Tp LInk TL-MR3420 Owner CLub V2

BladeRider88
post Dec 12 2012, 09:16 PM

554 posts

Hand feeling itchy and decided to get MR3420 v2, after using it for hours, not that warm compare to v1 but once in a while will auto DC and reconnect in seconds..
BladeRider88
post Dec 12 2012, 10:03 PM

554 posts

QUOTE(chuahcs79 @ Dec 12 2012, 09:17 PM)
the V2 cover is not as hot as V1 cover, but inside real temperature is quite warm i have to say base on my open V2 cover session experiment  hmm.gif
I do agree with you that the cover is not that warm compare to V1
But my router is place beside window, and the air is quite cool, so for now no need to any additional cooling yet

BladeRider88
post Dec 12 2012, 11:29 PM

554 posts

QUOTE(chuahcs79 @ Dec 12 2012, 10:09 PM)
yeah without any additional cooling, the V2 performances didnt drop, so that's the first best thing,

second best thing is the wireless N 300Mbps alone can use,. not like V1 wireless N bug issue cannot performs ,  sweat.gif
The wireless bug.... hmm.gif
Never encounter it before. .. but I was hoping for that I can play the v2 with open art

BladeRider88
post Dec 13 2012, 12:04 AM

554 posts

QUOTE(chuahcs79 @ Dec 12 2012, 11:31 PM)
V2 can use wireless N alone now without worry the wireless bug like happen in V1,

so far there is no official openwrt support V2 yet, guess we all have to wait  hmm.gif
yeah..i just tested the Wireless N, files transfer via wireless has been greatly improved...now bridge with my asus router, as E372 connect to V2
Hope to see the OpenWRT and your tutorial soon rclxms.gif
BladeRider88
post Dec 14 2012, 02:55 PM

554 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Dec 14 2012, 02:28 PM)
but signal still shows 0% for E372 rite ?
Mine is showing 52%
BladeRider88
post Dec 16 2012, 02:26 PM

554 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Dec 16 2012, 01:33 PM)
I been using this on my router, i duno yours supports it

My surfing experience is much smoother using it.

[attachmentid=3209569]
What is your router setup?
BladeRider88
post Dec 16 2012, 03:35 PM

554 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Dec 16 2012, 02:42 PM)
[attachmentid=3209652]
I assume your setup is like this 3G Modem + TP-Link MR3420 ---> D-Link DIR-615

Am i right?
BladeRider88
post Dec 16 2012, 03:41 PM

554 posts

QUOTE(chuahcs79 @ Dec 16 2012, 03:39 PM)
if using as DHCP,.. any wireless router will do a good job,.  notworthy.gif
My Asus rt-n13U seems having issues with Repeater mode...
I bet it is a firmware issue as my Unifi setup, using D-Link DIR-825 running DD-WRT and act as Client Bridge, no such issue like auto DC
BladeRider88
post Dec 16 2012, 03:44 PM

554 posts

QUOTE(chuahcs79 @ Dec 16 2012, 03:43 PM)
u might want to try other version firmware ,. hmm.gif
Yeah...i might try to flash DD-WRT to my asus router, anyway, now waiting for the V2 OpenWRT firmware development to be completed

BladeRider88
post Dec 16 2012, 04:33 PM

554 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Dec 16 2012, 03:49 PM)
Yes, my setup is E372+MR3420 (disable WiFi ) LAN > Dlink (DDWRT) ( use WiFi only )

Try Tomato FW bro, its better than DDWRT, not to mention OpenWRT  icon_idea.gif
Haha...thanks for the explanation..
Inside ur D-Link, how do setup your WAN connection setup?
BladeRider88
post Dec 16 2012, 06:54 PM

554 posts

QUOTE(chuahcs79 @ Dec 16 2012, 06:30 PM)
just so u know, u buy a  ready flashed DDwrt router, he didnt flash it himself,.  tongue.gif
Haha.. laugh.gif
Doesn't matter, like what Digilife said..A pic tells everything.
Btw, i just get a RT-N16 and going to load Tomato USB to it laugh.gif

QUOTE(digilife @ Dec 16 2012, 06:52 PM)
Its because you doesn't knoe how to flash a DDWRT router, so i have to buy one ~ i actually bought 3# DDWRT flashed router for usage at different locations 2 on Maxis and  one on YES Zoom. I dun like OpenWRT as its not as user friendly as a DDWRT router...........Once you try a DDWRT, you would divorce the OpenWRT. But now i am aiming for TomatoUSB FW  brows.gif  brows.gif
Yeah, DD-WRT is damn easy to flash. OpenWRT is tricky but i like it.. I can feel the desire to flash OpenWRT after watching chuah's tutorial.

This post has been edited by BladeRider88: Dec 16 2012, 06:56 PM
BladeRider88
post Dec 16 2012, 07:12 PM

554 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Dec 16 2012, 07:04 PM)
Which version of the TomatoUSB are you using?

I read this is good ~ TomatoUSB K26 AIO. File size = 8MB .. It is full version . RT-N16 flash memory is 32MB .. It include QOS, USB, VPN and others ~ pls share, thanks
Haha...i was about to install this into my newly purchased RT-N16 laugh.gif
BladeRider88
post Dec 19 2012, 06:31 AM

554 posts

QUOTE(azim61 @ Dec 18 2012, 10:10 PM)
This router cost a bomb  doh.gif
neway, waiting for Asus RT-N16 with TomatoUSB firmware review  biggrin.gif
Sorry can't provide the review for Asus RT-N16 with TomatoUSB firmware cry.gif
Because whenever i save the settings and reboot the router, the router will soft brick sweat.gif
But it is working fine with DD-WRT

Right now the RT-N16 act as repeater bridge for my main 3G router, and i let both router run for 2 days without rebooting, it is still working solid.

Added on December 19, 2012, 6:32 am
QUOTE(chuahcs79 @ Dec 19 2012, 12:57 AM)
wanted to ask my friend to purchase it for me, since he did sign up the kickstarter,..

the team really put in effort, and i test my friend dispatch, super user friendly,

can combine, wifi + Lan + USB port  all in, then load balance,. dont have to set anything,

super easy and user friendly, no more laggyness like old connectify too

planning to purchase one license for myself,.  icon_idea.gif
This sounds interesting. Too bad can't afford to subscribe two ISP at one time sad.gif
Else will try this toy out

QUOTE(chuahcs79 @ Dec 18 2012, 05:40 PM)
Connectify Dispatch can do a better job to load balance & combine all your internet together than that router alone, and also much more user friendly  brows.gif
But hardware load balancing will be more stable right? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by BladeRider88: Dec 19 2012, 06:34 AM
BladeRider88
post Dec 19 2012, 09:03 AM

554 posts

QUOTE(greenlp_87 @ Dec 19 2012, 08:57 AM)
err...is there big difference between draytek and tp mr3420?sorry im a newbies to this router world smile.gif
The differences is HUGE!
Draytek is aimed for hardcore user where it has loads of function where mr3420 does not have.

BladeRider88
post Dec 19 2012, 09:39 AM

554 posts

QUOTE(greenlp_87 @ Dec 19 2012, 09:17 AM)
wow...sure it can boost maximum performance of the 3g modem rite?
Well, that depends on our beloved Maxis tower and the area. Theoretically it will enhance your surfing experience and draytek routers comes with a solid firmware which promises stable performance. You can check it out in here:

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...4099&hl=Draytek

BladeRider88
post Dec 21 2012, 10:31 AM

554 posts

QUOTE(khairilyazit @ Dec 21 2012, 09:59 AM)
and thats what we guys like.. lol  brows.gif
Yeah..i love to "rape" virgin routers..so that they can turn into a better one drool.gif
BladeRider88
post Dec 25 2012, 07:55 AM

554 posts

Tested the V1 with OpenWRT firmware, no longer facing the heat issuen like the stock firmware, and dial up speed is even faster then i imagine..and No auto DC at all...running smoothly for 11 hours non stop
BladeRider88
post Dec 25 2012, 09:31 AM

554 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Dec 25 2012, 08:35 AM)
Asus N13U on holiday ?

How do both of them fared if pitted against each other ?
Haven't decide to put Asus N13U on holiday or not laugh.gif

Keep my finger cross first as i need more time to observe the v1, but at the moment, it is better then the stock firmware

How about you? Decided to get Vigorfly?
BladeRider88
post Dec 25 2012, 09:51 AM

554 posts

My purpose is to learn and study how custom firmware improve/affect the router itself and study what are the differences between these routers till the price gap can be so far apart

So it is up to you to decide to get it or not to get it laugh.gif

p/s: I am a highly addicted flashaholics tongue.gif

This post has been edited by BladeRider88: Dec 25 2012, 09:52 AM
BladeRider88
post Dec 25 2012, 04:41 PM

554 posts

QUOTE(chuahcs79 @ Dec 25 2012, 03:25 PM)
is a lot of aspect, openwrt definitely is better than stock firmware,..  flex.gif
True... laugh.gif
And i have to say thanks to you and other members who contribute to this thread as you guys make this flashing steps so easy notworthy.gif

0.0335sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:10 AM