[Official] Rig Suggestion Thread V2, Hardware Q&A RRG™

__unknown__
post Dec 14 2012, 12:07 PM

Nice rigs. However bare with me as I not a tech-sawy guy and have some questions and I'd never tried building one myself.

1) Say I'm interested in 1 of the rigs so do i just slap the list to lowyat vendors for quotations and they'll build up for me? Or I've to pick up each component separate and build it up like a LEGO?

2) Is it me or i just dont notice any sound cards in the rigs? (Maybe i just cant differentiate which component is sound card?

3) Also I'm assuming chassis as well as OS is seperated from the list as well?

I'm looking forward in building a gaming + sound blasting desktop(got a altec lensing wolfer for that biggrin.gif ) and would appreciate if anyone could advise me on the questions above!
__unknown__
post Dec 14 2012, 02:09 PM

QUOTE(marfccy @ Dec 14 2012, 01:06 PM)
1) yep, just bring the list and theyll get the parts for you.

2) integrated ones in the motherboard should do fine unless youre having high-end sound equipments. usually sound cards like ASUS Xonar or Creative ones will be listed together if the person requires a sound card. and since most of us are happy with the integrated ones, most of us dont recommend sound cards with the setup

3) chassis is included, usually named like Xigmatek Asgard Pro, CM K280 etc etc. OS is always separated unless inquired

as for your build, budget? maybe we can list out a better gaming build for you? smile.gif
yep, just bring to them and theyll get the parts for you. furthermore, buying all parts from them will allow you to get bundle discounts biggrin.gif
Thanks for the reply man! Well currently I'm on a 2.5k to 3k budget but am willing to go up to 3.5k if the performance justifies the price hike biggrin.gif

I've read up on components therefore the following would be my imagination of specs:

processor: intel i5 processors sounds good enough for me. i7's are said to be overkill because not much games supports HT for now? Tho im not sure which model of i5 processors would be good enough

ram: up to 12GB rams with 1333MH bus speed.( no preferences in brand tho)

harddisk: i guess a normal harddisk with 500/1T shud work for me. Not sure if SSD performs better?( Though i saw a notable boot up seed for Windows. Not sure for gaming)

GPU : i only know brands e.g ATI and GeForce. Not sure what make is better in terms of specs.

PSU, Mobo etc are components i have no idea of what make to be used.

Hopefully u can advise me with a better build / insight on my future to be desktop! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by __unknown__: Dec 14 2012, 02:13 PM
__unknown__
post Dec 14 2012, 02:26 PM

QUOTE(marfccy @ Dec 14 2012, 02:18 PM)
try this

Intel Core i5 3470 RM564
MSI B75MA P45 RM229
Kingston Value RAM 1x8GB RM114
Leadtek GTX670 RM1149 <--this is a very good card brows.gif
WD Blue 500GB RM169 or 1TB RM219
Silverstone Strider 500W RM219
Corsair Carbide 300R or Xigmatek Asgard Pro RM200-300
Lite-On 22x DVD Drive RM59
Total: RM2703

need monitor? hmm.gif
if yes, can try Dell U2312HM RM589 or LG IPS224T RM419

the build above i didnt recommend any sound card cause im not knowledgeable about it sweat.gif
let other sifus come and help smile.gif

or you can switch the GTX670 for a Sapphire HD7970 at RM1449 (this card's a beast) brows.gif
Everything seems nice! One more question tho.. Does overclocking matter much? I've seen people posting overclocking their processors to say achieve higher FPS for games?(Sorry if the technical terms are faulty cause i cant tell which is which)

And also do you happen to know any reputable vendor in lowyat? I had friend once made a rig there only to realize some components inside were'nt as he specified when his desktop broke down and sent for a fix.

I guess monitor is fine but does the monitor you suggest supports high res?(something like 1280*720)

Again thanks for the reply!
__unknown__
post Dec 14 2012, 02:35 PM

QUOTE(GreenSamurai @ Dec 14 2012, 02:29 PM)
The monitors that are suggested here usually have a resolution 1920x1080 or even higher if necessary so no worries bro
Right thanks for the reply! I see your rig has a sound card so if you don't mind me can u provide some feedbacks on choices of soundcards? I had a lensing subwolfer(which i think is fairly good) so therefore im looking forward to get 1 in my new rig. Does standalone sound cards differ alot then the integrated's 1? If so how much? What sound card do you suggest? Say in the range of 400?

Thanks in advance for the advice!
__unknown__
post Dec 14 2012, 02:52 PM

QUOTE(marfccy @ Dec 14 2012, 02:33 PM)
for OC, unless you know what youre doing, better dont risk it. OC kills the parts lifespan but of course boost its performance. like for example, your CPU and GPU getting old and you want more juice out of it. so you OC them to boost their clock speed so that they can run future games at slightly more FPS.

reputable ones would be Viewnet, All IT and Jayacom i guess. if for online in Garage Sales, can go for IdealTech. i got my parts there biggrin.gif

my monitor i suggest will be 1920x1080p brows.gif
maybe Dell U2312HM RM589 or LG IPS224T RM419? both are IPS panel displays which have better colour production and wide viewing angles than the standard TN panels
Right! In a nut shell tech-noobies like me should stay off OC the processors right?
Will definitely looked up on your suggestions bro!

I suppose they have advisors like in the shops right? Maybe might have to scale down the budget abit if my
parents aren't that happy with the pricing sad.gif

Normally how long would it take them to assemble all the parts together? Also do i have to worry anything
about the BIOS?
__unknown__
post Dec 14 2012, 03:14 PM

QUOTE(marfccy @ Dec 14 2012, 02:57 PM)
nope, you can always learn to OC and about OC stuff also
but if you want your PC parts to last long, of course avoid OCing
but its subjective though, with good cooling systems, mild OC can last nearly as long as stock CPUs

err.. their advisors are unreliable. cause since theyre running a shop, they might intro parts that are not recommended as they dont want to keep old and obsolete products

as for the time for parts assembling, it depends. if they dont have alot of other jobs, should be fast.

generally, the standard BIOS should be fine. nothing to tweak or change around.
Right! Then again what about the warranties? only tied by the vendor itself only right?
I have a list of viewnet's product from here http://www.viewnet.com.my/downloads/viewne...y_pricelist.pdf
so is it safe to say any components not listed in it could be potentially obsolete products?
Now u reminded me of such scam's i'd might be worried up a little sad.gif
__unknown__
post Dec 14 2012, 03:30 PM

QUOTE(marfccy @ Dec 14 2012, 03:20 PM)
warranties by the brand manufacturers. but you can return the faulty products to the shop for warranty purposes

not really, there are alot of products types available in the pricelist but also not recommended. like the Cooler Master PSUs, not recommended but its being sold at Viewnet.

if you dont trust Viewnet, you can always opt for other shops in this forum. try PM lingloong, zhen^wei, CyntrixTech, yoongkeen etc for help. they have a physical shop too, just not in Lowyat Plaza
They are vendors as well? In your opinion it's preferable to perform transactions with them as towards shops in lowyat?

0.0480sec    1.08    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:06 AM