°° LYN Honda Insight Owners Thread V6 °°, Support Green | Support Hybrid

cy97
post Jan 13 2013, 11:42 AM

1,140 posts

QUOTE(Alvin330000421 @ Dec 19 2012, 10:10 AM)
Which is why I am pondering to buy a used hybrid car. But i haven't seen one yet displayed by used car dealers.

Nobody can trust the used car dealers lah but one fact for sure, used car dealers don't like hybrids because they need to display cars for years (take up shelf space) before they can sell it. The hybrid car batteries makes it unattractive.
Yup i recent bought a civic hybrid 2010 march at 85k otr (still got 3 months warranty). it really like new and comparing with the non hybrid civic used cars that is on sale which not only expensive, aged, and local assembled, HCH really blow them away. there is no civic hybrid thread? tumpang here. yes it is good second hand hybrid market now.

This post has been edited by cy97: Jan 13 2013, 11:45 AM
cy97
post Jan 17 2013, 09:29 PM

1,140 posts

My ride...

cy97
post Apr 20 2013, 10:31 PM

1,140 posts

QUOTE(Solo7851 @ Apr 20 2013, 04:30 PM)
Hi I am an Insight driver for almost 2 years now and I just joined this Forum.
I have this same issue of the IMA Battery discharging very fast when going uphill (even slight hill) the discharge is to almost to the end.
And then the recharge is also quite quick but not as quick as the discharge so I used to get 5L/100km but now only 6L/100km.
I asked SC during my 30K service and he said he checked and nothing was wrong  mad.gif
Perhaps I will ask SC to do the 12V battery test then?
I have civic hybrid 2010 IMA battery replaced FOC by honda. If you have symptom of rapid discharge and rapid charge, it is sign if imminent battery failure. The IMA indicator will appear soon.

If you complaint to HSC they will tell you is normal. You must call honda malaysia. honda malaysia will then instruct the HSC to call you and bring the car for further checking. HSC will then download your car data and send to Honda malaysia for analysis. All the abnormality like rapid discharge will appear as error code in the data. When Honda Malaysia satisfy that it is indeed a problem, they will instruct HSC to have your battery replaCed foc. Better get it fixed before warranty expired.

It is very annoying to suddenly lose IMA assist.
cy97
post Apr 21 2013, 10:12 AM

1,140 posts

QUOTE(Area51SE @ Apr 21 2013, 12:03 AM)
So do we have to wait till the IMA indicator appears only complain or we can complain now?
No. In fact the when i sent for inspection. The ima light is not lit yet. While waiting for the results if analysis which is about a. Month from inspection date till they call me for appointment to have it replaced, the ima light lit.

So weather it lit or not does not influence the decision to have it replaced.
cy97
post Jun 5 2013, 08:22 PM

1,140 posts

The drop of battery price coupled with extended warranty period will definitely boost resale value of Honda hybrics.
cy97
post Aug 14 2013, 08:08 AM

1,140 posts

QUOTE(sebz @ Aug 14 2013, 03:21 AM)
hello fellow honda insighter

my fren who bought honda insight cbu 2 years ago and havign this issue almost a year.

symptom
-when climb hill for about 25 sec , ima battery indicator dramatically dropped from 100% to 20% . eventually the car felt extremely sluggish because not only the engine have to propel the car, but also have to keep charging the ima at the same time .

-during normal cruising , step harder on the pedal it gv u extra accer. but it wont last long like probably a minute  till the battery reach 50% below and the ima start charging again and losing power.

due to freq depleted battery level and charge need , he used to cruise from 6++km per tank back then and now to 5++km something only.

helpdesk
did refer to most hsc , they found nth wrong n refuse to gv detail checkup since no error indicator light on the ipu.
even the honda malaysia representative came and see , still cant clarify what exactly happening.

my fren did change a new 12v batt still doesnt help much , he suspect the battery unit are faulty or some bug while honda sc wont do anything.
so any sifu here can gv some explain or solution? newbie here icon_question.gif
Read my thread on this issue. Hope it helps.

IMA battery rapid charge n discharge

cy97
post Dec 1 2013, 07:52 PM

1,140 posts

I m a civic hybric owner. After bad experience with outside (under tree) workshop with my prevoius car, i have decided to stick with hsc. I already opted for 10 k service interval with full synthetic oil. My service centre had no qualm over it as new civic already went for 10 k service interval and i see no difference on the built quality between my yr 2010 to current 2012 version, moreover our car is cbu and supposedly better built quality.

0.0222sec    1.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 04:39 PM