°° LYN Honda Insight Owners Thread V6 °°, Support Green | Support Hybrid

Hexane
post Nov 26 2016, 03:42 AM

29 posts

Hello guys,
One of my friends accidentally used 10W-40 Liqui Moly MoS2 Leichtlauf - Semi Synthetic on his 2011 Insight. He's now a bit worried. Will it affect other than the km/L? Should he change or just wait till next service and revert back to Honda 0W-20?

I read that in Asia, 10W-40 quite safe, especially if let the car warm up first before use, but become worried if it will affect the engine due to Insight's auto-start/stop feature. He said he went different shop and forgot to ask for Honda 0W-20, get the Liqui Moly 10W-40.

Thanks in advance

This post has been edited by Hexane: Nov 26 2016, 07:17 PM
Hexane
post Nov 27 2016, 07:15 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(halcyon27 @ Nov 26 2016, 09:55 PM)
Ask him about the fuel efficiency per trip. Toggle the Multi function display (MFD) so he can view the current against the last three trip's fuel efficiency.

Normally, 0W20 is meant for slow unker driving ie sweet spot between 65-80. Higher speed driving pattern on it should expect sooner replacement i.e. shorter interval.

My preference would be Honda 0W30 for our weather but the ideal for this mostly highway rather than city where the 0W20 excels.

The Liqui Moly benefits Euro or Turbo equipped vehicles. Not sure if it's sluggish due to its viscosity. Only way to find out is use it until 10000-15000km interval. The API spec would be SN so that's fine but yeah normally Euro build vehicles use it.
Wow thanks, thats one way to see it. My brother who works in lubricant manufacturing plants told me that by right, engine should not be suffering any loss except for in terms of efficiency and performance. As long as there's quality oil inside, the difference is negligible. I kind of see his point, just hope for the best though.

By the way, the sad thing is that my friend said the milage for the last 3 trips were already all were recorded in conditions that the engine was lubed with the 10W-40 Liqui Moly, so he cant give an exact number. But from experience, his milage is around 21.6km/L. It is now at 21.2km/L. This is however a bit biased as this is all recorded on highways, not city driving. Maybe after he starts his shifts tomorrow and come back from kampung, then he'll be able to properly differentiate between the two.

The car is however vibrating a tad bit more than before in idle mode. Could be its only in my head though, haha. Now he's considering to get Mobil1 0W-20 for his next oil change (which he plans to do at 6,000km instead of 7,000km due to worries), should I just ask him to stick with Honda lubes or Mobil1 is as good?

Enjoy your weekends everyone

This post has been edited by Hexane: Nov 27 2016, 07:17 AM
Hexane
post Feb 7 2017, 07:13 AM

29 posts

guys, care to share if anyone uses any other brands or viscosity of engine oil for ur Honda Insight? other than the suggested Honda EO 0W-20

im currently using Honda EO 0W-30 but am very interested in trying out other EOs. some of the EOs that i had in mind is

1) Magnatec Fully Syn 5W-30. the company seems to emphasize its capability in start-stop engines. so im very interested to know
2) Bosch Fully Syn 5W-30. this one im more on curious side, but a bit worried as bosch is a big company and lubricants might not be their niche. still, i'd love to get reviews if any
3) Petronas Syntium 5000 0w-30. i heard ppl say petronas EO is actually very superior. would like to hear ur thoughts on this
4) Petronas Syntium 3000 SE 5w-30. also same point as above

im mainly considering this because the 0w-20 interval to next change is shorter if compared to those with 30 viscosity, but at the same time im worried to go to 40 as it might be too thick to handle. correct me if im wrong though

This post has been edited by Hexane: Feb 7 2017, 07:17 AM
Hexane
post Feb 14 2017, 08:38 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(halcyon27 @ Feb 11 2017, 10:18 PM)
I'll stick with xW20-30. The brands you mentioned are ok I think. Eneos and Idemitsu is the other. There's supposedly some Korean ones which can be ok too like S-Oil or SKilubes. The European ones are geared towards the major manufacturers (Audi, MB, BMW, VW) unless they conform to API SN. The American oil would be another line Conoco Philips and what UMW Toyota used for their Vios long ago. The South Korean lubes that can be considered are:SKi's ZIC x7 FE 0W20 but that's only available in 3l. The other is ZIC x7 FE 0W30 but the price is on the high side.

Update: I've always seen it around but forgot about Amsoil. There's a distributor in MY and a LYN thread selling it. Here's an interesting write-up. It pays to pays to know the oil.
Conoco Philips spun off their lubrication biz into Conoco66. Looking at their site, this is what they recommend.
Wow, thanks for taking the time and making the effort to reply with so much info and links. This all very new to me, I have read most (not yet all) of the links that you provided and will finish with time. So I guess for our Honda Insight, its best to stick with Idemitsu/Honda if don't know much about engine oil to begin with. I'll most probably stick with 0W-20 or 0W-30 Honda for the time being as its specifically made by Japanese company for Japanese manufactured cars. Do hope that our start/stop helps in keeping the OCI lower when calculated in km's alone.

I read in previous posts that 0W-20 can go up till 10,000km. Luckily now I'm not doing much long hours on highways. 0W-20 and 0W-30 shines best in urban areas thumbup.gif
Hexane
post Feb 19 2017, 11:31 PM

29 posts

Guys, a quick question.

What Honda oil filter code can fit for Honda Insight. My friend wanna sell me his 15400-RAF-T01 Honda Oil Filters because he's not using the genuine ones. He uses K&N filters for his Honda City and wanna sell them to me.

Will it fit? And extra, may I know the code for our Honda Insight?
Hexane
post Feb 20 2017, 05:44 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Feb 20 2017, 12:33 PM)
yeah, it seems like it is a common prob for 2011 insight. and funny part is not conclusive cause of problem.
happened to my car too. 2011 model with 132k clocked. 90% works fine, but if cruising 100-110 on highways, will have 5mins of hot air, then back to normal

happens once or twice a month
Hexane
post Feb 22 2017, 10:25 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Feb 20 2017, 10:14 PM)
mine the hair lasts for longer before cold air is back again.

I had sent my car to two different honda service centre for check-up but both centre also does not know the prob and just advise me to change the whole compressor set which it costs rm4k++ with labour.
wah thats a big hit to the wallet. but now ok edy or how?

QUOTE(WT2 @ Feb 21 2017, 10:31 AM)
Mine clocking 220k. only recently have aircon problem. never change my plug and cvvt oil. Not sure what will come out next.
Start to have 'geinnggggg' high pitch sound come out from engine when start engine, but gone after travel for awhile.
our plugs can last how long eh? mine 132k++ still dun feel any misfires or significant power loss. and cvvt for what eh? i only know cvtf but that one max 30k will feel major difference while idling

Hexane
post Feb 22 2017, 12:50 PM

29 posts

http://www.mudah.my/nano-house - Just a share, this guy sells Honda fluids at good prices. COD-ed with him few days back, friendly and gave bulk price if buy more than 2 bottles

Good for ppl who finish warranty and do on their own
Hexane
post Apr 5 2017, 03:51 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(kelvintkw87 @ Apr 5 2017, 10:17 AM)
@limkj @halcyon27

I called and checked with Honda. WWL 335 is indeed BHL8686. Previous mileage is 143K KM, and now reset to 74K KM.

I tell you.. these used car fellas are just..
Your hardwork detective skills paying off. I think the fact that they reset and didnt tell you speaks for itself

My 2011 Insight havent clocked that much and so far no prob but them changing it like that does look like a red flag, if not anything more.

Just my 2 cents
Hexane
post Apr 6 2017, 07:52 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(kelvintkw87 @ Apr 5 2017, 05:48 PM)
On the other hand, I found a high mileage private owner wanted to sell.. 200+k KM with full Honda service records.

Is it a good buy? 2011 model.
Thanks for the heads up on the car. Imho, check the service record for overhaul or any prob at that. Try and drive the car at 90km/h-110km/h speed cruising for around 10 mins. See if there is any aircond or acceleration problems. In short slow rides, the Insight might hold well. But usually its when we're cruising that some components starts to make noise. Heard complaints of clunking noise from driver side, wooish wind noise from passanger side (which i think is on all Insight 2011) but to me the aircond quite important. Try put it at around 22-24'C and cruise at 2.5k rpm, if sudenly become hot you will notice. If you put at 18'C, wont feel much difference

Im suggesting this because clocking 200+k km is quite a lot. A lot might happen to the car, but the full record should be good, given that he actually does most of the suggested repairs and whatnot

But then again, I'm not yet a sifu. Hehe

QUOTE(Emimarson @ Apr 6 2017, 01:50 AM)
Which years till 2012 the best in reliability?
I am planning to buy for Grabcar usage.
Has many problems?
I did Uber with my car once. Super hot during peak hours. The Insight is nice for going from point A to point B but if wanna get a car for Uber/Grab, I would suggest to get a brand new Axia, the fuel consumption might be a bit low but to me if you can get a new Axia, with warranty and FOC service .. its a better deal

I mean if you wanna buy to use for Grab/Uber, you might be clocking 200km per day (assuming you get 5 riders per hour, for 4 hours a day, 1 rider 10km each. thats 5*4*10=200km) thats around 1,000km per week. If you make it a full time job with 8 hours, double that number to 2,000km per week. Thats 4,000km / month not including your usage outside of Grab/Uber

Dont get me wrong, the Insight is a great piece of machinery. But the maintenance is really expensive and what you earn from Grab/Uber might all just go there. Even if you do servicing outsude, tyres around RM200 per piece, spark plug almost RM1k for whole set of 8 pcs, change oil around RM150 every 10,000km but if you go through the service packages in this forum, you can see that there were some that even reach RM>1k service at SC

On the other hand. If you get an Axia, it might cost less, cheaper maintenance and acceptable fuel consumption. They use 3L of Perodua (Petronas) 0W20 on default, trying to focus on fuel consumption. And worst case scenario, motorcyclist banged you on the side, a repair on an Axia wont be as expensive as Insight. Not to say that it will happen, but logically speaking spending more time on the road also increases probability to be involved in these minor accidents

Im saying all this because I actually did Uber with my Insight for a while. Just to share my experience. In the end I noticed that I was clocking my car way too fast. Usually I'd go around 3,500km per month. But when I did Uber, it went to 8,000km per month and I had to change oil every 5 weeks. Sure I got the quick money but to me it was at the expense of my car and it was simply not sustainable

On the point of Uber/Grab, I like to use their service but imho it is almost unfair to the drivers. Rider pay RM10, driver get RM8, Uber/Grab gets RM2. But driver have to pay for petrol & maintenance. If driver drives new Axia also, he might have to pay for loans (for the sake of this explanation assume 5 years), if he clocks 6,000km per month because become full time driver and his own driving needs. He'll clock around 70,000km per year. Thats 200,000km in 3 years. Not sure if he can sustain until 5 years minimum to pay off loans.

Just a discussion and one side of the coin

This post has been edited by Hexane: Apr 6 2017, 07:58 AM
Hexane
post Aug 17 2019, 03:32 PM

29 posts

Insight 2011 driver here

So far I do my own oil change, filter change, even fuel filter (but super difficult and plan to do next fuel filter change at shop) after finished warranty period. Got it second hand

Already clocked 181,000km on it

Parts changed - Magnetic clutch for aircond

At 160,000 started having symptoms of sudden hot air while driving. Got worse, having hot air after car idling or after turned off

Changed for RM330 with labour. Now all is fine again
Many shops asked to change whole AC unit. Found in forums that it might be due to magnetic clutch

So far still getting 20-24km/L for highway, 17-20km/L for city driving. Personally, if given option, I’d rather buy a well maintained <80,000km Honda Insight rather than new local sedan
Hexane
post Aug 19 2019, 11:25 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(toos99 @ Aug 18 2019, 07:04 PM)
Replaced at Hinly?
I went to a shop in Batu Caves. I might have accidentally put my finger on important part of the address though. Luckily its on Google Maps. Plus the uncle (owner) is active on whatsapp too. I whatsapped him the symptoms

“hello bos, i got ur number from my brother sent car for aircond repair

want to ask, do you repair Keihin aircond models? my car is Honda Insight 2011 with Keihin HSK-70 written on the A/C unit

it is still cold. but sometime got hot suddenly, for 1-2 hours, then cold again”

My message was quite simple, and I purposely didnt point out i suspect its magnetic clutch. Just to see if what he has to say. He called my hp after half an hour and said it might be magnetic clutch as there is still good cold air, meaning compressor and circulation of refrigerant should still be fine. Even brought me to the back of the workshop to show me the components. His shop is mainly a store for Denso dealers in Klang Valley. Few runners come to take stuff for their workshops. His workshop is like 2nd business already, main business become Denso distributor

In my opinion I like how the staffs are very transparent and dont try to upsell other items

Cant see well in the picture, but the old clutch has worn out and become smooth. He say many shop either genuinely dont know or on purpose dont do anything because if clutch fails over a long period of time, the compressor will fail. And when that happens, customer will come back with no cold air and forced to buy whole AC unit which is more profitable

Its the first shop that could diagnose just by giving the symptoms. Other shops I went told me to ganti new AC unit and told me its the only way

Edit: Changed picture

This post has been edited by Hexane: Aug 19 2019, 11:26 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
Hexane
post Aug 21 2019, 03:39 PM

29 posts

Guys, I wanna ask regarding absorbers. I’m keen on getting a new one, but not sure which shop or which brand should I choose

Previously I’ve only been sitting on the front seat. Recently my wife gave birth and I’m very strict about safety, so my daughter sits in a carseat in the rear part of the car, with my wife.

Everytime I hit a bump, the rear passenger feels it more than the front ppl in the car. So I changed seats, with my wife driving surely enough it feels quite bad. Not like tin kosong or anything but I think after clocking 180k, maybe changing the absorbers would be a necessity that I’ve looked past also

So, any suggestions and estimation? Thanks in advance
Hexane
post Dec 3 2019, 12:00 PM

29 posts

An update for fellow Honda Insight drivers out there

I just changed my absorbers. Both front and rear sets

Intro: My car has clocked 190,000km this week. My driving style is rather light-footed, driving conditions not so bad. I dont hit bumps driving fast

Recently changed my brakepads to Akebono brand around 1 month ago. Braking has improved but noted that the nose of the car tends to dip when braking

Otherwise, did note some slight understeering when going down Genting road this past 2 months. I travel Teluk Intan-Kuantan from time to time. No jumpy boat-like sensation. Jump/Push test over bonnet and boot does not seem to show any absorber failure

Bought KYB absorbers because difficult to find Showa brand. Our car uses Showa brand. Opted for KYB OEM for Honda City TMO for all front and rear sets

Got mine from Fondah Auto Spares, number and address from official KYB web
Rear: 348021M, RM105/each
Front: 338010M (Right), 338009M (Left), RM145/each
Total RM500

I opted for pasang at a workshop I usually go to when I dont have the proper tools to do my DIY projects

Cost for pasang is RM90 including wheel alignment post change absorbers

Final result: Car is slightly lower. By 0.5cm when using measuring tape. Might be caused by the hybrid battery and absorber was for City TMO? But its not much difference until scrape the bumps or anything

Cornering feels better now. Never realised that the car had swaying all these while. Maybe because it was slowly deteriorating that I adapted. Now the weight feels properly adjusted during tight cornering and even braking

The bumps and potholes feels better. I thought stiffer means harsher but turns out its better than the old ones

Now that I’ve changed my tires, brake pads, absorbers and cleaned the throttle body, car feel much better. Hut fuel milage not as good as when it was young. Previously I can get 23-24km/L easily. Now its 20-22km/L only. Maybe the battery is slowly losing its capacity

This post has been edited by Hexane: Dec 3 2019, 12:10 PM

0.0223sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 07:52 PM