°° LYN Honda Insight Owners Thread V6 °°, Support Green | Support Hybrid

alxdc
post Aug 23 2013, 12:32 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(cjlai @ Aug 22 2013, 05:56 PM)
no they dun....  but they ship to my US address and i ship it back by DHL smile.gif
The amount u spent on the shippings. My as well u buy a Philip or osram hid in malaysia.
alxdc
post Jan 20 2014, 09:15 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(cbinn @ Jan 17 2014, 05:14 PM)
Bought from spare part shop. Honda CVTF Fluid, just like those use by SC. The gearbox in insight is similar to the rest of honda family like city and jazz.
current jazz and city is not using CVT anymore, its using 5 speed auto gearbox.
so is not similar.
alxdc
post Jan 20 2014, 04:51 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(dc_hunter @ Jan 20 2014, 01:32 PM)
my insight is just 102k km today... guess what, rear absorber oil leakage.

RM1050 for a pair... somemore got 8 iridium spark plug to change

this month can eat sand liao...
what! that 2 pc stick rear absorber cost rm1050?
alxdc
post Jan 23 2014, 10:20 AM

71 posts

I dunno about you guys, how about purchase a honda city rear absorber that cost around rm 250 a pc or honda jazz or jazz hybrid ckd and change it in a work shop? the absorber pressure maybe differ but, maybe is the same or what so ever, who knows
alxdc
post Jan 23 2014, 10:26 AM

71 posts

touch wood if any of the parts that i can't get warranty or warranty over, will try to get any ckd parts that are similar and replace it. example like the side folding mirror glass, rear absorber, wheel bearing, brake pad, anything that is similar with ckd and do it outside.

This post has been edited by alxdc: Jan 23 2014, 10:27 AM
alxdc
post Feb 19 2014, 09:06 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(threepagi @ Feb 18 2014, 06:51 PM)
hi guyz, im new owner of used insight..
blame me due to lack of knowledge during pruchase used car..so im facing few problems. went to honda and they said it going to take a week to just check my system with payment of 250, just would like to get 2nd opinion:

Problems faced:
1) alarm blikning like 9times after locking the car
2) spare tyre cant be use, diff size, anybody know wer to find a spare tyre
3) electronic features : auto stop not functioning, cruise, cant b use, auto light not function,
4) no usb cable

if any of my new friends here got resources to help pls do so, i check again if there's more problems to be found..
wow...sorry to hear that.
join honda insight malaysia in facebook. hope members there can help.
alxdc
post Feb 19 2014, 10:06 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(STC @ Feb 19 2014, 09:34 AM)
Something is very wrong with your car. How can original spare tyres go missing? What's the mileage?
not me

its his car
threepagi Posted Yesterday, 06:51 PM
hi guyz, im new owner of used insight..
blame me due to lack of knowledge during pruchase used car..so im facing few problems. went to honda and they said it going to take a week to just check my system with payment of 250, just would like to get 2nd opinion:

Problems faced:
1) alarm blikning like 9times after locking the car
2) spare tyre cant be use, diff size, anybody know wer to find a spare tyre
3) electronic features : auto stop not functioning, cruise, cant b use, auto light not function,
4) no usb cable

if any of my new friends here got resources to help pls do so, i check again if there's more problems to be found..

alxdc
post Mar 5 2014, 02:20 PM

71 posts

Anyone interested in Honda Insight 2011?
alxdc
post Mar 6 2014, 11:52 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(dudan @ Mar 6 2014, 03:33 PM)
mind to elaborate further here bro?

btw, i love this car guys. really sad it have been discontinued.  cry.gif
If you are looking for 2011 Insight. I'm selling off my car.....
alxdc
post Mar 26 2014, 12:33 PM

71 posts

insight ceased production since last month
alxdc
post Apr 23 2014, 03:01 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(STC @ Apr 23 2014, 09:43 AM)
Wow...why you change CVT before 40k km? The required change for replace transmission fluid is :- Normal conditions: 90,000 mi / 144,000 km / 6 years OR Severe conditions: 30,000 mi / 48,000 km / 2 years. Actually, Insight is equipped with the computer sensor for CVT change but not sure if this option is disabled for Malaysia Insight which is identical model exported to Australia and US.

Anyway, I used to change and service my Proton gear box according to schedule until till failed after about 100K Km. Later, I found it wasn't even gear box problem but contact problem with the computer box. Now only change oil when I see significant changes in the colour. No problem since then. My friend never changed his Audi's transmission for almost ten years. When the gear was acting up they change the oil and it is back to normal.

Don't let SC rip you off. Be a strong consumer and fight it out for unreasonable charges.

NOTE:
Maintenance Schedule Charts

There are two maintenance schedules, one for normal conditions and one for severe conditions. Use the "Severe Conditions" schedule if one or more of the following apply:

You mainly drive less than 5 miles (8 km) per trip or, in freezing temperatures, driving less than 10 miles (16 km) per trip.
You mainly drive in extremely hot [over 90ºF (32ºC] conditions.
You mainly drive with extensive idling or long periods of stop-and-go driving.
You mainly drive with a roof rack, or in mountainous conditions.
You mainly drive on muddy, dusty, or de-iced roads.

If you only occasionally drive under a "severe" condition, you should follow the "Normal Conditions" maintenance schedule.
[SIZE=7]
The Insight's CVT transmission is confirmed by Ohkubo-san as using a start-up clutch.

In this case, it ties to the necessity of proper maintenance of the gear-box. Besides the use of CVT-F, it was also highlighted that it is crucial to replace the oil once every 20,000km.

http://asia.vtec.net/Reviews/2GInsight/index.html

This post has been edited by alxdc: Apr 23 2014, 03:02 PM
alxdc
post Apr 23 2014, 05:51 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(STC @ Apr 23 2014, 05:29 PM)
Always suspicious of translated write-up. Obviously the chief engineer did not read their own Honda manufacturer manual. Whether he said change every 20K. But 20K mile or kilometer? The article also pointed out that the Insight was fitted with latest CVT which is more reliable. I leave at that.
It is not a translated write-up. Asia.Vtec.net been around since 1996 and it runs by our local guys. The interview was done in Malaysia and I'm sure the chief engineer is talking about 20k km even in Japan they use kilometer.

http://asia.vtec.net/Reviews/2GInsightFull/index.html

http://asia.vtec.net/

start-up clutch. CVT is not latest. its old the article was wrote in 2011

the new latest Earth Dream CVT now employs the standard "torque converter".

The 'start clutch' was originally located at the end of the gearbox, where the final drive is located. But here, the torque converter is placed at the usual location, just after the flywheel and operates like a regular torque converter. There is no 'start clutch' in this CVT gearbox. So, the message from the LPL is crystal clear - as there is no 'start clutch' so 'start clutch' failures will never happen with this new CVT gearbox.

Answer to CVT 'Start Clutch' Failures
http://tovahondafan.blogspot.com/2014/04/a...ilures-for.html

This post has been edited by alxdc: Apr 23 2014, 06:00 PM
alxdc
post Jul 30 2014, 04:59 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(beginner123 @ Jul 25 2014, 01:56 PM)
SC told me the same thing to clean up throttle body....done that in my 2nd complaint and still things not fix.
whenever in idle mode, the rev down then up again will happen. SC told me CVT engine is like that...I was like wtf? Never had this experience when I first purchased this first....full of bullshit

Looks like there's no solution to this? Anyone out there can share his/her experience and perhaps solution?
had the same problem. my solution was sell the car. sold the car in march. mileage 55k
alxdc
post Jul 30 2014, 06:39 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(ongdennis @ Jul 30 2014, 05:26 PM)
how much u sold it?
i check the 2nd hand market is very bad for insight...
so since it just small matter on the issue, so still keeping the car. the FC still consider very good.
60k direct buyer. before it get even worst RV, better sell it asap
alxdc
post Aug 11 2014, 12:58 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(lunchtime @ Aug 7 2014, 02:01 PM)
alxdc,

how much did you sell it for?

I think I know you, we both we bombarded by the club clowns some time ago.  wink.gif
is it?> lol!
sold for RM 60K

This post has been edited by alxdc: Aug 11 2014, 12:58 PM

0.0840sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 05:37 AM