> TNB Calculation

admnovsk
post Nov 23 2012, 01:09 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(deejay_krish @ Nov 23 2012, 12:30 PM)
Hey guys, just wanna find out some info in here. I called tnb earlier in regards to plasma tv electricity as its stated behind the tv 350w. They said 350w is equal to 3.5kwh (kilowatt-hour). So according to their calculation, 3.5kwh per minute the cost is $0.76cents and thats what it says in tnb website calculator also. So the tv consumes 76cents per minute?  shocking.gif  shakehead.gif
aiyooo aneee...kam i show u

the POWER is 0.35kW. the ENERGY consumed by the tv in 1 HOUR is equal to 0.35kWh (kilowatt-hour).

tariff rate for 1kWh is 21.8 cent.

so, in 1 hour, the electricity for your tv will be 21.8 x 0.35 = 7.63 cent.

btw, the tv will only use 350W when it is showing bright color/ high sound volume etc etc, which is just for a fraction of time. obviously, dark/black pictures will use less power.
admnovsk
post Nov 23 2012, 01:18 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(ralph_lauren @ Nov 23 2012, 01:14 PM)
its 0.76cents /hour lar
its actually 7.6cents/hour. refer to calculation above
admnovsk
post Nov 23 2012, 01:33 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(deejay_krish @ Nov 23 2012, 01:28 PM)
If the price still shoots high without aircond, then better file a lawsuit against tnb then as they said the meter is fine..........They definitely played with the readin gof the meter to make the bill show high value
the issue with analog vs digital meter is. analog meter is easily tempered and the accuracy degrades over time. so for some user, their low bill is caused by the inaccuracy of the meter itself.

digital meter on the other hand is really accurate so what you use is what you pay, it wont be "discounted" by the inaccuracy of the analog meter.

the thing is, it'd be good if tnb could hire 3rd party to do meter calibration so that both sides can be satisfied once and for all
admnovsk
post Nov 23 2012, 01:41 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(Seager @ Nov 23 2012, 01:35 PM)
Digital meter also can tamper whistling.gif
not as easy as analog. analog orang xsekolah pn boleh buat brows.gif brows.gif

for aircond, its unwise to switch in on and off all the time. mone energy is needed to remove the heat from a place compared to energy needed to mantain the temperature. also, your aircond will consume more energy during hot days because the difference in temperature ( between the temp that you want and the ambiance temp) will be greater.

for fridge, it is unefficient if your fridge is mostly empty. also, try to minimize the amount u spend opening the fridge because heat will get into the fridge, energy is needed to remove it. remember, more energy is needed to remove heat compared to energy needed to maintain the temperature.

also, remember to cool down your food items before putting it into the fridge.

0.0173sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 05:55 AM