The Case Fans Thread V2, Fans Fans Fans
RoyRF
Apr 13 2014, 09:36 PM
Hi Guys  , Anyone have any idea to reduce the fan noise in the casing? FYI, i have 5 casing fans (all from Cooler Master) and my Processor is still using stock cooling fan (AMD FX8350). I have intention to upgrade to liquid cooling for processor but thing is i just bought the processor last year and scared that will void the warranty if change to aftermarket cpu fan. Any recommendation on this, folks? Suggestions will be highly appreciated~! Thanks p/s: mobo - msi 990fxa, gpu-radeon hd7850, casing-CM USP200
RoyRF
Apr 14 2014, 02:59 PM
QUOTE(Clem1982 @ Apr 14 2014, 12:55 PM) there are a few ways you can do it... 1- download SpeedFan, FOC and easy to use but your fans must be plugged into your motherboard headers and it's not perfect 2- change your fans to quieter ones or reduce the number of fans you're having inside the chassis 3- get a fan controller Any recommendation for quiet fans, bro?
RoyRF
Apr 14 2014, 03:10 PM
QUOTE(kherel77 @ Apr 14 2014, 02:04 PM) All your fan connected to Mobo? MSI got it's own software to control the fan (Control Centre-Green Power tab). Even my 3pin-2000rpm Evercool fan can speed down to 800rpm using it... Yes, i have 1 rear, 1 bottom, 1 front, 2 side panel.. (total-5 fans 120mm) but i notice 2 side panel fans humming very loud, although i bought CM Xtraflo 120mm 2 pcs and says that noise only 19db.. If we lower the rpm, will it affect the humidity inside the cpu? maybe temp will go up, no?
RoyRF
Apr 14 2014, 04:07 PM
QUOTE(Clem1982 @ Apr 14 2014, 03:48 PM) Most of us will get the Artic F12 but Corsair, BitFenix, Noiseblockers, Silent wings are a few that have very good quiet fans Sidepanel fans will be much louder than the ones mounted on the actual frame of a chassis because the panel is not as solid in comparison so vibrations from fans mounted on them will be noisy, that is why I myself never have any fans mounted at the side panels even though there are mounting holes for them and CM xtraflo have a few models with variable speeds so don't expect them to be quiet when they're at full speed, the 19DBA rating may have been over exaggerated like their sickleflow previously as well Well explained..notes taken..thanks for the info sifu!!
RoyRF
Apr 14 2014, 04:20 PM
QUOTE(kherel77 @ Apr 14 2014, 03:42 PM) Noise measurement in fan specs is noise that cause by air pushed by fan in bracketless condition. Your side panel's fan humming is cause by that honeycomb ventilation hole plus vibration of that side panel. Try ditch that side panel fan first, lower others fan speed using that software & monitor your temp. I think not very much diff increasing, if any. If still not satisfy, change to silent fan like Bitfenix Spectre/AC F12 PWM/Noctua. Plus fan rubber gasket if ur budget allowed. Oh, now i understand..it's best for me to remove the fans..its quite loud tho..thanks again for the info sifu!