Michelin Energy XM2, Quote me Michelin Energy XM2 Tyres Price

Yapmy
post Nov 11 2017, 10:19 AM

Don't count your lucky stars.
1,334 posts

QUOTE(zeng @ Nov 11 2017, 09:48 AM)
Hahaha, I changed a pair of my XM2 at 6 years old of about 110,000 km with 2 mm thread depth left.
According to an image (from Continental Tyre) I uploaded here before, in allowing up to 10 years usage post production, I could have prolonging its usage till 1.6 mm left fully complying with tyre manufacturer/association requirements.
Wow that's really maximizing it. Won't the rubber hardened over 5 years of usage?
zeng
post Nov 11 2017, 12:35 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(Yapmy @ Nov 11 2017, 10:19 AM)
Wow that's really maximizing it. Won't the rubber hardened over 5 years of usage?
Yes, it hardened.
Not only that , it hardened 'severely' at 6 years/110,000 km usage, indeed.
Hardening of tyre in itself (whether in use or in storage) , is never a criteria of discontinuing tyre service ......
as is often expounded as 'truth' in this forum, which I consider as myth as due respect. notworthy.gif

Continental says :-

Continental only recommends, but it never requires , tyre replacement 10 years post manufacturing.
Check with a loyar burok friend meaning of : recommends vs requires.

This post has been edited by zeng: Nov 11 2017, 12:40 PM
19 Degree South
post Nov 11 2017, 02:01 PM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(zeng @ Nov 11 2017, 12:35 PM)
Yes, it hardened.
Hardening of tyre in itself (whether in use or in storage) , is never a criteria of discontinuing tyre service ......
as is often expounded as 'truth' in this forum, which I consider as myth as due respect. notworthy.gif

Continental only recommends, but it never requires , tyre replacement 10 years post manufacturing.
Check with a loyar burok friend meaning of  : recommends vs requires.
Most tyre shops would say change every two Years!They need business correct? I got a spare which is a csc5, three years Liao! Wonder if it is still usable? Such a waste!
zeng
post Nov 11 2017, 05:26 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Nov 11 2017, 02:01 PM)
Most tyre shops would say change every two Years!They need business correct? I got a spare which is a csc5, three years Liao! Wonder if it is still usable? Such a waste!
The image I uploaded earlier is from a Continental handbook, in case you are told by a tyre 'engineer' otherwise.
Yes, 3 years or more spare tyre is still usable, but use it up at earliest opportunity possible.
Meanwhile, you may want to access the spare tyre soonest and reverse the placement to ensure uniformity or evenness for future use.

Yapmy
post Nov 12 2017, 10:26 AM

Don't count your lucky stars.
1,334 posts

Yes, it hardened.

Good info. Thanks for sharing but I'm still not comfortable of using tyres over 5 to 6 years old. Hehe.
tehoice
post Nov 12 2017, 12:27 PM

5,529 posts

anyone know where I can get a bargain for XM2 185/55/16.

Klang or PJ or Subang area. thanks and have a good sunday mate.
chrissaro
post Nov 24 2017, 02:17 PM

Where to get the cheapest deal for Michelin XM2 205/55R16? Thanks in advance
regnox
post Nov 24 2017, 03:19 PM

QUOTE(chrissaro @ Nov 24 2017, 02:17 PM)
Where to get the cheapest deal for Michelin XM2 205/55R16? Thanks in advance
why do u choose this tyre?
6UE5T
post Nov 24 2017, 08:18 PM

1,704 posts

Yes, it hardened.

Hahaha, my CC1 that came original from my wife's car is also already 6+ years old and the tread are actually still quite thick! But got obvious cracks already and yes already hardened hence the already lousy grip tire becomes even lousier if that's even possible! laugh.gif So if really want to continue to use I think still can, just like what Continental said. (Michelin also provides warranty up to 6 yrs for their tires). However, having said so, I had previous experience with a Dunlop, which I use for almost 5 yrs before I changed them. You know what, the tires looked perfectly fine at a glance and they did perform fine right until that time BUT when they dismantle them from the rims, suddenly most of the sidewall rubber collapsed/came off the carcass, cracking all over! I was like shit, just a few weeks ago I still drove them to over 200kph, I suppose God still loves me after all eh! smile.gif So yeah, even though tires might last that long, just be more cautious inspect them more carefully as they get old, especially if you drive long distances on highway speeds. use them at your own risk I suppose.
TSwaiwai_wai
post Nov 26 2017, 01:27 AM

96 posts

QUOTE(zeng @ Nov 11 2017, 05:26 PM)
The image I uploaded earlier is from a Continental handbook, in case you are told by  a tyre 'engineer' otherwise.
Yes, 3 years or more spare tyre is still usable, but use it up at earliest opportunity possible.
Meanwhile, you may want to access the spare tyre soonest and reverse the placement to ensure uniformity or evenness for future use.
haha i have one spare tyre almost 7 years, few weeks ago check with two tyre shop, they say quality okay, still can use no need replace 1st
zeng
post Nov 26 2017, 11:36 AM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(waiwai_wai @ Nov 26 2017, 01:27 AM)
haha i have one spare tyre almost 7 years, few weeks ago check with two tyre shop, they say quality okay, still can use no need replace 1st
7 year old spare tyre unused ?
I think you better find ways to quickly put it into use ..........
as manufacturers do recommend tyre exceeding 6 year post production be not put into use though .
The above '10 year' recommendation is for tyre in use.
TSwaiwai_wai
post Nov 26 2017, 08:27 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(zeng @ Nov 26 2017, 11:36 AM)
7 year old spare tyre unused ?
I think you better find ways to quickly put it into use ..........
as manufacturers do recommend tyre exceeding 6 year post production be not put into use though .
The above '10 year' recommendation is for tyre in use.
no idea oh, because that day i plan to throw my tyre FREE for the tyre shop but they say i still can keep it 1st
I dont want use already , diferent brand, ori sure is Dunlop, me currently use bridgestone /michelin
Waynelee28
post Dec 14 2017, 10:16 PM

QUOTE(Cy016 @ Oct 29 2017, 06:06 PM)
My 4 michelin XM2 tyres 195 55 15 being used for 4 years @90k+ km, so far so good and satisfy with the performance, time to change, not much tread for both front tyres

That day Continental quoted me for rm190 tyre and rm150 for Viking, Bridgestone quoted rm155 for ecopia

For a frequent highway user like me, putting safety and fc into consideration, which option should i go for? Or just stick with XM2?
Bro can pm me where the shop..
Italia
post Dec 16 2017, 01:08 PM

36 posts

Hi all, does XM2 prone to squeak?

With the exception in car park,
it squeaks when I make a uturn slightly faster doh.gif
and
90 degree curve cornering around 60km/h doh.gif

This post has been edited by Italia: Dec 16 2017, 01:09 PM
pinkghost
post Dec 17 2017, 01:38 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(Italia @ Dec 16 2017, 01:08 PM)
Hi all, does XM2 prone to squeak?

With the exception in car park,
it squeaks when I make a uturn slightly faster  doh.gif
and
90 degree curve cornering around 60km/h  doh.gif
90degree @ 60km/h is pretty quick...
alpha
post Dec 29 2017, 02:53 PM

563 posts

how much for xm2 195/60/55? tq
incredibless
post Jan 23 2018, 12:11 PM

437 posts

Using XM2 on Almera. Changed in 40k in 2015 and current mileage is 70k 2017 yet the thread looks new especially for the rear. Looks like this tires are made to last long despite hard cornering and long distance driving.

N33d
post Jan 29 2018, 09:43 AM

896 posts

QUOTE(incredibless @ Jan 23 2018, 12:11 PM)
Using XM2 on Almera. Changed in 40k in 2015 and current mileage is 70k 2017 yet the thread looks new especially for the rear. Looks like this tires are made to last long despite hard cornering and long distance driving.
yes, xm2 is known for its low tread wear.. but looks like u nv rotated the tire after driving 30k? should do that
raayeop
post Jan 29 2018, 02:03 PM

QUOTE(incredibless @ Jan 23 2018, 12:11 PM)
XM2 is really good for distance...

zeng
post Jan 30 2018, 08:23 PM

1,810 posts

My previous pair of XM2 was replaced after almost 6 years and 115,000 km use with tread depth balance of about 2 mm.

24 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0301sec    0.97    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:12 PM