[Official] Rig Suggestion Thread V2, Hardware Q&A RRG™

highbury1913
post Dec 26 2012, 04:02 PM

526 posts

Hi guys,

Need some help. Finally out of college and can return to desktop and dump my laptop (Acer Aspire 4530, if anyone is interested in buying biggrin.gif).

Budget:
RM2.5k - 3k (important that rig is future-proof at least for 3-4 years for my purpose)

Purpose:
Mostly video editing with some sports gaming now and then (FIFA, Football Manager)

Hardware that will be reuse from old rig:
Completely new rig (I have keyboard, mouse, etc)

Monitor resolution:
Any HD reso. For HD video editing. (Monitor recommendation would be nice as well although don't consider it part of the 3k budget. I'm looking for a bang for bucks monitor >24")

Game or software that use frequently:
Adobe CS Suite
Video Editing Software (Sony Vegas, etc)
Games - FIFA, FM

Personal Preference Brand:
As long as it's the best.

------------------------------

Thanks guys. I was going to get a Mac Mini as Macs are the best for video editing but I quickly realised with the Mac Mini's integrated graphics card I'd need an upgrade with 1-2 years. So I decided to bite the pill and learn video editing in Windows (Movie Maker FTW...lol).

Also note the less I spend on the rig, the more I can spend on the monitor smile.gif
highbury1913
post Dec 26 2012, 09:48 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(Hilmax @ Dec 26 2012, 08:43 PM)

i5 3570-RM619
ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3-RM299 *3
Kingston 1x8GB Value RAM-RM115
WD Caviar Blue 500GB-RM164
Gainward GTX 650 ti RM 479 (lingloong) or Saphire HD6870 RM419 or HD7770 if HD6870 OOS.
Seasonic S12II 620W PSU-RM299
CM K280 Casing-RM128
LiteOn DVD Writer-RM55
Crucial M4 128GB SSD-RM329 *2
Dell U2312HM IPS monitor-RM589
Total: RM3076

Prices from Viewnet.
*2 Alternatives to the SSD would be the Intel 330 120GB for RM309
*3 This board may require a BIOS update for Ivy Bridge CPU support.
Thanks for the quick response. A few question as I'm a noob.

1) I don't have access to a SB CPU to update the BIOS. Will the guys at Viewnet/All IT/ etc be able to do it for me if I get them to put together the rig? If not, what are the alternative mobos?

2) Which version of the 650 ti is best? Is GAINWARD GeForce
GTX 650 Ti 2GB worth the extra money?
"Gold sample" is cheap here -http://www.ipmart.com.my/main/product/Gainward,GeForce,GTX,650,Ti,Golden,Sample,,1024MB,Graphic,Card,Gainward,Warranty,,363025.php?prod=363025

3) What are the advantages of the K280 casing? I'm not a fan of the design but if it is the best in its class in terms of ventilation, etc I can deal with it. What are the alternatives?

4) Is the SSD crucial (no pun intended)? Will it offer a big boost in speed? If it's not crucial I could put the money into a bigger monitor or some speakers. What would you recommend?
highbury1913
post Dec 26 2012, 11:36 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(Hilmax @ Dec 26 2012, 10:02 PM)
1) Ask them to update, else MSI Z77MA-G45 RM309

2) Do you find 2GB variant? http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/802109

3) Its advantage just good cable management & normal ventilation. You can pick from NXZT Source Elite 210, Thermaltake Comander MS-I snow, Xigmatek Asgard Pro window/ Asgard 381, Aerocool Strike X advance/VS-3 advance/X-predator X-1, Silverstone RL-02/RL-03.

4) SSD is optional, you can put it into monitor, suggest Dell U2412M.
Thank you so much for the help.

One final question, is the brand of GC important. I noticed lingloong has the LEADTEK WinFast GTX 650 Ti 2GB GDDR5 at RM555. How does LEADTEK compare to Gainward? Is the LEADTEK worth the extra rm100?

Thanks again for your help. I owe you roti canai smile.gif

This post has been edited by highbury1913: Dec 26 2012, 11:37 PM
highbury1913
post Dec 27 2012, 12:16 AM

526 posts

QUOTE(Hilmax @ Dec 26 2012, 11:58 PM)
If RM555 better up it to HD7850 1GB RM599 or 2GB variant RM650. Else Leadtek have 3-year warranty compared to Leadtek.
Typo? Which has 3 years warranty?

0.0388sec    0.92    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 09:01 PM