Photography Using Smart Phone as Camera?, Opinion
May 30 2013, 08:39 PM
14,904 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur & Selangor |
That depends on the application of your pictures. If you just snap pictures for blogging purposes or facebook at 500 x 335 or 640 x 480 then the pictures are actually quite decent. If you intend to keep for long term memories and upload to sites like flickr, please do some justice and get a proper camera la.
Jun 2 2013, 12:56 AM
QUOTE(mumeichan @ Jun 1 2013, 09:51 PM) I believe that if there was a double blind test of images taken during anytime between 7am and 6pm, people will have a hard time differentiating a DSLR image and an iPhone image. It's not hard to differentiate a photo taken with DSLR and a phone camera.Having a fixed focal lenght, small aperture and small sensor, there is a lot the iPhone can't do. But can it produce stunning images? You just have to post a photo at 1024 x 720 and the details will tell you. This post has been edited by Icehart: Jun 2 2013, 12:58 AM |
Jun 2 2013, 11:38 PM
QUOTE(goldfries @ Jun 2 2013, 11:00 PM) i disagree. going around Facebook, forums and various other places. Then that is definitely user problem. many people use DSLR and snap it same or worse than a phone camera. there was a website that had such test before. of course if you are comparing same scene, same lighting taken by same person then comparison is very straight forward. |
Jun 19 2013, 10:17 PM
I'm personally waiting for the Lumia EOS. 41mp sensor and some shots are as good as good compact PnS.
Jun 22 2013, 12:02 PM
QUOTE(t1231 @ Jun 22 2013, 09:57 AM) hi all sifus, IMO some phone cameras are quite acceptable under low light, but then it depends on your requirements and preferences.thank you for all your opinion so far. i'd like to remind all sifus that this post is not to compare DSLRs with camera phones - this is no contest! rather, i am trying to see if a good smart phone can take pictures that are comparable to a good p&s like s95, or lumix LX-5, or m4/3. So far i have the impression that in low light, smart phones still can't match them, but for a lot of normal situations, they have caught up already. as of now, i will get a good smart phone (may not be a top line model), and buy a 2nd hand s95, LX-5, or GF2. the smart phone will be used under ideal conditions, and the camera will be for difficult situations. i think at this point, a dedicated camera is still relevant. maybe one day all p&s will be completely replaced by phones, and only left DSLRs and M4/3, but not now. These are some nightshots taken by 808 pureview. You might notice that I've posted all at 800 x 600 resolutions because noise will become apparent with anything more than 800 (and blur focus too). ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() QUOTE(weirdguy @ Jun 22 2013, 11:45 AM) Me too. If priced at RM 1,999 also tempting since good PnS camera also around RM 1k already. I'm sold immediately if they announce EOS can capture RAW images. I hope there is less disappointment and hopefully, it will be on par with Nokia 808. Price wise, not more than 2K. QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ Jun 22 2013, 11:53 AM) for me, another difference between smartphone and camera is the impression it gave to other people as well I think it's a question of convenience in the end. Phone camera quality is nowhere near DSLR quality but it's very convenient and IQ is not too bad. DSLR is bulky and heavy and not to forget it attracts all sorts of attention (even with my K-5 + DA 40mm also kena halau by guards). if u doing street photohraphy with dslr, people will think u are professional photographer if using PNS, then people will think u are tourist if using phone, people will think u are creepy or stalker and also, different device give u different opportunities to take pics example, dslr give u opportunity to take shots without people thinking u are weird or anything phone give u opportunity to discreetly take pics without being noticed. e.g. taking amoi pics, lol. or just simple food pics but u feel shy to take out thr big dslr just to shoot a mee goreng or something. even though im using the 808 pureview, if i have the money i would get a dslr myself. Also, camera imaging technology is about to change soon in the smartphone segment. We have iPhone 5s rumored to be upgrading its camera, the Nexus 5 to be spotted with Nikon sensor (stacking), then the Honami series and not to forget king of smartphone cam currently 808 to be ported to EOS with WP 8, a great combo. This post has been edited by Icehart: Jun 22 2013, 12:04 PM |
Jun 24 2013, 06:18 PM
QUOTE(weirdguy @ Jun 24 2013, 12:30 PM) Thanks for sharing those great night shots. I myself print few photos from phone before and I find it acceptable. However, you mentioned that the a higher resolution is not recommended. How about if I print it out in normal photo-paper size? Overall, current Nokia 808 priced at RM999 is still a very good deal. The images I posted above are from 808 Pureview, so printing at 4R should not be a major problem (41mp). But that's for pureview 808 lah..haha if you expect to print photos from 3GS and print at 4R then don't put the expectation too high lah. Anyway, I'm amazed by 808 capability in daylight photography. Night shot is still acceptable. ![]() ![]() ![]() Taken from flickr group 808. If you want to view more amazing 808 photos welcome to view em here: http://www.flickr.com/groups/808pureview/pool/ This post has been edited by Icehart: Jun 24 2013, 06:24 PM |
Jul 6 2013, 10:21 PM
QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Jul 5 2013, 11:58 AM) Nice shots So far I don't know if any smartphone camera can do that. |
Jul 9 2013, 01:50 AM
Lumia EOS 1020 shot!
![]() Large File: http://farm4.staticflickr.com/3672/9179586...7a1490f09_k.jpg Flickr Link: http://www.flickr.com/photos/belfiore/9179586182/ Shot by Joe Belfiore, VP of for Windows Phone. Amazing era of smartphone capabilities. |
Aug 9 2013, 07:11 PM
QUOTE(goldfries @ Aug 9 2013, 07:03 PM) How come exif info missing? |
Aug 16 2013, 12:42 AM
We need something like Nokia 1020.
Sep 22 2013, 12:32 PM
chokia
Do you happen to know when the QX100 will be launched in Malaysia? |
Sep 22 2013, 05:37 PM
Thanks for the info.
| Change to: | 0.0786sec
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 07:38 AM |