[Official] Rig Suggestion Thread V2, Hardware Q&A RRG™

Flaming_lion
post Jan 28 2013, 11:11 AM

An Innocent Lion
649 posts

Hi there. First time coming here.

Going to get a new pc soon. So I've been looking around and thinking about what sort of a system to get.

I was looking at something like;
- X6 FX 6300 (RM 499)
- Asrock 970DE/U3S3 (RM 209)
- DD3 4GB PC 1333 - 2 units (RM 138)
- Sapphire 6870 (RM 419)
- 1TB Western Digital (RM 199)
- DVD-RW 24x Samsung (RM 59)
- Silverstone ATX Redline RL01 (RM 179)
- 500W Silverstone Strider (RM 219)
- Samsung 20" LED Monitor (RM 319)

Total: RM 2240.

So, I would appreciate some advice on this system. Is it a good system?

The objective of getting the new system is so that my family can use the PC for their own thing. My sibling's request is that the system is able to play The Sims 3 and personally for me, I would like to play Sim City 5 when it gets released.
Flaming_lion
post Jan 28 2013, 09:51 PM

An Innocent Lion
649 posts

QUOTE(zhen^wei @ Jan 28 2013, 02:36 PM)
if possible do not buy silverstone strider 500w. this model 80plus basic, failure rate is super high.
Really? Any recommendation for PSU? sweat.gif

QUOTE(Cable707 @ Jan 28 2013, 05:04 PM)
Only play Sim City?
I think the most aggressive game I'll play is Sim City 5. The other games are like FIFA and Football Manager. Nothing significant really. Plus, I'm hardly going to be around. So its only for my sibling, and wants to play The Sims 3 ( doh.gif Of all the games...).
Flaming_lion
post Jan 28 2013, 10:56 PM

An Innocent Lion
649 posts

QUOTE(hmwgbworld @ Jan 28 2013, 10:51 PM)
FSP Hexa 500W RM150~160
or
ENERMAX NAXN82+ bronze 550W RM215
Wah... So much cheaper... Really better ah?
Flaming_lion
post Jan 29 2013, 12:06 AM

An Innocent Lion
649 posts

QUOTE(hmwgbworld @ Jan 29 2013, 12:00 AM)
Both psu are sufficient for pc with single graphic card usage.
You can get 80+ gold if u want a good one, like seasonic G series 550W cost around RM359.
Ah, ok... Thanks for the advice...

I just don't want to end up like my present situation where my PSU isn't working properly. sweat.gif

Pure 200W but max is 500W. sweat.gif
Flaming_lion
post Jan 29 2013, 12:07 AM

An Innocent Lion
649 posts

QUOTE(zhen^wei @ Jan 29 2013, 12:06 AM)
but pls take note FSP HEXA 500W PSU is "NOT" 80plus psu.
so far this psu reliable too, if u using 7850 below can buy this card.
if u use GTX670 DO NOT use this psu.
Why? The ATIs consume less power? hmm.gif
Flaming_lion
post Jan 29 2013, 12:14 AM

An Innocent Lion
649 posts

QUOTE(hmwgbworld @ Jan 29 2013, 12:11 AM)
Nope, he means higher end graphic cards need more power. Such as 7950, 7970 or gtx670, 680.
Ah... Ok... Now I get it...

By the way, is 6870 a decent card?
Flaming_lion
post Jan 29 2013, 11:47 AM

An Innocent Lion
649 posts

QUOTE(hmwgbworld @ Jan 29 2013, 01:14 AM)
Compare to latest cards available now, its not a decent, but still good enough card.
All right. Thanks for the advice though.

Generally, are the specs I mentioned good enough? unsure.gif
Flaming_lion
post Jan 29 2013, 08:08 PM

An Innocent Lion
649 posts

QUOTE(hmwgbworld @ Jan 29 2013, 08:03 PM)
Yes generally the specs u mentioned above is good enough for your sibling. If not going for some heavy program usage, perhaps u can try to consider an Intel i3 build that is more budget efficient  icon_rolleyes.gif
Thank you for the advice. notworthy.gif

Finally I can tell my sibling to leave alone. tongue.gif
Flaming_lion
post Jan 31 2013, 12:45 AM

An Innocent Lion
649 posts

One last question. Anybody know what time viewnet opens tomorrow? sweat.gif
Flaming_lion
post Jan 31 2013, 01:11 AM

An Innocent Lion
649 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Jan 31 2013, 01:08 AM)
should be 10-11am gua

normal opening time

why? hmm.gif
cuz... need to go there, buy the machine based on the specs I posted here, and back home before 12.30 pm. Think possible ah? sweat.gif

If I give them the specs, how long for them to assemble?
Flaming_lion
post Jan 31 2013, 01:20 AM

An Innocent Lion
649 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Jan 31 2013, 01:18 AM)
last week i went there with a friend.. reached at 11am, ask for the parts at 11.30am.

the guy had to rush to diff place to get the parts

ended up 12.30pm only he got everything. then paid and chabut

luckily got random rig there allows us to play BF3, or else we damn bosan liao

but my above is for home assemble only^

if youre gonna let them assemble.. no idea sweat.gif
If that's the case, I think its safer for me to go in the evening. sweat.gif
Flaming_lion
post Jan 31 2013, 01:22 AM

An Innocent Lion
649 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Jan 31 2013, 01:21 AM)
they close quite early also icon_idea.gif

around 10pm i think

so better go around dinner time, less people
Hmm... I was thinking of keeping it a surprise for my sibling, but I guess night time should have lesser people. hmm.gif

I'll figure a way out on to surprise. tongue.gif

Thanks for the help mate. wink.gif

0.0570sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 09:07 PM