Need advise- car turtled (accident), Roadworthiness issue & insurance matters

allenultra
post Nov 28 2012, 05:21 PM

9,027 posts

QUOTE(zack2381 @ Nov 23 2012, 09:31 AM)
Appreciate cifus advise on this..
opinion from loss adjustors or car owners with similar kind of experience are most welcomed..
car is almost 2 years old (recond built in  2008), victim of a reckless driver..
Thought the car is repairable as what mentioned by the workshop but friends told its totalled - due to structural damages.
Workshop could be conflicted if declared as total loss as no earnings to the workshop as payment will be direct to owner - frens told..
but frens could be wrong as they are not expert in this field..
insurance co / loss adjustors might be conflicted too right? as they trying possible ways to cut costs for their paymaster..

my worried is in term of roadworthiness, if the car can be repaired without compromising safety, why not?
but the workshop said this need 5-6 months to repair- the earliest could be 3 months.. if not a major issues, why taking so long?
what do you guys think?
I do believe I'm in suitable condition to advise you on this matter.
I'm working in collision repair insurance claim workshop (franchise and non-franchise).

May I ask, what is the year of your car built? I don't think the car is not manufactured at year 2008 but registered at 2008.
For insurance claim, usually either serious structural damage or the car repair cost must exceed 65% of the sum insured value, else insurance company will most like to grant repair for this vehicle.
The jurisdiction also depend on which insurance company u insured the car with?
Certain insurance company very hard to total lost even the repair cost exceed 60%.

Nowadays for workshop, we do charge owner RM500 (towing + administration fee, storage fee [mind u, rental in KL is expensive] etc) if the vehicle being claimed total lost. Insurance company won't even pay us a single cent for the work we done to help owner to submit claim, etc. If you think its unfair for workshop to charge you so, then do the claim yourself.
Certain area, the charge due to different in towing fee, police documents fee (nowadays those sergeant is shark, if u dun give them RM50 to RM150, dun think about getting the police report and photo, usually we ask the owner to report and buy the report/photo him/herself).

Usually cars with structural damage, the workshop will only start the repair upon receive the approval letter.
Structural damage can be repaired, provided the correct technique and replacement part, it can done.
Malaysia may not have the proper repair manual to repair Toyota Wish but it can be obtained from Thatcham.Org
A proper workshop shall have the ability to repair the car back. To me, it isn't really that serious.
It shouldn't exceed in RM25k in repair cost, there are many used parts for Toyota Wish the market.

I had a Toyota Wish in my shop b4, something similar like yours but much more serious in damage. The repair cost is just below 35k.

Usually cars like this if being repaired back, owner will be required to apply for JPJ inspection for roadworthyness inspection to ensure proper repair has been done to the vehicle itself, mainly to ensure there isn't "kereta sambung" case that was famous and commonly practice back then in 1980s and 1990s.
The vehicle registration card will be stamped of "roof panel replaced, pillar replaced" and to do the inspection, the owner shall have to bear the cost for all the puspakom vouchers to perform the necessary repair.

I do really think your car is repairable but you have the rights to apply for total lost declaration.
Write in a letter to show your concern about losing confidence of driving this vehicle on the vehicle if it being repaired, etc.

p/s : I only read the first post of the thread, sorry for any words that I may typed wrongly due to not reading all the posts.

This post has been edited by allenultra: Nov 28 2012, 05:22 PM
allenultra
post Nov 28 2012, 07:15 PM

9,027 posts

QUOTE(zack2381 @ Nov 28 2012, 06:05 PM)
thank you for sharing info..

the car built in early 2008, registered here in 2011. The workshop said the car already 5 years by now, hence replacement should be from used part, not new part, under BNM rules. (verification check: issit true the car already 5 years old for the insurance purpose?)

as for 65% mark, if the loss adjuster value the car lower and the workshop up the repair ost price, wouldnt it able to reach 65% mark?..pls note i had my other car repaired in workshop, not serious though, just change the front bonet and front lights and spray(nothing on the engine)- it costed the insurance co for RM7k already for used part (according to insurance claim).. for this kind of damages, i imagine the cost should escalate few times higher..

my insurance from etiqa, same also for the car that hit me, but singapore branch.. towing, police report are all done, im not the one being summoned.

yup, the workshop will only start doing the repair work once JPJ approval letter is obtained. In this case, the owner must do themselves, not the workshop (verification check: issit true?)

so the structure panel can be properly repaired without kes "sambung" case? Why i should be the one have to incur costs for JPJ or PUSPAKOM inspection? is it claimable to the insurance company? what happen if the car proceeded to repair and then thereafter PUSPAKOM reject it? what happen then?

[The vehicle registration card will be stamped of "roof panel replaced, pillar replaced"] - this will make the car is not saleable in the secondary market as peoples are car about safety risk too...i view this as a total loss due to this reason as well..

on the letter, to whom should i address the letter to? chances wise how?
Toyota Wish Year 2008 Market Value

What workshop told you is correct. All for reconditioned vehicle, betterment effective date is calculated based on the 1st of January of the manufactured year.
Refer to the betterment letter attached, your car currently is under 15% betterment charge. Unless you willing to topup for the 15% difference, the workshop will use used/taiwan parts to refurnish and repair your vehicle.

Your car, currently at around RM105k. Based on 65% calculation, you shall know how much of the repair cost required to be certified as total lost.
Your car reach 65% of sum insured? To my experience, it will not. Not a single chance to reach 70k in repair cost approval letter.
There are retail price for adjuster/repairer to follow, Toyota Wish spare part isn't that expensive actually.
I'm not sure what car u used to have for accident claim collision repair, but if u talking about front impact collision sum up to RM7k isn't something special.
Bumper front, headlamp LH/RH, Grille Front, Front Panel Assembly, Radiator, A/C Condenser, Cooling Fan Cover, Cooling Fan Motor and LABOUR can be pretty expensive if you don't know.
I just had a Honda Accord front impact collision (latest model), Headlamp LH/RH, bumper front, fender LH, bumper beam, fog lamp LH + labour = RM8.6k
Radiator and A/C Condenser of the vehicle is intact and in good condition.

For the JPJ approval letter, its either owner apply himself or the workshop can appoint runner to do on behalf. (Runner incur cost, right?)

About the incur cost for JPJ/Puspakom inspection, unless insurance company willing to pay in the approval letter, else owner will have the bear the cost. Why? The workshop not gonna do it for free, it usually will cost few hundred ringgit if appoint a runner to do so. Puspakom will approve it, because JPJ has released such a letter than this vehicle has been repaired/replaced the roof panel, pillar, etc. That's the main intention of having such inspection, to ensure the car is properly repaired. If the car cannot pass, the workshop will be in deep trouble.

About the vehicle registration card stamp issue, its to prove that the car is properly repaired at those area after went through Puspakom inspection.
The car not sell-able, its more to economical reason but not the intention of JPJ/Puspakom inspection which focus into safety issue (proper repair).
This isn't a reason for total loss if you ask me.

The letter? Address to the insurance company.

Something that I need to share with you, it isn't compulsory for Etiqa insured vehicle to perform JPJ/Puspakom inspection for structural damage caused. You can choose not to perform the JPJ inspection, refer to your insurance company. Certain insurance companies like Tokio Marine, MSIG and AIG (used to known as Chartis) made their insured compulsory to perform the JPJ/Puspakom inspection upon any structural damage.

For instance if you choose not to do the JPJ/Puspakom inspection now, you can do it later. There isn't any expiry date (refer to Etiqa for this possibility).
Somehow if next time you want to sell off the vehicle and Puspakom hold you because u din perform any Puspakom inspection due to previous accident, you will need to do the inspection by then.

You, as the owner of the vehicle is the customer of insurance company. You have the rights on what to do with your vehicle, deal with your insurer - Etiqa.
We - body & paint shop (when involving insurance claim), your status are not our customers. Firstly, you are not the one who pay for the repair cost, insurance company does. We are entitle to perform whatever repair based on how they pay us. If the insurance company willing to include the JPJ/Puspakom inspection incur cost (We charge RM300 in Ipoh) into the approval letter, you yourself as the owner will not need to pay for that.

Hope my sharing clear your doubts.

allenultra
post Nov 28 2012, 11:38 PM

9,027 posts

QUOTE(zack2381 @ Nov 28 2012, 07:44 PM)
thanks for the valuable info..my comments in bold

Toyota Wish Year 2008 Market Value

Mine is 1.8 version, not 2.0.

What workshop told you is correct. All for reconditioned vehicle, betterment effective date is calculated based on the 1st of January of the manufactured year.
Refer to the betterment letter attached, your car currently is under 15% betterment charge. Unless you willing to topup for the 15% difference, the workshop will use used/taiwan parts to refurnish and repair your vehicle.

mine is currenlty is not yet 5 years old until next year January..the accident occur before it reaches 5 years. Do you agree?

Your car, currently at around RM105k. Based on 65% calculation, you shall know how much of the repair cost required to be certified as total lost.
Your car reach 65% of sum insured? To my experience, it will not. Not a single chance to reach 70k in repair cost approval letter.
There are retail price for adjuster/repairer to follow, Toyota Wish spare part isn't that expensive actually.
I'm not sure what car u used to have for accident claim collision repair, but if u talking about front impact collision sum up to RM7k isn't something special.
Bumper front, headlamp LH/RH, Grille Front, Front Panel Assembly, Radiator, A/C Condenser, Cooling Fan Cover, Cooling Fan Motor and LABOUR can be pretty expensive if you don't know.

Nothing to do with Radiator, A/C Condenser, Cooling Fan Cover or Motor whatsoever..

I just had a Honda Accord front impact collision (latest model), Headlamp LH/RH, bumper front, fender LH, bumper beam, fog lamp LH + labour = RM8.6k
Radiator and A/C Condenser of the vehicle is intact and in good condition.

I think mine is like yours..so mine is cheaper then..

For the JPJ approval letter, its either owner apply himself or the workshop can appoint runner to do on behalf. (Runner incur cost, right?)

How much it costed?

About the incur cost for JPJ/Puspakom inspection, unless insurance company willing to pay in the approval letter, else owner will have the bear the cost. Why? The workshop not gonna do it for free, it usually will cost few hundred ringgit if appoint a runner to do so. Puspakom will approve it, because JPJ has released such a letter than this vehicle has been repaired/replaced the roof panel, pillar, etc. That's the main intention of having such inspection, to ensure the car is properly repaired. If the car cannot pass, the workshop will be in deep trouble.

JPJ approved the layout repair, PUSPAKOM will check how its done..if the layout by JPJ is ok but the workshop didnot follow, how can it get pass PUSPAKOM then? In my case, the workshop told that the left A pillar and roof need to be replaced. The B pillar at the right got dent but not sure they replace it or not. According to them, JPJ rules doesnt allow 3 structural panel to be replaced. In my case, only 2, but let say my car get hit again, they wont approve further structural repair. This itself makes things scary in term of safety of the car..[verification check: issit true)

About the vehicle registration card stamp issue, its to prove that the car is properly repaired at those area after went through Puspakom inspection.
The car not sell-able, its more to economical reason but not the intention of JPJ/Puspakom inspection which focus into safety issue (proper repair).
This isn't a reason for total loss if you ask me.

If no buyer for my car due to its historical structural repair, its serious concern about the safety of the car, hence they wont take the risk of buying..am i as the driver shouldnt have the similar concern too? i should..

The letter? Address to the insurance company.

Noted

Something that I need to share with you, it isn't compulsory for Etiqa insured vehicle to perform JPJ/Puspakom inspection for structural damage caused. You can choose not to perform the JPJ inspection, refer to your insurance company. Certain insurance companies like Tokio Marine, MSIG and AIG (used to known as Chartis) made their insured compulsory to perform the JPJ/Puspakom inspection upon any structural damage.

Well, im not the one insist for the car to be repaired, but Etiqa could, as they dont want to pay full market value compensation. If the car structural integrity is compromised (as per PUSPAKOM report), what is my rights under this circumstances?

For instance if you choose not to do the JPJ/Puspakom inspection now, you can do it later. There isn't any expiry date (refer to Etiqa for this possibility).
Somehow if next time you want to sell off the vehicle and Puspakom hold you because u din perform any Puspakom inspection due to previous accident, you will need to do the inspection by then.

If i want to sell /trade in the car, this is cannot be avoided, anyway. my plan to go inspect right after the car finish repair.

You, as the owner of the vehicle is the customer of insurance company. You have the rights on what to do with your vehicle, deal with your insurer - Etiqa.

Seems like Loss Adjuster is the most powerful person..

We - body & paint shop (when involving insurance claim), your status are not our customers. Firstly, you are not the one who pay for the repair cost, insurance company does. We are entitle to perform whatever repair based on how they pay us. If the insurance company willing to include the JPJ/Puspakom inspection incur cost (We charge RM300 in Ipoh) into the approval letter, you yourself as the owner will not need to pay for that.

Hope my sharing clear your doubts.
My bad, saw it wrongly. You shall be entitle to new part, fight your rights then.
How much is costed for the JPJ application? We charge our customer RM300, in Perak.

About the 2 to 3 structural parts, for your information most of the insurance company people is not educated with that. You might be the first one among consumer if you bring this case to consumer court, we would be glad if you do so because we (workshop) are waiting for someone like you to appear.

For your information, Normally A pillar design consisted of three layers. The reinforcement is the centre layer and cannot be repaired. By looking at the photo, apparently A pillar outer RH can be repaired. A pillar outer is consider comestic part actually, not really consider structural part for your information. It just a soft layer of metal actually. I could not judge the damage of A pillar reinforcement though.

http://www.toyodiy.com/parts/p_J_2008_TOYO...HPPNK_6101.html

A short checking over here shown that the A pillar is indeed consisted of total 3 layers for Wish Year 2008.
I'm not too sure with the JPJ rule about structural repair of 3 structural parts (max), whether it should be 3 for the whole life of the vehicle or 3 structural parts in the same accident. It does differs.

You and Etiqa basically have the rights to decide whether the car should be repaired or declare total loss. You need information by your side to fight for it, whether an independent adjuster report, or your findings on the JPJ latest regulation on how a vehicle should be repaired, to fight your rights.
We, the workshop only can assist you on that.

Loss adjuster is certainly not the most powerful person. Bank Negara governs all of them.
When I say Bank Negara governs them, I think you shall know where you should the letter to? To express your concern of the car safety if it being repaired.

Added on November 28, 2012, 11:42 pm
QUOTE(zack2381 @ Nov 28 2012, 08:04 PM)
thanks huakenny,

seriously my main worry is about the safety of the car..u as the expert in repair works, what do you think? Should or shouldnt i worry about this thing?put yourself into your shoe..there many forummers ad frens here already warned me about the safety issue if get hit into 2nd accident, so im not sure whether its fair for me to hv such feeling or im too much worrying for something isnt serious at all...its about the safety of myself and my family members i'm care the most. not to mention as i dont want to cause risk to  other road users too..btw, the  actual car condition is worse than what u see in the picture.
but i will accept the reality if the car proceed to repair..well, i dont think the loss adjuster will buy the story about i'll get insomnia if the car get repaired, woudnt they? hehe..
Let me reply to those who have mentioned to you about the safety issue if 2nd accident occurred on the same vehicle, same location.
As long as the parts that cannot be repaired (the damage is kinked, and certain material cannot be repaired & so must be replaced), the integrity of the vehicle is maintained as long as the correct repair process is being done. Puspakom can assure that by performing the JPJ technical inspection.

FYI, only mild steel and comestic parts (fender, door, quarter panel, bonnet, boot lid, bumpers) can be repaired if the damage is minimal.
Reinforcement of Pillars, runningboard panels, chassis, boot floor cannot be repaired and must be repaired.

Its more about proper repair.

Added on November 28, 2012, 11:43 pm
QUOTE(huakenny @ Nov 28 2012, 08:45 PM)
i seen alot accident cases, and there all more serious than urs.

urs is like 'kacang putih' case only...close eyes also can repair actually

at my point of view (if its my car), i just repair n drive
Hey bro, your workshop in Kota Kinabalu?
I think I might have your Association President b4 in the FAWOAM annual dinner.

You guys charging RM800-RM1000 over there, is it mainly because of the 4x4 over there?
Checked your facebook, seem good business over there wink.gif

I'm from Perak.

This post has been edited by allenultra: Nov 28 2012, 11:47 PM
allenultra
post Nov 29 2012, 12:17 AM

9,027 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Nov 29 2012, 12:13 AM)
Too dangerous. I wouldn't drive that car.

Can you get compensated for loss of resale value?

The issue that I have is that in modern cars every part seems to be important and designed to make the car safer. In the oldern days, yes, only a few parts so important. But these days from what I know the strength of every single metal piece is carefully chosen to absorb the most energy as smoothly as possible so serious injuries can be avoided. Any repair, even welding completely new pieces to it, should have an impact on the safety of the vehicle.
If the owner is not at fault, the insured is entitle to claim "loss of resale value, loss of vehicle use, loss of insurance premium etc" from the third party insurance.
How much will they pay is another matter though.

allenultra
post Nov 29 2012, 12:39 AM

9,027 posts

QUOTE(huakenny @ Nov 29 2012, 12:35 AM)
is not bout how much they will compensate...is how many years they are going to approve it...lolz

my customer claimed kurnia...6years.... doh.gif

by the way, im from kk. i visited ipoh Soo Kee before, i bought the  same chassis measuring system like him too from d same supplier.
I just had State Association meeting with Soo Kee 2 hours ago.
What a small world.
I remember I visited a workshop in KK, with surname Loke more than 10 years ago.

Is KK president chong ah kau? I hope my memory serves me well.

Kurnia does takes very long.
My own car from Zurich, 2 months. It depends actually, not all insurance companies take forever. Owner has to follow up on that.

This post has been edited by allenultra: Nov 29 2012, 12:39 AM
allenultra
post Nov 29 2012, 12:49 AM

9,027 posts

QUOTE(huakenny @ Nov 29 2012, 12:43 AM)
how dangerous is dangerous bro?

if the A pillar is seriously damaged, ok la...i accepted your statement..its dangerous to replace/fix it back

but if just based on TS provided photos, it is just A Pillar outer layer problem only, its skin only bro....

but if skin damaged also considered dangerous, then i got no comment

Added on November 29, 2012, 12:45 am

10 yrs ago i still a kid

now me n my bro starting to handle the workshop edi, its family business.....

thats why my shop is updated in kk...the equipments i bought, only i got at kk. other workshops still canot accept new technologies, sad
huakenny, you are over estimate the damage of the A pillar LEFT.
The A pillar reinforcement is kink and bent, it need to be replaced, not just the outer layer only. Its not just "skin" as you mentioned, its one of the structural part.
I'm not sure if you have attend TTS (Thatcham Time System) or VDA (Vehicle Damage Assessors), if you haven't, you consider do so. Or send your estimator for this course. Do consult MRC for it.

10 years ago, I'm in my high school anyway. Same here, family business.

allenultra
post Nov 29 2012, 12:56 AM

9,027 posts

QUOTE(huakenny @ Nov 29 2012, 12:52 AM)
cant really see it clear from d photos..need more photos actually if possible

no worries.i graduated in automotive and business field, same to my bro ..we all degree holder...just no time follow soo kee they all go oversea only
Its not about where you graduate, etc.
TTS, and VDA have nothing to do with degree holder or whatsoever.
I believe you know that well too.

Checked the fourth photos, it clearly shown that the A pillar reinforcement is deformed and need to be replaced.

VDA-uk is nothing much actually, easily passable exam. They more concern to safety items than us, anything else, we are much better than them in repair process. Our people knowing those repair knowledge, we can be much better than them coz the car hardly repair over there is serious accident.
allenultra
post Nov 29 2012, 10:26 AM

9,027 posts

QUOTE(zack2381 @ Nov 29 2012, 09:39 AM)
Hi there, the workshop said, the A-pillar need to be replaced (its not about the A-pillar skin/layer) - the roof must be changed, and the left sider B-pillar which got dent (on the skin) can be repaired (no need to replace)..so i guess, no question about this right? well, right A-pillar got dent on the skin too..so they view this as only two structural part involve which need to replaced..the way they told me that the A pillar and roof part need to replaced and install..thats it..same like door panel..(verification check: issit true?]

JPJ will not approve if the replacement involved 3 structural part - the workshop told me that ..So mine is 2..[verification check: issit true?]

if change 1 structural part= less dangerous
if 2 = 50:50 dangereous
if 3 = dangerous

Forgot to mention that my rear tyre shaft (not sure the correct name part, but its the big metal that joint both rear tyres) already broken..need to be replaced too..not sure how much it costed..

Sorry, if i too much asking..hope this discussion benefit others too..
I have to agreed with the workshop you sent the car to, where they viewed as two structural damage parts based on the photos you posted.
Again, I might be wrong because I couldn't not touch the car to feel the primary and secondary damage because of the accident.

Just check with toyodiy.com where your car vehicle is with Suspension Crossmember Rear, it just a suspension crossmember that can be removed with bolt and nuts, no worry about that. Easily replaceable.

You are not asking a lot actually. Actually I hope you do ask more.
People have been pushing all the blames to the workshop instead of insurance companies (We will receive if we as workshop did something wrong but be scapegoat for insurance companies? nah).

Huakenny and me would be glad to share our experience with you, there are something we are not updated too. JPJ Technical Inspection specification keep on changing, there isn't any consistency in that yet. The head of every JPJ technical team said different story when come into JPJ technical inspection application.

zack, if you insist, send your car to a workshop with 3D computer dimensional measuring. Those machines can print before and after repair structural part dimension.

Added on November 29, 2012, 10:28 am
QUOTE(huakenny @ Nov 29 2012, 10:14 AM)
no worries la bro..we attended those edi, thanks by the way...any further courses do inform me also. next time i go Perak will kacau u at ur shop ok

some courses we din attend coz most courses held at west malaysia, east malaysia very seldom

the 4th photo i saw...but not clear enough for me.

roof confirmed replaced, LH side door replaced, RH front fender(50:50), RH frt door (50:50)

rear axle replaced(its gone if i see it clear in photo)

nex time come kk find me lo
Cantik, must find big boss huakenny belanja makan seafood tongue.gif

Btw, the iVDA-UK might be discontinued soon. MRC is thinking of local version of iVDA-UK....
Do update with Diana & Khiew from MRC, they have the latest info.
I do believe you can be one of the trainers in East Malaysia.

Do come kacau my shop, mine a tiny shop.
I seen your facebook, you do really have tons of facilities. I must site visit your place one day soon.

This post has been edited by allenultra: Nov 29 2012, 10:28 AM
allenultra
post Nov 29 2012, 02:11 PM

9,027 posts

QUOTE(huakenny @ Nov 29 2012, 01:25 PM)
you are right......

some loss adjusters i believed are knowlegdeable, as they do attend some courses too(minority).

u can talk to the loss adjuster regarding your car, tell him those parts need to replace instead of repair.

Normally loss adjuster wont over-paying the amount, they will cut cut cut and cut tongue.gif....

Etiqa is a good insurance company in Malaysia, so you do not need to worry about it

so what is the progress now TS??
Etiqa is ok but not their panel adjusters.

Especially Associated Adjusters and Leong Adjustment, not sure of East Malaysia but in Peninsular, we plan to boycott them in Perak and this activity has been brought to FAWOAM for further discussion.
Sibu is planning to boycott Century adjusters if things don't improve in the near future.
allenultra
post Nov 29 2012, 04:10 PM

9,027 posts

QUOTE(zack2381 @ Nov 29 2012, 02:28 PM)
the progress currently is that the Loss Adjuster has yet to inspect the car..almost 3 weeks already lor..im sure the loss of use benefit amount wont cover this 3 weeks period tho..seriously the BNM guideline is more sided to Insurance co rather than the consumer..

Added on November 29, 2012, 2:29 pm
why boycott the loss adjuster? becoz they seems not able to cut cut cut the cost to the insurance co ?

Added on November 29, 2012, 2:31 pm

ok thanks, are u from workshp, insurance agent, loss adjuster or just a car owner like me?

Added on November 29, 2012, 2:42 pm

sorry if this question is seen prejudice to the workshop owner, but its not intended, and i believe the workshp owner also own a car..so they can wear two hats in this case..

what if the loss adjuster tell the workshp owner that the car has 50:50 chances of total lost..they think they can recommend either total loss or otherwise..put your place in the shoe of the workshp owner, what would be your recommendation?

Do you think as the workshop owner, they will trying best enuff to persuade them (the loss adjuster) to recommend for repair instead of total loss? To do that, they will quote the repair price right below the say 65% mark..this to help the loss adjuster on their paper..

Why im asking this coz,  if the car proceed to repair, the workshp owner has business, if declare total loss, then no business..is my logic logical?
Why boycott? When they are slashing off without reasons and give RM50 to spray one bonnet or a bumper, then you will understand why we would want to boycott those adjusters. We are not even talking about making profit but just of breakeven.

zack, for your last question even though you pointed towards huakenny, I do want to share a bit of my experience in it.
In our case, we only want to repair a car if it repairable and the conditions of the vehicle after repaired is driveable and still give owners' good driving experience.
All workshops have to provide the owners a minimum of 90 days warranty for all parts related to accident, do u think we want to waste our time doing repeating job on solving something that may not "solvable"?
Some insurance companies even insist up 6 months warranty.

I do see that certain insurance companies very much reluctant to declare total loss for their customers' vehicle, even though the repair cost exceed 70% of sum insured.

Seriously the business isn't as profitable as you think, there are a lot hidden costs.
I wouldn't want to repair a vehicle that is badly damaged, it may take several months to repair the vehicle and money need to be paid to my suppliers and I may only collect the payment from insurance payment up to 2/3 months after vehicle being delivered. The profit margin doesn't justify such activities.
In 1980s/90s, yes. After y2k, not really.
allenultra
post Nov 29 2012, 05:00 PM

9,027 posts

QUOTE(zack2381 @ Nov 29 2012, 04:44 PM)
To Huakenny and ALlenultra, what is your comments on these 2 comments from the forummer, from your perspective as the car workshop owner/operator?

Comments from kadajawi

"Even if you only replace the roof I doubt the structural integrity will be as good as with an undamaged car. Keep in mind that every single part of the car was engineered to break and crumble at exactly the right pressure (maybe this does not apply to Japanese cars... at least ASEAN spec ones). It all works together in order to absorb as much energy as possible, as smoothly as possible. How is a workshop supposed to get it exactly right? Exactly the right rigidity? They don't have the data, and even if, I doubt it can be done"

Comment from bubble ring

"Crumble zone meant to be crumble. How the workshop determine the right amount of "reinforce" needed? "
Comments from kadajawi, that's where the 3 dimension measuring come into equation. The data of an undamaged vehicle can either obtained from the manufacturer/vendor or just simply measure from a good condition same model vehicle.
Check huakenny previous link about the 3d dimensional measuring. It can be done on body over frame chassis and unibody chassis type.
Actually every manufacturers do have the repair manual for every cars they manufactured, how/where to cut/repair and joint back the parts.
Different welding technique being applied on a part to ensure integrity of the vehicle.
How bodyparts being joint together during manufacturing and repair after accident may differs.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YGC3dFCRgGM
Not sure how to attach youtube video here.

It can be a good video how BMW instructed their repairer to apply this method to repair certain bodyparts.

In UK, they do. Somehow, it is not commonly practiced in Malaysia and many countries worldwide AFAIK.
Huakenny does have Chief Chassis Straightener bench with computer measuring (usually in laser sensor type) in his premise, we also bought a similar setup in our premise, mainly for vehicles with huge damage.

I dun really understand the 2nd question from bubble ring though.....
Right amount of "reinforce" needed? Does he mean how to replace structural part?

This post has been edited by allenultra: Nov 29 2012, 05:02 PM
allenultra
post Nov 29 2012, 07:10 PM

9,027 posts

Zack, send me your email. I might able to send some copy or letters where my clients sent to insurance companies to request for total lost.

Sometimes insurance companies do react based on your profession, they hardly messed up with lawyer, etc.

Overturn is always the worst to repair, wind noise....etc, nightmare.

The best would be front impact accident with airbag deployed. Maximum profit with much shorter repair time. whistling.gif

0.0283sec    1.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 03:13 AM