4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Games Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter 2, Throwback Pack available on marketplace

stringfellow
post Jun 23 2006, 02:43 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

The update is there just to sync everyone about the availability of the new maps. You do not have to buy the maps. The next time one of friends ask you to come into a game with maps you dont have, the system will tell you that you cannot join because you dont have that level map. The standard maps that comes with the games are still multiplayable.
stringfellow
post Jun 24 2006, 02:09 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Already the cracks are showing/forming on the walls.....

If Ubisoft thinks that people need to download the new Chapter just to be able to play with others , this will make that little splinter becomes a major break on the tree branch. A lot have voiced disappointment to this, why cant those without the Chapter 2 DLC play with those who had it? Subversively "forcing" others to get the DLC just so that they can connect to their friends? This is appaling.....

stringfellow
post Jun 24 2006, 02:57 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

And that will cause lag, since latency between disntanced out regions are introduced.

It seems fine by those of us who play within the confines of friends in LYN forums, we can find each other and join each other's games when we want to. But when the time comes when you want to join a game through the lobby, and see your options dwindling away, since you dont download this DLC, how do you feel? Already the online lobby spits you out into the lobby whenever a loose/weak connection couldnt hold you in the game session any longer.....now you have to pick within the already splintered group, since you dont have XYZ DLC?

Hear me out. What happens to Mr. Average Joes who wants so much to join theexcitement of GRAW online, only to stick on him requirements of downloading separate chapters/DLCs, which are hundreds of MBs large (think our Streamyx line here, how long to get that?), and having to pay through the nose for this, either via credit card or having to hunt down for the elusive MS Points subscription cards? Eventually, this guy gets fed up at all the obstacles presented in his way, in able to properly enjoy his GRAW online, and dumps the game altogether. Seems plausible?

Im not shooting GRAW here, in fact i was majorly recommending it after those enjoyable hours we had last time completing Chapter 1 on Co-op. I remember it as one of those "Band of Brothers" moment. But there wasnt any motivation to revisit those maps again, once you've unlocked the achievement , other than helping others getting the same achievement as well. And now Ubisoft is splintering us? If Player A gets too frustrated and cannot join a game session because he refuses, by principle, to download the DLC, he ismore likely to put his GRAW copy in the backburner and forget about the game, than allowing himself be forced down the throat by Ubisoft to buy the DLC "just so that he's able to play with this friends in this game again". Didnt we all pay RM200 for our Xbox Live Gold subscription, why do we have to go through this again, this time by this despicable act by Ubisoft?
stringfellow
post Jun 24 2006, 03:20 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Sigh......

*flushes his remaining 1200 MS Points down Ubi's way.....goddamnit, those points were for SFII! cry.gif*

It's hard enough to find a single old-school maps game session now, and now you're phased out of DLC2 sessions as well. Well done Ubisoft, you've subverted me into getting this, albeit forcefully.

I hope this does not open the floodgate for greedy developers to do the same thing about their games in the future. *looks in the direction of Gears of War, hell, even the new Prey and F.E.A.R* I sincerely hope that they wouldnt think that it's OKAY for them to release half a$$ed games, and release patches and game contents they couldnt include last minute because of deadline contraints. The main reason why this had to be done for me is due to the splintering of the game, and i feel much safer on the bigger splinter than the smaller one. Yes, that makes me feel dirty like im Ubi's b**** or something, but i dont want to be left out playing alone.

Im in.......*proceeds to retch and vomit, while furiously scrubbing himself off the feeling of being dirty* cry.gif
stringfellow
post Jun 24 2006, 03:35 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Thanks, terra. I hope we all make full use of this map, and play the hell out of it, just to get our money's worth. I dont want the interest to fizzle out after a few weeks of play only.

What worries me though is that, there are reports from Teamxbox and Xbox.com forums that the new maps are glitchy, and with the update you applied (when you start the game, not when you buy Chapter 2), makes the game crashes more often.
stringfellow
post Jun 25 2006, 01:26 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(terranova @ Jun 25 2006, 01:05 AM)
The Campaigns are tough, enemy AI smarter and more accurate. Cannot finish a single campaign even with 14 experienced players.

Playing Campaign causes the console to hang often at the start of the game. Have to reboot console. Hangs on several players' console simultaneously.
Uh Oh!

QUOTE(shumaky @ Jun 25 2006, 01:21 AM)
I shall not be your b|tch Ubi, ya can kiss my MS points man.. This is daylight online robbery I tell ya...
Tell me about it!

I had my purchased Chapter 2 download downloading, sailing past 11%, and had to turn off the 360 due to lightning storm outside. when i turn it on, it's back to fcuking ZERO %!!??? vmad.gif
stringfellow
post Jun 25 2006, 02:59 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(vivaldi @ Jun 25 2006, 01:21 PM)
Hmph, after downloading the DLC and trying out all the maps. I think its not cost effective to download it unless you are a "REAL HARDCORE GRAW-er".

The campaign is quite smooth with 7 people playing it, more than that the game gets laggy. The AI get much smarter and their range of shooting is much wider (they can shoot you from far away).

The morning Treasury re-lit map is the most worth and most effort spent on. The whole town feels like some deserted haunted town.

The music background in River Depot(Night and Day) is kinda scary even though i had no idea of the connection between the map and the music. You guys will just have to try it.

Back to the campaign again, i think the replayability is 3 times after you are able to complete it. More than that, it gets boring.
Im afraid of that statement in the bold. sad.gif

Other than that, this is the FOURTH time im downloading the DLC. The whole thing disappear from the download queue list, so i thought it has finished. Went to System blade, and Memory, it sat there as Incomplete. WTFFFFFFF!!!! Im so pissed i could explode! Now, start back at 1% !Madafakar!
stringfellow
post Jun 25 2006, 03:12 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Okay, so now you're stuck with smaller numbers of people playing co-op, and add the soaring difficulty of the new enemy AI, makes it difficult to beat? Maybe you need more players to join in, with a good mix of classes. But you also said that anything mor than 8 players it starts to get laggy right? So you're stuck with 8 players (more than that , laggy), with enemy AI that is difficult to complete the mission, making it tougher to beat?

Im fearing the moment that i finally get this DLC, everyone else has gotten past the Chapter and move on to something else. There goes my RM57......

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jun 25 2006, 03:14 PM
stringfellow
post Jun 25 2006, 03:22 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

725MB.........
stringfellow
post Jun 26 2006, 10:20 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(alkt @ Jun 26 2006, 08:08 AM)
damn downloads making me crazy. went back home to check, it went down to 2% vmad.gif
Aku punya asyik cakap dia dah habis muat turun, aku pegi la tengok kat Memory. Tengok-tengok, masih lagi "Incomplete Download", tapi kat download queue, cakap download complete. Sial betul la!!!

P/s: Stringfellow is in pissed off mode, switches to Bahasa.

Seriously though, this thing is fcuked up. I've been going through this cycle for god knows how many times, it kept disappearing from download queue and still says incomplete download. What the hell is going on!? I've purposely have not been playing my XB360 online these few days so that i can get this goddammned DLC, but i cant get it downloaded at all!! What the fcuk is going on here MS/UBIsoft? Who should i write to , to get an explanation or if this thing persist, a goddamned refund!!??

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jun 26 2006, 10:20 AM
stringfellow
post Jun 26 2006, 10:39 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

*Does the genie dance, click his heels three times and says "MACAM SIAL!* tongue.gif
stringfellow
post Jun 26 2006, 03:34 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

It got back to 0% already. Im prepping an email to write to MS, either for an explanation on what's going on, how to go about it, or when push comes to shove, a refund of my 1200 Ms Points. No point going through this aggravation, after i left my 360 running by itself for 2 days and get zilch.
stringfellow
post Jun 26 2006, 09:55 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Official letter of enquiry sent. Waiting for their response, most probably a canned cut-n-paste from Ubi/Microsoft.

Im done leaving the 360 running solely for this download, it's time to play. Otherwise, my 360 would threaten to sell itself on eBay already, like Yoroi's . laugh.gif

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jun 26 2006, 11:56 PM
stringfellow
post Jun 27 2006, 11:33 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Funny when something as bad as that GRAW DLC comes out, it gets mentioned, in hopes of overshadowing the horribleness of Chapter 2 pricepoint over content. But nobody seems to make a single noise here, or comment on the long thread at majornelson.com, Xbox.com or at Ubisoft's own forum.Instead, makes an apologetic comments, or pseudo-defensive posts about how the price/content ratio of the Chapter 2 is worth it.In fact, more chose the "keep hush hush, dont talk about it" or "divert the conversation elsewhere" route whenever there was any mention about the terrible price over content ratio of Chapter 2. I guess blind faith will always be that.....blind faith.

Whether it's 7 maps or 12 maps for 1200 points, is irrelevant.It's like comparing which stink worst, the sewers or one week unflushed toilet. Those who had microtransacted, me myself included, have inadvertantly paved a sneaky way for developer to think it is okay for them to charge exorbitant price for their wares. That , is a point i think nobody can refute.

Sometimes, you dont want it, but you're forced to get it....not want it, err... When the people you play wih or the people whom you can get connected with migrated to the new content and left you stranded for the wolves, what options do you have? Either offer yourself as lamb sacrifice to the Ubi-Gods or sell off the game altogether.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jun 27 2006, 11:58 AM
stringfellow
post Jun 27 2006, 12:38 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Since we all love posting Penny Arcade snippets, i figure we shouldnt leave this little gem out:-

If my earlier experiences with the co-operative campaign had not endured so, there would be no question - fifteen dollars is quite simply not a value that men of reason would associate with the GRAW Map Pack. But, drawing on that idea, let us move forward as though the powerful fraternal bonds forged in Campaign One were sufficient to assuage price related suffering to some degree. I realize that this moves our narrative into the realm of fiction.

The price is fifteen dollars, as we have established. Fifteen dollars is not an amount of points you can purchase. You can purchase them in allotments equivalent to ten dollars, or twenty dollars. If you are already a little angry about buying it, now you are paying even more for it. Will this busted-off hunk of digital value find some future use? Maybe. It's more likely that this sliver will need more points piled atop it to be useful. Is this vile, in some way? It's the classic microtransaction/stored value conundrum. Anytime you convert your wealth into tokens, that money is only "money" within the walls of the arcade.

I tried without success to obtain the update from six in the afternoon to eleven o'clock, starting the download, stopping it when it remained at the same level for forty-five minutes, queuing it and leaving the house, returning to find that it had left the queue, loading the game to use the content I had purchased for an amount which is making me increasingly angry and discovering that it had not actually downloaded. Beginning the download again, I see that it has thus far accrued no more than one one-hundredth of the file. The next time it inexplicably quits, at ten fifty-five, it has managed to collect a full twenty-four percent of the information I own but cannot use.

This is not the whole file, I think to myself. This is only twenty-four percent.

I did what any true gamer would do in this position - I gathered my mental state into a folksy ballad.

It's fine enough when you get it, I guess - you know what to expect if you've availed yourself of the original game's four mission campaign, and I have no desire to engage in rank spoilification if, like ourselves, your good sense has been evacuated and your engorged Buy Things Cortex is in absolute control. It's fine, yes, yes, fine - but the whole ordeal was born in fire. The price was a mistake, the network was not up to the task, and the next time I'm asked to make a choice of this kind there should be evidence that someone has thought seriously about both of these things.

(CW)TB out.

Oh how so true, them words in bold and red! laugh.gif
stringfellow
post Dec 8 2006, 11:35 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

http://news.teamxbox.com/xbox/12404/Ghost-...ter-2-Unveiled/

Ubisoft unveiled today the first images and a teaser trailer of Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter 2, confirming the next installment in the popular squad-based action franchise is currently in development for the Xbox 360, PC, PS3 and PSP. Below you can find the screenshots and a high definition teaser trailer plus a detailed list of the game's features:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ubisoft Announces Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter(tm) 2

Today Ubisoft, one of the world's largest video game publishers, announced that Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter(tm) 2, the next installment in the popular squad-based action franchise, is currently in development for the Xbox 360(tm) video game and entertainment system from Microsoft, the PlayStation(R)3 computer entertainment system, the PSP(R) system and Windows(R) PC. Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter(tm) 2 is being developed by the award-winning teams that created the original Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter(tm) in Ubisoft's Paris and Red Storm Studios. Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter(tm) 2 is scheduled for worldwide release in Spring 2007.

"Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter set the standard for what we know as the next-generation gaming experience," said Laurent Detoc, president of Ubisoft North America. "With Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter 2, Ubisoft is taking all the successful elements in the original to an unparalleled level of quality - the sophisticated technology, weaponry, graphics, story and online gameplay will heighten the intensity and bring gamers an even more amazing experience."

Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter received critical acclaim and quickly became one of the best-selling games on Xbox 360 and one of the most played games on the Xbox Live(R) online gaming service. Recently, the prestigious British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) awarded Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter with "Best Game of the Year" and "Technical Achievement" honors.

Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter 2 builds off of the events in the first game and places gamers in control of the U.S. military's elite fighting unit, the Ghosts. In the year 2014, the rising conflict between Mexican loyalists and insurgent rebel forces has thrown Mexico into full-scale civil war. Under the command of Captain Scott Mitchell, the Ghosts are called upon to face an imminent threat to the United States. The fate of two countries now lies in the hands of the Ghosts as they fend off an attack on U.S. soil. Equipped with the most cutting-edge weaponry and technology, the Ghosts must battle on both sides of the border to neutralize the escalating rebel threat.

Key Features:

Groundbreaking Visual Experience: The war zone in Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter comes to life as you navigate through trash-strewn streets and pick off enemies from behind bomb-scarred structures. The cutting-edge physics and particle systems will show you some of the most intense and realistic explosions, smoke, and environment destruction ever seen in a video game. Dynamic lighting and shadows will morph as real-time day/night cycles and a constantly changing weather system require you to adjust to the changing conditions on the fly.

All-New Battlegrounds: For the first time ever, the Ghosts will defend U.S. soil from a cross-border attack, taking the fight to all-new locations. The Ghosts will battle enemies in mountain terrains, barren deserts and even on their home turf in El Paso, Texas. Each environment presents its own benefits and challenges and will call for fresh tactical approaches.

Vastly Improved Artificial Intelligence (AI): Watch your back as rebels send their own team members to flank your position or gain vantage points by utilizing vertical gameplay to pick you off from the rooftops above. Improved squad-mate AI will now feed you more of the information you need with descriptive commands like "enemy spotted behind red truck ahead."

Improved Cross-Com: The revolutionary new Cross-Com 2.0 will give the player more information than ever before. You will be able to see what your friendly forces see in the top left display and the click of a button will expand that to full-screen view for a clearer and more precise picture. This will give you a more comprehensive view of the entire battlefield. The new Full Command View will allow unprecedented precision in developing and issuing tactical plans on the battlefield.

Expanded Support: Command lethal air strikes with jet fighters, gain mobile cover for otherwise impassable situations and replenish armaments on the battlefield using an unmanned artillery MULE. Players can now heal their team on the battlefield, including squad leader Scott Mitchell, with an all-new Medic class of soldier.

720p Teaser trailer
SDTV Teaser Trailer

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Dec 8 2006, 11:40 PM
stringfellow
post Dec 8 2006, 11:49 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(scpt @ Dec 8 2006, 11:44 PM)
holy shit the graphics look so real drool.gif

somehow i feel this game will be more like a expansion to GRAW than Ghost Recon 4
If you are referring to the last pic, i think that one promo pic, with real life surrounding/real people. The first three is in-game.
stringfellow
post Feb 3 2007, 08:00 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Should i close this thread? Since this thread is young like tapai, not old like wine.
stringfellow
post Feb 3 2007, 08:32 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Arj did that for you already. Merged.
stringfellow
post Feb 4 2007, 12:27 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

I want the demo to last longer. Bringing down that heli would be a better ending than "To Be Continued". The game looks good though....

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0204sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 06:24 AM