love with the 5030. thanks! my next G!
Me too but I have the Initial Blue GB-5600A-A1JR and a few other 5600 models, which looks like it. Thinking of getting the GW-5530-1JR instead, since I don't have a 5500 model. But it's Multiband 6, something I don't really wanna pay for that doesn't work in Malaysia. Decisions decisions... smile.gif

Feeling under the weather these few days. I sense a fever is coming. Anyway, happy Friday guys. smile.gif

lokgotz
post Mar 12 2013, 12:26 AM

hehehe
2,657 posts

QUOTE(aquilaTE @ Mar 11 2013, 11:44 PM)
Ic ok. Thx for the info... I dropped by both the G-Factory in Sunway and in Fahrenhit but no stock for the one I'm currently looking.
Mind telling which model are you looking for? It actually boils down to which model you are looking for.

G-Factory (all outlets) basically sell the really basic, or slightly special models. If you are looking for something more special/rare, don't waste your time there.

Basically it's like this -

G-Factory
Pros:
- Confirm 100% original.
- Confirm retail price.
- Local warranty. Anything wrong with your watch, just send it back to any G-Factory or even Marco Corporation, the distibutor.
- The box is the actual box for the watch. G-Factory keeps the hang tag for their records though.

Cons:
- Only basic models. Special models (like the 30th anniversary ones) will only be sold at a raffle system. Don't even expect them to have the slightly special/rare ones.

Watch shops other than G-Factory
Pros:
- They carry some special/rare models.
- Price negotiable.

Cons:
- Elevated prices. Even if they give you up to 40% discounts, sometimes, it is still more expensive than retail.
- Their stocks come from various sources. Sometimes from the official distributor (Marco), sometimes parallel imports.
- Warranty wise, send it back to them and they'll try to fix it themselves (I've seen it before).
- Watch wise, you will most probably get a different box from the original one. They mix up all their boxes.

Online Sellers like the ones in Lowyat Forums, Mudah, Lelong, eBay
Pros:
- They will have any model you want, even the super rare ones. You name it, they'll have it
- Boxes, hang tags, sometimes even the protective plastic is still intact.

Cons:
- The usual online trading risks.
- Elevated prices, especially for limited/special/rare models.
- Authenticity not guaranteed. I've not encountered this but you have the risk of getting a non-original one.
- It might not be new, but labelled as new.

Sometimes, there are exceptions too. If you are buying a basic model, online shops will be cheaper than G-Factory. If you are buying the slightly rare/special models, G-Factory will be cheaper, provided they have stocks.

Personally, I buy from eBay, Project Hullabaloo and some online sellers here. I don't mind paying more for the ones I want. I don't care about warranty either.

For brick and mortar stores, if they have the models I want, they get my business. Simple as that.

I hope that helps.

This post has been edited by lokgotz: Mar 12 2013, 12:28 AM
lokgotz
post Mar 12 2013, 02:51 PM

hehehe
2,657 posts

QUOTE(ChiaW3n @ Mar 12 2013, 02:51 AM)
woah very detail! marked down
Thanks. smile.gif

I've actually written a lot of things with regards to G-Shock, like Multiband 6, different models and stuff like that but we need to consolidate them into one post, so that new forummers can refer to it.

I'm not saying I'm the best, but at least that's what I learnt this past few years. smile.gif

QUOTE(menexpert @ Mar 12 2013, 10:24 AM)
I need some answer from all the G-shock collector taikors here, just wondering why all the packaging of G-shock are different?

Some in paper box but some in tin box? Cost problem?

Both are authentic?
Normally, there are 4 types of boxes. Here we go:-

Cardboard
These are the most normal ones. Basic and smaller models comes with these boxes.

Tin boxes
These are normal ones too. They come in mainly 2 different shapes, hexagon and round. They come in different colours as well (gold, black, grey, black with coloured spots).
They are usually for bigger watches that can't fit into the smaller cardboard boxes.

Collaboration and special edition boxes
These boxes are an art by itself. The anniversary ones (20th, 25th, 30th) are designed by Eric Haze. Then collaboration companies also design their own motifs. For example CLOT's black tin box with logo and dragon.

Some collaboration models uses the cardboard box.

Some companies even go the extra mile, like CLOT's transparent acrylic boxes, TURBOKOLOR's paint tins.

Trunk Cases
These are usually JDM models. Most of them are only for sale in Japan. They have customized designs as well.

QUOTE(advocado @ Mar 12 2013, 10:47 AM)
Anyone went to Haniffa near Sogo? Saw they carry many Casio models was told their price is cheaper than most shops but is fixed price. They have many models but usually less color options.
Pertama Complex and Sogo used to be THE place for G-Shocks last time. I've not been there for ages so I'm not too sure. I've heard that plenty of shops sell fake ones also.

I'm not too sure about Haniffa but if it's not a lot cheaper, I'd rather pay more for peace of mind.

QUOTE(aquilaTE @ Mar 12 2013, 10:59 AM)
Wow... that's pretty detail there. Thank you very much for this much of info.

Currently I'm looking for a GR8900A-7 and I think can consider this a standard model. Not planning to buy anything rare soon since I haven't gotten around to fixing the bezel of my old Frogman sad.gif

In the meantime, I'll try to weigh the options as well as the pros and cons for the above mentioned model when I go shopping for it soon. Thx again.
Not sure if G-Factory has the GR-8900A-7, since I wasn't looking for this. Plenty of online sellers have this model for sale though.

What happened to your Frogman? Which Frogman is this?
lokgotz
post Mar 12 2013, 03:50 PM

hehehe
2,657 posts

QUOTE(aquilaTE @ Mar 12 2013, 03:05 PM)
Mine is the DW8200... the bezel for it has disintegrated over the years. I've been told that I may be able to get the parts for it if I go to Marco but till this day, I've not make an effort going there yet.
The DW8200 bezel is still quite easy to get and I think the newer GF-8250 bezels can fit in too. Not too sure if Marco has them or not as I've never dealt with them before.

QUOTE(advocado @ Mar 12 2013, 03:28 PM)
Haniffa seems to be authentic. There's alof of casio models compared to shopping center watch shops. not familiar with watches.

So what is the best price to get G5600 series & where to get.

I see Davis has tons (yes literally tons) of watches on sale.
Oh ok. Never heard of Haniffa so I won't comment.

Which G-5600 you are looking for? Like I said earlier, some are easy to find, while some are not.

I've heard plenty of nice stuff about DAVIS but at the same time, not so good things about him too. I won't comment further since I've never bought anything from him.
lokgotz
post Mar 12 2013, 04:48 PM

hehehe
2,657 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Mar 12 2013, 04:05 PM)
it's a unique shopping center near Sogo, something like all in one but they carry unique items and watches from cheap to rm10-20k (Rado, Longines), their cheap casio like f-91w (rm27) etc stacked like sand. They sell alot of import chocolates.

i dunno much about G-5600xxxxx the xxxxx i have no idea what they mean. just looking for simple black or white, prefer reverse lite digits.

but saw G-001CB-7/G001CB-7CR/G-001CB-7JF (looks the same got different)?, dunno is it too common but the color is nice. dunno where can get cheap cheap & whether it's a good watch... i dun like heavy bulky watches so right now using F-91w.
Simple black one? Nothing can be simpler than the DW-5600BB-1. It's exactly what you are looking for.

The characters after the colour code usually means the market that it's being sold at.

DR is International
ER is Europe
JF is Japan
CR is for USA and Canada.

QUOTE(aquilaTE @ Mar 12 2013, 04:26 PM)
G-factory mentioned Marco may need to order in the parts(provided if there is any). Then again seeing those current day Frogman and your word, it gives me a bit more comfort that I'll be able to get bezel spare parts. I kept thinking I may never be able to get parts for this 1st gen Frogman tongue.gif
DW-8200 is not the first generation Frogman. The first one is DW-6300, where there isn't even "Frogman" on the bezel. The DW-8200 bezel is still so widely available is because Casio kept producing this model for a long time. Even when the module is outdated, they updated it with the GF-8250 that looks exactly like the DW-8200, only with a more advanced module.

The newest Frogman is the GW/GWF-1000 Frogmans but the GF-8250 co-exists with these new Frogmans, which is why its bezel is still widely available.

This is the DW-6300-1A "Frogman".

These are the five generations of Frogmans.
lokgotz
post Mar 12 2013, 04:49 PM

hehehe
2,657 posts

QUOTE(djlethal @ Mar 12 2013, 04:47 PM)
hi guys,

since we're on the topic of places to buy g-shocks, any suggestions for online sellers?

i've tried project hullabaloo, gpeople (no reply to email / SMS), and davis
I'm a supporter of Project Hullabaloo. Bought a few from them already. Great service, great price.
lokgotz
post Mar 12 2013, 05:21 PM

hehehe
2,657 posts

QUOTE(aquilaTE @ Mar 12 2013, 04:57 PM)
Interesting... I always tot it was the first. Thx for the history lesson on it.

Btw, do you know of any recent G-shock watches that still uses Titanium as the "core" rather than just the back covers?
Gulfmans are. They are pretty affordable too.
All external metal parts, including screws, back cover, buckle, and even button shafts are made of titanium alloy for total protection, even in seawater environments.
The band is secured to the case by milled titanium alloy screws, while the form of the forged titanium alloy back provides outstanding impact resistance.

Source: http://www.casio-intl.com/in/en/wat/watch_detail/G-9100-1/

QUOTE(djlethal @ Mar 12 2013, 05:10 PM)
too bad hullabaloo ran out of stock for the model i'm looking for...  cry.gif  cry.gif
Yeah. They run out of stocks pretty fast, mainly because they sell their watches cheaper than most people. They prefer to move their stocks, instead of holding on to them and wait for better price.
lokgotz
post Mar 12 2013, 07:49 PM

hehehe
2,657 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Mar 12 2013, 05:50 PM)
Prefer G-5600 instead of DW

Any difference between but saw G-001CB-7/G001CB-7CR/G-001CB-7JF (looks the same got different)? Is it too common & is it worth buying? Where can get best deal?

The White Ultraman 6900 looks too good too bad it's limited & high price.
Not much difference between G-5600 and the DW-5600. G-5600 has a slightly newer module.

For models like the G-001CB-7, it doesn't matter which version you buy because they are all the same. For more expensive or slightly special models, there are differences like boxes, measurement units and so on.

The G-001CB-7's unofficial name is the Festive Christmas Jason from the Winter Gold series. Jason is the nickname for all G-001/DW-001 models. For this particular model, get it from G-Factory. From my own survey, they are the cheapest at RM329 or RM349, I can't remember. I bought mine in Singapore G-Factory for SGD140 I think.

QUOTE(aquilaTE @ Mar 12 2013, 05:56 PM)
Oh.... I missed that one out. Would you know how much roughly this cost? Sorry if I'm asking too many questions. Been out of touch with the recent & current G-shocks.
Basic Gulfmans are less than RM300 from online sellers. For special colors, they can go up to RM500 or even more.

Don't worry about asking too much questions. We're here to help. smile.gif

QUOTE(menexpert @ Mar 12 2013, 06:17 PM)
I just bought a DW-6900DS-1, now worried about the tax from Msia kastam here.  yawn.gif
All my watches have never been taxed before. Shouldnt be a problem.

I don't know if watches are taxable or not though. From my understanding, anything more than RM500 is taxable but my friend said watches are tax free.

12 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0457sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 04:19 AM