13 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

-+♠+-LYN Proton Persona Owners Club V.XLIII?-+♠+-, v44 = FFK Thread... Coming Soon

TDUEnthusiast
post Nov 29 2012, 04:05 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(s7ran9er @ Nov 29 2012, 04:00 PM)
do all of you install VS + GC on your Persona?
Only got GC on mine.
TDUEnthusiast
post Nov 29 2012, 09:07 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(The_FQ400 @ Nov 29 2012, 08:57 PM)
why some sanden some patco one?  sweat.gif i thought they all made in the same factory
Maybe two suppliers hmm.gif.
TDUEnthusiast
post Nov 29 2012, 09:42 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(zr125 @ Nov 29 2012, 09:37 PM)
Noob question. What is vs & gc? Haha
Voltage stabilizer and grounding cable(s). RM120 for the whole set from erictioh for me.

This post has been edited by TDUEnthusiast: Nov 29 2012, 09:42 PM
TDUEnthusiast
post Nov 29 2012, 10:00 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

Any chance for a VS bulk? brows.gif Hoping to get it for a lower price.
TDUEnthusiast
post Nov 29 2012, 10:24 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

hmm.gif. I think installing it should be quite easy. It's just a matter of finding a place to stick it at, then screwing it on. But I hate it when the alarm goes off every time the cable is put back doh.gif.
TDUEnthusiast
post Nov 29 2012, 10:26 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(ckdenion @ Nov 29 2012, 10:25 PM)
huh?i will recommend u find erictioh personally...vry susah mau bulk VS la...
or someone volunteer ask him la...
I'm sure it's easier than the rubber seals since you don't have to cut the VS whistling.gif
TDUEnthusiast
post Nov 29 2012, 10:33 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(jasonloh7906 @ Nov 29 2012, 10:27 PM)
wow, that's what i wanted to do. can get good fc and power.
just the 2 things cost above 1k  rclxub.gif
VS is easier. but for GC, noob like me don't dare to do it.
For most parts it's quite easy. You will need a T shaped wrench though for the nuts, and make sure it's completely steel and not some stupid plastic handle T shaped wrench, otherwise you'll end up twisting the handle instead of the screw. The hardest part for me is the alternator screw. Seriously tight, and the space is seriously small. Had to use a hammer to aid me doh.gif. erictioh only told me that there was a new configuration for the GC for the Persona ( which explains why my cables were shorter than previously stated ) after I have already installed all of it. The only difference is the negative terminal to the front left headlamp part, so I haven't gotten around to changing its location yet tongue.gif. Not sure what difference will it bring anyway, and definitely have to swap that front cable with another since it's too short to reach the gearbox area.

QUOTE(ckdenion @ Nov 29 2012, 10:28 PM)
i will say that let erictioh do it instead of DIY unless really got d skill to do so.
i knw it is easy but it is at ur own risk...n i believe buying VS in bulk wont save much...

Added on November 29, 2012, 10:30 pm+ when u let erictioh pasang, he can do some checking for ur car...checking the ampere rating that the cables carry n etc...so just install it for him...VS bulk i really nvr heard before... rclxub.gif
I guess there won't be too much savings. But at over RM150 even a few bucks reduction is pretty attractive. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by TDUEnthusiast: Nov 29 2012, 10:34 PM
TDUEnthusiast
post Nov 29 2012, 10:46 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(jasonloh7906 @ Nov 29 2012, 10:44 PM)
sounds easy. you will be suprised that my noob lvl is until don't even dare to change own battery and failed to change t10.
laugh.gif. Changing battery is very easy. But seriously I hate it when the alarm goes off when it regains power after losing it. doh.gif

I however have a slight phobia when it comes to opening the car's hood. Always feel like it's gonna explode doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif.
TDUEnthusiast
post Nov 29 2012, 10:50 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

What's the proper way to shut the alarm off anyway? It stops when I press the immobiliser button but then goes on again every time until I get lucky and get it to shut up doh.gif.
TDUEnthusiast
post Nov 29 2012, 10:56 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(CarroTT @ Nov 29 2012, 10:54 PM)
No need to even stick if your persona is iafm engine.
The box will fit nicely between the battery and distributor.

No need to remove the power cables from battery, there is a small screw on the terminal, just remove and insert the VS connector, then screw back.
Just remember dun get shocked if u see spark when u first contact the +ve terminal.
the performance is worth every penny i wud say smile.gif
How long have you been using it? Mine's using the IAFM engine based on the engine cover although it's not the Elegance model hmm.gif.
TDUEnthusiast
post Nov 29 2012, 11:09 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(CarroTT @ Nov 29 2012, 11:07 PM)
mine oso not elegance mar
used for a few weeks liao
Oh. I heard if it's close to a year then the improvement is no longer that noticeable anymore, which makes me wonder if I really want to get it or not.
TDUEnthusiast
post Nov 29 2012, 11:18 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(shelby_yong @ Nov 29 2012, 11:17 PM)
actually u already biasa with the car ma..
how about u take it out and see how..
I was thinking of capacitors degradation rather than getting used to the improvement thing hmm.gif.

Added on November 29, 2012, 11:25 pmAnyway, do you guys put the parking brake first before the handbrake or the handbrake first before the parking brake?

For me I do the handbrake first and release the foot brake before putting the car into park since that releases any stress the car may put on the parking brake. I however notice that most drivers of auto cars put the parking brake first before the handbrake, which is weird since it would stress the parking lock mechanism, no?

This post has been edited by TDUEnthusiast: Nov 29 2012, 11:25 PM
TDUEnthusiast
post Nov 29 2012, 11:54 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Nov 29 2012, 11:53 PM)
blink.gif Am I reading it correctly for a AUTO transmission car?
And lifting the handbrakes and later the foot brake while car is in D mode won't stress the transmission?  rclxub.gif
laugh.gif. Of course after putting the gear in N. And I'm talking about parking, not when idling.
TDUEnthusiast
post Nov 30 2012, 12:03 AM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Nov 29 2012, 11:56 PM)
Me method : Foot brake - Put D to P - Lift handbrake - Lift foot brake. sleep.gif No N for me.
Ah. Mine's N first, then handbrake, release footbrake, let it stop if it's moving a little before putting the P brake. About a year ago when my dad was still having his Perdana, the car slid down the porch in front of my house ( cause it's a mini slope ). Could hear the transmission going KLAK KLAK KLAK. Bloody loud. He likes putting the P brake first and then pulling the handbrake only about 2 ~ 3 clicks up. That's why I always put the handbrake and release the pressure first before putting the P brake. hmm.gif.

QUOTE(haur @ Nov 29 2012, 11:56 PM)
Har?? Where? and since when this new configuration started? I did mine with Eric last year Jun or July.
Look at his GC thread for the updated picture biggrin.gif. Not much of a difference, except that the cables are shorter now, and that the part that goes to the bottom of the left headlamp has been moved to the rear body area, either to the gearbox or the body. hmm.gif.
TDUEnthusiast
post Nov 30 2012, 12:05 AM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(The_FQ400 @ Nov 30 2012, 12:03 AM)
i dont put handbrake  shocking.gif
Apparently if you're parked on a mostly flat land, then it is fine. But on a slope you'll risk putting a lot of pressure on the parking brake without the handbrake applied hmm.gif.
TDUEnthusiast
post Nov 30 2012, 12:11 AM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Nov 30 2012, 12:08 AM)
Foot brake still on mah. Your father case because of the handbrake didn't pulled up higher until it locks properly.
Huh? It happened after he and I already got out of the car. laugh.gif Either way I don't want to risk waking up to see my car blocking half of the road in the morning laugh.gif.
TDUEnthusiast
post Nov 30 2012, 12:18 AM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Nov 30 2012, 12:16 AM)
Read what I actually written. If he had lift the handbrake more, it won't happened. Doesn't matter you put to N first or not, still will happen.
Lul. I know that. But it has always been like that for all these while, and the Perdana's handbrake is much tighter than the Persona's one. But whatever. The car's sold rolleyes.gif
TDUEnthusiast
post Nov 30 2012, 12:21 AM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Nov 30 2012, 12:19 AM)
Then good riddance to rubbish car then.  tongue.gif
Can't say it's exactly rubbish. hmm.gif. Every single problem only came out after about 8 or 9 years of usage. About that age the central locking started to have problems, never had any power window issues before as far as I remember, and the gearbox also only started to have problems during that time. At about 10 years old it already clocked 150k / 160k KM+ already. laugh.gif Wonder how would it have been like if I decided to go with it and overhaul it hmm.gif.
TDUEnthusiast
post Nov 30 2012, 12:23 AM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Nov 30 2012, 12:22 AM)
Same as putting in N or not in the first place.  rolleyes.gif
I think you misunderstood some of what was written earlier on. But whatever, we'll let that go.

This post has been edited by TDUEnthusiast: Nov 30 2012, 12:24 AM
TDUEnthusiast
post Nov 30 2012, 12:26 AM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Nov 30 2012, 12:25 AM)
blink.gif What? I had a good laugh actually.  biggrin.gif
laugh.gif. I don't actually know how have I written to make you read that putting the gear in N prevents rolling. But nevermind.

This post has been edited by TDUEnthusiast: Nov 30 2012, 12:26 AM

13 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0440sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:08 PM